City of Saskatoon Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive atmosphere. Good place to learn new skills
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 September 2017
A very safety orientated place to work with high regard for their employees. All safety equipment is provided by them. everyone is very friendly and willing to help you if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working experience was awsome
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 August 2017
i loved the environment except one thing that I was working alone so my management will never able to know my abilities and they have to judge me on some random basis as they never worked with me physically.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Recommended
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 August 2017
Great place to work, very organized with no room for half-effort(s).
Great management. Meetings are always productive/useful, as well. Ideal for full-time or shift-work.
Pros
City Hall Cafeteria
Cons
Equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physical fastpace
Pool Custodian lead hand/supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 July 2017
shift work, lots of physical labour, good people to work with all cultures, staff, patrons, good advancement if work good. cleaning decks, floors, exercise equipment, bathrooms
Pros
get in shape
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK19 July 2017
Nice supervisor and nice colleagues , enjoy my work ,help residents ,fix the road. Clean the city,park. Fix the back alleys take obstacle away from road
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great job
Instructor Placement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 July 2017
This is a great job. It is easy to work around my schedule. Great people. Easy to talk to. Always nice to deal with new people that are taking there time to help out the Community they live in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in pool area
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 May 2017
The hardest part of working for the City of Saskatoon was cleaning the pool with the vaccumn.
Arrived at work, empty the garbage, added chemicals to pool filter, janitorial work, event set up and clean up.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working and meeting with new people.
Managment was always available whenever I had a question or concern.
Pros
working outside
Cons
getting up at 4 am
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy un-rewarding work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK1 May 2017
It was very easy working with the city, but did not offer many rewarding challenges. It was hard to go to work knowing nothing I was going to do was going to be a challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive an fun work place
Engineering Technologist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK22 March 2017
Normal working day except few days. More experience on how to intereact with the community/public and contractor. Ability to manage assigned project effectively. Hardest part of the job is when one have to work on various weather conditions. Workplace culture is wonderful. The most enjoyable part of the job is when one have to share experience with fellow colleagues.
Cons
Normal working hours except few days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun job with great people!
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK29 December 2016
This was one of my most enjoyable jobs, the job itself was great and the people were very fun to work with. I loved that there was multiple positions offered with guest services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was in cooperative Could be hard to please all Civic Employees
Maintain. Electrician (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 December 2016
Hardest part of the job was almost always having an audience and getting orders from subordinates. Management was close minded and unwilling to listen to concerns
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Laborer, Locations (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 November 2016
Enjoyable place to work. Lots of breaks. Good management. The city focuses on safety. It is our number one priority. The job can take longer as long as everything is done safely
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i guess they keep things rolling
Unemployed (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 November 2016
i dont do much im unemployed but the city is clean. I dont work but its making use twenty words so, it's just the city i feel fine and safe most times living here, on the west side dundonald
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recreation 8 - Available Part Time
Recreation Technician (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 October 2016
Trusted with nothing, asked to do lowest level of work or sometimes nothing at all. Often sit on my hands during shifts because there are no duties to be done beyond minding the facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress environment
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 September 2016
The desire to ensure the customer is always right above and beyond established policies and procedures creates a stressful work environment. The corporation as a whole also tends to be reactive instead of proactive
Pros
Wage allows me to earn a decent living. My immediate supervisor is fantastic
Cons
Lack of support from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Engineering Technologist - Inspector (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 May 2016
Overall good experience, typical union red tape, good pay, good benifits. However, once you understand the job, not much changes
Pros
Double time OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff manadgement
custodian/maitence (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 March 2016
we are trustworthy have integrity and have respect for all employes and the general public.We have enough work that time goes by fast., not to many duties that you have to rush and make duties unsafe.We consentrate on work safty,an fesical well being.The city has great support system for all employes
Pros
geat benifits and pension
Cons
with shedualle hard to find 2nd job
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gym supervisor
Activity Leader (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 February 2016
Easy work but with only 4 hours given per week or even 2 weeks this is super unsustainable for serious workers. The pay is slightly above average with decent benefits surprisingly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK1 February 2016
Working outside and being involved with different Saskatoon communities was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed my time with the City of Saskatoon and would definitely work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and stress-free work environement
Building custodian (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 December 2015
Great place, job is not hard at all, great co-workers, flexible schedule, union membership, great work environment, health benefits
Pros
Being a part of the union
Cons
Not enough work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Saskatoon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
3.8

City of Saskatoon Reviews by Location