City of Edmonton Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but varied hours and no advancement
NATURAL HISTORY INTERPRETER (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 May 2017
The people I work with are awesome, however, the hours are extremely inconsistent (3 hours some weeks and 25-40 other weeks), there is no seniority (you get the same treatment and hours as someone who has been there a week or 5 years), no benefits or paid vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to much politics
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 April 2017
There was no good old days there. You were always on guard to keep out of site. People spent there time trying to advance there own carers. Was not a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very positive place to work
Recreation Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 April 2017
It was a truly amazing time working with the city. Incredible people to work with within your division but there is a bit of animosity between sections (i.e. The lifeguards and the Rec Techs didn't get along). Overall a very positive experience.
Pros
Positive environment and free food
Cons
Full day shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work-life balance with job security and great benefits
Project Engineer, at Transportation Planning (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2017
My position was challenging, I had a great team of interesting and like-minded colleagues.
I enjoyed the work-life balance, the benefit plan and the pension plan contributions.
The hardest part of the job was trying to take direction from multiple stakeholders, City Council, internal management as well as citizen concerns, developers etc. It was hard to balance many different opinions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment=bullies
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 March 2017
If your supervisor likes you personally, your career advancement options are endless. If not, you will be transferred endlessly around your departments and prevented from advancing, regardless of relevant skills and experiences.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity
CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 March 2017
I've been all over in various city departments. Has the potential to be a great work place however politics come into play when looking to advance. It's all about who you know so network network network. Some coworkers from some departments were great. Felt like people only saw negative and really missed out on the positive and lots of really great valuable employee's are leaving due to management in various area's again because all the who you know stuff that comes to play
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 March 2017
the people that work there are amazing. the job can be stressful but its amazing a great place to work. the only hard part is no matter how long you have been their there is no set work times. it changes day to day even. not for everyone but i loved it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Edmonton IT
Senior Business Analyst - IT (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 March 2017
CoE IT process are solid, everyone treats you as if you are a part of the big family.
Everyone is willing to help and provide the information that you need. Although there are politics this is not a prevalent as other government agencies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a nice job
Edmonton Transit Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 March 2017
i enjoyed my job but i have no kids at home and i would love to return back to highway driving i have always wanted to return back to the highway driving as it was always my wish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Community services (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 March 2017
This was a volunteer job i did for three summers in a row it was pretty awesome gaining all of the experience that i was able to working with the children
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2017
Dealing with the public can good and bad depending on every bodies attitude. All in all its a pretty good place to work, the staff are easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Swimming Instructor and Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 February 2017
The city is a good place to start out with a job while in school, the hours are usually manageable and the pay suffices. Fun and the other employees usually are good to work with unless they are too young.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized and friendly work space
Citizen Services Department, Edmonton, AB (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 February 2017
Working with the public through the City of Edmonton has been truly rewarding. I enjoy my shifts which require me to interact with participants in the city events. My work is rather simple and the communication is superb between employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus on service to citizens and internal customers!
Senior Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 February 2017
Strong commitment to work life balance with services to citizens and customers as the priority.
Provide great training and personal advancement.
Lots of programs and community involvement opportunities
Pros
Committed to quality service delivery and work life balance
Cons
N?A
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as long as you are willing to put in the effort. Praise for a job well done, strong team environment.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 February 2017
I have enjoyed my time at ACSA, I gained so much knowledge of the construction industry and how important their job is in the community. The association has a strong safety oriented environment.
Pros
Great hours, benefits, positive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and pretty good place to work
Fitness Trainer/Monitor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 January 2017
Good atmosphere , people are nice and welcoming. My only concern is not having much job security, no benefits, very minimum chance of advancing.
Pros
Free membership to City Recreation Facilities
Cons
No job security, no benefits & few hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Engineering Technologist Level I (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 January 2017
Great pay, good management, and great work/life balance. I've been there as a temp, but people treat you nicely and there's a sense of team when solving problems, good place to work for
Pros
Great management, work life balance
Cons
things might be slow sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Site & Building Maintenance / Edmonton Valley Zoo (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2017
Every day brought new challenges. Worked with an awesome crew and management. I learned so much about different types of building and site maintenance. Had a fantastic time engaging and talking with the people of Edmonton.
Pros
Easy going people to work with. New challenges every day.
Cons
Was only able to put in 8 hours per day. Longer hours would have been nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, adequate training and decent wage.
Animal Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 January 2017
I loved working with the Animals and the people in the city. However being a peace officer job and a temporary competition for a permiment position, there was little team work between the new recruits, and a large clique established. This made it difficult for the less extroverted, "popular" people to be hired.
Pros
Great wage, working with animals.
Cons
competitive environment, clique present.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 December 2016
The City of Edmonton offers many opportunities to learn new skills with the School of Business program. The typical work day is very busy multi-tasking a large variety of duties. Working with co-workers from the management team and the administration team makes some days very challenging and most days very rewarding.
Pros
Opportunities to learn new skills, benefits, pension
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Edmonton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 187 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

City of Edmonton Reviews by Location