Find companies:
colliers international
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

colliers international Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small company under a large umbrella
chief engineer (Current Employee), miamiFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: contacts
Cons: direction
A brief conversation with security and staff in the morning about the night prior and the day yet to come. This would include everything from equipment operation and or repair to visitor/customer complaints. I learned a great deal about court procedure when dealing with zoning issue's for residential properties. The direction of management unclear to – more... all brought out the best in most of my co-workers and allowed them to fully exercise their skills. The hardest part of the job was to complete 16 hours of work in 8 hours.....without overtime. Being able to do this day after day no matter what. Priceless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for the most part
U.S. IT Operations support lead (Former Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: celebrations with food just because
Cons: i can count on half a hand the amount of times the cio spoke with me.
They treated the employees well, did a lot of things to show appreciation with monthly birthday celebrations and anniversary celebrations. I really liked coming to this office every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job but no room for growth
Research Analyst (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: good work environment
Cons: pay, no growth opportunities unless i wanted to become a broker
A typical day of work was responding to ad hoc requests from my brokers for information in our databases or for information online. I also spent a lot of time cleaning data and writing reports.

Management was very relaxed day to day but demanded more productivity quarter to quarter.

My co-workers and I were generally cut from a different cloth, but – more... we got along well. My co-workers were rarely a distraction or a disturbance, but rather were very helpful if I needed.

The hardest part of the job was juggling so many tasks all at once.

The most enjoyable part of the job was completing the quarterly reports. I took a lot of pride in those as the brokers and other brokerage houses said they were the best in Columbus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard attitude.
Credit Control & Sales Ledger Manager (Former Employee), London West endJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: able to work from home if required. benefits
I started at this company 10 years ago and built the Credit Control structure as there was't one in place. Over the years I grew my team to a team of 5. We worked extremely hard but had fun whilst doing so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Colliers
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MANovember 27, 2012
Such a fascinating field with lots to learn. Great, ambitious people with tons of energy and innovative ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly unprofessional
Real Estate (Current Employee), Seattle,WANovember 18, 2012
I had the worst experience mainly because they are highly unprofessional here. They are very high strung people here who flip out on minor things and snobby people who think they are high society. There are much better places to work, please don't apply and interview with these fools!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome opportunities
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Fairfield, CASeptember 30, 2012
Pros: bosses were generous with time and training
Cons: limited advancement
This company offers a lot of variety in job position with freedom to grow within your position. However there isn't really advancement. Large company with smaller satelite offices. I learned A LOT here and staff is very willing to teach/train on anything. I developed from an Administrative Assistant and learned a little about marketing, and research – more... and development. Co-workers were few and for the most part all got a long. The hardest part of the job was that as I learned and took on more responsibilities, I didn't always get recognized or compensated being that it is in real estate and funding was questionable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dysfunctional Company
Engineering (Current Employee), SacramentoSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: pay
Cons: management, hr, corporate
Colliers Management Company at the Calpers headquartes is run by some of the most dysfunctional, vengeful people i've ever worked with. This site is supposedly the crown jewel of the Collier's Properties and for being such a important property Collier's International lets it be run by people that have no clue on how to manage people. Engineering, Security – more... and the front office is a mess. Management have one set of rules and blatantly rub it in the faces of their employees. Taking long breaks/lunches, stealing company time by taking care of personal business(including being paid OT to do it), micromanaging, harassing it's employees. Engineering department has become quite the mess and is ran by a tyrant who changes rules daily to serve his needs, tells his employees that his time is his time and he doesn't want to be bothered on his time, tells his employees he can barely dress himself let alone make decisions. In the 5 years since he's started working at Colliers 11 people have left a job that people make a career at most sites, prior to him only 3 people had left the department in the 20 years the building has been open. This is one of the most dysfunctional places to work and most employees are stressed because of it. Most people are on edge and in fear of being written up or fired. Attempts have been made with corporate and human resources to fix the problems at the building with management and most issues get covered up and swept under the rug.
If you're desperate for a job or like working for a manager who is vengeful, unsupportive, can't make a decision, harrasses people, and has no clue what he is doing feel free to apply. – less

Anonomys – October 17, 2012

AGREED! STAY AWAY!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers have a good sense of humor with each other.
Property Administrator - 2010 to Present (Current Employee), Stamford, CTSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: fairly relaxed.
Cons: no raises.
Busy at times, slow at others, depending on the economy and how brave investors are about buying property, or tenants are about leasing new office space. Management is fairly non-existent in the CT office, which is the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is that no one is watching the clock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Building Maintenance (Current Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 12, 2012
Pros: the location of the property
Cons: bad managment, high stress
If you like working in an environment where you have multiple managers and every one of them has a God complex then this is the place for you. A typical day working for Colliers includes things like backstabbing, unnecessary write ups, hypocrisy, and childish behavior. Even though you have a set shift be prepared for multiple shift changes do to business – more... need and don't expect to be paid overtime. Working for Colliers you will learn how to deal with being belittled everyday and not getting an answer for questions. When you do make a descision it will always be the wrong one. If you are out of work I would only use this job until something better comes along otherwise stay away from this kind of hostile work environment. – less

Anonomys – October 17, 2012

AGREED!! HORRIBLE! MANAGEMENT IS THE WOST.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Maintenance (Former Employee), SacramentoSeptember 9, 2012
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: poor management, harassment, hypocrisy
Great job If you don't mind being lowest on seniority and picking up all of the sick leave and vacation requests changing your shift to work grave and or swing shifts all the time. Hope u like being micro managed.  Better have thick skin and able to work in a high stress environment. If you enjoy working for people who have no clue how to manage people – more... or an hr department that doesnt think that business ethics are important. Enjoy having 5 bosses who change priorities day by day and enjoy being hypocritical. If you are not out of work right now or on minimum wage this is the job for you!  – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NYC Corporate Real Estate
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: easy access from grand central
Cons: long hours
~ Extremely fast-paced atmosphere
~ Workload is different every day
~ Worked directly for Tri-State Executive Chairman
~ Co-workers become more like family due to time spent with them
~ Long hours and sometimes tedious projects
~ NYC...loved everything about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment
Property Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 26, 2012
The company has great four core values, they value their employees and provide outstanding service to clients. I enjoyed tenant and client relation building and managing their real estate. The hardest part was being on call 24/7 but it was always rewarding knowing that I could facilitate solutions to any issues that arose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Property Consultants
PA/Secretarial (Current Employee), LondonJune 18, 2012
Pros: bupa
Cons: long hours
Providing full administrative and logistical support at Board level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment with hard working personnel.
Senior Managing Director, Research and Analytics (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJJune 12, 2012
Pros: summer fridays, attend nationwide events
Cons: answer to a greater power at headquarters in nyc.
Work on several projects daily with the need to multi-task. High-pressure environment. Gained extended knowlegde of the commerical real estate market, the economy and the business community. Management rewards its employees with bonuses when possible and half-day summer Fridays. Co-workers generally are personable with the occasional inconsiderate, – more... selfish employee. Enjoy working with my immediate partner and several of the salespeople around the office. Ability to joke and share interests with each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Application Support Analyst (Current Employee), Carlsbad, CAMay 18, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule, flexible vacation, work on your own
Cons: lack of resources for technology (people), lower than market pay
Great Culture, flexible hours, but as the housing and commercial property markets wane, positions get eliminated which is never good for morale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great company to work for!
Tenant Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 2, 2012
Great, Great company to work for. The expereince I have gotten from here was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More leasing oriented than Property Management
Senior Property Manager (Current Employee), Wahington, DCMarch 12, 2012
Depending upon whether you are Colliers International (Corporate Owned) or an affiliate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo no muy grato
Asistente de 12 personas (Former Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFMarch 7, 2013
Pros: gastos mayores
Cons: nos quitaron bonos
no se valorá el trabajo que realizas con el día a día y las cuestiones laborales las relacionan con la personales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente local amistoso, si tienes química puedes llegar muy alto
Gerente de Marketing Latinoamerica (Former Employee), Guadalajara, JALFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: seguro medico, bonos, evaluaciones, escuela en línea, etc..
Cons: mucha responsabilidad sin verse reflejada en el sueldo, poca motivación....el beneficio es para unos cuantos.
Como todo trabajo demanda mucho tiempo, hay mucho que hacer en el área.

Empresa con la oportunidad de aprender mucho (hay una universidad en linea), es como una escuela.

Aprendí la importancia de hacer química con tus superiores para seguir avanzando, la comunicación es de suma importancia.

Creo que a nivel regional les hace falta mucho camino por – more... recorrer para un buen liderazgo. A nivel global, toda mi admiración y respeto.

Mis colegas, hice muy buena química.

La parte más dificil fue al final al no contar con el apoyo de mi director.

Lo que más me gustó fue la oportunidad de crecer en el transcurso de 8 años y las buenas amistades que hice. – less

About colliers international

Colliers Macaulay Nicolls, or CMN International, is the largest member of Colliers International's global network of affiliated – Read more

colliers international Photos