Find companies:
Compass Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
569 reviews

Compass Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for people interaction
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), sherwood park albertaAugust 17, 2013
a typical day at work would be doing sales and customer service, i learned all of my management experience from this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employers, wonderful to work for.
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 16, 2013
Pros: management, staff, advancement opportunites
Cons: salary, guaranteed hours
It was a pleasure to work for Compass Group Canada. Within a year there was opportunity for advancement. Management was extraordinary and welcoming. Downfalls included irregular shifts & pay due to on and off work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CURRENT GOALS/ PERFORMANCE ELEMENTS
Camp attendant ESS (Former Employee), Mt MilliganAugust 4, 2013
I demonstrate a strong commitment in increasing productivity. I regularly produce a normal amount of work. I work at the pace expected for my position and I achieve most of my established goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 31, 2013
Pros: had schedule at beginning of season, great tips, mingled with customers
Cons: staffing was inconsistent, lack of communication throughout company
Compass Group is seasonal for me. So when I was working there (when the Ivor Wynne Stadium was up) I was a shift supervisor. I would set up/clean my zone and prepare for customers. I learned that I work well under pressure and in a fast paced environment. I also learned that I am a good leader and deli gator. I normally had 2-3 people that I was in – more... charge of managing for the duration of the shift. Making sure they were also on top of things, such as preparing food, making sure beverages were topped up and cleanliness and keeping busy. The hardest part of the job was that it was seasonal. The most enjoyable part of the job was the energy of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Attention to Detail
Supervisor/Dispatch Patient Transportation (Former Employee), St.john'sJuly 31, 2013
Very Busy but very enjoyable. Co-workers were awesome, but management failed to be there when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team based work environment, with a strong demand for customer satisfaction, and first class service.
Lounge Cook (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 25, 2013
Pros: free meals, great pay, awesome customers.
Cons: poor work hours (evenings), no definite finish time, poor management of staff.
Working here provided me with customer relations experience through the handling of orders and responding to "special needs" individuals who may have had complaints and/or dietary limitations. I was in charge of a multitude of logs that ensured the highest standards were kept, as well as organizing them in a way that was convenient for fellow staff, – more... management, and auditors. I enjoyed all of the time spent with customers, handling orders, as well as engaging in conversation to ensure that standards were kept, and the most enjoyable experience was obtained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORK PLACE
CHEF (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 22, 2013
Pros: gaining job knowledge
Cons: not very close company
GOT TO WORK IN THE MORNING,CHECKED THE INVENTRY WHAT WAS REQUIRED.
PLANING AND GROUP DISCUSSION I LEARNT
MANAGEMENT AT TIMES BAISED
MY CO WORKERS WERE GOOD
TO SATISFY MANY BOSES
HARMONY AND COMPANY FEELINGS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Line Cook and Prep (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 20, 2013
Pros: benifits
Cons: long travel times
Hard working and love the fast pass that is required
Given me the chance to grow as a prof. in the field
Management is easy to work with and for
Co -works love working with me easy going and good at trouble shooting when need'
Travel time is the only part i find hard.
Love working with people and clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work because I got along well with my boss.
General Help (Former Employee), Guelph, ONJuly 16, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: short hours
Working in a cafeteria was always a challenge because I was always on my feet. At first, I was kind of overwhelmed but soon as I know what I was doing everything was manageable. I learned how to work under pressure and learned to manage my time properly. I work well with my co-workers and my boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun to work here and gotta get a chance to meet different kinds of people
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 23, 2013
Pros: making friends and learning new things
typical day at work was seeing happy people that gives me inspiration to work.
i learned a lot from communication to cashier jobs and other related to that.
Management are so supportive and appreciative.
My co-workers are team oriented and like my brothers and sisters... were like family at work.
The hardest part of my job is when i can't give my customers – more... the impossible thing they wanted like give them free stuff and that makes them upset.
The most enjoyable part is serving my customers and give them the best of my ability to make them contented and happy when they leave at the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Camp Attendant Supervisor (Current Employee), Mt Milligan Ft.St. James B.C.June 23, 2013
Pros: hot lunches....good people....
Cons: physically demanding....
I have been with this company for 2 1/2 years now ...I enjoy the people...I have created new ways to make the job more productive and easier...housekeeping is very physical....management has been open to any suggestions this department has given....I enjoy making the job fun ....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at Hamilton Tiger Cat home games.
Bartender/Server PART TIME (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 10, 2013
Bartender/Server for all Hamilton Tiger Cat home games. Making drinks, Stocking fridges, and keeping track of product being sold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
SERVER/BARTENDER (Former Employee), Moose Jaw, SKMay 13, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: not enough hours, not busy enough
Great place to work, with supportive management and a great team of co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saftey culture, good staff, excellant care of clients
Stock Distributer (Former Employee), Edmonton, AB, CanadaMay 12, 2013
Compass Group Canada held a strong value and culture of saftey both on and off the work sight. Very informative, and an environment of hard working staff. Enjoyable place to work, and the care and concerns of their clients on the sight was excellant as well.

We learned about keeping your mind on task while at work to avoid safety incidents. Saftey – more... meetings were held on Wednesday mornings as well as a tool box talk review of the day and concerns at botht he begning and the end of the day. Managment was in a position of many transitions but handeled it well with the staff. Moral was upbeat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly working place
HOSTESS (Former Employee), londonMay 9, 2013
Pros: food was availlable and uniform
Working in Compass Group was a friendly atmosphere, work with close collaboration with Managers ,other staffs and even customers. Co-workers was always helpful. Hardest part was working overnight for concecuting days. All the memebers of the staff was friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and highly customer related field of work
Unit Manager (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 8, 2013
- Involved in all phases of operational planning, expenditure, costs, and sale reporting
- Responsible for staffing, scheduling, payroll, client and customer relationship building
-Collaborating with your team and at the same time having fun to achieve organization's goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a enjoyable atmosphere to work at
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Head Office is in TorontoMay 6, 2013
Pros: cheap lunches
Cons: some weeks have long hours
In a typical day I do many jobs. Answering the phone. Fix problems
Tabulations for the Hot Meal Program. I create menus for the program. I get along well with my coworkers. I interact with the children at the High School which is one of my most favorite things to do in my day. I have been at this company for many years and have learned many things about – more... working in the food industry. The hardest part of my job is to creat a balanced menu. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work place.
Cashier (Current Employee), Moose Jaw, SKApril 10, 2013
Pros: being able to watch the hockey games.
Cons: the music at some of the rock concerts.
A very enjoyable workplace. The shifts are not long. I work with a variety of people including young people new to the work force.
We have very competant concession supervisors who insure that the work is shared equally among the staff. Team work is encouraged, honesty and integrity is stressed. Serving the customers is the most enjoyable part of the – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place with co-workers
TELLER & CUSTOMER SERVICE PROVIDER (Current Employee), Calgary, CanadaMarch 31, 2013
Pros: learned to talk with different peoples of different communities.
Cons: busy job
I have learned to talk with different type of customers with different communities. Controlling cash and ensuring the proper till transactions.Got rewards for up-selling and proper eye contact and gestures with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was in a cafateria. I really enjoyed the students
Cashier (Former Employee), victoriaMarch 25, 2013
Pros: weekend off
Cons: seasonal
very fast place to work. never a dull min. the hardes part of job was keeping up with coffee

About Compass Group

Compass Group plc is a global contract foodservice and support services company headquartered near London, United Kingdom. It – Read more