Find companies:
Concentra
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
257 reviews

Concentra Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively Work environment.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), MarylandDecember 26, 2013
The breaks were short, and I felt I wasn't being compensated enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well ran company.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 19, 2013
Productive and well mananged company. I enjoyed my time employed there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concentra is a great place to work and gave me the opportunity to grow in the Healthcare field
Business Project Manager (Current Employee), Lombard, ILDecember 9, 2013
Pros: flexible and easy to work with
Cons: reorganization and down sizing
Concentra has help me understand Occupational Medicine and Immediate Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
Front Office Lead/ Back Office Lead (Former Employee), Anaheim, CADecember 9, 2013
Fast,busy.
Learn something new everyday,charge entry,EMR.
wound care, Patient care,and be proactive at all times.
Get along and work as a team work at all times.
The hardest part of the job unable to please every one,or help every one.
I enjoy working with patient and be able to help every one as much I can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, very productive
Charge Entry Specialist/Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Lansing, MIDecember 9, 2013
Pros: you could watch tv on your lunch break if wanted
Cons: health insurance was expensive
A typical day at work for me was I would be the first one there to open the doors at 8 am, okay well 5 minutes to 8. I would put a smile on my face and greet the patients walking through the door. I would mostly work up front at the desk for check in and check out, but when needed I would go to the back and take care of patients that needed to have – more... physical, drug screens, and seen for their work related injuries and also urgent care. In this job i have learned how to multi task, we would see up to 100 patients a day in our 8 hour work day. My office manager was awesome, when ever there was a problem whether it would be with the staff, the doctor, or a patient she was right there to help. I love working with people and taking care of them when the are sick or injured, patient care is number 1. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to many women in an enclosed office
Referral Coordinator (Former Employee), Fresno caDecember 5, 2013
Cons: to many women issues
on phones all day doing referrals for clinics in the bay area and up north was difficult at times because contact with patient was really hard. My manager was good she helped when she could with tracking and logging when we got busy, keeping up the spread sheet was hard due to all the referral and phone calls we received, I don't remember there being – more... any enjoyable times it was all work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good days and bad days at times
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Arlington, TXDecember 4, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: change of management all the time.
I work for Concentra for 14 years and never did i not like my job,but because of change of management at times they made it hard for us to work for them and the raises were not reasonable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did an internship there for school
Externship, Medical Front Desk and Billing (Former Employee), Marietta, GADecember 1, 2013
It was a great place to be at. I was only therefor a month but they made sure I was able to work in a few different areas to see how the whole office worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Center Operations Director
Center Operations Director (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OkNovember 29, 2013
Managed approx Nurses - built relationships with Doctors and PT - responsible for Sales / new Account setup / staffing / inventory / cost of goods sold / Labor etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced overall fun place to work.
Medical Assistant Extern (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 28, 2013
Pros: hours
Cons: having to leave
On an average day we did drug screens, vital signs, roomed patients, and performed physicals. I learnedhow to perform drug screens as well as physicals. The management there was great. I enjoyed working with everyone, my co-workers were very helpful in training me to perform my required duties. The hardest part of my job was when we were slow and had – more... nothing to do. The mostenjoyable part of my job was helping the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not wish to comment
Clinic Director (Former Employee), New England, MENovember 28, 2013
Pros: no comment
Cons: no comment
I took job for administrative experience, I was terminated, do not wish to comment further here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay wages
Lead Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Bridgeview, ILNovember 27, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: low pay wages, no yearly raises
I worked as a MA, and I learned working there is how to preform drug screens, management is poor , my co-workers were a great set of people to work with, the hardest part of the job is dealing with rude people, and the most enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Front Office Specialist (Former Employee), Palmdale, CANovember 25, 2013
Contract work for defense company. Treating workers' comp patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back Office Manager
Certified Medical Assistant (Back Office Manager) (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 25, 2013
Oversee Medical Staff
• Monthly/Yearly Audits
• Supervisor/Managed over 10 staff members
• Maintain medical inventory and ordering of supplies
• Assist with interviews of new hire employees
• Assist with ensuring compliance with all operational policies/training
• Maintain of medical financial expenses.
• Handling of disciplinary actions in accordance – more... with company polices
• Preparing Schedule for all employees
• Training of all new employees
• Conduct monthly staff meetings/wellness events (FLU, Biometric, Health Screening Events)
• Perform drug screens, Physicals, biometric screenings, etc.
• In charge of lab reports and urgent care call backs.
• Medication Count/Dispensing meds wound dressing, injections, vitals, etc.
• Certified to use/Perform PFT testing, Audiogram testing, EKG and other types of equipment.
• Assist physicians with examinations.
• When needed travel to different locations/companies to perform services provided through Concentra.
• Perform other job duties as requested. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a busy enviroment
Referral Specialist (Current Employee), lombard ILNovember 18, 2013
Each employee is sssigned to zone. on a typicall day you must work atleast 40 cases , even if you dont have enought work in your zone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concentra is okay...Humana is not!
Sales Executive - Customer Relations Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 18, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: significant time documenting sales activities, "role-playing" with sales managers over the phone. no support systems in place for existing clients, only focused on new customer business.
Concentra was an exciting fast-paced environment to work. No two days were alike and the work was interesting. Prior to Concentra being bought by Humana, the center's leadership team had more say on how clinic was run. Terrible changes when Humana took over. There were several times I strongly believed Humana was unfair to older workers and the more – more... experienced staff were strongly "encouraged" to leave. The corporate office gave very little support to local management and were aggressive and negative in their approach. Although our local staff were extremely hard working, raises we're never approved. The majority of management who had happily worked there for over 10 years including the medical director, operations director, sales director and senior management have all left. This was very sad since we all enjoyed working with each other for many years. After this, customers left and Rochester was among one of the many centers that Concentra closed because they were not making enough of a profit for Humana. Shame on them! If you fit the physical profile to work for Humana, you might do okay for a few years. However, Expect to work a minimum 70 hours if in sales with at least 1/3rd of time spent on documentation and meetings. High stress, no work-life balance. Pay is good for sales but I would suggest looking for another position once you see your first wrinkle. Pay for operations Is good but you will need to take up slack for a lot of customer complaints. Support staff not paid well but will gain good experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful workplace, and company to work for
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHNovember 8, 2013
I worked at Concentra and performed the same job functions to Onsite. A typical day at Concentra consist of:
answering phones and scheduling appointments
recording information, such as medical histories, vital signs and lab test results in medical records
preparing treatment rooms for patient examinations
interviewing patients and taking vital signs
administering – more... medications under a doctor's supervision
cleaning and sterilizing instruments
disposing of contaminated supplies
collecting laboratory specimens, including blood and tissue – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of confusion and layziness
Medical Support Specialist (Former Employee), Capitol Heights, MDNovember 7, 2013
Pros: rare staff outings
Cons: short breaks, poor healthcare, low salaries for the amount of work being done
A typical work day at Concentra was not very typical at all. Patients were always upset because our wait times were ridiculous. Once the medical assistants did everything that needed to be done to prepare our patients for the doctors they sat and waited for hours at a time just to have a 10-15min evaluation from the doctors. Management didn't really – more... step in to help the chaos much but found ways to soothe irritated patients with coupons of free meals from stores nearby. I loved my co-workers and besides my patients who I saw on a regular basis and my love for the healthcare field they were the only thing that made me return to work everyday with a smile. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing a patient come in happy, become upset at the wait or performance of the doctor, and than leaving back happy again because we as the medical assistants did something to change their mood or make their visit a little better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concentra is NOT a place a dedicated/honest employee wants to work.
Medical Support Specialist (Current Employee), Novi, MINovember 5, 2013
Cons: everything from benefits, pay, fair treatment.
Concentra is a revolving door that cares nothing about their employees and 100% about making money. Does not matter if you are an honest employee who shows up on time everyday. It's less about what you know and more about who you know. They are far from a company you want to work for or attend as a patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweat Shop
Front office (Current Employee), Inland empireOctober 31, 2013
Pros: good benefit packages, 401k
Cons: sometimes we dont even take a break . work, work, work...
This company is constantly busy. Management is never there to really manage the clinic. PAY IS HORRIBLE . NO RAISES maybe 12 cents since the 4 years I've work there. They only promote if you do a lot of brown nosing or you know someone - not by honest hard work. Our leads are lazy as hell and sit on there butts when we are extremely busy. But management – more... doesn't do anything. As long as management looks good when it comes to our numbers that are established by patient ratings and surveys. Which we manipulated patients in giving us 10s at the end of their visit with a exit survey. It is a big company and its nationwide. But maybe with the right people running the place it may be beneficial to employees that really deserve it. – less

About Concentra

Concentra Managed Care, Inc. is the leading provider of healthcare management and cost containment services to the workers' compensation, – Read more