Find companies:
Concentra
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
286 reviews

Concentra Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay wages
Lead Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Bridgeview, ILNovember 27, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: low pay wages, no yearly raises
I worked as a MA, and I learned working there is how to preform drug screens, management is poor , my co-workers were a great set of people to work with, the hardest part of the job is dealing with rude people, and the most enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Front Office Specialist (Former Employee), Palmdale, CANovember 25, 2013
Contract work for defense company. Treating workers' comp patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back Office Manager
Certified Medical Assistant (Back Office Manager) (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 25, 2013
Oversee Medical Staff
• Monthly/Yearly Audits
• Supervisor/Managed over 10 staff members
• Maintain medical inventory and ordering of supplies
• Assist with interviews of new hire employees
• Assist with ensuring compliance with all operational policies/training
• Maintain of medical financial expenses.
• Handling of disciplinary actions in accordance – more... with company polices
• Preparing Schedule for all employees
• Training of all new employees
• Conduct monthly staff meetings/wellness events (FLU, Biometric, Health Screening Events)
• Perform drug screens, Physicals, biometric screenings, etc.
• In charge of lab reports and urgent care call backs.
• Medication Count/Dispensing meds wound dressing, injections, vitals, etc.
• Certified to use/Perform PFT testing, Audiogram testing, EKG and other types of equipment.
• Assist physicians with examinations.
• When needed travel to different locations/companies to perform services provided through Concentra.
• Perform other job duties as requested. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a busy enviroment
Referral Specialist (Current Employee), lombard ILNovember 18, 2013
Each employee is sssigned to zone. on a typicall day you must work atleast 40 cases , even if you dont have enought work in your zone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concentra is okay...Humana is not!
Sales Executive - Customer Relations Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 18, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: significant time documenting sales activities, "role-playing" with sales managers over the phone. no support systems in place for existing clients, only focused on new customer business.
Concentra was an exciting fast-paced environment to work. No two days were alike and the work was interesting. Prior to Concentra being bought by Humana, the center's leadership team had more say on how clinic was run. Terrible changes when Humana took over. There were several times I strongly believed Humana was unfair to older workers and the more – more... experienced staff were strongly "encouraged" to leave. The corporate office gave very little support to local management and were aggressive and negative in their approach. Although our local staff were extremely hard working, raises we're never approved. The majority of management who had happily worked there for over 10 years including the medical director, operations director, sales director and senior management have all left. This was very sad since we all enjoyed working with each other for many years. After this, customers left and Rochester was among one of the many centers that Concentra closed because they were not making enough of a profit for Humana. Shame on them! If you fit the physical profile to work for Humana, you might do okay for a few years. However, Expect to work a minimum 70 hours if in sales with at least 1/3rd of time spent on documentation and meetings. High stress, no work-life balance. Pay is good for sales but I would suggest looking for another position once you see your first wrinkle. Pay for operations Is good but you will need to take up slack for a lot of customer complaints. Support staff not paid well but will gain good experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company was very productive in helping people
Professional Support Associate (Former Employee), Rockville, MDNovember 11, 2013
Pros: it was close to home
Cons: the company was bought out by another company
The company was a good company. It was bought out by another company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful workplace, and company to work for
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHNovember 8, 2013
I worked at Concentra and performed the same job functions to Onsite. A typical day at Concentra consist of:
answering phones and scheduling appointments
recording information, such as medical histories, vital signs and lab test results in medical records
preparing treatment rooms for patient examinations
interviewing patients and taking vital signs
administering – more... medications under a doctor's supervision
cleaning and sterilizing instruments
disposing of contaminated supplies
collecting laboratory specimens, including blood and tissue – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of confusion and layziness
Medical Support Specialist (Former Employee), Capitol Heights, MDNovember 7, 2013
Pros: rare staff outings
Cons: short breaks, poor healthcare, low salaries for the amount of work being done
A typical work day at Concentra was not very typical at all. Patients were always upset because our wait times were ridiculous. Once the medical assistants did everything that needed to be done to prepare our patients for the doctors they sat and waited for hours at a time just to have a 10-15min evaluation from the doctors. Management didn't really – more... step in to help the chaos much but found ways to soothe irritated patients with coupons of free meals from stores nearby. I loved my co-workers and besides my patients who I saw on a regular basis and my love for the healthcare field they were the only thing that made me return to work everyday with a smile. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing a patient come in happy, become upset at the wait or performance of the doctor, and than leaving back happy again because we as the medical assistants did something to change their mood or make their visit a little better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concentra is NOT a place a dedicated/honest employee wants to work.
Medical Support Specialist (Current Employee), Novi, MINovember 5, 2013
Cons: everything from benefits, pay, fair treatment.
Concentra is a revolving door that cares nothing about their employees and 100% about making money. Does not matter if you are an honest employee who shows up on time everyday. It's less about what you know and more about who you know. They are far from a company you want to work for or attend as a patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweat Shop
Front office (Current Employee), Inland empireOctober 31, 2013
Pros: good benefit packages, 401k
Cons: sometimes we dont even take a break . work, work, work...
This company is constantly busy. Management is never there to really manage the clinic. PAY IS HORRIBLE . NO RAISES maybe 12 cents since the 4 years I've work there. They only promote if you do a lot of brown nosing or you know someone - not by honest hard work. Our leads are lazy as hell and sit on there butts when we are extremely busy. But management – more... doesn't do anything. As long as management looks good when it comes to our numbers that are established by patient ratings and surveys. Which we manipulated patients in giving us 10s at the end of their visit with a exit survey. It is a big company and its nationwide. But maybe with the right people running the place it may be beneficial to employees that really deserve it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice friendly work place clean and relaxing place to come in the morning.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTOctober 26, 2013
Pros: free lunches and christmas time
Cons: not enough time for lunch break or some people got to take a break and some didn't
Coming in turning on all equipment to start the day, learned how to make good of a busy day and stay on track with my patients.
management was not the best needs improvement.
my co-workers was the best team work was always what we strived for and all always went well, when management didn't know how to speak to you when you are been spoken to.

the – more... most enjoyable part of the is when my patient came in and always smiling as they walk in and out of the center as they where please with our care and this I enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many patients not enough workers
RT (Former Employee), GeorgiaOctober 26, 2013
Pros: its a job
Cons: stressful, under staffed, long hours, expensive insurance, no appreciation
This is a company for someone fresh out of school. I worked there for almost 18 months and we went through almost 19 employees. The company is to concerned about PER scores which were low do to the fact that we could not keep good employees because they worked you to death with a minimal work force. They close at 5pm but if a patient Walks in at 4:59 – more... with a long physical to be done they will not be turned away. So you could be there until 7pm. Then they complain about overtime and make you come in late or take a long lunch. You are a number to upper management. The cost of insurance is a joke. Concentra is owned by Humana now and they price gouge you on insurance. If I would have known what I know now, I would have never worked there. The stress is through the roof. The monthly meeting are about what's wrong, what could be better. You never seem to do good enough. RUN... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not suggest this company to anyone
Receptionist (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TxOctober 24, 2013
They don't treat their employees right at all. ALOT of double standards and favoritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Audit had a great team.
Auditor Coordinator/Team Leader (Former Employee), Naperville, ILOctober 21, 2013
Pros: loved our potlucks, great group.
Cons: dealing with some internal personal @ hospitals
Love going to work, supervisor always available to help with issues
worked with you to help resolve issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CR England Summary
Drug and Alcohol Coordinator for CR England (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTOctober 19, 2013
Pros: great job
Cons: to many people positive for drugs
Ran the Random Drug and alcohol program for 4000 drivers, tested 10 percent of the fleet personally and scheduled drug screens throughout the US. Kept chain of custody and reported results to the company assisted with terminations for Positive results. CR England had a zero tolerance for positive drug screens
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job and easy company to work for
Case Manager (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXOctober 17, 2013
Difficult clients made the work day flow going from one situation to another,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided excellent community and corporate healthcare
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMOctober 12, 2013
Pros: quality healthcare
Cons: salaried employees hours were abused
Concentra provided excellent health care to the patients and their clients employees. However their management practices were abusive as they worked the salaried employees a minimum of 50 hours per week with no additional compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and gain knowledge and skill with fun, compassionate, competent personnel.
Licensed Practical Nurse/ Back Office Lead (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJOctober 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: busy clinic
Concentra is an incredibly busy occupational health clinic. A typical day at work involves a great deal of organization, prioritizing, and quality patient care. The doctors provide a wealth of knowledge to learn from and incorporate into daily practice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work environment
Client Account Representative (Former Employee), Lombard, ILSeptember 30, 2013
Fast pace environment, great coworkers, and great supervisor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for
Account Executive (Former Employee), New YorkSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: great bonus structure, plenty of training, great culture
Cons: disconnect between operations and sales
The culture at Concentra is unlike one I've ever seen! Great management structure, with a lot of support from the top. As an account executive, it is your job to build relationships with employers. You don't usually get the business immediately, but this does not directly affect your commission. Your bonuses are given out on a quarterly basis and depend – more... on multiple factors and service lines. The sky is the limit at this company! I would recommend this job to anybody!!! – less

About Concentra

Concentra Managed Care, Inc. is the leading provider of healthcare management and cost containment services to the workers' compensation, – Read more