Compass Group Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 189 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Kitchen Manager / Customer Service / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OntarioOctober 21, 2015
Great supervisor variety of work
If business is slow the hours are cut
Always busy, but time flies by
If a floater, you meet new people
Pros
working with children and public
Cons
none for me
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved cooking for this company!
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCOctober 12, 2015
Everyday was something different for me, from cooking to dealing with the front grill to dealing with the Starbucks station and cash. My boss at this time was a lot of fun an a awesome person!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  university of calgaryOctober 25, 2015
great teamwork
worked as full-time
fun to work with coworkers
helpful coworkers
caring supervisor
helpful coworkers
have union
Pros
benefits
Cons
no employee discount on food
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work enviroment,good people to work with
Assistant Cafeteria Supervisor Ajax High School (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ONAugust 21, 2015
enjoy working with current staff. The most rewarding aspect is working with colleagues as a team. A lot of variety on a day to day basis
Pros
testing and experitmenting with new meal ideas
Cons
no room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Dishwasher &Kitchen Help (Former Employee) –  Toronto MuseumSeptember 3, 2015
I really enjoyed performing my duties. I appreciated all the support from my co-workers. I was very dedicated to my position and always performed to the best of my ability.
Pros
Always busy
Cons
Taking out garbage
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Contracted Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONSeptember 23, 2015
clock in and start working from organizing the fridges to cooking meals for the students and proper sanitation cleaning tables dishes the work place areas ect
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place with friendly co-workers and managers
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLMay 17, 2015
Extremely busy/fast paced work environment. However, people call in sick all the time, and at some point it gets really hard to work in a constant busy place with less co workers, but you can't always blame them for not coming in, the work itself it very tiring if you're doing a full time job. Most times it feels like the management is not going a great job finding enough workers, or getting their workers the benefits they need/deserves, otherwise the managers are very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun
Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 22, 2015
I only work a couple of months but was a good experience. The manager and my supervisor was a great person and the custumers too.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work place with friendly co-workers and managers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Morrison, QCMay 15, 2015
The work place is very busy with thousands of customers to be served everyday. Work environment is very comfortable, with lots of space. Co- workers are very friendly and becomes a big family.

I have learned many aspects of handling customers here, angry customers, customers with disabilities, positive interaction with customers simultaneously keeping up with the work pace.

Management is very amiable.They listen to yours problems and try their best to solve them.

The hardest part of the job is spending prolonged period of hours to service customers.It gets incredibly busy at times.

The most enjoyable part of the job is having to meet your co workers who have become good friends and also getting to meet regular customers.
Pros
provides wide range of food items to eat with less money.
Cons
Somedays it gets vert busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Kitchen Staff / Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  North YorkMay 13, 2015
Very unpleasant work place as well as bad management and staff; I won't recommend it to anyone.
You will be standing on your feet for over 8 hours of the day as well as the break and lunch some times you force to not take them as it is very busy and always short staff to save salaries.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and dynamic
Food Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Niagara CollegeAugust 3, 2015
Great atmosphere for growth and conductivity in the college sector. Great management interaction at all levels. Lots of room to develop new skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional office work environment
Corporate Concierge (Current Employee) –  TD Canada Trust 380 Wellington St. London, ONMay 4, 2015
A typical day at work:
Assist bank employees in all aspects of their work day.
Communicate with vendors to keep everything stocked.

Management is extremely helpful and is willing to answer any question I may have.

I have weekly meetings with my manager and co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was amazing as were the co-workers.
Food Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONMarch 31, 2015
-Clean, stock, serve customers and clean.

-Customer satisfaction is the top priority.

-Management was excellent, we were always taken care of and fully informed of upcoming events.

-Absolutely loved everyone i worked with.

-Getting to and from work

-Our team was like a family.
Pros
My co-workers
Cons
transportation
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I every had
Labour/Custodian (Former Employee) –  Mississauga ON.May 6, 2015
I always have a good day at work. I learn how to help people to get where they are going. All the supervisors where good to work with. I got along with all the co-workers. the hardest part of the job they was none. It was great working there.
Pros
places to eat
Cons
waiting for the bus
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ONJune 30, 2015
Management very good. Daily log check and payroll hours. Unfortunately losing a contract I was unable to stay. People their were great to work with.
Pros
Nice environment
Cons
Downsizing
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, diverse working atmospheres and locations
Catering Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 10, 2015
I have been working with compass group for over 3 years now. I enjoy working corporate 9-5 hours even within a hospitality environment. I feel like the people higher up in the company have a great sense of corporate responsibility, and despite the fact that are the largest food service provider in North America, there is a good sense of community and I have always felt like everyone cares about each of their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
line cook
Kitchen Helper/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 14, 2015
served client, do breakfast , diner and lunch. I learn how to cook in this company.The hardest part of the job was when you have a rush you need to go really fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fast-paced job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Surrey, BCJune 14, 2015
this job was very fast paced and very demanding. it was very long and exhausting hours. coworkers were very fun to be around, everyone there loved to have fun.
Pros
50% meals
Cons
long exhausting hours, far location
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy organization!
Director of Food and Beverage Services, (Current Employee) –  LondonJuly 1, 2015
Great staff to work with. Incredibly busy company that continues to grow. Hours can be tough, but company allows for entrepreneurship.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Well trained staff and daily training schedule. Management very supportive. Co-worker great to work with. The hardest part is wh
Food Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 19, 2015
Great place to work.
Well trained staff and daily training schedule.
Management very supportive.
Co-worker great to work with.
The hardest part is when we close for the Xmas holiday and Summer.
The best part of the job is, when you are envoled with your work so much that you tend to get lost with time.
Pros
free parking, day off at x.mas, summer, leiu days
Cons
package.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,297 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture