Find companies:
City of Edmonton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

City of Edmonton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have a very productive work place and great people to work with.
LICENSED COMMUNITY PEACE OFFICER #13548 (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 21, 2013
Pros: company b.b.q's, staff with good sense of humor.
Cons: there are none except maybe a better pay ;)
My typical day at work is getting prepared for the day with morning meetings ie; safety talks and concerns. I have gained a great knowledge of the city and the parking By-Laws and I have a great team of people to work with. The hardest part is dealing with the aggressive people and the threats of bodily harm to myself and other co-workers,but for the – more... most part dealing with the public has been very enjoyable. The most enjoyable part is helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Orientated
Operations Assistant (Former Employee), EdmontonMay 8, 2013
Learned to have a high level of accuracy and confidentiality
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
STRATEGIC ANALYST (Former Employee), Edmonton, ENGMarch 4, 2013
Pros: compressed week
Great place to work, a typical day at work comprises of meetings, work at your station, responding to requests and interacting with stakeholders
Learned new things for my work
Management knows what they are doing, have a vision of where they want to go
The hardest part of the job was getting to understand the organization-too big
Most enjoyable part – more... is the life work balance and the great colleagues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Operator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 20, 2013
Excellent workplace. Enjoy the people. Hardest part of the job is maintaining the equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organization of goverment
Drainage Engineer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 14, 2013
I work hard everyday and finish project on time. But I still can not get a permenent position in it. Realy upset!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work enviroment, aging buildings not maintained, no support from management concerning service manuals. Bullying by management.
Heavy duty mechanic (Current Employee), EdmontonFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: average pay, pension plan, three weeks holidays after eleven month temp, if a permanent position is posted
Cons: shiftwork, including having to cover shifts, due to not enough mechanics to cover shifts this is partially due to high turnover rate, little to no information on equipment, such as service manuals, as well as tooling they say they supply, poor management skills at foreman level, very disorganized, and have experienced and witnessed foreman using intimidation tactics on serviceman
I am currently employed as a hd mechanic on the fleet services side have worked there for more then five years. Have on many occasions experienced intimidation and been threatened by foreman. Management isnt concerned with this as it has been an ongoing problem for years. Supervisors are yes men for upper management and will smile and look into anything – more... you suggest to your face but behind closed doors there is a different attitude.there are some good supervisors as well but they have little ability it seems to act on problems either due to a high level of work they need to accomplish or tired of dealing with the same problem and seeing no results. They do have some excellent mechanics working for them but do not give them the opportunity to advance unless they learn to do favors for there superiors in management. Your more valuable as a mechanic then in a leadership role if you are a knowledgeable mechanic. Almost all in management are there due to either belonging to a small group of people that know someone or are willing to become yes men and will do whatever they can to get a shot at belonging to this group including doing personal favors after hrs for there superiors. Or have been injured working on the shop floor and taken the city foremanship training. Your not promoted due to being a highly qualified mechanic. There is poor communication skills with mechanics and workers but excellent with management when referring to foreman. Shift work is required and the shift differential is $1.10/ hr as compared to more then $5 with other employers. Wages are average so no compliant there. Pension is good and after five years the city matches your contribution. Benefits are average. The shops in fleet services have a fairly high turnover rate for mechanics and it is my belief that it is due to poor management skills. Many committees and surveys and pilot projects which management uses to gauge many inefficiencies in the organization.A high level of computer time reporting a step by step recollection of the work you performed. As well as a high level of administrative duties for mechanics,doing data entry, this is a point of contention for most mechanics Recently the new branch manager released statistics for there engaged employee survey. One result on the survey stated that 30 percent of fleet services employees had experienced intimidation and bullying and threats, not sure of how many employees in fleet services as a whole more then 2,000 which means more then 300 have experienced this problem. I am currently waiting to start with a new employer otherwise i would be afraid of the repercusions of this review by management. As i have new employment this is not a concern as i would never re-apply to work there again. And like most of the others that work for fleet services i would not reccomend them as an employer. It is not an environment conducive to a healthy work enviroment. I am only putting this review here in the hopes that it helps in the decision of your choice of employment and is only a very small inside view of what happens in fleet services and only reflect my personal experiences and opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clear expectations
Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: decent salaries, mostly guaranteed raises
Cons: frustration with the system, stress
At the City, you know you're never going to be emotionally babysat. There are always many levels of management above you, which ensures that your ego is likely to never get out of control.

That being said, people at the section level tend to form close-knit teams and support each other. If you can find a spot like that, you're golden.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clear expectations
Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: decent salaries, mostly guaranteed raises
Cons: frustration with the system, stress
At the City, you know you're never going to be emotionally babysat. There are always many levels of management above you, which ensures that your ego is likely to never get out of control.

That being said, people at the section level tend to form close-knit teams and support each other. If you can find a spot like that, you're golden.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with excellent benefits.
Eco-Station Attendant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: barbeques, incentives
Cons: lay off every year for temporary positions.
A typical day at work involves a lot of interaction with customers and coworkers, which I particularly enjoy.
I've learned how to deal and serve all different types of customers in a respectful and enjoyable manner.
There is a lot of respect and diversity amongst my coworkers, which makes going to work the more enjoyable.
The hardest part of the job – more... is having to deal with unreasonable customers from time to time.
On the other hand, the overall customer service component of the job is the most enjoyable part of the job for me. I enjoy the personal interaction and the knowledge that a customer is happy because of my expertise and know-how of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Place is a Joke
labourer fleet services (Current Employee), EdmontonJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: vacation time
Cons: most thing's
I've worked for this company for many years its a deadend job the morale, is very low the company seems to think that they can ignor everyone's issues. but provideing us with gross lunch in's is a way to redeem themselves. unless your in good with management or have a friend or family member who is high up, the you will be promoted I was not intrested – more... in taking certain training in the beging it was so

poorly run and had such of lack of support from the foremen I felt as though I would be at a loss to pursue it and from that moment on I was black listed from any promotions though I do get the interview but they always choose everyone else but me, the foremen are provided no training on how to treat there employes with respect, they can dog you or bully you all day everyday will no ill effects of

management stepping in to reslove the issue, and the supervisor will say you are at fault for being treated that way, you will get the worst of the worst jobs to do while the butt kissers get to do as they please, the foremen just want to send rude jokes to there friends go to mcdonalds and watch movies on youtube the union is under the arm of management not willing to stand up for your rights but very happy to take your $50 union duies every paycheck the benifits are ok but the due's are very high half

your paycheck will go towards it, leaving you with nothing the other employes are rude and strange most of them will try to get you in troubble by tateling to the boss about you not doing your work, when they are not doing there work, outside smoking very few employees will lend you a helping hand when you need it saying "its not my job" or they will say yes but ditch you and never be found, the

place is a joke I have been injured nurmous times at the fault of careless journeymen only to have management assure me in writing that the issue would be resolved and it never is, they tell you want you want to hear to get you out of there office the whole company is a deshambled mess I would highly avoid working for this company at all cost you will be more depressed and miserable then you have ever felt in your life – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorley Motivated Company that has little care for its Employees.
Operator/Laborer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 18, 2012
Pros: not bad wage
Cons: absalutely no benefits or trust amongst the employees
Working for the City of Edmonton used to be fun and challenging but unfortunately lacks the excitement or fun that used to make it all worthwhile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was not pleased
Temporary Labourer I (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 22, 2012
was not pleased,some jobs i did not mind but
some i did not like , jumping in and out of traffic was not my best days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good employee relationships
CPIC Information Operator I (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 10, 2012
Pros: good work environment
Cons: shift work
Very busy environment during the days, not so busy during the nights. It is a good environment for building employee relationships, most employees get along very well. Everyone is encouraged to do work when there is work to be done, and for the most part everyone contributes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not many complaints other than occasionally cranky customers
Building Regulations (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: decent wage, low stress
Cons: monotonous at times, often deal with angry customers
I only had a temporary summer position over a couple summers so I cannot really speak to advancement but otherwise it was a wonderful place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a fun summer job- perfect for a student
Recreation Technician I/ Green Shack Program (Former Employee), South PlaygroundsSeptember 24, 2012
I had a great experience working for the City of Edmonton at the Green Shack Program. Each day was different, depending on which kids came but there were also some regulars whom I got to know very well over the summer. Best of all, it was so nice to work outside and enjoy the beautiful summer weather.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding, and very rewarding.
Sub-Foreman (Tunnel Division) (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 20, 2012
Very professional management core. Excellent benefits, and excellent pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the way this agency was set up at the time under community development, was not guided properly or evaluated for overall effetiveness
Consultant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: i learned the legislation, facilitated courses in the community
Cons: terrible work conditions, awful staff
horrible place to work at the time, staff had worked together for many years and were inflexible to any change or new person, staff coming to work intoxicated or not all, staff doing personal business on work time, poor management, another staff had a mental illness, interpersonal conflict, clients were nasty and mean. staff were supposed to be promoted – more... to education position which never happened – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many supervicer
Customer Information Clerk III (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 16, 2012
Pros: nice one hour lunch, and compress week
Cons: no vacation, and no chance to advance
and too much back staving from team leads when ask for more training to be able to advance their prejudice got the best of them and instead of lifting they put down I would not go back to work for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great palce to work
Recreation Facility Attendant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 10, 2012
Great people to work with, and management is above and beyond good. some customer issues, but of course there always is. great environment and helpful staff make it easy to work around your schedule and aid you in finding replacements if need be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well rounded place to work
Project Inspector (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 11, 2012
Pros: wage, free time, holidays
Cons: long hours
Working for the city you get to experience many different types of construction techniques

About City of Edmonton

Edmonton is the capital of the Canadian province of Alberta and is the province's second-largest city. Edmonton is located on – Read more

City of Edmonton Photos