Find companies:
City of Richmond, VA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

City of Richmond, VA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the Virginia Initiative to Employment not Welfare. (VIEW)
Chief Election Officer (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, salary, work schedule was consistant, employers location
Cons: management, parking.
.My typical work day was data entry for Richmond Department of Social Services (RDSS) VIEW participants to go thru an assessment so their family could continue to receive subsidy. I would tag a pre-typed letter with their name, address and date of assessment. I learned to use various Virginia Department of Social Services computer data base programs. – more... Management was the not good at all. I was employed with RDSS for 18 years by then. I had never received negative evaluations. Under this new supervisor that I had at that time, I was given very negative evaluations and they were laden with lies. I was not able to prove that the evaluations were not conducive with my personality. Recently RDSS was in the news on how employees were fired, demoted and some even quit because of managements treatment to employees. My immediate supervisor was demoted to a position lower than this position. I got along wonderfully with my co-workers. The hardest part of my job was the daily mistreatment. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with the VIEW participants talking to them on the telephone also. I was the clerical support also for the Intensive Case Managers of the participants cases. I enjoyed my job duties – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for growth
Water Quality Technician (Current Employee), Richmond, VAApril 28, 2014
Pros: always accepts training opportunities
Cons: there is no career growth
A typical work day for me includes sampling, customer service, performing analytical tests, supply reordering, and quality control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Operates Under Political Mandate
UNIX/Linux Systems Support Senior Engineer (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 8, 2014
Pros: reasonably good job security
Cons: below market compensation, unclear objectives
Competent Technical Professionals struggle to meet or exceed conflicting or unclear objectives
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Election Officer (Current Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: long hours
Very interesting and you get to interact with various cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at City Hall
Council Budget Analyst (Former Employee), 900 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VAJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: working for the city
Cons: unqualified and insecure management
Exposure to City Governent was a mixed bag. It was exciting to be at the center of activity. However, the limitations and subsequent insecurity of the middle/departmental management make working there an iffy proposition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with great employees
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: the job was close to home.
Cons: had to pay for parking.
A typical day at work would be answering customer request, inquiries, or problems in person or on the telephone. I learned a lot about City government. Management was always there to assist you in any way. The co-workers were always willing to help you. The job was not hard at all. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energitic and fun workplace during down time with co-workers.
Fire Lieutenant / Shift Safety Officer (Former Employee), 8800 W. Huguenot Rd. Richmond, VAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: being respected in the community.
Cons: having to rush from the dinner table after a well prepared meal by one of your co-workers.
Responding to emergency situations of all types was a typical day at work.You can learn something new everyday on this job. Management and co-workers had a great working relationship, co-workers were very productive and completed assingments on time. The hardest part of the job is the lose of a co-worker in the line of duty, and seeing some of the citizens – more... we serve lose their life or property during a tragic situation.The most enjoyable part of the job was establishing and maintaining effective relationships with my co-workers and ohthers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company with opportunities to move to different branches within the company.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 9, 2014
The company was very good with developing their employees.
They also allowed free training outside of work hours to learn additional skills such as power point, excel, and management training. The job stability at this company was very good compared to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very calm and quite place
Student Summer Placement Program (Former Employee), Richmond, CAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: short breaks, summer time job
My co-workers were more to their selves half the time. The work place was always neat but a bit to boring. The machines worked perfectly fine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Budget Analyst (Current Employee), Richmond, VADecember 31, 2013
Culture is a nightmare. Management isn't helpful, limited opportunity to grow. Does not train
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Department of Public Health-Fiscal Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 19, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
The pay was decent for an entry-level position. The responsibilities ranged from washing cars, to handling corporate accounts, to repossessing rental cars from non-paying customers, to brokering contracts. All over the place - sometimes rewarding, sometimes physically dangerous. The benefit is that they will release you after about a year and a half – more... and potential employers will realize how hard you've worked and how excited you are about doing just about anything els – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Financial Pre-Auditor (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 11, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: unprofessional
Laid back management that doesn't hold their employees to the highest standards
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to go home some times,an still get paid for the day.
Boom /Trash Truck Operation (Former Employee), 900 West Broad StreetDecember 5, 2013
Pros: lot of over time
Cons: some times mangers played a lot of games with the workers.
Worked four ten hour days.Able to work in drifferent departments.Also learned ho to drive an operate equipment.Most of co-worker were good pepole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a loving and caring enviroment.
RRHA (Former Employee), 910 Chamberlayne PrkwyDecember 2, 2013
Pros: everyone worked together in harmony.
Cons: short breaks
A typical day I interact with clients while finding out what there beauty need were. I instructed employees on how to service clients as well as service my regular clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job
Pipeline Technician (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 18, 2013
Pros: learned the whole city
Cons: non
Best job I ever had. Point blank. The people I worked with were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work place
Mason Helper (Current Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 9, 2013
Cons: hard to move up
breaking up concrete.I've learned masonary,lawn work etc.managment ok.co-workers ok,hardest part is moving up ladder.most enjoyable part it's the city of richmond
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
police officer (Former Employee), richmond, vaSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: great co workers
Cons: court times not suitable for family life
enforce criminal and traffic laws, respond to emergency calls from citizens. Great place to work and for advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Payroll Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 9, 2013
In my department we were one big happy family. We always enjoyed talking with the vendors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Busy!
Recreation Aide (Former Employee), 3600 W. Broad StreetAugust 27, 2013
Pros: work car with free gas, flexible hours
Cons: no overtime hours
A typical day of being a Recreation Aide for the Summer Meals For Kids Program consisted of getting to work on time to ensure that you are available unless any problem occurred. I would usually begin my work day by answering phones and listening and trying to resolve to customer complaints. Then I would go out into the "field" and make random visits – more... to different recreation centers and daycares to make sure that they were serving the meals correctly and to check their inventory paperwork. My days usually ends with me answering phones and taking the sites meal orders for the next day.

With this job I learned how to perform effective customer service and time management. I also learned how to think and assess situations quickly as well as how to work with a team and how to be self-motivated. The hardest part of my job was working with mean and difficult people who didn't want to accept the corrective action that I was required to give to the sites who weren't serving the meals correctly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, outside environment
Maintenance Aide (Former Employee), Richmond, CAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Working outside pruning trees, edging lawns, cutting lawns. I've learned how to use various power tools and use work time productively and wisely. Work good with my co-worker's and upper management. The hardest part of the job was pulling weeds and pruning trees and the enjoyable part of the job was to complete the work duties for the day.

1 2 3