Find companies:
City of Edmonton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

City of Edmonton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Fun Workplace
Disability Management Consultant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 12, 2013
Co-workers and team function are great.

Positive Moral

Management of WCB, Short term and long term disability files
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with great people to better the City
Methods Analyst (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 25, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits, work hours
Great corporate culture, good pay and benefits. Unionized except management. Non discriminate employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Planning Technician/GIS Consultant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 15, 2013
Pros: good employer
Cons: technology
Very slow pace. Technology is way behind. Hardest part of job is working with archaic software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Municipal Enforcement Officer I (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 27, 2013
Very enjoyable place to work. The attitude of management and supervisors so far has been wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Vegetation Management Supervisor & IPM Coordinator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 16, 2013
Pros: opportunities to advance
Cons: constant reorganizations, no continuity.
There were no typical days in my position, every day was different, unpredictable. What starts as a quiet day can easily erupt into a flurry of public complaints, inquiries from the Mayor or City Councillors. Working with 30+ union staff was also a challenge especially when things go sideways. Interesting work but stressful at times.

My duties as the – more... Vegetation Management Supervisor and Integrated Pest Management Coordinator included the following:

• Provided leadership in developing, implementing and managing annual work plans including recruiting required seasonal staff to implement annual work plans and capital projects
• Built effective teams by providing coaching and counselling, organized staff orientation, safety training, attendance management, performance reviews and educational development.

The most enjoyable part of the job was my accomplishments,

• Led the Parks Vegetation Management Team in the continuous reduction of pesticide use from 1999 to 2012 leading to the Charles Labatiuk Award for Environmental Excellence
• Instrumental in the development and implementation of the City’s Good Growing Neighbours public education pesticide reduction program
• Forged partnerships with the County of Strathcona, City of St. Albert and City of Leduc in joining and contributing to the Good Growing Neighbours program
• Represented the Vegetation Management section and the Good Growing Neighbours public education campaign as media spokesperson conducting television, radio and print media interviews
• Worked with the Edmonton Naturalization Group (ENG), various Non Government Organizations, city departments, government agencies and the public at large in developing vegetation management plans for natural areas
• Participated in numerous Pesticide Ban committees and public consultation forums
• Established rapport with the ENG and other NGOs in the preservation of natural areas
• Conducted numerous presentations promoting Integrated Pest Management program and Good Growing Neighbours public education campaign at various conferences
• Provided leadership in developing, implementing and coordinating annual work plans including recruiting required seasonal staff to implement annual work plans and capitol projects
• Demonstrated effective management of Integrated Pest Management and Vegetation Control budgets
• Successfully responded to all public & Councillor inquiries
• Instrumental in the development of the City’s Integrated Pest Management Policy C501 and Parks Enviso (ISO 14001). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collector II/III
collector/foreman (Current Employee), waste managementJune 7, 2013
Pros: 3day weekends
Cons: heavy volumes lack of respect
i work in the waste management dept the moral is pretty close to the worst I've ever seen. Your day to day job will destroy your body over time and when you are used up you are told it's time to find another job. Wage is good but take home pay is way to low for what you do. Needle pokes, wasp attacks rolled ankles 15,000 to 20,000 kg BY HAND a day in – more... the summer every day. Expected to pick up the slack for poor workers on top of your own work. This is one of the few cities left that still hand collects with no sign of it ever changing all the leaders and management only care about their own jobs and not their workers. The only way to get ahead is to kiss but and have no opinions to make changes they want everything to stay the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you are in retirement mode
Safety Codes Officer, Electrical Group (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 29, 2013
Pros: earned days off
Cons: 37.5 hour work week.
Municipal governments are a great place to work. You are provided a high level of job security, pension and benefits. However, the wages are just not comparable with the private sector. Couple that with the reduced working hours and the wage rate really starts to suffer. Lots of levels of management as well that one has to deal with which can be frustrating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have a very productive work place and great people to work with.
LICENSED COMMUNITY PEACE OFFICER #13548 (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 21, 2013
Pros: company b.b.q's, staff with good sense of humor.
Cons: there are none except maybe a better pay ;)
My typical day at work is getting prepared for the day with morning meetings ie; safety talks and concerns. I have gained a great knowledge of the city and the parking By-Laws and I have a great team of people to work with. The hardest part is dealing with the aggressive people and the threats of bodily harm to myself and other co-workers,but for the – more... most part dealing with the public has been very enjoyable. The most enjoyable part is helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Orientated
Operations Assistant (Former Employee), EdmontonMay 8, 2013
Learned to have a high level of accuracy and confidentiality
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
STRATEGIC ANALYST (Former Employee), Edmonton, ENGMarch 4, 2013
Pros: compressed week
Great place to work, a typical day at work comprises of meetings, work at your station, responding to requests and interacting with stakeholders
Learned new things for my work
Management knows what they are doing, have a vision of where they want to go
The hardest part of the job was getting to understand the organization-too big
Most enjoyable part – more... is the life work balance and the great colleagues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Operator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 20, 2013
Excellent workplace. Enjoy the people. Hardest part of the job is maintaining the equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organization of goverment
Drainage Engineer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 14, 2013
I work hard everyday and finish project on time. But I still can not get a permenent position in it. Realy upset!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work enviroment, aging buildings not maintained, no support from management concerning service manuals. Bullying by management.
Heavy duty mechanic (Current Employee), EdmontonFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: average pay, pension plan, three weeks holidays after eleven month temp, if a permanent position is posted
Cons: shiftwork, including having to cover shifts, due to not enough mechanics to cover shifts this is partially due to high turnover rate, little to no information on equipment, such as service manuals, as well as tooling they say they supply, poor management skills at foreman level, very disorganized, and have experienced and witnessed foreman using intimidation tactics on serviceman
I am currently employed as a hd mechanic on the fleet services side have worked there for more then five years. Have on many occasions experienced intimidation and been threatened by foreman. Management isnt concerned with this as it has been an ongoing problem for years. Supervisors are yes men for upper management and will smile and look into anything – more... you suggest to your face but behind closed doors there is a different attitude.there are some good supervisors as well but they have little ability it seems to act on problems either due to a high level of work they need to accomplish or tired of dealing with the same problem and seeing no results. They do have some excellent mechanics working for them but do not give them the opportunity to advance unless they learn to do favors for there superiors in management. Your more valuable as a mechanic then in a leadership role if you are a knowledgeable mechanic. Almost all in management are there due to either belonging to a small group of people that know someone or are willing to become yes men and will do whatever they can to get a shot at belonging to this group including doing personal favors after hrs for there superiors. Or have been injured working on the shop floor and taken the city foremanship training. Your not promoted due to being a highly qualified mechanic. There is poor communication skills with mechanics and workers but excellent with management when referring to foreman. Shift work is required and the shift differential is $1.10/ hr as compared to more then $5 with other employers. Wages are average so no compliant there. Pension is good and after five years the city matches your contribution. Benefits are average. The shops in fleet services have a fairly high turnover rate for mechanics and it is my belief that it is due to poor management skills. Many committees and surveys and pilot projects which management uses to gauge many inefficiencies in the organization.A high level of computer time reporting a step by step recollection of the work you performed. As well as a high level of administrative duties for mechanics,doing data entry, this is a point of contention for most mechanics Recently the new branch manager released statistics for there engaged employee survey. One result on the survey stated that 30 percent of fleet services employees had experienced intimidation and bullying and threats, not sure of how many employees in fleet services as a whole more then 2,000 which means more then 300 have experienced this problem. I am currently waiting to start with a new employer otherwise i would be afraid of the repercusions of this review by management. As i have new employment this is not a concern as i would never re-apply to work there again. And like most of the others that work for fleet services i would not reccomend them as an employer. It is not an environment conducive to a healthy work enviroment. I am only putting this review here in the hopes that it helps in the decision of your choice of employment and is only a very small inside view of what happens in fleet services and only reflect my personal experiences and opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clear expectations
Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: decent salaries, mostly guaranteed raises
Cons: frustration with the system, stress
At the City, you know you're never going to be emotionally babysat. There are always many levels of management above you, which ensures that your ego is likely to never get out of control.

That being said, people at the section level tend to form close-knit teams and support each other. If you can find a spot like that, you're golden.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clear expectations
Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: decent salaries, mostly guaranteed raises
Cons: frustration with the system, stress
At the City, you know you're never going to be emotionally babysat. There are always many levels of management above you, which ensures that your ego is likely to never get out of control.

That being said, people at the section level tend to form close-knit teams and support each other. If you can find a spot like that, you're golden.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with excellent benefits.
Eco-Station Attendant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: barbeques, incentives
Cons: lay off every year for temporary positions.
A typical day at work involves a lot of interaction with customers and coworkers, which I particularly enjoy.
I've learned how to deal and serve all different types of customers in a respectful and enjoyable manner.
There is a lot of respect and diversity amongst my coworkers, which makes going to work the more enjoyable.
The hardest part of the job – more... is having to deal with unreasonable customers from time to time.
On the other hand, the overall customer service component of the job is the most enjoyable part of the job for me. I enjoy the personal interaction and the knowledge that a customer is happy because of my expertise and know-how of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Place is a Joke
labourer fleet services (Current Employee), EdmontonJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: vacation time
Cons: most thing's
I've worked for this company for many years its a deadend job the morale, is very low the company seems to think that they can ignor everyone's issues. but provideing us with gross lunch in's is a way to redeem themselves. unless your in good with management or have a friend or family member who is high up, the you will be promoted I was not intrested – more... in taking certain training in the beging it was so

poorly run and had such of lack of support from the foremen I felt as though I would be at a loss to pursue it and from that moment on I was black listed from any promotions though I do get the interview but they always choose everyone else but me, the foremen are provided no training on how to treat there employes with respect, they can dog you or bully you all day everyday will no ill effects of

management stepping in to reslove the issue, and the supervisor will say you are at fault for being treated that way, you will get the worst of the worst jobs to do while the butt kissers get to do as they please, the foremen just want to send rude jokes to there friends go to mcdonalds and watch movies on youtube the union is under the arm of management not willing to stand up for your rights but very happy to take your $50 union duies every paycheck the benifits are ok but the due's are very high half

your paycheck will go towards it, leaving you with nothing the other employes are rude and strange most of them will try to get you in troubble by tateling to the boss about you not doing your work, when they are not doing there work, outside smoking very few employees will lend you a helping hand when you need it saying "its not my job" or they will say yes but ditch you and never be found, the

place is a joke I have been injured nurmous times at the fault of careless journeymen only to have management assure me in writing that the issue would be resolved and it never is, they tell you want you want to hear to get you out of there office the whole company is a deshambled mess I would highly avoid working for this company at all cost you will be more depressed and miserable then you have ever felt in your life – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorley Motivated Company that has little care for its Employees.
Operator/Laborer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 18, 2012
Pros: not bad wage
Cons: absalutely no benefits or trust amongst the employees
Working for the City of Edmonton used to be fun and challenging but unfortunately lacks the excitement or fun that used to make it all worthwhile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was not pleased
Temporary Labourer I (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 22, 2012
was not pleased,some jobs i did not mind but
some i did not like , jumping in and out of traffic was not my best days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good employee relationships
CPIC Information Operator I (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 10, 2012
Pros: good work environment
Cons: shift work
Very busy environment during the days, not so busy during the nights. It is a good environment for building employee relationships, most employees get along very well. Everyone is encouraged to do work when there is work to be done, and for the most part everyone contributes.

About City of Edmonton

Edmonton is the capital of the Canadian province of Alberta and is the province's second-largest city. Edmonton is located on – Read more

City of Edmonton Photos