Find companies:
City of Toronto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

City of Toronto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging but rewarding work environment
Day care and Recreational Program Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 30, 2014
Under the direction of qualified staff, assists in the supervision of infants, children, and youth
Supervise and participate in play with children of all ages during outdoor activities such as swimming, baseball, hockey, etc
Assists in the set up of creative materials for indoor activity. Supervises children participating in games, arts and crafts and – more... music
Under the direction of qualified staff engages children in age appropriate activities to build literacy, resiliency, social skills and communication
Assists children in routine procedures such as eating lunch and snacks, putting on winter clothing, etc
Assists on field trip excursions, which may include the use of public transportation
Performs emergency or unplanned supervised duties which must be considered within the job function
Assists in checking of toys and equipment used in activities to ensure safe functioning
Assists in documenting attendance of children, completing forms, reports, and communication logs as necessary
Provides input in activities planned and assists with promoting participation
Assists with safety and well being of children by adhering to Occupational Health and Safety Act, Day Nurseries Act, Child and Family Services Act
Assist children in integrating into the hostel environment
Attend staff meetings as required – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Wading Pool Attendant (Summer) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 24, 2014
Working for the City of Toronto was always a positive working experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place of employment
In-Charge (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 20, 2014
- Management is rather lax
- Occasionally, extra work is given as Supervisors do not complete all their assigned work
- Unless you are F/T, employment is scattered based on program peak seasons
- P/T staff mainly work evenings
- Relaxed environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and productive workplace
Summer Student (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2014
Everyone was very professional and very courteous. The management and staff their were all very helpful and friendly, which made for a great work environment. This job showed me the inner working of the court system within Toronto.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
driver/loader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 13, 2014
Pros: management, team, work
Cons: union
Unfortunately Rob Ford made cutbacks within the city. I was one of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRovide good Training opportunities and benefits
Client Services Worker (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Benefits and training are great but you are working for government so there are often changes in policies as governments change their policies,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work, lots of opportunities to make a difference.
SENIOR PUBLIC CONSULTATION COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: excellent people
Cons: long, long hours
Exciting work, lots of opportunities to make a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Toronto
TEAM COORDINATOR - MECHANICAL/ELECTRICAL (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: managed work area with various levels and technical staff.
Cons: change is slow compared to private sector.
Responsible for west work area - half of the water distribution for the City of Toronto. Managing mechanical and electrical staff coordinating daily work orders.
Contracting services to maintain facilities.
Working for the city gave me the opportunity to coordinate activities and processes, understanding water regulations and technologies.
Opportunity – more... to work in private sector a well as the public sector. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had the opportunity to run various programs
Preschool Program Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: close to home. enjoyable, fulfilling work.
Cons: too few hours
I ran programs for parents and young children. The parents were involved so I had the opportunity to connect with them and give them support and pass on valuable parent/child resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job Good people to work with
Solid Waste Driver Loader (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: 4 days a week i work
Cons: longs hours sometimes
I check my truck and do my circle check, after that I start on my map, we switch with my partner at least half an hour each time, our supervisor is good he trust we can finish the map so he doesnt bother us. The hard part is when sometimes furniture is wet and is really heavy so both of us have to lift at the same time and sometimes that takes alot – more... of time from work. The most enjoyable part of my job is not only do I only work 4 days but if you push yourself in the day, you finish quicker and that means get home sooner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful place to work
Driver/Loader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good wages for the job
Cons: long days at various times
it would start with a circle check of truck , arguing with supervisors in regards to what area to work in , help others in there areas when I was finished my area ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace with great colleagues.
Senior Financial Planning Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 26, 2014
Every day was different and interesting. Working under the Rob Ford administration provided many insights into the whole process of municipal priority and budget setting. The City has a very rigorous budget process and managed to reduce most departmental budgets by 10%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Environment
Youth Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: always fun
-Provided information about community services and resources available for youth

-Developed and implemented a variety of recreational programs and camps for youth e.g. basketball, soccer, and floor hockey

-Supervised and positively interacted with children

-Oversee the homework program and provide individual tutoring

-Prepared complete and accurate – more... daily records and report – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
after school program
Summer Camp Location Coordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: we have a union
Cons: hours got to be longer
program itself is good, could be great if management knew how to promote, do needs assessments, extend the program length, treat all their employers with respect and give positive feedback to everyone instead of making employees feel like they have nothing else going for them

my summer camp supervisors are great, and program runs better with longer – more... hours and proper supervision, and everyone is on the same page and supervisors are respectful – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Program Coordinator (Former Employee), TorontoJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: great people
Great Staff and really enjoyed my time here.

Perfect Type of employment to balance with school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another Summer Day
Wading Pool Attendant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 13, 2014
A typical day at work as a wading pool attendant was fun but extremely tiring. I had to be up before everyone to make sure that the pool was open for the kids for them to swim. The summer I did work for the city of Toronto, it was extremely hot. But the children made it all worth it, we played games in the water such as basketball, tag, marco polo. – more... The parents really appreciated the fact that I showed interest in playing with their children and making sure that they had themselves a good time. Working for the city of Toronto, i learned how to open pools, I also learned a lot of rules about the pool that I never knew before. My Co-workers and supervisor were really nice, we used to plan games together and then ask the kids which games they wanted to play. The hardest part about the job was being out in the sun everyday with no shade for more than 5 hours. The most enjoyable part about the job was just being able to put a smile on some of these kids' faces, especially the kids that were the only children in their families that only came with their parents. We definitely made sure they had fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to Work With
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: wished the job was full-time
Everyone was so kind at the Municipal Licensing and Standards Division while I was with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Nice team members. Great Benefits
Citrix Administrator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 24, 2013
Pros: stabilitym benefits
Cons: slow growth
Nice working environment. Learn new things every other day. Typical local government style management. Unions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Health and Wellness Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 18, 2013
Pros: working with great people, working with children, implementing health and wellness activities the way i would like to
Cons: a lot of trainings and meetings.
I really enjoyed my time working for the City of Toronto. I worked with some really good people who always motivated me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of culture
Water Department, Administrative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 30, 2013
Pros: great hours; culture
Cons: seniority based
Through my years of working at the City of Toronto I would say it was a great experience. You learn a lot quickly and it is very cultured. I didn't stick to one 'title' but was moved around a lot and macro-managed a lot of different projects, which I loved. The environment was great and so were the hours.

1 2 3 4

About City of Toronto

Canada’s largest and most multicultural city, Toronto is often cited as one of the best places in the world to live. Meeting – Read more