Find companies:
Cliffs Natural Resources
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Cliffs Natural Resources Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work conditions and operation of the plant leave a lot to be desired. I am hard working, efficiency and production oriented. Wabush Mines isn't
Boiler Operator (Former Employee), Wabush, NLAugust 7, 2013
Pros: it pays me every two weeks
Cons: location, work ethic, production rate, working conditions, unfair
Work Procedure
• Start, stop and operate electric and oil fired boilers as required.
• Chemically test and treat boiler and plant utility water to meet requirements.
• Monitor and adjust equipment for proper operating characteristics (temperatures, flow rates, levels, etc.) .
• Complet routine daily checks and readings on equipment (pumps, air compressors, – more... fans, etc.)
• Perform routine PMs on plant equipment.
• Monitore status plant supplies and materials and ordered when required.
• Resolve problems and system upsets encountered by working with relevant personnel.

I am a hard worker and don't mind work, I would actually prefer it but I learned at Wabush Mines that you don't have to work to get paid which I think is ridiculous and would prefer to work with a company that is more efficient, productive and run in a more professional way.

Management isn't capable of doing their job because of the lack of moral, values and work ethic of its employees.

My co-workers are a part of the problem and I cannot relate to them. I myself am the total opposite of my co-workers.

The hardest part of my job is the consistent lack of work ethic having to do other operators jobs when I relieve them for my shift and having to put up with expressing my issues with the chief, and shift engineers and nothing being done about it, because they are part of the problem also.

The best part of my job is that I am now confident in my Power Engineering experience and capabilities and have 3 years of experience which will help me pursue a career and future with a more suitable company that is goal, production and efficiency oriented as well as fair to its employees. I have the time required to write for my 2nd Class Power Engineering ticket as well as have done a lot of study for the exams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Snr. Management & Staff are friendly
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 16, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: enjoyable staff environment
- Setting up new office
- How to handle Telepresence calls
- Excellent
- Helpful
- Last day of my contract
- Greeting Snr. Managment, fellow members and visitors from overseas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work if you're willing to work
Current Employee (Current Employee), Northern MichiganMarch 5, 2014
Cliffs has been great place to work, however recent management changes have lead to realignment, cut backs and reductions. I cannot predict whether it will continue to be a good place to work. My hope is that it will.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned a lot about Plant Maintenance
Maintenance Planner/Coordinator (Former Employee), Ishpeming, MichiganMarch 3, 2014
It can be very trying working in union environment at times. Cliffs pays pretty well for your troubles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits. Antiquated culture, management is non-proactive, little advancement oppurtunities
Procurement (Former Employee), Cleveland OHDecember 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: lack of advancement opportunities, little proactiveness, no "team" atmosphere
Company has good benefits and depending on where you are or which site there are other pros. However, in general, the management seems to be more reactive than proactive. Overall "putting out fires" mentality...never ever really gets ahead of the game. Most of the workforce is older and overall the culture is generally negative, I feel that the millennial – more... generation would have a hard time relating to workers at this company. Atmosphere of "team" seemed to be missing. Advancement was really never mentioned, if you wanted to advance you had to seek it out yourself and in general the opportunities weren't there. In regards to this I kind of saw an "everyone for themself" attitude. However, again, the company had good pay and benefits and there were some "bright" spots depending on where you were located. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance (Former Employee), Ishpeming, MIOctober 21, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits
The people I worked with everyday made this job safe and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a very good company
Safety Program Manager (Current Employee), Adger, ALSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: good initial pay, great benefits
Cons: market volatility
Cliffs is a very good company, well managed with professional people. The only drawback (and it is more the industry, than the company) is the volatility of the market. High salaries, great benefits, and lots of layoffs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to Work For!
Manager (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 9, 2013
Cliffs is a great company to work for. A typical day requires collaboration and a strong ability to prioritize workload. They gave me an opportunity to really expand my career. The hardest part of my job is working in an environment that is currently undergoing some financial difficulties due to poor market performance and the potential voluntary and – more... involuntary loss of coworkers. However, the challenges the company presents to someone at my level, as well as the industry alone, has made it a very rewarding company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun and productive geology team!
Pit Technician (Former Employee), WindarlingJune 26, 2013
Pros: great roster
Cons: physically demanding work all the time
My day would start with the lifestyle coach leading our Geology team through a series of stretches. After this we would all attend a “Cliffs” safety/toolbox meeting in which I had to lead a number of times. As soon as the meeting had finished we would go and do a thorough pre-start on all Geology vehicles, noting down any damages or things that needed – more... to be fixed. Once this was done we would have a geology get together and work out our days priorities whether they be sampling, mark outs, ore spotting etc and depending on the priority level would depend on how the day would proceed. My main concern was ensuring a quick and accurate set out of all ore-blocks. Grade control sampling would be carried out with other members of the geology team, always with health and safety of team members in the forefront of our minds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and pay, no opportunity for advancement
Maintenance Clerk (Current Employee), Bessemer, ALJune 10, 2013
Pros: good pay/benefits
Cons: odd hours and no opportunity for advancement
Cliffs is a wonderful company that strives to care for its employees. The branch companies, such as Oak Grove Resources, are usually 24-7 operations where an ideal work/life balance cannot be expected unless you are a day shift employee. Because of small operations and limited position openings, the room for advancement has become scarce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, good pay.
Laborer / Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Ishpeming, MIApril 26, 2013
Pros: benifits
Cons: work schedule
I enjoy what I do when I am at work, but the sched. is hard on the life outside work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company many people working here
Electrician (Current Employee), Ishpeming, MIApril 19, 2013
PM's on various electrical apparatus including transformers, starters and substations. Work with many different voltages up to 13.8 kv. Management seems to do a fairly decent job of organizing work and making sure that things are done in a timely fashion. Co-worker are competent and easy to get along with. It's a fairly big place and there are times – more... when you are needed in three different places at once. Difficult to do. Best part of the job are the various challenges you face on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Summer Student Job
Maintenance Intern (Former Employee), Ishpeming, MIApril 13, 2013
I enjoyed going to work everyday, everyone i worked with was very knowledgeable and very safety oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits... dead end job with no advancement available
Safety Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Pineville, West VirginiaSeptember 28, 2012
I enjoy the people I work with, but there is no opportunity for advancement. I am stuck in the same position and have been there for four years. I have acquired more responsibility, but not the position or pay to go with it. It all depends on the market value and price of met coal whether you have a job one day to the next. I need more stability for – more... me and my family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good set of core values but do not always follow through.
Catalog Manager (Former Employee), Duluth MNAugust 2, 2012
Pros: decent salary.
Cons: little upper management support of middle management.
The HR department is one of the worst I have encountered. The company core values are extensive but tend to fall by the wayside when the pressure is on to accomplish a task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evironnement de travail
Conseillère en formation - Partenaire d'affaire RH (Former Employee), Bloom LakeJuly 24, 2013
Pros: hébergement
Cons: management
Département opération minière et entretien mine (garage) était très agréable, les collaborateurs voulaient avoir une bonne ambiance de travail et faisait pour l'évolution de chaque départements. Je touchais à plusieurs sphères dans l'activité de mon travail donc me donnait l'opportunité de voir plus grand et d'évoluer pour ma carrière.

About Cliffs Natural Resources

Cliffs Natural Resources Inc. is an international mining and natural resources company. A member of the S&P 500 Index, the – Read more