Find companies:
City of Toronto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

City of Toronto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Lifeguard/Swim and lifesaving Instructor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 23, 2013
I enjoy working for the City of Toronto. They are able to provide me with working hours that are suitable for my schedule. Strong accommodation from my employer, highly PR oriented staff and approachable team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frequent employment training and life skills developments
Early Childhood Educator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: room to learn and grow in the filed.
Cons: can be very frustrating enviroment. expectations are very high.
Typical day you welcome parents and children in the early morning begining at 7:00am. Care for children teaching life skills throughout the day as required. Management is very strict with ground rules. However, they can be fun and outgoing. Your co-workers are fun to work with. They have the ability to work under stress with a smile on their faces despite – more... having a difficult day. The hardest part is saying goodbye to children who are graduating to another level or leaving the centre permanently. Also seeing a child taken away by child protective services. The most enjoyable part is seeing the children grow up right before your eyes from infants to teenagers, and sometimes young adults returning with their own bundle of joy for you to care for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment with opportunities for advancement.
Day Care and Recreational Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: great support
Cons: not enough schedule hours
It is a diverse work environment where employees are treated with dignity and respect. A typical day at work can be unpredictable you are never able to premeditate what might take place. Management is great , always there for support. Co-workers are team players always working together. The most enjoyable part of this job is rewarding feeling at the – more... end of the day , knowing you are a positive influence in the children's lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversed workforce
Labour Relations/Human Rights Assistant (Student) (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: great labour relations department with supportive mentors
Reports to the Labour Relations Manager and contributes to the goals and objectives of the City of Toronto
• Assists the Labour Relations Consultants with ongoing administrative including supporting with the gathering of information to prepare grievance files, arbitration cases for appropriate proceedings and the interpretation of CUPE Local 416 and – more... 79 Collective Agreements
• Prepares statistical reports using the Grievance Tracking System (GTS) of types and frequency of actions taken concerning grievances, arbitration, mediation, and related labour relations activities to identify problem areas
• Researches and conducts relevant data to support City of Toronto’s Progress Report on Equity, Diversity and Human Rights (EDHR) Achievements – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Committed to deliver professional service to the general public and stakeholders.
Community Recreation Supervisor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: the various number of people you meet and have the opportunity to work with.
Cons: not enough hours in a day to help those who need it.
A typical day involves working with the general public, staff, contract workers and politicians on various projects and activities. The hardest part of the job is dealing with union grievances and scheduling due to continued budget cut backs and reduced budgets.

The most enjoyable part of the job is working with capital project staff, community organizations – more... and members of the public to keep them healthy and active with what ever activities they are involved with.

In addition, assisting the various community cultural organizations and associations in acquiring space and/or information on accessing city services and facilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperative co-workers and helpful management
Maintenance Patroller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: great work atmosphere and ability to work independently.
Typical day at work included heading out to construction site - ensure contractor's work is up to specifications, take measurements and write cost sheets for payment.

Management and co-workers were very helpful in teaching me the ropes of this profession and helping me learn what to look for in various construction activities and how to ensure work – more... is according to City of Toronto specifications.

Hardest part of job was to make on-site decisions which would often require work costing more than what was planned for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very warm, inviting and productive place to work.
Part-time Administrator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 4, 2012
I enjoy the City of Toronto because the day allows for a variety. I have learned that putting customers first (in this case families first) is absolutely essential to ensuring they have what they need.

The management team is always there to help and answer any questions and provide other opportunities for growth.

My co-workers are friendly and are – more... team players so that makes it easy to get along.

The hardest part is dealing with residents who have such severe dementia for instance they're unable to effectively stay what they desire and I'm unfortunately unable to help like I wish.

The most enjoyable is making the residents who wish to share their life story, smile and feel loved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Integration Facilitator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 27, 2012
Pros: flexible hours, meeting new people, variation
Cons: not enough hours
Working at the City of Toronto with Adapted and Integration has been great. I love working with the community and making a difference. Everyday going in to work is something different and challenging working with special needs youth. My co-workers are a blast to work with a very supportive. Although it can be quite challenging to go into work expecting – more... the unexpected it is quite enjoyable and I like program planning and execution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly envirnment
Summer Trainee Technical (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 11, 2012
Pros: there is nothing free, but every one is friendly.
Cons: 35 hours per week plus 10 hours overtime work
In my opinion the City of Toronto is the best place to work. The workplace are a friendly environment that you never feel tired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and well managed workplace
Marketing and Special Events Intern (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 10, 2012
Pros: they made sure i was treated well as an intern
I was an intern so I would do what they asked me to do. I would do stuff like:
-write media releases
-monitor the media for hours
-I got to be apart of Nuit Blanche
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improving your customer satisfaction skill
Deckhand (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 30, 2012
Pros: meeting a lot of passengers from all over the world visiting toronto islands
Cons: dealing with intoxicated passengers
You learn how to deal with different people in all situations. Improving more in customer satisfaction aspects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fulfilling job
Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: working with animals
Cons: long hours
Long hours working with both people and animals. Unionized environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
rink guard (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 30, 2012
A typical day, included guarding the ice rink, ensuring that no one was putting anyone else at risk of injury, and socializing with those willing to speak with us. My co-workers were all very well prepared for the job they were given, and they all delivered the expectations of our employers. The hardest part of the job was remaining calm when people – more... chose not to listen to what you were saying.. The most enjoyable part of the job was being on the ice all the time, as hockey is one of my favourite hobbies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, confident, respectful envirment
taek won-do instructor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 28, 2012
Pros: ability to work with the community and be a positive part of their lives
Cons: not every child gets the same support from their guardian
As a taekwon-do instructor i do get the opportunity to work with kids and adults ,and it is a great feeling to be a positive part of the kids lives, i have seen my students growing for years to the point where they start talking about college and university knowing that they are street smart and can defend them selves is very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work
Summer Camp/ Fitness Centre/ Afterschool Tutor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 17, 2012
Pros: easy practical
Cons: tiring
fun , diverse, practical, energetic, long, co workers are friendly, the youth are very manageable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
WEB SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 9, 2012
Pros: flexibility with hrs, laid back culture
Cons: the work is not technically progressive, as most government jobs however, i have kept myself learning more technologies including developing my own content management system.
This has been a great working experience, dealing directly with enterprise clients and helping them market and manage their online portfolios via City of Toronto. I've learned how to juggle a number of clients at once as well as trouble shoot, build and edit content required on a case by case basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned.
Building Attendant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 30, 2012
How to communicate and assist the public with anything they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a unionized/non-unionized environment and this is sometimes confusing.
Administrative Support 'C' (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 24, 2012
Pros: best benefits in the city.
Cons: because of the union/non-union staff sometimes your not sure who to listen to.
A typical day is very busy with alot of phone calls and reception relief work.
You learn alot of course by communication with the clients and staff.
Co-workers try to be helpful. The hardest part I find is dealing with the amount of work.
The enjoyable part is getting things organized so that the next day may not be as hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many diverse responsibilities for growth potential.
Communications/Media Relations Officer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 22, 2012
Pros: located in the city's core, amid lots of action and events.
Cons: open format work place without walls was very loud and distracting.
I wrote press releases, community listings, PSAs, speeches and other communication tools; I dealt with journalists, created posters, brochures, photo organizational charts, newsletter entries; I planned events for the City of Toronto such as art and plaque unveilings, community centre openings, Remembrance Day ceremonies, park openings, charity drives, – more... etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Enviornment
Systems Integrator / Project Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 29, 2012
Relaxed Enviornment - Slow Pace work. City is great place for some one looking for work life balance and great job security.

About City of Toronto

Canada’s largest and most multicultural city, Toronto is often cited as one of the best places in the world to live. Meeting – Read more