Find companies:
CLEAN HARBORS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
153 reviews

CLEAN HARBORS Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
driller assistant (Former Employee), grande prairieNovember 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: worst pay of all drilling company's, management with no people skills
the workers are good people but management is a joke. drilling division is a joke management will lie to your face and when ya confront them at the shop they will act like it never happened. terrible place to work if you want to waste years of your life go to this division that is going nowhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work when work is available
Relief Chef/Baker (Former Employee), Acheson, AlbertaNovember 18, 2014
Enjoyed working with this company, but they just didn't keep me busy enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In all my years worst company to work for
Slave (Former Employee), AchesonOctober 18, 2014
Pros: paid me that's all
Cons: everything about this place was awful
Managers are on buddy system and are not adequately educated. Training was online only and had no other training specific to my job. Most of the people I worked with were miserable and made it even more unpleasant to work there. Manager had very questionable ethics and was very unprofessional, dislike by staff. Seemed to get off on discipline, reading – more... his linkedin he actually puts 'discipline' as if it was a qualification LOL, would not recommend them to anyone, it is an awful atmosphere! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money, but soul sucking.
operator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: good money, good people
Cons: management, never home
Interesting job that keeps you busy but almost too busy. Everyone you work with in the field is great but when you get back to the shop you are on the defense just waiting for someone with a meaningless or made up title to make you feel small. Unusually high hostility between divisions. Equipment it's not bad depending on division lol. Wage seems low – more... but when you compare it to the amount of work you actually do it's pretty decent. Bottom line is you're never home, and if that is the kind of life you want to live then it's not s bad place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the logistics side.....
DISPATCHER (Current Employee), AlbertaSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great management support
Cons: low pay, hopefully that will change sooner than later
day starts at 4:30am when the alarm goes, from there about a 45 min drive to site, then I try to organize the day from whatever has been left from the night before etc.

about 8:30 mgmt. comes in, then more work comes in, constantly re organizing the master plan

co workers do what they can to support the decisions I make and when in doubt they do steer – more... me in their direction

dispatching is a 24 hour routine, not for those who choose to leave the office at the office... calls come from 5am to 9pm and sometimes later if there is an emergency somewhere....

I work with a pretty good group, we all have our pros and cons, we all try to bring our best to the table, sometimes the day is frustrating, other times rewarding... sometimes getting to go to bed is the best part – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleanharbours are a great company
PVOSB Laborer (Former Employee), Fort St John, BCAugust 14, 2014
My experience in the PVOSB Mill was amazing. learned many skills and the knowhow of equipment that I couldn't imagine id learn anywhere else. was definitely a great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst management
swamper (Former Employee), AB macklinAugust 6, 2014
Pros: time and a half after 40hrs
Cons: shop time at 13$\hr 80% of the time
Macklin ab. clean harbors flush bys

80% shop time @13$/hr

Great place to start off in the oil industry not a place you want to stay for long, management is horrible, you are definitely Either favored or your not and you will not enjoy your self.

I witnessed someone get fired and management ran to the door after fireing this guy and wouldn't let him – more... leave and told him if he left he's gonna take it as if he quits. Management is out of control and I do not recommend Macklin clean harbors to anyone, just keep looking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired for one position but ended up doing another
Senior Rental/ Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Acheson, ABJuly 23, 2014
Pros: the non-managment people
Cons: management
This job held a lot of promise for me and checked all the boxes that I had set for myself when I was looking to change companies and grow professionally. I was led to believe that their was no issue with the salary that they were offering me and that they were healthy financially. Within two months I could see that somethings were not adding up right – more... nor did it seem that they even wanted me to do what I was hired for, they used me as an administrator. I have no issue with administrative duties but I wanted more than that and I was promised more than that. Management is all friends and if you don't fit in with what they are looking for or do not agree with their horrible business practices then you were seen as on the way out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 3, 2014
Pros: good starting wage. helpful coworkers. paid vacation and benefits.
Cons: very little support and training opportunities, high employee turnover, disorganized, poor management, lack of raises or bonuses, no incentive to stay long term.
Clean Harbors is a frustrating and difficult company to work for. There is so much disconnect and poor communication between the various divisions and within upper management. I worked as a customer service representative for a year. My co-workers were really great and the only reason I stayed at the company for as long as I did. There was a lot of – more... difficulty with our managers, as they were completely absent most of the time and non communicative and not available when they were needed. The computer system is really slow and outdated. Invoices, quotes, profiles all had to be approved by the corporate office in Boston and it was really difficult to complete anything easily. The pay was pretty good but the benefits were just average and there were no paid sick days. Really high turnover, it seems like there were constantly new people being hired within the company but very few people actually stayed long term. Overall I would not recommend this company, it was not a good experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Efficient, Puts Safety First, Fun Place to Work
Field Supervisor (Former Employee), Bonnyville, ABJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: lots of driving
Typical day is like any other supervisor role. You drive to site and make sure that everyone arrived safely. Build and host morning toolbox and address any concerns the crew would have. You work very close to dispatch in making sure that all jobs are planned and that the customers demands are met. You go out on site and make sure that all crews are – more... doing the jobs to the company and clients expectations. Perform site inspections and audits by yourself and also with the client. Converse with the client in meetings and over the phone and plan upcoming jobs.
Awesome crew and can get the job done. Laughing and caring and trustworthy made it enjoyable to be part of the management team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of travel
Energy Services Technician (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 2, 2014
Pros: you can make good monry
Cons: sometimes gone too often
There is a lot of travel. Sometimes for weeks at a time. When in the yard, it can be hard to keep busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABSOLUTE WORST COMPANY EVER - don't bother applying, seriously!!!
Purchasing Specialist (Former Employee), Edmonton Head OfficeMay 20, 2014
Cons: low pay; long hours, no training, no support, bad atmosphere to work in period!!
This company has a major disconnect between management and employees. I worked at the head office in Edm and it is ridiculous, the staff in AP are scared of their boss; the billing and transportation depts are kept in the back because they are too loud (but the best group there); management all went to school together and are best buds - but are not – more... friendly with other staff; purchasing manager is a complete joke - most arrogant boss ever, works half days and even then he bluffs his way through conference calls and lies through his teeth about his "busy" work schedule - a complete joke!! If Norwell had any clue they would have someone there for him to report to - extremely unprofessional, awful work environment!! Half the people are looking for other employment - no job stability, they don't tell you there are no sick days, they deduct a vacation day as sick days, no raises - yes no raises!! WTH is that!! Cancelled their stock program, cancelled their gym membership reimbursement - OH AND don't even think about training...you are left on your own!! No moral and everyone in the field hates head office and visa versa...all you hear is complaining; the job description is not the actual job you do either; My biggest mistake ever was accepting this job!! Do yourself a favor and save a headache....don't bother with Clean Harbors, they pretend to talk a good talk but are far from it and are not what they advertise at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome summer student experience
Office Assistant - Student Intern (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 15, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere, lots of opportunity
Cons: dirty work conditions, even in offices.
A complete lack of micromanagement is the bane of this company and the boon of new workers. Many areas are mismanaged, but that just means that anyone new can step in and overhaul their own department, treated as the pride of the company for doing so. If you come in with a refined skillset, especially one that helps in logistics and organization, there – more... is a load of opportunity for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of job security
Rental Administrator (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABMay 5, 2014
Have been with Clean Harbors for just about 4 years. Not the most rewarding environment. Lack of job security as well as lack of career advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Saw Operator (Former Employee), Grimshaw, ABApril 8, 2014
learned how to use chainsaw properly and work with co-workers and enjoy working outside and experiences lots of different places and conditions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNCONTROLLED CHAOS AND NON-COMPLIANCE
Specialist (Former Employee), Ft. McMurray, ABFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: if you are a bandit, liar and thief you will love it here
Cons: everything
I was hired as a specialist but treated like a low-life. Why bother? - to put a monkey in a position to fool everyone about being legal. This company nurtures a culture of non-compliance. When you want to do your job and abide by the law, you are ordered by senior executives to shut up and keep quiet. This is a large American company doing business – more... on Canadian soil with total disregard to laws, health and safety in reality. In theory, they talk a mean fight, say whatever they want but put in writing something that makes you think it came from a REAL company that wants to do the right thing. I agree with the vast majority of reviews - run screaming in the opposite direction and don't believe a word they say - cover your butt and get everything in writing. I will have my day in court. For proof, see what the Teamsters have to say and do to keep this company in line once and for all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job I ever had
Foreman (Former Employee), lethbridge ABJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: decent pay... that's it
Cons: negative work environment, low tech small building, management is clueless, no one takes responsibility
Very negative atmosphere employees are bullied and hate their life. Management does not take criticism and is verbally abusive. Work is a joke and there's no thought to reduce strain on employees or generate quality product. Its like working in 1911 very low tech get used to paying hot potato and throwing people under the bus
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is Horrible
Chef (Current Employee), Acheson ABNovember 23, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: low pay, abuse, lack of support and many more
they do not train anyone, throw them in camps and expect they will learn. They hire horrible managers who have no clue how to train or coach employees just sit in the office all day and yak on the cell phone.. The managment have no care for any of the employees or thier concerns at all you tell them your concerns till your blue in the face they just – more... dont care... the most ignorant people in the world. If you want to work in camps stay away from Clean Harbors in Acheson.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away screaming
Driver (Former Employee), Fort Saint John bcNovember 12, 2013
Pros: good place to start if you have no experience
Cons: your seat filler, you can bend over backward here, but the first time it doesn't suit them the threats and bs start
I worked in fort Saint John division for a couple years, very unprofessional atmosphere, management speaks about hourly employees negatively in front if other workers. They profess to have standards, yet the equipment which is old n beat up is full of garbage and missing fittings and hoses etc on a daily basis. Again with training they claim to have – more... a 160 hour process per type of equipment till your signed off on it, this doesn't happen due to them wanting to use all available operators for jobs at hand, best case will see a swamper able to run the equipment sent to train. Favouritism abounds there, if an employee who is an otherwise good hands peaks to a problem they have with something, often that employee is sat for a long period of time till they either quit or smarten up. This place for the above mentioned reasons has the good hands leaving when they have had enough and attracts the kind if nightmare employee you wouldn't want to work with, they lose customers on a steady basis for this reason, but are large enough with equipment and resources that they seem to survive in fort Saint John – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Labourer (Former Employee), Clairmont, ABSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: poor management, low pay, no recognition for work
I started out in the wash bay and then slowly started working on the equipment. Somewhat understaffed shop wise, one employee was practically useless, yet still continued to be employed when should have been let go long ago. Shop foreman was useless, management was pretty much non existent. Shop is unorganized, ideas were thrown out to help out the – more... shop cleanliness and organization issues but seemed to have been ignored.

One employee was useless. Did nothing the majority of the time, when i had to work with him I pretty much did the work while he would find reasons to leave the work area. Or he would go take hour long bathroom breaks. There is no supervision so he got away with doing it, at the same time there is no recognition for myself and how hard I would work at times because of the same reason.

Good place to work if you want to make 20 bucks an hour and go nowhere. Met two good people, one of which taught me a lot. In the end I don't regret my time spent there, I learned a bunch and met a couple good people, if management would wake up, they could learn a thing or two and actually get the shop running smoothly. I ended up quitting because I moved. – less

About CLEAN HARBORS

Clean Harbors is North America’s leading and most trusted provider of energy/industrial, environmental and hazardous waste – Read more

CLEAN HARBORS Photos