Clariant Employee Reviews

Showing all 59 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new and fun working enveriment always something new going on.
3rd Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Belen, NMJuly 12, 2016
I enjoyed everything I did I just couldn't do graveyards anymore. I was great at everything put in front of me and if I wasn't I didn't stop till I was.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace full of opportunities to learn
Regional Key Account Manager & Export Responsible (Current Employee) –  Gebze, KocaeliJuly 11, 2016
I have learnt a lot in Clariant and improved my sales technical and business wise. Company has challenges being a customer oriented organisation because of very slow reaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Albion, MIJune 7, 2016
Great co-workers, the hardest part would be a very dirty place due to products that were being made and the exhaust air wasn't up to par. Management was great to work with, every part of the job duties was a learning experience, love learning new things. Typical day was fixing machines that were down that needed to be working on a timely matter. I love a challenge at work also, I feel I'm a hard worker.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Dirty Place
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Throw-away temps
Molding Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Belen, NMMay 5, 2016
This place gets most of their workers from temp agencies. Once the temp is close to 6 months of working, Clariant fires most if not all temps. I observed numerous good working individuals get fired for sorry reasons. They work the heck out of you and toss you aside for the next throw away. Most of the hire ons are lazy and keep their click together. My ex supervisor use to look at inappropriate images on the computer. Treatment of temps equal to that of Wal marts treatment of their employees
Pros
40 + hr work weeks
Cons
sorry management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and interesting industry
In-house Key Accounts Administrator (Former Employee) –  Chloorkop, GautengApril 20, 2016
Every day was busy, which I enjoyed. There were a lot of customer orders for raw materials to be distributed countrywide to Clariant's customers. I followed up daily on POD's which is a very important concept for Clariant. I arranged for the raw materials to be collected by the transporters, to be delivered accordingly.

I learnt their SAP system and management were wonderful yet professional. The hardest part of the job was working on SAP for Clariant's blends of raw materials into the finished product.

Overall, I enjoyed everything about Clariant, the managers, co-workers, the service providers like all the transporters and BPL warehousing staff.
Pros
Understanding if I had to leave earlier to attend to matters
Cons
Battling at times to receive quick answers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Holly, NCMarch 8, 2016
Good company to work for. Great people.

Managers and co-workers were great to work with.
Enjoyed going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work for, Nice culture, great co-workers and management. Nice structure with what job need to get done
Level 1 Maintenance Tech (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMarch 4, 2016
The days are very busy but not to stressful with a great culture surrounding its co- workers. Management gives you the things to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work experience was good however I would like to work in a more friendly environment
Summer Intern Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Albion, MIJanuary 29, 2016
Most of the time I was located in the Quality Control Lab where I would check the product for being off color, badly cut, or contamination. I learned how many different polymers acted and how they react with each other, from nylons to ABS and polypropylene to PVC. The hardest part of the job for me was the work environment itself. The managers of the plant and the workers did not work well together or get along. It made for an unhealthy work environment. The part of the job I enjoyed the most was learning about how many different kinds of polymers there are and how they act.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day In The Life
Quality Assurance Manager / ESHA manager (Current Employee) –  Colton CAOctober 8, 2015
Typical day revolves around resolving Quality issues, Customer issues, new material coordination, safety & environmental training & programs. Auditing on Quality, Safety & Environmental. New product/project communications with project teams.
Pros
Mostly good environment at local level. Free coffee.
Cons
Lack of personnel suport.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good MNC culture
Executive (On Contract) (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, MHSeptember 2, 2015
Good compnay sharing the knowledge with the freshers. providing opportunites and supports to achieve the same. provides not only professional culture but also the social welfate nature
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very informative workplace to work in
SHEQ MAnager (Current Employee) –  Kwazulu NatalJuly 16, 2015
A Typical Day at Work.

My day at work will involve attending meetings
Co ordinate HAZOP Studies
Co ordinate Risk Assessment
Perform Process Risk Analysis
Managing all safety Aspect
Security Management
Budget Control
Decision Making

What I have learnt

I have learnt that each organization is unique to one another,
I have learnt that embracing diversity is the very important aspect in one once life, in order to be able to accommodate others and their cultures and values .
I have learnt that respect others opinion and work together towards a common goal is the key to success.

Management
I have learnt to manage people, and that people come from different background and therefore you should treat them in way that you are able to accommodate where they come from, and that we are not all of us at the same level when its comes to understanding the vision and the mission of the company.

Co-workers.

I have to respect them but being able to be frank enough to tell them once they have crossed the line without being rude to them nor intimidate them

The hardest Part of the Job
Making people to accept change, accept safety culture and the new regulations ,instilling the safety culture in people.

The most enjoyable part of my Job

Working with people ,see different people everyday and learning something new everyday and the interaction with the people
Pros
Flexability
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasJune 25, 2015
Overall good company with excellent compensation package. Much more driven by financial markets, rather than delighting their customers. Lacking in brand recognition and no clarity on what they want to become as a specialty chemical manufacturer. Good people to work with, though management isn't as engaged at lower levels.
Pros
Diverse market access and strong compensation
Cons
Not concerned with customer service at executive level, however employees are very concerned regarding this.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, wish it could have been longer
Chemical Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TxMarch 1, 2015
I worked offshore for Clariant for 5 months. Unfortunately when I joined the oil prices were on the way down. I ended up being laid off after 5 months because the customer requested to reduce our service team in half for their account. I was the last person to join the team and with having the least experience I was let go.
Pros
great pay, benefits, and work life balance if you enjoy offshore work
Cons
oil price determines whether you have a job or not.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Deep-water Sales Chemical Representative (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXFebruary 25, 2015
Management needs improvement, Houston office personnel is young and without a backbone. Unless you coordinator is a mutual friend, job security is something to be desired.
Pros
great schedule
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety,Attendance, Production
Shipping (Former Employee) –  Belen, NMFebruary 1, 2015
Show up on time, think positive, be productive,think safety for you and your coworkers,put 100% effort in your job.Respect of coworker and the company,
Was this review helpful?Yes10No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Leadership and good people
Production Supervisor Masterbatches Business (Current Employee) –  Albion, MIJanuary 6, 2015
Leadership knowledge is good, good training and understanding of personal motivation . Clean safe working conditions, with a focus on family.
Pros
friendly people
Cons
83 miles from my home in fort wayne indiana
Was this review helpful?Yes8No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We work hard, but play just as hard as we work.
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 2, 2015
Management is accessible and approachable. They're also heavily involved in the day to day operations of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that good, Not that bad
HR Technology and Processes Specialist (Former Employee) –  Basel, BSDecember 5, 2014
The management team seems not to know what is doing.
Overall the people work as individuals not as a team.
Cons
no cantine
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work..The Management makes the place
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 27, 2014
The management at Clariant makes it worth while to work there. They work with you instead of constantly looking over your shoulder. If a mistake is made, they take the time to help you work through it, that is the best. My co-workers were always there to help answer any question you might have....very supportive. The most difficult aspect of the job was learning all the chemicals in paper making, but the engineers do work with you. the most enjoyable part of the job is the feeling of satisfaction you get when finally reach the end of the day and look forward to coming back tomorrow.
Pros
you were alwasy taken care of--lots of free lunches
Cons
needs more technical training
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going thru alot of changes
Operations Manager West (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CASeptember 24, 2014
Great company to work for a lot of changes in the SW is causing a lot of people being let go. Management needs to look at who they are letting go they are losing good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 59 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6