Find companies:
Compass Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
787 reviews

Compass Group Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Camp Attendant Supervisor (Current Employee), Mt Milligan Ft.St. James B.C.June 23, 2013
Pros: hot lunches....good people....
Cons: physically demanding....
I have been with this company for 2 1/2 years now ...I enjoy the people...I have created new ways to make the job more productive and easier...housekeeping is very physical....management has been open to any suggestions this department has given....I enjoy making the job fun ....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at Hamilton Tiger Cat home games.
Bartender/Server PART TIME (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 10, 2013
Bartender/Server for all Hamilton Tiger Cat home games. Making drinks, Stocking fridges, and keeping track of product being sold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
SERVER/BARTENDER (Former Employee), Moose Jaw, SKMay 13, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: not enough hours, not busy enough
Great place to work, with supportive management and a great team of co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saftey culture, good staff, excellant care of clients
Stock Distributer (Former Employee), Edmonton, AB, CanadaMay 12, 2013
Compass Group Canada held a strong value and culture of saftey both on and off the work sight. Very informative, and an environment of hard working staff. Enjoyable place to work, and the care and concerns of their clients on the sight was excellant as well.

We learned about keeping your mind on task while at work to avoid safety incidents. Saftey – more... meetings were held on Wednesday mornings as well as a tool box talk review of the day and concerns at botht he begning and the end of the day. Managment was in a position of many transitions but handeled it well with the staff. Moral was upbeat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly working place
HOSTESS (Former Employee), londonMay 9, 2013
Pros: food was availlable and uniform
Working in Compass Group was a friendly atmosphere, work with close collaboration with Managers ,other staffs and even customers. Co-workers was always helpful. Hardest part was working overnight for concecuting days. All the memebers of the staff was friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and highly customer related field of work
Unit Manager (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 8, 2013
- Involved in all phases of operational planning, expenditure, costs, and sale reporting
- Responsible for staffing, scheduling, payroll, client and customer relationship building
-Collaborating with your team and at the same time having fun to achieve organization's goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a enjoyable atmosphere to work at
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Head Office is in TorontoMay 6, 2013
Pros: cheap lunches
Cons: some weeks have long hours
In a typical day I do many jobs. Answering the phone. Fix problems
Tabulations for the Hot Meal Program. I create menus for the program. I get along well with my coworkers. I interact with the children at the High School which is one of my most favorite things to do in my day. I have been at this company for many years and have learned many things about – more... working in the food industry. The hardest part of my job is to creat a balanced menu. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work place.
Cashier (Current Employee), Moose Jaw, SKApril 10, 2013
Pros: being able to watch the hockey games.
Cons: the music at some of the rock concerts.
A very enjoyable workplace. The shifts are not long. I work with a variety of people including young people new to the work force.
We have very competant concession supervisors who insure that the work is shared equally among the staff. Team work is encouraged, honesty and integrity is stressed. Serving the customers is the most enjoyable part of the – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place with co-workers
TELLER & CUSTOMER SERVICE PROVIDER (Current Employee), Calgary, CanadaMarch 31, 2013
Pros: learned to talk with different peoples of different communities.
Cons: busy job
I have learned to talk with different type of customers with different communities. Controlling cash and ensuring the proper till transactions.Got rewards for up-selling and proper eye contact and gestures with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was in a cafateria. I really enjoyed the students
Cashier (Former Employee), victoriaMarch 25, 2013
Pros: weekend off
Cons: seasonal
very fast place to work. never a dull min. the hardes part of job was keeping up with coffee
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was in a cafateria. I really enjoyed the students
Cashier (Former Employee), victoriaMarch 25, 2013
Pros: weekend off
Cons: seasonal
very fast place to work. never a dull min. the hardes part of job was keeping up with coffee
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Special Project Manager, Bruce Power, Kincardine (Former Employee), Kincardine, SCTMarch 20, 2013
Pros: working for my old boss
Cons: 2 plus hours drive each way to work.
This was just a contract position to try and help my old boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Counterhelp (Current Employee), TorontoMarch 12, 2013
Pros: minimal prices for lunch
Cons: management. short staffed.
Never have i seen a company that cut employees hours here and there just to save a few bucks and expect the ones working to work like a horse because they are to cheap to pay people to do work. Expect to work like a maniac to get things done! And management give hours to the one they like.Doesnt matter of your experience or what you do. Stay away!! – more... Very very cheap company. Quantity not quality should be their motto. Theyre heavy on health and safety but the way the foods are put out there make you want to puke. If the paying customers only knew.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace and dealing with the public
Cook/Cashier (Current Employee), Malton, OntarioFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: dealing with the public
Cons: not enough working hours
I have learned to work in a fast paced enviroment with great success and communication skills with the dealing with the public. My co-workers at Compass Group have been wonderful to work for. There is really no hard part of this just except that I do not have enough hours in my work week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST COMPANY TO WORK FOR
baker, front counter (Former Employee), oshawaFebruary 19, 2013
Cons: lack of training, poor management
Hired as a baker and only received 8 hours of training. Compass decided I wasn't suitable for baker position. Offered me front counter 4 hour training, then said I would only be an "on call" employee. Don't even apply for Compass if this is how they treat new employees!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AVOID THIS COMPANY
slub (Former Employee), oshawaeFebruary 18, 2013
Cons: compass group as a whole
Hired as a baker. Only got one. day
of training. Then considered not suitable for position. Trained for four hours on front counter. Then told not to come back until they
need me. Considered to be on an on call basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All new to me and I enjoy new challenges.
Factory Cleaner (Current Employee), Alliston, Ont.February 18, 2013
Pros: free trraining
Cons: pay is too little
I love going to work I am a full time cleaner but there are days that we are short staffed and I get to fill in. There is nothing that I do not like about this job.

This was a totally different experience for me and I really enjoy it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Hospitality Associate - Victoria General Hospital (Current Employee), Victoria, BCFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: coworkers
Cons: long hours, management priorities, pay discrepancies
The job itself is easy to complete, once you learn it you know how to do it efficiently, however, this causes your time to drag on and feel mundane, management nit picks at you continually, the co workers are amazing and talking with them is always a joy, the lack of support at times causes a stressful day, but the smiles you put on the people you come – more... in contact with makes the day go by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun!
Graphics Designer (Former Employee), canadaFebruary 10, 2013
Compass Group Canada, one of the country’s leading foodservice and support services companies has acquired the assets of Nova Services Group Inc., a Toronto based dietary, environmental and janitorial services company. Nova Services becomes a member of Compass Group Canada and will continue to operate under the Nova Services brand name.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Graphics Designer (Former Employee), CanadaFebruary 10, 2013
Compass Group Canada, one of the country’s leading foodservice and support services companies has acquired the assets of Nova Services Group Inc., a Toronto based dietary, environmental and janitorial services company. Nova Services becomes a member of Compass Group Canada and will continue to operate under the Nova Services brand name.

About Compass Group

Compass Group plc is a global contract foodservice and support services company headquartered near London, United Kingdom. It – Read more