City of Toronto Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 195 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work attitude
Solid Waste Mgmt. (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 15, 2015
daily safety circle check required.
teamed with partner most days
good work environment
safety procedures are very important and are enforced
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political but exciting and challenging position with changing Council and Mayors
Manager, Employee and Labour Relations (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 18, 2014
I love human resources and, in particular, labour relations. Therefore, the City was a great place to rise to never ending challenges. This was especially true during amalgamation.

The work atmosphere changes quite often as senior management often have conflicting human resources philosophies from their predecessors and that sometimes required a 180 degree change in thinking on the part of managers.

The hardest part of the job was the enormous amounts of time that I was away from my family. Sometimes living in downtown hotels for months at a time.

The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that we were helping and making a difference for the residents of Toronto, management and operations as well as making the City as good a work place for line staff as possible.
Pros
generous benefit package and pension plan
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Handy Worker 3 (Current Employee) –  Sheppard and LesileOctober 21, 2015
Great atmosphere and very fun place to work. A great place to learn and grow. Management and employees are all in it together
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Summer Job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2015
I'm just a student working the summer. The work / life balance is good because when I'm done for the day, I am done. The hours are great because you are garunteed to work everyday Monday to Friday for the same time period. Which was good because it left my weekends free and secered my income for the few months I was there. Dealing with people all day helped me gain alot of communication skills which is super important for any job.
Pros
1 hr lunch, 2 15 min breaks, free weekends
Cons
A little repetative
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be...
Camp & Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 16, 2015
Working for the city of Toronto is an amazing opportunity and a great place to be. Every day is different and you get to work in a supportive environment with great Corporate culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Nice team members. Great Benefits
Citrix Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 24, 2013
Nice working environment. Learn new things every other day. Typical local government style management. Unions
Pros
stabilitym benefits
Cons
slow growth
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain some experience independently and as part of a team
Commander Arena (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 4, 2015
Working for the city can be pretty simple. People are just meant to follow their assigned tasks and complete them to the best of their abilities. Through working for the city, ive learnt quite a few skills such as organization, time management, team skills, communication skills and efficiency. The hardest part of the job was sometimes having to complete a greater amount of work on my own, when there was no team present. The most enjoyable part of the job is that it teaches individuals essential skills to function on their own and as a member of a team. It was truly some great experience learned.
Pros
flexible hours, independent, experience working as a team player
Cons
weather conditions, outdoor work, heavy loads
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Department to work and grow
Provincial Offences Officer/By-laws Inspector (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 26, 2014
If you love law enforcement without guns, this is the job for you.
Pros
excellent pay and benifits
Cons
deal with angry public while serving tickets
Was this review helpful?Yes21No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very casual work enviornmentn which was nice and helpfull
Accident and Insurance Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 12, 2015
Job duties were enjoyable. I liked the adjusters I dealt with on a daily basis. I enjoyed preparing various reports, and working with numbers to determine where and how most accidents and costs occurred.
Location was ideal for me as it was very close to the Beaches where I lived.
Pros
Good work hours and location
Cons
Management and several co workers were less than desirable
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Toronto
After School Care Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 25, 2015
So far the work life is awesome! I really feel proud to hold a position within the City Of Toronto, Parks and Rec. I look forward to the future with the city!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRovide good Training opportunities and benefits
Client Services Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Benefits and training are great but you are working for government so there are often changes in policies as governments change their policies,
Was this review helpful?Yes17No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Human Resources Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto. ONSeptember 8, 2014
Great organization, great pay and benefits, but the work environment is not very flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Wading pool attendant and Gate Keeper (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 16, 2015
-worked with great staff
-got along with everyone
-great training
-supervisors were helpful
-great stepping stone job
-many people become life guards after
-great way to make money over the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome place to work with knowledgable colleagues
Civil Engineering Technician (Co-op) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 21, 2015
I am assisting transportation engineers to test transit signal priority (TSP) operations and programs in the lab.
I go to field to implement of new transit signal operation at select intersections.
I also prepare project management documents such as schedules, flow charts, project tracks (budgeting) and etc..
I am assisting in draft and upgrading signal drawing of the transportation projects in microstarion.
I also organize the intersection inspection reports.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Camp Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2015
Fun workplace with supportive management
Team oriented
Challenging at times
Swimming is best part
Multicultural
Very supportive
very easy going
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ongoing education for the staffs
psw (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 10, 2015
very stressful work load is too much and not enough staffing, making my resident happy each day is the best part of my day management at some location does not respect psw or nurses co-workers can at times be very selfish especially if you are a new staff
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Municipal government located in the heart of downtown
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 15, 2015
Only one word to describe this place - AWESOME. Wish to join the city for a better opportunity. Typical day is between 9am to 3pm. All the employees are friendly. And since the office is located in downtown, the experience is even more amazing.
Pros
Short Hours, Management team is friendly, one of the best employers to work with.
Cons
Nothing much to learn. Only for networking and socializing.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice to work with the Company
Legal surveyor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 13, 2012
Was overall very good and productive
and the hardest time was to work in winter outside
Pros
good benefits
Cons
7 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place with free food
ARC Staff and mentor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 17, 2015
A typical day would include: preparing snacks, play games, equipment management and supervising children.

I learned how to be patient, and cook.

My co-works were fun, enthusiastic and creative.

The hardest part of the job is when you have to write and incidence
report. This meant that one of the children had gotten hurt.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when i get to engage with the children, and just being active.
Pros
Free snacks and being active.
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Follow workers are warm and accommodating.
Piano Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 9, 2013
Its a nice place to work on. I want to move on and get an 8 hour full time Job with Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 201 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

City of Toronto Reviews by Location