Clarion Hotel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked at
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB11 November 2017
They don’t care about their employees, they just want the job done. It doesn’t matter how many rooms they give you as long as they all get done. It’s extremely unorganized. They don’t order any product. There’s mold everywhere in the building. They just cover it up to ‘fix’ it. It’s beyond me how guests can still stay in that hotel. It’s very unsafe and it should be shut down if it’s not going to get renovated.
Cons
No raise - long hours - work you like a slave
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB23 August 2017
Fun workplace and clean..
Good staff...
Ive learned to enhanced my communication skills and gained more friends in the company... save money for my grandkids and to be able to learned new culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs new Management
Guest Services Agent (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON13 July 2017
Oppressive work environment.
No positive feedback, only negative.
LOVED the job, just couldn't handle being treated like a incompetent high school kid
Pros
Free access to pool and gym
Cons
Management, threats, long hours, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place excellent staff however
Bartender/Server (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 June 2017
Beautiful place its actually very sad how the owner doesn't seem to care bout the hotel hours are always guaranteed however there are no customers and i can see why as there is limited supply of beverages and the owner puts no thought nor care into it however fromi have seen the owner like banquets but warning to anyone taking that position the owner takes the gratuities but NEVER gives them to his staff that work their tails off for minimum wage but they cant say nothing cause they need the jobs so..... the place has issues is my reveiw serious issues and its sad cause its such a nice place
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 March 2017
You just don't want to work where... Management is insane, the drama and gossip that occurs between coworkers is unreasonable. Nobody knows how to do their job properly and no one was actually trained.
Pros
You can use the pool
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst hotel franchisee ,owner & GM
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 June 2016
If you want to be a slave in a run down property with no protocol & structure, this is the job for you.
Biased, discriminating & cheap fix management.

Hope you got the message.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tremendously busy
Chief Engineer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 April 2016
very busy ,fast pace,high demand on work times .staff very friendly ,owners good to work .I found the building a challenge but also rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clarion Hotel
Night Audit/Front Desk Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary22 September 2015
Good place to work. Management cares about there staff. Co - workers are great to work with. We all work collectively to achieve common goals of the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Hotel Concierge (Former Employee) –  Toronto On16 June 2015
It is a great place to work in and I had a great time working in a fast paced environment. It is enjoying answering phone calls!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to Work
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB8 April 2015
Managment is un fitfor the position. They're constantly changing everything. The general manager was working front desk only months ago. Not worth it.Very unhappy. Never apply here.
Pros
goodwages
Cons
everything sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, great salary
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB15 January 2015
A typical day at work involved making reservations, and doing check ins and check outs.
I learned great customer service skills.
Management was lacking experience and communication skills.
I had great coworkers always willing to help with anything.
The hardest part was dealing with management.
The most enjoyable part was meeting so many interesting people and hearing their stories about all the places they've traveled.
Pros
Great Salary
Cons
Lack of Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful colleagues, fun atmosphere
Caterer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 October 2014
I enjoy working with people and learning new skills. Everyone was willing to teach and everyone was patient,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable atmosphere
grounds keeper (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON.16 September 2014
start in the morning cutting greens which was always a challenge as you had to stay away from morning golfers. After cutting we did a cleanup of broken branches and clean other debris from the course usually till lunch then we could trim and cut grass around the clubhouse and grounds. It was easy to work with others there as we would have contests to see who could get finished projects the quickest. I would think the hardest part of the job was working around golfers, the best part of the job was watching people, they would take themselves so seriously, it would always make me laugh.
Pros
free golf
Cons
wet and dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality
Sales and Events Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 September 2013
I experienced mostly in this job how customer service systems and delivery impact hospitality and service with this group, how important providing an excellent service experience was every single day and being consistent to customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clarion Resort was a great place to work
Marketing and Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON5 April 2013
I worked in the office as well as on the road booking meetings and events.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience to meet people of different languages
Server (Former Employee) –  Gananoque, ON11 September 2012
This job is fast paced at times but at some times it's slow. That would be the hardest part of the job is after you've done all your tasks, you then have to wait for the tour busses to come so you can seat them and re-set for other tour busses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON2 April 2012
Highly motivated in a fast passed environment

Worked well under pressure meeting the customer’s needs

Motivated co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Clarion Hotel reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Clarion Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 599 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3