Clark Builders Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, exciting,good training
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 August 2017
GOOD PAY
good training
good advancement
good hours
overtime and weekends!
good benefits
lots of good people
hard work
good to have
good experience
good career choice for trades people
Pros
good money, good hours, good people
Cons
can be long days, hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 July 2017
It was a pleasure working as a Project Coordinator for Clark Builders. I felt that senior management allowed me to take on challenging tasks while offering mentorship to further my skills in a management position. Clark's culture and core values exceeded any I have encountered in the past.
Pros
Positive attitudes within the company
Cons
Training opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People Centered Workplace
Carpenter Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 June 2017
Clark Builders is a great place to work and offers above average wages and benefits. The HR department and management are incredibly people orientated and genuinely care about the work force.
Pros
Excellent wages, incredible management
Cons
Might end up working away for longer shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Journeyman Carpenter (Current Employee) –  edmomton24 April 2017
fun at times when your busy doing what you love other times very borrying and drag your feet type of work. the people you work around are awsome except for some of the supervisers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Safety Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2017
Under staffed and over worked! Need to improve culture at CB. Management need to support better and better results will occur. Safety culture is just ok.
Pros
Free booze on Fridays!
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 March 2017
Director needs to know what is going on down the chain level before making hastened decisions.
Work is great. Benefits are good. Construction and project managers are nice to work with. Supers and foreman are knowledgeable of what they are doing.
Nice atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, if you are no union
Ironworker / Steel Erector (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 January 2017
Good place to work, lots of low quality work. Lots of poor attitude as well as sloppy management when in regards to building quality
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always lots of fun on big projects
Lead hand (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2017
Worked on lots of different big projects like police stations, hospitals, common wealth stadium and many more . Was nice having different job tasks making the project a lot of fun and was able to learn a lot about the other trades and building materials .
Pros
fast pace
Cons
had none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Pre engineered steel erector (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 November 2016
i was an ironworker there and it was a very good place to work just wasnt as steady as i hoped got laid off all the time but they usually do call back
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great experience so far from home
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT18 November 2016
enjoyed getting to see new parts of Canada and worked with great people would go back to Yellowknife and work if I didn't have a child
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outdoors
Apprentice Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 November 2016
its an outdoors job so if you re willing to work in all kinds of weather then this is the job for you. So the people are great also
Pros
outdoors
Cons
outdoors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a large company
Apprentice Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Alberta31 October 2016
my typical day was wake up, do what I'm told, go to sleep. they are a large company and tend to treat their apprentices who don't really fit in anywhere as cannon fodder.
Pros
home every night
Cons
couldnt get along with some of the superintendants
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for 2-3 years but little chance of advancement.
JOURNEYMAN CARPENTER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 October 2016
Human resource department is a little shady. Only advice I can give is "Don't drink the purple koolaid". Work there long enough and you will understand it a little better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has many good carpenters
Carpenter Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 February 2016
This company has many good carpenters but has weak management. This has a trickle down affect and creates unfavourable working conditions for those in a supervisory roll.
Wages were very competitive, hours are competitive depending on which project you are on.
The diversity in work has constant and enjoyable.
Loyalty to the company was not reciprocated which is unfortunate.
Pros
Competitive wages and working hours
Cons
Poor management of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management. great wages
Carpenter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 January 2016
Gained much experience, great co workers, Office staff go above and beyond. The crew i was working with made going to work easy and enjoyable.
Pros
high wages.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
___
Financial Accountant, Finance (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 January 2016
Workload is manageable yet challenging, but salary/benefit is lower than what other companies offer for the same type of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 January 2016
I worked there for 4 and half years enjoyed working with different crews all over alberta. It wasn't all sunshine and rainbows over all in was an enjoyable time and if I had a choose will do the whole thing all over again
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With so many different sub contractors, each with their own safety culture everyone had to work hard to work it all together to a safety success.
Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Hills, Alberta15 October 2015
I worked for a short time with Clark Builders as I was on my way to a full time job with Fluor Energy. In this short time I could see that there was a great improvement among all the workers and different trades to work safely together in such a small congested area with avoiding conflict among any one. It was great to see a safety culture progression working towards success.
Pros
This is a Suncor site with huge participation from Suncor, in Tool Box Meetings as well as Safety Meetings, this being well received by workers.
Cons
At that time the roads were gravel and it was cold icy winter weather with terrible roads, this has definitely changed over the past years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT9 August 2015
Working at a movie store is a really chill job. I learned how to properly clean dvds and blurays even got to watch the gradual takeover of blurays. Great family atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J'ai toujours bien été traiter
Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 April 2015
Une journée typique a travailler pour Clark Builders est très charger. Il y a toujours quelque chose a faire durant la journée que sa soit de construire quelque chose ou décharger une livraison ou nettoyer un lieu de travail. J'ai toujours eu l'opportunité d'apprendre de nouvel tache. A propos de ma collaboration, j'ai toujours donner mon 110% pour quoi que ce soit. C'est la façon que j'ai appris a travailler et la restera toujours ainsi ! L'aspect le plus difficile que j'ai eu est de me faire accepter en étant un quebecois. L'aspect qui a été le plus agréable est qu'il m'ont toujours laisser la chance d'apprendre énormément.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Clark Builders. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0