Find companies:
City of Toronto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

City of Toronto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficiency
Alzheimer Society Assistant Volunteer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 9, 2013
Accuracy and efficiency both are equally important at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment, enhances learning, not for the lazy worker
Support Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 5, 2013
Pros: learning
Cons: client unreasonable demands for review to be completed
A typical day at work consists of gathing information for applications that have been submitted for construction, renovation etc. The job requires that a fair bit of research is do prior to issuing job to an examiner for review. Management is very cooperative and is knowledgabe of construction in the district. Co-workers are professional and quite lovely – more... to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job is keep busy as well as continued learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance of work and family managable
Urban Development (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 3, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: work isn't as fulfilling as i would like.
Face to face customer service each day dealing with public and clients alike.
Meeting weekly deadlines and continuously under pressure with two week cycle. I've learned business on both sides of the counter and have great skills to deal with tempers, concerns either real or not.

Co-workers can make the day enjoyable, I get along with my co-workers – more... as they can help in my success.

The most enjoyable part of my week is when someone offers me a sincere thank you, that I made a difference and that my professional advice and mannerism made their decision clearer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BILINGUAL COURT SERVICES ADMINISTRATOR
Bilingual Support Assistant B (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 25, 2013
Pros: lots of training offered
Cons: very formalized breaks and lunch....not always timely with providing best customer service, etc.
I love to keep learning and work with high performance teams in order to provide the best bilingual customer service. I really appreciate being responsible to undertake various duties and responsibilities: prioritization, sharing of work, communication of status and how and timeline to complete, and sharing experience with fellow workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent individuals, fair culture
Technical Service Planner (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 15, 2013
A good place to work. A fair bit of independence; not much advancement opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working landscaping and lifeguarding
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 10, 2013
Pros: good staff
Last years typical day was working two jobs. First starting at 6 a.m. landscaping. This would require a lot of digging, moving dirt and planting/replanting. After this i would go to my second job, lifeguarding. This would consist of dealing with patrons problems, ensuring all around safety for everyone and ensuring rules are followed. There doesn't – more... have to always be a hard day, but the heat can sometimes be difficult with lack of water. The most enjoyable would be the cool swim at the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Support Assistant C (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 2, 2013
Working with city as support c. Learn about inventory, supply, materials order according requirment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Lifeguard/Swim and lifesaving Instructor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 23, 2013
I enjoy working for the City of Toronto. They are able to provide me with working hours that are suitable for my schedule. Strong accommodation from my employer, highly PR oriented staff and approachable team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frequent employment training and life skills developments
Early Childhood Educator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: room to learn and grow in the filed.
Cons: can be very frustrating enviroment. expectations are very high.
Typical day you welcome parents and children in the early morning begining at 7:00am. Care for children teaching life skills throughout the day as required. Management is very strict with ground rules. However, they can be fun and outgoing. Your co-workers are fun to work with. They have the ability to work under stress with a smile on their faces despite – more... having a difficult day. The hardest part is saying goodbye to children who are graduating to another level or leaving the centre permanently. Also seeing a child taken away by child protective services. The most enjoyable part is seeing the children grow up right before your eyes from infants to teenagers, and sometimes young adults returning with their own bundle of joy for you to care for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment with opportunities for advancement.
Day Care and Recreational Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: great support
Cons: not enough schedule hours
It is a diverse work environment where employees are treated with dignity and respect. A typical day at work can be unpredictable you are never able to premeditate what might take place. Management is great , always there for support. Co-workers are team players always working together. The most enjoyable part of this job is rewarding feeling at the – more... end of the day , knowing you are a positive influence in the children's lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversed workforce
Labour Relations/Human Rights Assistant (Student) (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: great labour relations department with supportive mentors
Reports to the Labour Relations Manager and contributes to the goals and objectives of the City of Toronto
• Assists the Labour Relations Consultants with ongoing administrative including supporting with the gathering of information to prepare grievance files, arbitration cases for appropriate proceedings and the interpretation of CUPE Local 416 and – more... 79 Collective Agreements
• Prepares statistical reports using the Grievance Tracking System (GTS) of types and frequency of actions taken concerning grievances, arbitration, mediation, and related labour relations activities to identify problem areas
• Researches and conducts relevant data to support City of Toronto’s Progress Report on Equity, Diversity and Human Rights (EDHR) Achievements – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Committed to deliver professional service to the general public and stakeholders.
Community Recreation Supervisor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: the various number of people you meet and have the opportunity to work with.
Cons: not enough hours in a day to help those who need it.
A typical day involves working with the general public, staff, contract workers and politicians on various projects and activities. The hardest part of the job is dealing with union grievances and scheduling due to continued budget cut backs and reduced budgets.

The most enjoyable part of the job is working with capital project staff, community organizations – more... and members of the public to keep them healthy and active with what ever activities they are involved with.

In addition, assisting the various community cultural organizations and associations in acquiring space and/or information on accessing city services and facilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperative co-workers and helpful management
Maintenance Patroller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: great work atmosphere and ability to work independently.
Typical day at work included heading out to construction site - ensure contractor's work is up to specifications, take measurements and write cost sheets for payment.

Management and co-workers were very helpful in teaching me the ropes of this profession and helping me learn what to look for in various construction activities and how to ensure work – more... is according to City of Toronto specifications.

Hardest part of job was to make on-site decisions which would often require work costing more than what was planned for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very warm, inviting and productive place to work.
Part-time Administrator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 4, 2012
I enjoy the City of Toronto because the day allows for a variety. I have learned that putting customers first (in this case families first) is absolutely essential to ensuring they have what they need.

The management team is always there to help and answer any questions and provide other opportunities for growth.

My co-workers are friendly and are – more... team players so that makes it easy to get along.

The hardest part is dealing with residents who have such severe dementia for instance they're unable to effectively stay what they desire and I'm unfortunately unable to help like I wish.

The most enjoyable is making the residents who wish to share their life story, smile and feel loved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Integration Facilitator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 27, 2012
Pros: flexible hours, meeting new people, variation
Cons: not enough hours
Working at the City of Toronto with Adapted and Integration has been great. I love working with the community and making a difference. Everyday going in to work is something different and challenging working with special needs youth. My co-workers are a blast to work with a very supportive. Although it can be quite challenging to go into work expecting – more... the unexpected it is quite enjoyable and I like program planning and execution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly envirnment
Summer Trainee Technical (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 11, 2012
Pros: there is nothing free, but every one is friendly.
Cons: 35 hours per week plus 10 hours overtime work
In my opinion the City of Toronto is the best place to work. The workplace are a friendly environment that you never feel tired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and well managed workplace
Marketing and Special Events Intern (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 10, 2012
Pros: they made sure i was treated well as an intern
I was an intern so I would do what they asked me to do. I would do stuff like:
-write media releases
-monitor the media for hours
-I got to be apart of Nuit Blanche
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improving your customer satisfaction skill
Deckhand (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 30, 2012
Pros: meeting a lot of passengers from all over the world visiting toronto islands
Cons: dealing with intoxicated passengers
You learn how to deal with different people in all situations. Improving more in customer satisfaction aspects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fulfilling job
Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: working with animals
Cons: long hours
Long hours working with both people and animals. Unionized environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
rink guard (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 30, 2012
A typical day, included guarding the ice rink, ensuring that no one was putting anyone else at risk of injury, and socializing with those willing to speak with us. My co-workers were all very well prepared for the job they were given, and they all delivered the expectations of our employers. The hardest part of the job was remaining calm when people – more... chose not to listen to what you were saying.. The most enjoyable part of the job was being on the ice all the time, as hockey is one of my favourite hobbies. – less

About City of Toronto

Canada’s largest and most multicultural city, Toronto is often cited as one of the best places in the world to live. Meeting – Read more