Find companies:
Compass Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
786 reviews

Compass Group Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Younger students benefit
Cashier/Booth Leader (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJanuary 26, 2013
Compass is a great place to start your first part time job. They hire quite often and the hours are quite reasonable for a student in high school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
fast food worker (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: alright hours
Cons: a bit hot at times
it was a good workplace, friendly enviorment, and good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
fast food worker (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: alright hours
Cons: a bit hot at times
it was a good workplace, friendly enviorment, and good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work place.
General Labourer (Former Employee), Iroquois Falls, ONJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: free food and awesome co-workers
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day included cleaning, preparing and serving food to customers. I received the required health and safety training. My co-workers were all awesome and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly company to work for
Heavy Duty Cleaner (Current Employee), London OntarioDecember 14, 2012
i dont see the need for all the negative reviews i've seen so far, ive been with Compass Canada for almost a year and havent felt more welcomed in a job. (not to mention--needed; which is alwaays nice to know)
when you're to the point in your occupation where, you can be replaced, but you;re company / client is going to try everything in their power – more... to keep you -- then , you KNOW you;re where you need to be.
co-workers ? awesome. friendly and laid back
management ? could be a little perked up but they try their hardest for how long theyve been here..
most enjoyable ? knowing how much of an impact my job/ abilities do for the client and people around me during my time at work.
hardest part of my job .. ? driving floor machine :) [ no big

yes, i am a heavy-duty cleaner. not kitchen help, as you would assume ... – less

January 24, 2013

Not sure who you work under, but where I work, the company lies, cheats,steals and cripples their employees. Sure, fellow employees are awesome, but Hitler looks like an angel compared to the Company I worked for., The company I worked for only cares about profit and nothing else, theydo not care about the needs of the patients or their employees.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Receptionist-Admin- Mailroom Clerk (Current Employee), Mississauga OnNovember 30, 2012
Pros: free time
Cons: long hours --8 am to 5 pm not flexible
A typical day for me is Phonecalls--Property Management for issues within the office-Couriers-Mail. Just a very busy day for me. I have a little free time off an on. My Boss throws all the work on me since i have shown how capable i am.She is never in a good mood.The hardest part of my job is getting nasty phone calls but still being nice on the phone.I – more... love Meeting and greeting clients who come come. I love helping anyone with their work. Almost everyone come to me for help for work or some issue in the office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work at Compass
Management (Former Employee), BCNovember 29, 2012
Cons: company ethics, moral compass, management
Poor management. Bottom line more important then anyones life or job. This is a good place to start a Union. They consider building technicians as Facility Managers? Playing with titles to pay less. You will never find another job in the industry as an FM. Terrible hrs, no life balance. Can't hold client contracts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work with the students and for the students enjoy the hollidays to see how they would dress up everytime
Supervisor (Former Employee), Amherst, NSNovember 21, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: storm days, too many
love the fast paste, love to keep busy. I learned a lot about management with this job. I had a good staff that were there for many years too. We were a good team. When something was to break down i had to try and fix it myself. I was always running really enjoy being busy.

January 24, 2013

Did you work in a hospital?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked serving alcholic beverages.
BEER/LIQUOR BARTENDER (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONNovember 19, 2012
When I arrived I would first get the cash float for the day, count it & sign for it.
Then when I arrived at my station I would have to count all the different wine or liquior bottle & sign off for the counts.
When the doors opened for service I would serve the customers.
At the closing of the day I would then count & record what was sold from or inventory. – more... As well I would have to count the money in the till & balance with the money room. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a fun place to work
HR Recruiter/Social Media Trainer (Former Employee), Burnaby BCNovember 7, 2012
I received a lot of great training from both my Manager and the in house workshops that were provided for me.

January 24, 2013

I doubt you working in a hospital as a housekeeper!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of this company
Hospitality Associate (Former Employee), Victoria, BCOctober 29, 2012
Pros: co-workers
Cons: long hours, useless management
Seems like a great job when you get hired but once you are in you will see reality. This company would make a great episode for Undercover Boss. Co-workers are awesome, management NOT so awesome. Pay is okay if you don't mind having to constantly submit paperwork for hours worked and not paid for. Staff is bitter and always complaining. Go to McDonalds – more... for a job if you want to be respected and valued. – less

January 24, 2013

I am in total agreement. I worked under the private contractor in healthcare. This company does not care about the patients or their employees. They care about profit and profit only. THe patients, workers have all suffered for it.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Light Environment Workplace
Cook (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 22, 2012
Pros: free lunch, pool table, easy work
Cons: long hours
It was early mornings having to cook and serve Breakfast and cooking all day until dinner. As a student of George Brown it was basics in terms of food but developed better communication and pace of work. Strong management and daily work was great and involved fun working environment as well. Co workers were happy with what they did and easy going, and – more... were able to play pool during our break. Hardest part of the Job was dealing with particular customers and the long hours will get to you some days. It was fun anything to do with working with food, I'm enjoying it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company with very good benefits and health plan.
Cook Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 21, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
Company is good and maybe one of the best but the management discreminate staff and not treated fairly.

January 24, 2013

Free Lunch??? The Compass I worked for did not and has not supplied a Christmas Dinner for the staff that was working Christmas Day.. This was humiliating while the non-compass workers of the hospital all got Christmas Dinner in the cafeteria paid by the hospital.

January 24, 2013

Wages are way below a "Living Wage" The privitization in Hospitals under Compass, for housekeepers are way below what housekeepers are getting that are not privitized, a difference of $5.00 an hour. Yet, they do the same work. They work with infectious diseases, clean up feces, vomit,etc. The non-privitized housekeepers get $5.00 an hour more in apy and good benefits, more sick time (which is a necessity in healthcare). Where I worked there is discrimination, bullying and harrassment. They make Hitler look like an Angel.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace in the food industry
Storefront Team Member/Chef (Former Employee), North York, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: free lunches
- learned how to manage with various types of personalities in a hospital setting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace and great environment
Crew Member (Former Employee), Markham, ONSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: free lunch, food, and awesome staff
- Great Environment to work in
- Amazing Staff
- Awesome Hours
- Free Lunch
- Great Customers
- A typical
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace and great co-workers
Data Entry Processor (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: free lunches periodically, summer months off, xmas and march break off
I enjoyed my job very much, was very knowledgeable in all of my daily tasks, computer skills, data entry skills. Acheived high appraisals on a yearly basis, Received awards for 10 years of dedicated service and great teamwork hero awards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING COMPANY
Albian Village Front desk / Housing Associate (Former Employee), FORT MCMURRAYAugust 29, 2012
AMAZING COMPANY TO WORK FOR, GREAT ATMOSPHER FOR EMPLOYEES, CHECKING IN PEOPLE AND CHECKING OUT, CREATING A MENIFEST FOR GUEST COMING AND GOING OUT, GREAT PACKAGE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with the company for seven years and received successful accomplishment certificate.
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee), Pickering, ONAugust 27, 2012
Pros: have strong knowledge about the company itself.
Cons: long distance from home.
Always interested in interior decoration. Looking for a better opportunity in a good company to improve the skills as a team member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients should do homework before hiring compass
cook (Current Employee), bownmanville ontAugust 26, 2012
Pros: time to go home
Cons: my god where do i begin
Deceitful, liars, low pay overworked understaffed. Managers not professionally trained, unskilled, pawn their duties off to employees. I have never encountered a company so unprofessional with high expectations from their staff with no rewards. Throws new staff into their job without any trainer or orientation and with hire anyone just to have a "body" – more... present. Clients should really find out what they are getting before contracting this company there is a reason why they bid the lowest in the contracts, they are the lowest of them all. Over work ,under staff, manipulate, and unappreciated their employees. Wake up Clients read reviews, think do you want to be in the same category as Compass? I hope this review wakes up people. – less

October 10, 2012

I agree with this statement...this is the worst company to work for.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun. Busy all the time.
FOOD SERVICE MANAGER (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 22, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
A very established company, fun and exciting to work. Always in need of people to work. They are willing to send peopple on training to gain more experience

About Compass Group

Compass Group plc is a global contract foodservice and support services company headquartered near London, United Kingdom. It – Read more