Find companies:
City of Toronto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

City of Toronto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized, with many opportunities.
PHW (Current Employee), Woodbridge, ONJuly 24, 2014
I am proud to be a public worker and appreciate my position. I perform my job to the best of my abilites, while maintaining a safety first approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable yet flexible and varied workplace
Support Assistant B (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 24, 2014
Pros: ability to use different skills in my work. salary and benefits are great, too.
Cons: sometimes advancement requirements are too strict
I'm thankful for the opportunity to use my organizational, research, creative and communication skills in this position to serve both internal and external clients over the years. Plus, the salary and benfits are both fantastic and generous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 26, 2014
In the morning I would start off by having classes teaching kids/adults how to swim. In the afternoon I would lifeguard and watch the pool so that the patrons don't have any accidents or injuries. The hardest part of the job was teaching it took allot of effort into teaching kids because you always have to keep their attention and their focus. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job was to teach the adults because they were fun to work with and teach how to swim. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things are looking way up...
Financial and Management Consultant (Former Employee), City HallJune 13, 2014
Pros: new leadership
Cons: past practices
After a review two years ago it is good to see that the City of Toronto Fleet Department has finally hired a high caliber Division Head who is the top in his field. As the largest City in Canada and with the new strong leadership in Fleet it is surely to become "the place to work" in the city of Toronto.

If you want a career in fleet management or – more... if you want to gain excellent experience in a variety of areas you will work hard and you will see changes but it will not be a wasted opportunity.

The best part of the job is the benefits and the people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite office environment and very less work load
Office Assistant to Councillor Gord Perks (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 6, 2014
Pros: less work
Cons: very quite environment
Enter constituents contact information in databases. Organize files and folders in office storage. Deliver pamphlets to local service organizations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A worthwhile job for it's productivity for the benefits of the city.
Parkland Naturalization Volunteer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 1, 2014
Pros: knowing i was helping out to preserve a healthy environment for the city.
Cons: the distance from home.
It was a very beautiful work setting at the park near the lake was rewarding for me because I enjoyed it. I learned about preserving plant and tree life and about several species found in the park. Management is very well organized and it's a great co-operative team to work with. To notice worms but, uexpectedly. Pulling the weeds because I knew I was – more... helping to preserve wanted natural habitat. Planting plants was awesome and alot of fun! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Swim Instructor/Lifeguard (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2014
*Dealing with the public
*Helping people in need
*Giving a fun and safe environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging but rewarding work environment
Day care and Recreational Program Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 30, 2014
Under the direction of qualified staff, assists in the supervision of infants, children, and youth
Supervise and participate in play with children of all ages during outdoor activities such as swimming, baseball, hockey, etc
Assists in the set up of creative materials for indoor activity. Supervises children participating in games, arts and crafts and – more... music
Under the direction of qualified staff engages children in age appropriate activities to build literacy, resiliency, social skills and communication
Assists children in routine procedures such as eating lunch and snacks, putting on winter clothing, etc
Assists on field trip excursions, which may include the use of public transportation
Performs emergency or unplanned supervised duties which must be considered within the job function
Assists in checking of toys and equipment used in activities to ensure safe functioning
Assists in documenting attendance of children, completing forms, reports, and communication logs as necessary
Provides input in activities planned and assists with promoting participation
Assists with safety and well being of children by adhering to Occupational Health and Safety Act, Day Nurseries Act, Child and Family Services Act
Assist children in integrating into the hostel environment
Attend staff meetings as required – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Wading Pool Attendant (Summer) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 24, 2014
Working for the City of Toronto was always a positive working experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place of employment
In-Charge (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 20, 2014
- Management is rather lax
- Occasionally, extra work is given as Supervisors do not complete all their assigned work
- Unless you are F/T, employment is scattered based on program peak seasons
- P/T staff mainly work evenings
- Relaxed environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and productive workplace
Summer Student (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2014
Everyone was very professional and very courteous. The management and staff their were all very helpful and friendly, which made for a great work environment. This job showed me the inner working of the court system within Toronto.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
driver/loader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 13, 2014
Pros: management, team, work
Cons: union
Unfortunately Rob Ford made cutbacks within the city. I was one of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRovide good Training opportunities and benefits
Client Services Worker (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Benefits and training are great but you are working for government so there are often changes in policies as governments change their policies,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work, lots of opportunities to make a difference.
SENIOR PUBLIC CONSULTATION COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: excellent people
Cons: long, long hours
Exciting work, lots of opportunities to make a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Toronto
TEAM COORDINATOR - MECHANICAL/ELECTRICAL (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: managed work area with various levels and technical staff.
Cons: change is slow compared to private sector.
Responsible for west work area - half of the water distribution for the City of Toronto. Managing mechanical and electrical staff coordinating daily work orders.
Contracting services to maintain facilities.
Working for the city gave me the opportunity to coordinate activities and processes, understanding water regulations and technologies.
Opportunity – more... to work in private sector a well as the public sector. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had the opportunity to run various programs
Preschool Program Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: close to home. enjoyable, fulfilling work.
Cons: too few hours
I ran programs for parents and young children. The parents were involved so I had the opportunity to connect with them and give them support and pass on valuable parent/child resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, as well as being productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: being able to work in a comfortable environment with funny, laid back, and hard working people.
Cons: minimum wage
Typical day at work consists of hard work and fun, Co-workers are hard working people who are also friendly and laid back. Hardest part of the job is meeting deadlines and matching work ethics to deadlines on the job. Most enjoyable part of the job is socializing with other colleagues when appropriate and knowing when to have fun in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful place to work
Driver/Loader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good wages for the job
Cons: long days at various times
it would start with a circle check of truck , arguing with supervisors in regards to what area to work in , help others in there areas when I was finished my area ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace with great colleagues.
Senior Financial Planning Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 26, 2014
Every day was different and interesting. Working under the Rob Ford administration provided many insights into the whole process of municipal priority and budget setting. The City has a very rigorous budget process and managed to reduce most departmental budgets by 10%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Environment
Youth Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: always fun
-Provided information about community services and resources available for youth

-Developed and implemented a variety of recreational programs and camps for youth e.g. basketball, soccer, and floor hockey

-Supervised and positively interacted with children

-Oversee the homework program and provide individual tutoring

-Prepared complete and accurate – more... daily records and report – less

1 2 3 4

About City of Toronto

Canada’s largest and most multicultural city, Toronto is often cited as one of the best places in the world to live. Meeting – Read more