Find companies:
Con-way
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
382 reviews

Con-way Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 12, 2014
Pros: good hours, great managment
Cons: only a temporary position
Con-way was a great place to work. A typical day was always busy, as there was freight coming in from US and all over Canada. All co-workers were awesome, everyone had all work assessed accordingly. The hardest part was learning to deal with the US side of the business being a Canadian. The best part of the job the data entry, as always.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transport and operate equipment load unloading .
Longhaul truck trailer driver and operator (Current Employee), State of KuwaitJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: enough 30 minute
Cons: must be paid regular daily hour according by law moredone that overtime pay.
Load unload and operate equipment doing to stucking soil or stone.all kind of dumptruck loading all kind of soil or stone.must be load in safety procedure to aware possible accident.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to learn the industry
CITY DRIVER PICKUP AND DELIVERY / LINEHAUL (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: friendliest team and excellent management
Cons: wages could increase in the ltl industry
A typical day at work would include loading LTL freight into the trailers, hooking up a set of 3 trailers and driving it to a meet and turn
i.e.) Sweet grass, MT from Calgary, AB and Back.
I have learned quite a bit from this company including how to deal with customs documents and learning how to handle different types of freight being handled especially – more... the dangerous goods.
The hardest part of the job is the long hours.
Most enjoyable part would definitely be getting to know your customers and establishing a bond with them to maintain a good image for your company and yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment.
Truck Driver/Sales Representative (Former Employee), Windsor ONJuly 8, 2013
Pros: profit sharing.
Cons: sometimes work was overwhelming.
Unload incoming freight, and re-load for local deliveries.
Each day was different.
Some co-worker a pleasure to work with, others were more difficult.
Hardest part of the job was trying to maneuver a 48' trailer in downtown streets.
Management was there for support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Driver Sales Rep (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: you earn ur pay
Picking up and delivering frieght, working frieght on dock and breaking and loading trailers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broken Promises and no life
Freight Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Plainfield, INNovember 23, 2014
Cons: culture
They work you nearly 12hours at 10hrs pay. Everyone makes more than the supervisor when you break it down, including dock workers and CSR's. The people you manage. They promise you many things and opportunities and then place you on the back burner for their own use and disposal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family orinated , flexable
Customer Service (Former Employee), Scott, LANovember 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: short lunch breaks
Heavy flow of calls, had to have the ability to multitask.
I learn to provide excellent Customer Service, adhere to established company polices and procedures.
Management was/is very flexible and understanding.
Co-Workers were/are very interactive with company policies and functions.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a fun environment – more... all willing to try new policies – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere
Freight Classification Specialist, Lead (Former Employee), Dayton, OHNovember 19, 2014
LTL trucking company. Job expectations are well explained. Good working atmosphere. Great team work. Beverages are supplied to replenish you during hot temperatures. Wonderful benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Recognition
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Garland, TXNovember 17, 2014
Incoming call extremely busy, learned a lot about transportation, importance of delivery. Learning customer is always right and never loose your cool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Con-way Freight
Outbound Coordinator (Current Employee), Rock Island, ILNovember 14, 2014
Personally, I believe that Con-way freight has good job advancement. Ask, if you have any other questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place
Certified Forklift Operator/Dockworker (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 7, 2014
Took good care of their employees and value family above normal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun work place
Accounts Receivable Credit/Collections (Former Employee), Portland, ORNovember 4, 2014
Pros: independency, and ability to grow and learn more
A typical day at Con-Way began with Reviewing customer invoices for accuracy and mailing them off. Then reviewing and responding to consistent alerts from brokerage requesting credit on new or existing customers, along with setting up new carriers for multimodal and menlo worldwide when the help was needed. Followed by collections on past due accounts – more... sending emails, making phone calls or mailing requests for payment, and documenting my efforts, or ability to collect and resolve. Posting the previous days credit card payments on an excel spreadsheet for cash applications review. Would also assist with the Cash app rep when needed to insure proper cash application of the customers remittance. Sending Trade reference inquiry request for customers needing credit. Processing credit cards for payment on future and existing shipments. Reconciling accounts, and processing request for vouchers. and varies duties as assigned. I learned about the transportation industry daily from customers and co-workers, I also learned more about how to handle and resolve past due accounts with difficult customers in the this industry. Management was available for assistance whenever needed, some bigger accounts required credit requests outside of our allocation. My co-workers alternated breaks and lunches, so we were always helping each other out with customers, requests, credit cards processing . We took on each others customer as our own when necessary. The hardest part of my day would be when reviewing credit reports for customers that did not qualify for credit, after they spent time with brokerage gathering information to process their requests to A/R only to be reviewed and denied while their shipments are needing to be ships right then and there, they were never happy about it. The most enjoyable part of my day would have to be assisting my customers and the brokerage department, answering questions, making account corrections, just giving them all one less thing to worry about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interactive exchange with co-workers
Operations Imaging Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Portland, ORNovember 3, 2014
Pros: interaction with field personal
Cons: company outsourced it department in 2010
Worked with various departments to resolve technical issue. Placed service calls to IBM for Unix RS6000 issues, both software and hardware problems. Reported system problems to development support group and took corrective action per their recommendations. Assembled document canning workstations and supported them remotely and by phone once deployed – more... to field locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool workplace
Lead, Forklift (Current Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 3, 2014
Pros: good pay and good co-workers
Cons: work in the heat and or cold
Clock in grab a load break the load in a timely manner grab another load
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O/O
O/O Driver (Former Employee), Joplin, MOOctober 23, 2014
Drive my own truck to haul Conway Truckload loads to all 48 states. They are a very good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment. No hours.
Dock Worker (Current Employee), Gary, INOctober 22, 2014
Nice work pace, a lot of team work involved. Management is mediocre. Hardest part of the job is the weather conditions. The most enjoyable part of the job is the learning of freight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Appearance but non existent integrity or honesty within Mgnt
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee), Fremont, INOctober 17, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: young mgrs, mgrs have never driven or been on the road, mgr were ever taught the importance of honesty.
Work consisted of normal Freight Handling, loading unloading and transfer of freight. Equipment was in good working order, and safety was a constant reminder. Co-Workers and FOS's were great people and easy to work with . Most everyone has the team attitude. Mgmt literally could not speak the truth. Constantly caught manager level supervisors giving – more... lip service and then it was generally bad information in which they would not stand behind. Great pay, good benefits, tons of hours you definitely earn your money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and a cool place to work.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Gary, INOctober 15, 2014
Pros: the over time
Cons: winter storms but i can handle it.
The management team and Co-workers really where nice and some real team players.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for a 3rd shift position
Truck driver (Former Employee), Conover, NCOctober 13, 2014
I am hard working and I come do my job and if asked to do more I will do. I like working with people who have the same ambition I have. The hardest part of my job is leaving early because we are slow. the most enjoyable part of the job I get to do what I like to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Welcoming Cozy Workplace
Biller Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Carson, CAOctober 9, 2014
Pros: pleasant staff
Cons: heavy data entry quota, scheduling needing improvement
A typical day at work involved arriving late afternoon to begin answering customer phone inquiries for an hour or two while trying to achieve incoming driver bill processing into freight bills for the outbound deliveries, bill quota, assist callers with ETA regarding nightly deliveries, then finishing the last three hours getting all the bills finished – more... and counted before leaving. Management for what it is does ok being all male and surviving within the confines of the small office (in comparison to other Con-way local branch offices) against all female billers/CS reps. That noted, like all of us - it has room for improvement and mainly with scheduling as the beginning of the year months work there was so slow there wasn't enough work to even keep me scheduled but possibly there isn't a fix for that (I don't know). The most enjoyable part of the job is that there is a pretty cohesive group though at Con-way which aside from occasional heavy/stressful bill load makes it a pleasant company to work for. The hardest part of the job and one thing that should be cautioned though is the Heavy Data Entry part of the job description. Unfortunately during my time with the company it meant HEAVY to the point of 80% of the billers all requiring being professionally medically treated for wrist/arm pain due to the physical strain of that requirement. I don't know what the current situation is, but hopefully that rate has been since attended to accordingly and with proper care so they girls are doing better. If not hopefully the right people read this and take action to do so. : ) Not sure if the Job Culture got its stars above but I give it 4/5 for a total of 25/30 stars overall. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Con-way

Con-way Inc. is a freight transportation and logistics services company headquartered in Ann Arbor, Mich. Con-way delivers industry-leading – Read more