City of Toronto Employee Reviews

Found 326 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, friendly and welcoming co-workers
Rink Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
-everyone listening and following given rules

-learning new ways to encourage children to wear helmets, a diverse community

-making sure everyone is safe and that the other workers are doing their jobs properly

-the most enjoyable part of the job for me is when everyone is just having fun, no arguments, no fighting, just everyone getting along and minding their own business
Pros
breaks
Cons
self-centred co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Co-op position
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2017
advanced my skills with cisco router configuration. received valuable experience with working in a corporate environment. downtown work life is very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back work
Customer Service/Facility Support (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2017
Cool place to work. You have freedom to work your schedule around your life which was good for me while I was still in school. Manager was pretty chill, didnt bother me at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lifeguard for City of Toronto (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2017
Typical days as a lifeguard include observing pool patrons, ensuring their safety and promoting 3 ps of lifesaving, staff and management are all reasonable, compassionate, and for the most part will always have your back. The workplace culture is quite professional while performing duties, off time can be slightly more casual. The hardest part of the Job is the various situations that must be dealt with as a guard, whether they are physical or have to do with Public relations.
Pros
Work in sun outside, good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a lifeguard with city of toronto
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2017
Extensive training leads to a professional and respectful work environment. Management is fair and professional. Co-workers have similar skills and help each other out. Creates a small community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2017
had a great time with great peoplle. very much enjoyed my time there as the people were very friendly, i had known them for a long time and were very understanding of personal things that cam
Pros
fun
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-Timer's POV
Trainer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2017
As a part-time worker I have no access to benefits and no guarantee in hours of work. This leads for a precarious, unstable and unsustainable work life.

The part-time job's in my Division are very low wage and the opportunity to move up is reserved for Managements favourites.
Cons
precariousness
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to balance your work and personal lives.
Facility In-Charge (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 April 2017
I enjoy working with the City of Toronto as it allows me to gain experience in a variety of different fields such as management level positions or working with young children.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Co-op College Work Placement (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 April 2017
Like any company, things aren't perfect, but everyone there work well together, help each other, and are good to work with. My experience has been great while I was on my Co-op training there and getting the right feedback to help me through my career
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pension, benefits and work/life balance
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 April 2017
The job currently is a majority of office and administrative work

I've learned a lot about Microsoft Office applications in particular with using Visio to create organization charts
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple Job
Tabulator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2017
i worked as a tabulator, for one day, during the municipal elections of toronto. it was simply to operate the machine that calculated a person's vote, ensuring everything ran smoothly. it was a relaxed day that allowed you to focus on the task at hand
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization and amazing atmosphere
Human Resources Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2017
City of Toronto is a large organization that has a variety of career possibilities to move throughout the organization, be it just within your division or upward to a level of higher responsibility. It is very fast paced environment and there is lots to learn everyday.
Pros
Salary and Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
PFandR (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 April 2017
Great culture, great pay, great benefits, great job security. Great place to work. Great work - home life balance which is really nice. Overall an enjoyable place to work!!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and lots of learning every day. Opportunities to grow within the city
Arena pool operator 2 (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2017
A lot of opportunities to grow, funplace to work & you meet new people all the time. Diversity and a lot of different people from different cultures you get to know.
Pros
Running Lunch
Cons
Could get busy at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Chairperson (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2017
Great job for forming connections with community members and media outlets wanting to make a difference. A very feel good place to work at that, while it required a great deal of effort prior to its annual event, held equal rewards.
Pros
Professional Outings and Community Involvement
Cons
Volunteer Job so, no pay for lots and lots of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environement
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 April 2017
This was a tight-nit team with many dynamic skills and abilities. Everyone (including myself) was willing to pitch in and assist in any role, whether it be administrative, hands on, or heavy lifting. The environment is always changing and challenges come up constantly, but the morale made everyone want to help and come together to complete the project.
Pros
fed on site, great team
Cons
Long hours (late too)
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job
Wading Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2017
- had to fill and then empty the wading pool, which took a long time
- the rest of the day there was a lot of just sitting around so it got boring
- average amount of trainings
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, not garanteed work time
Ski Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2017
Loved working there and volunteering for two years. however my third year due to the lack of snow i got no hours of work in. Great staff and an amazing job overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 March 2017
Awesome placd to have worked over the last 35 years..great friendships with fellow employees..and worked for good bosses over the years..it was a great place to work operating heavy equipment..
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Event and volunteer coordinator of Brain Buddies (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 March 2017
It was fun to work with the City of Toronto, a lot of great workers and a lot of opportunities to move up. A typical day would be coming in early and teaching for half of the day and then for the second half of the day there would be a lifeguard position until the shift was over.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Toronto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 335 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

88%
86 ratings
Add your rating