Coast Mountain Bus Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transit Operator not as fun as it used to be
Transit Operator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 February 2018
It is a very difficult and stressful job. In an effort to increase service the job of Transit Operator has become increasingly difficult. Running time, the time it takes to complete a trip has been cut and Recovery time, the time between trips has been slashed leaving very little time to eat or go to the washroom between trips. This leads to service running late and passengers getting grumpy, angry or worse.

If you are considering this job be aware that you must be prepared to be verbally or physically assaulted by passengers. I am verbally assaulted on a weekly basis and in my 10+ year career I had a passenger spit in my face. The company has shown signs of becoming more proactive in protecting bus drivers but it is very slow in coming. More security is needed and barriers to protect drivers.

After all that if you are still interested I must say that the Transit Operators I work with are some of the finest people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. We all share a bond and consider ourselves brothers and sisters regardless of race or religion. It is a very challenging and stressful job, but a few minutes with another driver between trips can be an absolute joy.

We also have the opportunity to help people, in my career I have found several runaway children, lost seniors and one robbery suspect. If you like a challenge, diversity in your day, and the thrill of not knowing whats coming next, then this is your job. You also must like driving.

The salary is very good, training is paid, benefits are excellent. Starting vacation time can be five weeks
  more... if you choose to bank your stat holidays, which is very nice. Be Aware - if you want to start with full time work DO NOT apply for Community Shuttle. Apply for Conventional (aka Big Buses). Conventional bus drivers are paid better and have more benefits (travel time, Sunday shift premium) than Shuttle drivers and receive full time hours right away. Shuttle drivers start on-call or part time.  less
Pros
Salary, Vacation Time, flexible shift work, amazing bus driver co-workers
Cons
Stress and more stress, traffic, grumpy passengers, no breaks unless you have a split shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work atmosphere.
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC3 January 2018
Challenging work atmosphere. Training on new equipment always provided. Good health and retirement plan. Exercise facilities available. Transit travel passes for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be good
Transit Operator (bus driver) (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC19 December 2017
Over the last few years routes have been "streamlined" What this means is that you have to drive hard and fast to make it to your next terminal on time. Coffee breaks or lunch are a thing of the past. If you leave a minute early you will be called on it. Road supervisors will harass u over the smallest items. Middle management have no idea what it is like to drive a bus. They don't give a hoot about you, your life or your health. You are accountable for anything that happens in your bus and they will always try to find fault with the operator. You will be dealing with a lot of mentally ill people, being spit on or assualted will happen to you. Until you get a few years seniority you will get the worst hours, the worst routes, long split shifts. Forget about Sat or Sunday off for 10 or so years.
Pros
Routes, day's off and hours are all way's changing.
Cons
management, rude people
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Transit Operator (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC19 December 2017
CMBC is a great place to work. The supervisors care about the employees, and do what they can to make sure that any issues are satisfactorily resolved
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced busy work environment
Confidential Assistant (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC7 November 2017
CMBC is a diverse and complicated business with many moving pieces. Everyday has a challenge and that's what I love! There are so many opportunities within the enterprise - unionized or exempt.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top rated company to work for
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 September 2017
I had Excellent job security, advancement, benefits. assistance with education, meeting people, teamwork. Did not like split shifts. Supervised drivers
Pros
Job security
Cons
Working in a union is not for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not easy for newcomers and pay less.
Transit Operator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 June 2017
Newcomers get stuck what's left in the schedule, split shifts, no designated lunch breaks, running time pressure if you get late because of traffic it consumes your break time.
Pros
union job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Options and a need for patience
Transit Operator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 June 2017
Good job! Can be very difficult dealing with all sorts of situations that can cause passengers grief: problems with schedules, mechanical break downs, late or missing buses. Overall as a driver I have always tried to create a pleasant experience for my passengers. I try to give them a positive part to their day. As your seniority builds your choices and experience as a driver should improve.
Pros
Schedule and location choices
Cons
Slow to improve bus service/schedules for passengers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Temp Clerk - Materials Control Department (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC1 June 2017
allows you to grow and be part of the team... you just need to be a member of the union so that you can join and apply within..
excellent work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive
1st Year Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 June 2017
no better place to do an commercial transport apprenticeship, pay is good, benefits are ok, people are great, and a 4 day work week is hard to beat. really happy to be working ther
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report

Want to know more about Coast Mountain Bus Company?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good secure career
Transit operator / city bus operator (Former Employee) –  Lower Mainland, BC27 February 2017
good job, good benefits, flexible work schedule.
good union. lots of holiday weeks.
room for advancement and training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just drive
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Lower Mainland, BC31 March 2016
Don't expect a good balance between work and life. Management doesn't care about you or any problems you might have. Very long days with 5+ hours split shift. they tell you everything you want to hear in training then reality kicks in And your doing big split shifts for the next 10 years with no home life.
Pros
pay is decent
Cons
Management, split shifts, don't ask for a day off because the answer will be NO even if you give them lots of notuce
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace!
Mechanical Engineer Co-op student (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, B.C12 June 2015
A typical day involves many interesting projects. Learned about diesel engine cooling system, analyzed hydraulic systems for longevity, company standards for maintenance and drawings standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top employers in British Canada.
Confidential Secretary - Labor Relations (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC9 June 2015
Coast Mountain Bus Company has great pay, benefits & work/life balance. Variety of co-workers from all backgrounds. Working with union leaders and labour relations was exciting and challenging.
Pros
free bus pass, great co-workers, job security, stable
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 April 2015
i am lucky to work and to continue to work for coast mountain bus . But like so many peolpe i need extra work to make ends meet.
Pros
free employee appreciation lunch days
Cons
problem passengers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow and steady
Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver27 January 2015
- expectations are very low
- management heavy
- can be fast paced at times
Pros
time off
Cons
convincing manager to take time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Operator/Driver (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 December 2014
It was a great way to meet fellow drivers and share a common goal to provide the much needed transportation for the city of Vancouver .
Pros
Great Job
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time employment, training provided, good salary and benefits.
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 September 2014
Was not able to have a good balance between work and life. Great co-workers and road supervisors.
Pros
lifetime bus pass, good benefits and salary. Full time employment
Cons
early start, did not have a good balance between job and life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad if you create a life outside of work
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC29 November 2013
I can't say being a transit operator was a dream job for me. Evidently, as I quit, it wasn't. If you're the type who is okay with shutting most of their brain down for 7.5 hours (after the first two years - since it takes about that long to be REALLY comfortable driving a bus), then go for it! The pay is not bad at all, though overtime isn't what it used to be apparently.

The customers range from awesome to awful, just like in any field. Same with the co-workers, unfortunately. They're mostly a good bunch though. All a little crazy!
Pros
Free bus pass
Cons
Bacteria
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great secure job.
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC4 October 2013
I really cannot complain about my time at CMBC, 17 plus years

of pensionable time. I am thankful for that, but due to

strong union involvement, you were limited to your job.

Co-Workers were enjoyable, training was limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 12Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coast Mountain Bus Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 28 reviews
513
45
37
23
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.4Salary/Benefits
4.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture