Find companies:
COBS Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

COBS Bread Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Baker (Former Employee), Maple, ONDecember 16, 2014
Pros: a loaf of free bread at the end of the day
Cons: you sell your soul to a hierarchy of management
I was hired as a baker, the new manager promoted outside of the company,
You get pushed to the limits, never a break, heavy lifting and unreasonable demands,
I quit Cobs Maple, and now work in Toronto for more pay, better morning hours, and a happier environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management made what could have been a fun job highly stressful.
Front End Sales (Former Employee), Vernon, BCDecember 1, 2014
Pros: $10 daily product allowance, free food, often mindful scheduling, great customers, leftover bread donated to charity at end of night, fast paced environment made day go by quickly
Cons: horrible bosses, inconsiderate scheduling, endless cleaning, annoying mandatory unpaid online job training program, fast paced environment could get very stressful at times
I worked at the Cobs in Vernon, BC and from the get go it was one of the most stressful jobs that I have ever had because of the awful management. I'm sure there's some good Cobs out there, but mine was not. While the New Zealand based company that heads Cobs, Baker's Delight, has a strict 'no bullying' policy, the management at my location were verbally – more... abusive and frequently lied. Several times they changed the schedule without informing me (or anyone else,) so that I came into work when I was not supposed to, or almost missed shifts when I was. I found this highly irritating and unfair, as it was setting me up for failure. The management also frequently left passive aggressive notes around the establishment rather than kindly and respectfully approach us on matters that needed improvement. I found the manager to be a very threatening person and towards the end of my stint working at Cobs I could hardly bear to be in her presence without nearly breaking out into tears. For the good parts of the job, I got free food (the perishables that we couldn't donate at day's end such as the foccacia rounds we could take home and we were also given a $10 allowance so that we could take home whatever we wanted within the $10 so I never ran out of bread while I worked there,) I had some nice coworkers and the customers were absolutely wonderful, many of them very loyal patrons of the store. I think this job would have been great, had the management been a lot better. As it is, I cannot recommend this location to anybody as a workplace. There was also a highly annoying online training program which you had to undertake - that's right, homework that you were expected to undergo on your free time. Not cool.

I would happily recommend a Cobs with good management personnel though! :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early morning
Senior Baker (Former Employee), Delta, BCNovember 18, 2014
Early Mornings, sometimes as early as 3AM
lots to do, from beginning of the shift all the way to the end
being able to multi-task is required
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Job, Managment isn't great
Baker (Former Employee), StadiumOctober 30, 2014
Pros: $10 in product per day
Cons: don't except 2 days off in a row; more like 16 days straight.
I worked at Stadium Cobs. The managment recently changed and the new store manager is a real piece of work. Her sceduling never works and everyday she emails about a change to the scedule. The bakery is considely a mess and no one cares to clean it up. I love my job but I got so tired of being walked over by the manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Bakery Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABAugust 1, 2014
I really enjoyed work with people and improved my knowledge.
It definitely helped my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible shift start times for bakers.
Baker (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free $10 of bakery products to take home every shift.
Cons: heavy lifting and very early a.m. shift start times
As a baker I would start my shift anywhere between the early hours of 1a.m to 3 a.m. Sometimes I would be falling asleep at the wheel while driving home because the shift hours take a told on your body.

I felt like I was being set-up to fail. The bakery had a huge order one day and I didn't receive any help from the Senior baker. The Manager was not – more... helpful either.
Lots of heavy lifting involved if you work the ovens. You can get burns even if you are careful. My supervisor was OK. The sales staff made it bearable. They were a fun bunch to work with. No room for advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Privately owned COBS store by an Amazing couple with both smarts And personality!
Bakery Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioApril 7, 2014
Privately owned COBS store by an Amazing couple with smarts And personality!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
FRONT SALES STAFF (Current Employee), Surrey, BCFebruary 15, 2014
Introduce tastings, "what's in it"? (different types of breads)
Clean: cabinets, windows, floors, racks
Fast pace till work
End of Day: Clean-up count both tills, lock -up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fast-pass enviroment
Sales Team Leader (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: friendly enviroment
Never a dull moment, always exciting to come into work. The management was excellent and was easy to communicate with. Taught me a lot about sales than any other company I worked for. Always had something to do, and the best part was there was major charity contributions from the company. An overall great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with tight deadlines and some delays
MARKETING & DESIGN COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCDecember 17, 2013
Pros: flex days
Cons: no
Wexxar was a steady pace place to work for, but lack of direction to advance career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charity and Community oriented
Sales Associate (Former Employee), BeachesAugust 22, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: n/c
I learned how to multi-task and achieve sales goals while maintaining strong working relationships with all staff members. I enjoyed being part of food atmosphere that brings people together, and to be involved in charitable donations as well as fundraising for local programs. It's always hard trying to please everyone, but I enjoyed the challenges – more... as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, but inconsistencies in policies
Team Lead (Former Employee), ABJune 11, 2013
Pros: excellent product, really good corporate structure, good first job i guess
Cons: no future, no consistent policies or procedures, no accountabililty to staff
Really good company to work for as far as product and culture, unfortunately, with a franchise situation, each bakery is different as to how it is run and opportunities for advancement. As a corporately trained individual, I found it frustrating and entirely unacceptable with no rules or proper training happening. I would work for the corporation again, – more... but never for a franchisee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest Place to work:)
Cashier/ sales (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 27, 2013
Pros: great pay, great hours, nice stuff, great boss, they give breaks which lets be honest hard to find that now a days
Cons: not enough continue hours needed for myself which sucks for me:(
I work for cobs bread in Toronto it was one off my best Jobs I have ever had the staff where the nicest people I have ever had a pleasure in meeting and knowing them my boss which was the owner was The best very nice women my shift was great for me but unfortunately I couldn't get enough hours to pay my living expenses
But great job for Students being – more... a mother myself would be very happy if my child worked at cobs the pay is very good the customers where very friendly:) The best healthly bread I ever had:) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work until new owners.
Sales Team Lead (Former Employee), Delta, BCFebruary 26, 2013
The company itself is great, fun people to work with, excellent product. It's just too bad it's franchisees that ruin it for the employees that make the location what it was.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Baker (Current Employee), riverbend squareJanuary 23, 2013
i love working i n cobs we start baking around 11pm i enjoy working with my co worker because they are friendly and understanding in cobs i learn how to bake and how to make mixing the dough specialy making good looking production
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, always enjoyable and looked forward to working
Brand Ambassador (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 25, 2012
Pros: high pay for the worked required
Cons: short, irregular hours
Handed out samples at various events, promoted the brand to the general public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fantasitic place to work. All the staff and managment at my location were such a fun family like staff dinamic
Store front team leader (Former Employee), Aurora, ONSeptember 19, 2012
I increased my customer service abilities
the managers were the best i have ever come across!
Co workers were like one big family
the hardest part was leaving
The most enjoyable was how everyone the worked there and the customers. The product itself was amazing as well as the concept of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Associate and Bakers Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 9, 2012
Pros: the staff
Cons: n/a
I really like the job I have at Cobs Bread, it's very laid-back and an overall great place to work. It's a fairly simple job and works for my schedule really well. My co-workers are great and we always have a good time. The owner is really great also and same with the manager. The hardest part of the job is dealing with a store full of customers, it – more... can get to be very busy at times. I really like the environment and the people I work with. – less

About COBS Bread

COBS Bread specializes in individually handcrafted breads in a variety of flavours and textures. All of our bread is freshly baked – Read more