Find companies:
Cleaver-Brooks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Cleaver-Brooks Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, challenging,
Director of Training and Technical Media (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 6, 2015
Pros: decision making latitude, ability to exercise judgment
Cons: no ability to work remotely, factory management mind set permeates all offices
Cleaver-Brooks is a manufacturer of boilers ranging from the small, 100 HP steam boilers to very large industrial boilers with capacities of over 3 million lbs of steam per hr at over 1000 psig.

If you – more... love big heavy equipment, this is a company that provides the opportunity to learn a lot. That being said, it is a manufacturing company and the reward structure is somewhat constrained.

Projects ideas are welcome, but often under-funded. The general theme being "extend the horizon." Unfortunately, there is always a valid reason for accelerating the completion even in the face of limited resources. This can be very exciting, but it is also very tiring.

The matrix management model makes it challenging to get things accomplished when cross-functional commitments are necessary for achievement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance
Maintenance Tech II (Current Employee), Thomasville, GAFebruary 16, 2015
Worked with one of the best people I have ever know. Got great life lessons as well as work ethics. Had the ability to be creative and do some amazing projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all this place was a good place to work.
Hydro Tubing Specialist (Former Employee), The place of business is in Thomasville GANovember 30, 2014
Pros: getting to leave early if the work was done before time.
Cons: having to stay longer than need to if things didn't go well.
I worked in the Tubing and Hydro dept. My work consisted of removing the I beams from the inside of the boilers. Cleaning the tube holes to get rid of rust and particles that could harm the tubes. Once – more... that was done, helped slide the tubes into the boilers and locked them in place so we could tighten them up. Worked the ends of the tubes according to specs then plugged and hydro the boilers to one and a half lbs per in of operating pressure. Management was fair and just. Made sure things got done. The hardest part was climbing on the boilers to hook up the cranes for moving the product. Also crawling down the furnace tubes to catch tubes on certain boilers. The best part was getting the product to work as it was made to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow slow slow, disorganized and set in their ways
n/a (Current Employee), Lincoln, NENovember 16, 2014
Pros: some good people at low levels
Cons: no moving up, experience not used, hate coming in
I wanted a place to earn a chance to progress. This place was presented by management as honest with good people and room to improve things and move up. The good people part was pretty true, but mostly – more... out on the floor. The rest was not true at all with all the twists and turns and game playing. Moving up was also not true unless you are part of the inner circle. I came with experience and ability and it's never been used because they are afraid you will show them up. I almost hate coming in and many just say it pays the bills. I am underpaid and fed up, and I'm looking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge disappointment, just depressing
manufacturing (Current Employee), Lincoln, NESeptember 1, 2014
Pros: hmmm...the fact i have a job
Cons: just read my review, it's depressing thinking of writing that again
After a horrible hiring process I gave this place a chance and have been here for more than a year. I should have went with my first instinct at how I was treated before they hired me. People who need – more... a job tend to talk themselves into overlooking how they get treated at first (like I did), they shouldn't no matter how bad they need a job. If the owners knew how management was really running the company, they would fire most of the management & hr and just start over. The wasted time, money and effort is over the top. The good people here are the average joes who get their hands dirty, the rest just take advantage. I have to find a new job before I can leave but this is the worst place I have ever worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEJuly 22, 2014
Pros: good job security
Cons: average management
Over the years I have regrets about coming to work here but there are times I'm glad I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Summer Intern in the Procurement Department (Former Employee), Thomasville, GAJune 30, 2014
Pros: great management and co-workers
Typical day at work was creating excel spread sheets and graphs. Contacting suppliers and buyers to ensure quality. I learned a lot about the business world and flow of a work day. Management was great along with the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged
qc (Current Employee), lincolnMarch 22, 2014
Pros: steady work for the time being
Cons: such gross mismanagement can’t be sustained forever.
Title says it all. The company pretends to be cutting edge but there is no advancement and it is mismanaged from the top down. Work day in and day out, no new ideas are welcome so if you come here and – more... have those….keep them to yourself. Just stagnation with the same positions left unfilled for a year on end sometimes! That creates problems in other positions. Managers and HR not doing their job and the rest picking up the slack with no thanks or consideration. I wonder how they get away with it….it cost the company big money. It is becoming a place where traditional Nebraskan employees are now the minority, in favor of much cheaper immigrants who might or might not even be legal and can’t speak english. Wasted money, time and effort………same mistakes over and over. What a waste of what was once a good company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast pace, with many perks.
Production Worker (Current Employee), Thomasville, GAFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: bonuses, health, medical, vision care, paid day off and a free health checkup.
Cons: having to work 7 days a week.
Working in the panel has been a great learning tool, I am learning how to wire up electrical panels. Cleaver Brooks love to cross train which is great knowledge. Management is in turn with what is going – more... on with all the employees, The co-workers are very helpful. The hardest part of working at Cleaver Brooks is the fact that sometimes sales are slow and work is slow. The enjoyable part of working there is the people. Cleaver Brooks is a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
welder/ fabricator (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEMay 15, 2012
easy to make friends there 75% of the workers dont speak very good english so its hard to get work done. in my time being there it seemed liked there wasnt that much work to do but they were always in a hury to get the boilers done. so that they could put them outside and let them rust kind of a skrewed up place definitly need to change some things.

About Cleaver-Brooks

Cleaver-Brooks is a complete boiler room solutions provider that helps businesses run better every day. The company designs and – Read more