City of Toronto Employee Reviews

Found 343 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2017
I have been working at City of Toronto as IT consultant. Pretty simple job, can be really fun or really boring.
comfortable job, work life balance



Cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Supervisor, Operations (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 August 2017
There is so much potential however lack of strong leaders and intense micromanagement prevents this business from moving forward at the rate it should.
Pros
Salary and Benefits
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed place to work
IT Trainee (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 August 2017
Typical day at City of Toronto is relaxed and the work load is not to heavy but at the same the work load is not to light.The workload is enjoyable to do. No one puts pressure on you.
Pros
Work can be spread out
Cons
When theirs no work. You cant do much
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to work with the COT
Aquafit Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 August 2017
You are well protected as an employee and the standards of work are good. It is a respectable job to work with the city. I have a friend that works as a gardener and she thoroughly enjoys her job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the greatest
Day Care Recreational Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2017
i have worked for better companies , working for the city was very hard and strenuous . the culture of the city if how to screw people over. it is not a team oriented atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic part time job
Instructor, Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 July 2017
I love going in to work every day, I love the people I work with. The only drawback is enrollment varies session to session so I never know if my classes are going to run and if I'm going to have 15 hours of work per week this month or 30.
Pros
fun, engaging
Cons
variable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had fun working and planning activities for children
Child Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 July 2017
This experience was very helpful to me because I got the chance to work with different groups of children from different cultures, and plan games for them to play.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment.
Wading Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 July 2017
Exciting work environment, although not very well managed. Training is boring and repetitive but necessary. The job is simple and rewarding, also at most times very social.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Summer Job
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2017
Consistent and reliable hours with a fun summer work environment. Good pay for students looking for a fun and easy summer job in the downtown core. A
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of co-workers
Income Tax Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2017
Amazing work environment, where everyone is laid back and relaxed. Fun place to work, with great benefits. On occasion there will be some long hours, especially at the end of the year come tax time.
Pros
Regular appreciating functions
Cons
Some long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

Want to know more about City of Toronto?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time poverty
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON25 June 2017
Work full-time hours but only considered "part-time" staff so you won't receive benefits or vacation/sick days. Sometimes show up for a shift and programs have been canceled so you lose hours and made the trip for nothing wasted your whole day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful when I was employed due to downsizing
Traffic Signal Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 June 2017
Early years was very enjoyable and fun working for the City. With cutbacks in early 1990's and downsizing the stress was affecting productivity and staffs' workload.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Rink Attendant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 June 2017
communication is key you learn a lot, get to watch hockey all day and talk to people, you learn a lot about skating and how a zamboni works, very fun job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Challenging, Engaging, Enjoyable
Recreation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 May 2017
My typical day of work included prepping for the day and prepping for when the children come. I learned to be more patient working with children, their parents, and my peers and coworkers. It was a challenging job at times, but I learned to work well with others and as a team. The hardest part of the job was to deal with different situations that you might not have prepared for or would have foreseen coming, but nevertheless, there is a great team atmosphere. The greatest part of the job was being able to work with kids and see them enjoy and grow.
Pros
Great experience
Cons
Can get long
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organized workplace
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 May 2017
Good people strong administration decent part time hours. can be very strict at times but relatively good overall with a union to protect and advise you on work related issues.
Pros
set hours
Cons
very specific
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great workers
Skate Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 May 2017
The hardest part of the job was keeping warm in the cold arenas, dealing with the management and trying to get someone to cover your shift. Many of the staff are young, most in their 20's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent starting job
Aquatics Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 May 2017
Simple work, simple pay. working directly with clients and seeing them progress through a course is very rewarding. The business side of the job is less than friendly.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Poor work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, friendly and welcoming co-workers
Rink Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
-everyone listening and following given rules

-learning new ways to encourage children to wear helmets, a diverse community

-making sure everyone is safe and that the other workers are doing their jobs properly

-the most enjoyable part of the job for me is when everyone is just having fun, no arguments, no fighting, just everyone getting along and minding their own business
Pros
breaks
Cons
self-centred co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Co-op position
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2017
advanced my skills with cisco router configuration. received valuable experience with working in a corporate environment. downtown work life is very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back work
Customer Service/Facility Support (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2017
Cool place to work. You have freedom to work your schedule around your life which was good for me while I was still in school. Manager was pretty chill, didnt bother me at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Toronto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 352 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9