Find companies:
City of Toronto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92 reviews

City of Toronto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Department to work and grow
Provincial Offences Officer/By-laws Inspector (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benifits
Cons: deal with angry public while serving tickets
If you love law enforcement without guns, this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming enjoyable workplace
Rink Guard (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: good coworkers, good management, good benefits.
Cons: dealing with disgruntled employees.
A typical day at work was rather simple while working as a rink guard. I would come into work make sure the workplace was clean and respectable. Than, I would put on my safety equipment and get on the ice. Once I was on the ice I would do my rounds ensuring that everyone had the proper equipment on and that they were following city of Toronto mandated – more... instructions. During this job I learned several things, I learned the importance of creative problem solving (while dealing with disgruntled customers ), as well as the importance of being energetic and warm in an effort to promote a safe environment for patrons. One of the best part of the jobs were my co-workers, I got along with every single one of my co-workers including any management I worked with. I was specifically pleased with the management as I had heard so many horror stories and was expecting the worse but in reality I got a very reasonable staff of managers. The hardest part of the job was dealing with patrons who were not happy, some times I felt as if customers had valid arguments but, according to the city of Toronto they were wrong. Thus, I had to side with the City as that was my job and that's what I signed up for. The most enjoyable part of my job was constantly being outside and interacting with the lovely people of my community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LARGEST LONG TERM CARE IN THE CITY
FOOD SERVICES WORKER (Former Employee), TORONTO, ONTARIOSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: inefficient and lack lustre management
GOOD PLACE TO WORK, VERY ENTHUSIASTIC CO-WORKERS, LEARNED A LOT WORKING AT THIS PLACE.

A PLACE TO GIVE RESPECT, DIGNITY AND CARE TO RESIDENTS.

MANAGEMENT GIVES NO RESPECT TO ITS EMPLOYEES, TREATS THEM AS GARBAGE, NO OPEN DOOR POLICY, A SENSE OF RACISM STILL EXISTS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hands-on experience in which various skills are attained on a daily basis
Child Care Aide (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: working and playing with children on a daily basis.
Cons: feeling as though needs of clients are not being met.
Time management is one key aspect of work that I have learned. On a daily basis, strict schedules are followed and it is important to follow these schedules especially when working with vulnerable populations. My coworkers are great team members and everyone has the same mind state when it comes to teamwork. Teamwork is not only working for the team – more... but also with parents and children. The hardest part of this job I would say is feeling as though the needs are not being met for children and when this happens, all opportunities are taken to fulfill this need. The most enjoyable part of this job is being able to interact with various personalities and people from different walks of life. This job allows for me to learn about diverse backgrounds in a non-judgmental and professional manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Senior Finance and Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 12, 2014
Very good employer, slow moving due to many regulations.
budget planning and finance processes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Human Resources Consultant (Current Employee), Toronto. ONSeptember 8, 2014
Great organization, great pay and benefits, but the work environment is not very flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enjoyable job
Rink Maintenance Worker (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: not enough hours
Cleaning and maintaining the building. Learned a lot about electrical and refrigeration. Most enjoyable part of the job was the extra ice time to skate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OFFICE WORK
DO MY BEST WOULD I GET A CALL (Former Employee), TORONTOAugust 30, 2014
Pros: office work
IT IS KNOT EASY TO GET A JOB IN THE GOVERNMENT THEY WONT LET YOU IN IT COULD BE SOME ONE DREAM BUT THE OTHER PARTY WONT UNDER STAND .

I AM A CLEANER BUT I WOULD LIKE THEM TO GIVE ME A TRY TO WORK IN A OFFICE .I DONT THINK THAT WOULD HAPPEN IF IT DOES I WOULD BE SUPRISED
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Excellent Management
Summer Student Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 25, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefit
Cons: contract work
The job required me to use my own judgement in many cases as I was not always supervised. However, there was always someone available to assist me if needed. I was able to work on my own pace as long as I met deadlines. The job consisted of answering phone and email inquiries. Attention to details was very important to all aspect of the job.
The most – more... difficult part of the job was making sure that all calls, regarding discrepencies with City of Toronto buildings, were accurately recorded and dealt with on the same day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenge work
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 19, 2014
working at this company I find very rewarding work hard with long hours management could be better needs improvement I do think we should be paid more each day I learn new things and there is the reward when the residents are happy sometimes co workers can be a challenge when the day is over I look around I would say thanks for job well done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse workplace with many opportunities
Senior Systems Integrator - Test and BI Lead (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 18, 2014
Pros: large organization with a lot of opportunities
Cons: a lot of red tape that hinders the agile nature of projects
There are two tiers of workers in the City of Toronto. Unionized and non-Unionized, it is to strike a balance while working in this organization that posesses the largest challenge. The management staff are very knowledgeable in the process but also play by the rules set out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, very positive environment
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2014
Though the office at our pool is small, the staff I worked with is amazing. We all get along very well and see each other outside of work. The best part of the job is when children and youth will ask us about how to become lifeguard. It is rewarding to know that the children swimming in the pool look up to the lifeguards as inspiration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome learning experience
Jr. Budget Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 12, 2014
- SAP experience
- MS Excel practice
- Wonderful employees
- at times can be very busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its definitely different than the private sector
Accounts Receivable Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: difficult for promotion
Great place to work however unionized environment makes it difficult to be promoted and move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
CSR (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 7, 2014
It is an amazing place to work with great people and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized, with many opportunities.
PHW (Current Employee), Woodbridge, ONJuly 24, 2014
I am proud to be a public worker and appreciate my position. I perform my job to the best of my abilites, while maintaining a safety first approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable yet flexible and varied workplace
Support Assistant B (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 24, 2014
Pros: ability to use different skills in my work. salary and benefits are great, too.
Cons: sometimes advancement requirements are too strict
I'm thankful for the opportunity to use my organizational, research, creative and communication skills in this position to serve both internal and external clients over the years. Plus, the salary and benfits are both fantastic and generous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 26, 2014
In the morning I would start off by having classes teaching kids/adults how to swim. In the afternoon I would lifeguard and watch the pool so that the patrons don't have any accidents or injuries. The hardest part of the job was teaching it took allot of effort into teaching kids because you always have to keep their attention and their focus. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job was to teach the adults because they were fun to work with and teach how to swim. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things are looking way up...
Financial and Management Consultant (Former Employee), City HallJune 13, 2014
Pros: new leadership
Cons: past practices
After a review two years ago it is good to see that the City of Toronto Fleet Department has finally hired a high caliber Division Head who is the top in his field. As the largest City in Canada and with the new strong leadership in Fleet it is surely to become "the place to work" in the city of Toronto.

If you want a career in fleet management or – more... if you want to gain excellent experience in a variety of areas you will work hard and you will see changes but it will not be a wasted opportunity.

The best part of the job is the benefits and the people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite office environment and very less work load
Office Assistant to Councillor Gord Perks (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 6, 2014
Pros: less work
Cons: very quite environment
Enter constituents contact information in databases. Organize files and folders in office storage. Deliver pamphlets to local service organizations.

1 2 3 4 5

About City of Toronto

Canada’s largest and most multicultural city, Toronto is often cited as one of the best places in the world to live. Meeting – Read more