Find companies:
Compass Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
569 reviews

Compass Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for this company in Health and Safety
ex worker (Former Employee), Fot MacOctober 24, 2012
Pros: gets you into fort mac
Cons: no work life balnace
Working for compass as a HSEQ advisor is a worng move.They do not pay FOrt Mac rates , you are used to do everything with no site support .
GM's dont care about safety and look to undermine HSE activtives .

If you are looking to get a foot hold in HSE in FOrt MAc , then yes take this job and then move on as fast as possible

Crippled – January 24, 2013

Yes, Health & Safety is a big one. This company has contravened the code so many times, as well as the WCB Act, Human Rights Code and Collective Agreements. This company was voted no. 1 employer of the year, for the amount of employees they have . That is the basis of that poll. They generate taxes for the government, who do you think created the poll. People are mislead when this is printed as such. I'd like to see a poll on the amount of workers, they have lied to, cheated, stole and crippled. They would win hands down!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Light Environment Workplace
Cook (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 22, 2012
Pros: free lunch, pool table, easy work
Cons: long hours
It was early mornings having to cook and serve Breakfast and cooking all day until dinner. As a student of George Brown it was basics in terms of food but developed better communication and pace of work. Strong management and daily work was great and involved fun working environment as well. Co workers were happy with what they did and easy going, and – more... were able to play pool during our break. Hardest part of the Job was dealing with particular customers and the long hours will get to you some days. It was fun anything to do with working with food, I'm enjoying it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company with very good benefits and health plan.
Cook Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 21, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
Company is good and maybe one of the best but the management discreminate staff and not treated fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace in the food industry
Storefront Team Member/Chef (Former Employee), North York, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: free lunches
- learned how to manage with various types of personalities in a hospital setting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace and great environment
Crew Member (Former Employee), Markham, ONSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: free lunch, food, and awesome staff
- Great Environment to work in
- Amazing Staff
- Awesome Hours
- Free Lunch
- Great Customers
- A typical
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace and great co-workers
Data Entry Processor (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: free lunches periodically, summer months off, xmas and march break off
I enjoyed my job very much, was very knowledgeable in all of my daily tasks, computer skills, data entry skills. Acheived high appraisals on a yearly basis, Received awards for 10 years of dedicated service and great teamwork hero awards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING COMPANY
Albian Village Front desk / Housing Associate (Former Employee), FORT MCMURRAYAugust 29, 2012
AMAZING COMPANY TO WORK FOR, GREAT ATMOSPHER FOR EMPLOYEES, CHECKING IN PEOPLE AND CHECKING OUT, CREATING A MENIFEST FOR GUEST COMING AND GOING OUT, GREAT PACKAGE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with the company for seven years and received successful accomplishment certificate.
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee), Pickering, ONAugust 27, 2012
Pros: have strong knowledge about the company itself.
Cons: long distance from home.
Always interested in interior decoration. Looking for a better opportunity in a good company to improve the skills as a team member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients should do homework before hiring compass
cook (Current Employee), bownmanville ontAugust 26, 2012
Pros: time to go home
Cons: my god where do i begin
Deceitful, liars, low pay overworked understaffed. Managers not professionally trained, unskilled, pawn their duties off to employees. I have never encountered a company so unprofessional with high expectations from their staff with no rewards. Throws new staff into their job without any trainer or orientation and with hire anyone just to have a "body" – more... present. Clients should really find out what they are getting before contracting this company there is a reason why they bid the lowest in the contracts, they are the lowest of them all. Over work ,under staff, manipulate, and unappreciated their employees. Wake up Clients read reviews, think do you want to be in the same category as Compass? I hope this review wakes up people. – less

FormerManager1 – October 10, 2012

I agree with this statement...this is the worst company to work for.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier/Server (Current Employee), Fort McMurrayAugust 13, 2012
excellent union benefits, friendly co workers. enjoyed going to work, learned alot about food safely and kitchen safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work, not my choice in salary or managment
Kitchen Assistant/Cafeteria Assistant (Former Employee), Kanata, ONAugust 1, 2012
Pros: free lunch, lots of contact with other people
Cons: managment
A typical day at work consisted of the same thing everyday, prepare salad bar, deli bar, breakfast, etc. I learned lots about cooking and dealing with issues and people i didnt expect to come in contact with. A got along good with a lot of my co workers although i had a hard time some times with the other employee i worked with in the kitchen as she – more... was further fired. There wasnt much in the job i couldnt handle i really loved seeing all of the customers everyday since we had the same ones so i got used to everyone and pretty much knew there orders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), ONJuly 24, 2012
Pros: posibility of career advance
Cons: short hours, low wage
Productive and fun workplace.

There is always something new to learn in this workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Supervisor (Former Employee), TORONTO ONJuly 11, 2012
Pros: allowed to have meals for a small fee
Cons: lots of daily challenges
Regular working hours. Coverage of health & dental benefits. Recognises years of service every five years with a gift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work, lots of room to learn and growth
Cafeteria Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 9, 2012
Pros: work by myself without supervision
Cons: not enough hours
Productive and fun place to work. Lots of room for growth and opportunity to learn. Very helpful management team. Very diverse in culture. Trustworthy company to work for. Overall very positive experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time
Accounting Manager (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 24, 2012
Love new challenges
Room to grow
Flexible hours
Great people( co-workers)
Great Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much security, do alot for no appreciation
Prep and caterer (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONJune 20, 2012
Pros: we pay 1.75 per day and can have breakfast and lunch.
Cons: they cut our hrs all the time and pay min wage and exspect so much from us
Prepare salad bar, stock cafe kiosk, stock Tim Hortons Kiosk, prepare sanwiches, and all prep for cafeteria and Tim Hortons at PRHC. I learned to do my job at a timely fashion, also do catering.
Management could be better.
My co-workers are great Iget along with people.
I really dont have a hard part its very easy same thing everyday.
Most enjoyable – more... is we all get along so we laugh alot. – less

Chefgigi – August 26, 2012

Very deceitful management will lie to employees , make promises that don't intend to keep, overwork staff, harass staff, threaten staff under pay them regarding industry rates no appreciation for any staff. This company"s management love to play GOD. Will lay you off when ever, think of only themselves and their personal gain and profit at any cost. Never in my 26 years as a Chef, have i ever encountered a company that truly lacks interpersonal skills along with understanding of the word HOSPITALITY . Beware of Compass they love to sugar coat just to get anyone regardless of experience training or certification.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work. I had co-workers that are fun to work with.
Cook (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 2, 2012
Pros: free food
Cons: the area has a little access in public transportation.
I have a great experienced working at the hospital.
I learned how to balance my approach with different types of people.
Mostly of my managers are great there. There is one manger that I really like to work with. He is very responsible and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 9, 2012
Pros: good strater for entry in job
Cons: no promotions
working whole day on cash, i like the work too. but sometimes become hectic when management wont gv proper hours to other . in busy time sometimes they deduct hours of their employee and its hard too manage the crowd in store then. In summer just senior people allowed to work...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go Ti-Cats Go!
Cook at Ti-Cat Games (Former Employee), HamiltonApril 5, 2012
It was very unique and different, lots of challenges but overall was a great time and met some amazing new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work in food services
Wendy's (Former Employee), Radford, VAApril 12, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: very poor managment, treat the customers bad, not enough pay
The management is poor they don't care about there employees all they care about is getting the big bonus every year while the employees don't get a raise. Don't get no breaks what so ever or overtime. And when u go ask your manager something that pertains work oh they don't know. The managers are real rude to the customers and blame the employees for – more... no reason when your trying to make things right with the customers. – less

About Compass Group

Compass Group plc is a global contract foodservice and support services company headquartered near London, United Kingdom. It – Read more