City of Toronto Employee Reviews

Found 298 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community centre
Facility In-Charge (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2017
To assist recreation and facility staff with the delivery of recreational programming, the accommodation of permit groups and the provision of client customer service.

This job has helped build my communication skills both verbally and written.

hardest part of the job - hours are not consistent
Pros
secure hours
Cons
shift coverage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Computer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 March 2017
As a computer tutor my job is to assist clients that come in with any technical issues they may encounter while using the community centre. Employees work as a team to ensure that every client is assisted effectively and efficiently.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits, good work culture, supportive management
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2017
I enjoyed working for the City of Toronto for 12 years. Good job security with great pay and benefits, good work culture, supportive management but over 12 years I found it wasn't motivating or challenging enough.

Also, when they go on strike every few years, you do not get paid and it puts you in dire situation.
Pros
Great pay and benefits, good work culture, supportive management
Cons
Monotonous work - not challenging and no pay when on strike
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2017
Very difficult to get hired, but nearly impossible to get fired once hired. Decent pay compared to other lifeguarding jobs, good for students or adults with the summers off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Caseworker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 March 2017
A good place with only lateral mobility. The work culture is open to new ideas and implementation of those ideas required many levels of review before implementation.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Highly structured
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New CCO has ruined the office environment morale is at an all time low
Senior Project Manager/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2017
Lack of leadership
Everything is hidden and swept under the carpet away from the politicians
You have to be a Yes person to survive
The Transformation Project is used to get rid of existing staff
Pros
Pension and benefits
Cons
Toxic office environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work, to continue your career or to start entry level as a student
Parks Forestry and Recreation, Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2017
Colleagues and other supporting staff are friendly accommodating and extreme helpful. A typical work day involved maintaining and operating ski lifts which works on a rotating schedule 1 hour out 30 minutes in. The position was for the 2017 winter season and allows you to build relationships with people and network with other staff who occupy managerial roles and other supporting roles.
Pros
Rotating shift, flexible hours, friendly staff
Cons
Subject to cold weather and potential ski lift closures
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place
Adrministration/ Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2017
City Of Toronto is a great place to work. It's usually very hard to get a job here but when you do you don't regret it! It's a very relaxed environment but can get busy at times. Very accommodating to everyone, but can sometimes be hard to get hours.
Pros
having fun while working, very relaxed
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, great salary
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 February 2017
Staff are very friendly and everyone wants to work as a team. salary is higher than most other pools I have worked at. Taught half hour instructional programs for 3 hours and lifeguarded for 2 hours.
Pros
Good salary, great staff
Cons
difficult location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Records Management Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 February 2017
I like my job and variety of tasks from client services through the updating databases, research and creating reports toward physical part of the job - packing boxes, labelling and transferring them to the off site storage. I like a lot being fully responsible for my tasks and being able to make some decisions about how my day and month will look like, as i could prioritize my tasks and choose projects.
Pros
Separate private office, stable hours, cross trained for holiday breaks
Cons
Not much of the daylight on premisses
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and productive
Supervisor, Training and Development (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 February 2017
Strong support and focus on customer service and modernization
Some great people - dedicated
A lot of movement in terms of modernizing services
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job that teaches leadership skills, accountability, and resonsibility.
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Park Lawn Outdoor Pool8 February 2017
Working part time in high school, the City was very accommodating in terms of me building my own schedule and being able to pick my own hours. As a full time summer job, we were guaranteed a full work week, which is beneficial as many of the employees are students saving for school, so the City really looks out for students. In this job I learned how to communicate within a team and leadership skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for over ten years, over qualified with no room to advance.
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Various sites8 February 2017
Great part time employment, no possibility for full time employment. Enjoy working with the clients, and most staff, however, management ,politics are a real bone of contention, That for me, has made it very unenjoyable, and miserable place to work.
Pros
Better pay
Cons
No room for promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and irresponsible management
Art Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 February 2017
I loved teaching. The students were fantastic. But the supervisor and most of the staff were lazy. It was a pain getting supplies and receiving pay. It turned out to be more stressful than fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 February 2017
Amazing job environment
Fun place to make friendships
Not alot of room to grow due to the seniority process and job screening process
Enjoyable part is working with the youth and the rewards of seeing kids and their talents
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
afterschool care program
Senior Youth Basketball Program Leader (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 February 2017
Check the work phone for children absences
prepare daily snacks after snack as the coordinator i let the children know the daily program and follow through with the day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2017
City of Toronto aquatics is an amazing job to have. Easy to switch shifts if you can not make a shift. Friendly work environment with amazing management.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Some days are stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great careers
Arena Building Operator (Current Employee) –  North York, ON28 January 2017
lots of room to grow
will get to where you want if you try
supervisors are very helpfull in training and teaching
learn lots increase your knowledge
put in your time and it will pay of at the end
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifeguard - City of Toronto
Swimming Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 January 2017
Great place to work. Very easy going and supportive. Also very flexible with work schedules. People who work there are nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace hub
Support Assistant- Birchmount Yard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 January 2017
I would get into the office, check any email requests for Parks equipment. Check Salt loads, File complete request forms and sit in on Safety meetings.

I learned how the city operates and how to work with the community.

Management was always helpful, friendly and understanding limitations.

Workplace culture was very business like a bit casual but professional

Hardest part was deadlines as I was not allowed to have overtime so completion through the work day could get concerning.

Getting to visit different parks and community centres in the City was a highlight. Working for Pan Am games promotion as well.
Pros
Meeting great people and contacts.
Cons
Short hours, no benefits or job security
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 307 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0