Find companies:
City of Edmonton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

City of Edmonton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work environment with some faults
Personal Trainer and Fitness Monitor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: free membership to city recreation facilities
Cons: sporadic hours, no job security, no benefits, medicore pay
I enjoy being a City Employee. However, the field in which I work has no job security, no benefits, no chance to advance or move up, and the pay is only good if you sacrafice your entire schedule to working insane and sporadic hours. The co workers and employers are amazing people that love what they do. They are driven and passionate about the health – more... industry. However, this career path does not mesh well with my goals in life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cure site
Equipment operator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 7, 2013
move and screen compost xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can Work in a Variety of Departments
Word Data Processing Clerk II (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 2, 2013
Edos are great. Pay is average. Hours are great. Some management issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place if you love to drive but not for everyone
Transit Operator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 29, 2013
This is a fun position where you meet new and interesting people. The wage is great, but the deductions are high.
A good career for the right person
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly, accepting, organized
Seasonal Labourer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: free lunches, rides homes, friendly co-workers and supervisors, accepting, and well organized
Cons: seasonal and inconvenient hours for non-vehicle owners
Worked nights and days for a variety of labour intensive tasks. I used a sub pump to pump city drainage and maintained manholes and road condition near manholes. Management was organized and friendly, a typical day was enjoyable. Co-workers were friendly and enjoyable to work with, offered rides home and occasionally bought lunches. Very Generous. The – more... company offered BBQ's to co-workers and provided work and life balance. When the season ended and a full time/permanent position was offered, I didnt have the transportation at the time and had to turn the offer down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive: Busy workplace, fun and team orientated
Animal Control Clerk I (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 26, 2013
Pros: getting positive feedback
Cons: on your feet for hours
- 8 hour day

- I learned to have good listening skills, be empathetic as well as to have a good relationship with customers.
- I was a front store supervisor as well as a postal manager
- I had great co-workers, we worked as a team and helped each other and had fun as well.
- The hardest part of the job was having to talk with a co-worker about a problem.
- – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was talking with internal and external customers and helping them with there needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day At Work
Pool Serviceman (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 26, 2013
Pros: compressed work day off and many other benifits
Cons: difficult standards to follow and maintain.
Start at 10 P.M. and Work Til 6 A.M. Learned how to clean using various products and tools to maintain the pool facility. Management had good policy to follow in all aspects of job. Although, I worked alone, help was available from team for training and support. Night work was the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable was free swimming and workouts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Municipal work, like a large corporation with lots of variety
LABOURER (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 14, 2013
Pros: good wages, i always felt taken care of, flexible
Cons: not a lot of opportunity for holidays
I only worked in a very small section of the City of Edmonton's expansive labour force. My experience was a good one, Unions meant I was always taken care of and well payed. Lots of hourly premiums for working holidays, weekends, and evenings. There was always plenty of opportunity for advancement. I worked a 6 to 2 shift but as I mentioned before the – more... City runs its employment like a large company so there is tons of variety and different positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Fun Workplace
Disability Management Consultant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 12, 2013
Co-workers and team function are great.

Positive Moral

Management of WCB, Short term and long term disability files
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with great people to better the City
Methods Analyst (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 25, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits, work hours
Great corporate culture, good pay and benefits. Unionized except management. Non discriminate employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Planning Technician/GIS Consultant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 15, 2013
Pros: good employer
Cons: technology
Very slow pace. Technology is way behind. Hardest part of job is working with archaic software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Municipal Enforcement Officer I (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 27, 2013
Very enjoyable place to work. The attitude of management and supervisors so far has been wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Vegetation Management Supervisor & IPM Coordinator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 16, 2013
Pros: opportunities to advance
Cons: constant reorganizations, no continuity.
There were no typical days in my position, every day was different, unpredictable. What starts as a quiet day can easily erupt into a flurry of public complaints, inquiries from the Mayor or City Councillors. Working with 30+ union staff was also a challenge especially when things go sideways. Interesting work but stressful at times.

My duties as the – more... Vegetation Management Supervisor and Integrated Pest Management Coordinator included the following:

• Provided leadership in developing, implementing and managing annual work plans including recruiting required seasonal staff to implement annual work plans and capital projects
• Built effective teams by providing coaching and counselling, organized staff orientation, safety training, attendance management, performance reviews and educational development.

The most enjoyable part of the job was my accomplishments,

• Led the Parks Vegetation Management Team in the continuous reduction of pesticide use from 1999 to 2012 leading to the Charles Labatiuk Award for Environmental Excellence
• Instrumental in the development and implementation of the City’s Good Growing Neighbours public education pesticide reduction program
• Forged partnerships with the County of Strathcona, City of St. Albert and City of Leduc in joining and contributing to the Good Growing Neighbours program
• Represented the Vegetation Management section and the Good Growing Neighbours public education campaign as media spokesperson conducting television, radio and print media interviews
• Worked with the Edmonton Naturalization Group (ENG), various Non Government Organizations, city departments, government agencies and the public at large in developing vegetation management plans for natural areas
• Participated in numerous Pesticide Ban committees and public consultation forums
• Established rapport with the ENG and other NGOs in the preservation of natural areas
• Conducted numerous presentations promoting Integrated Pest Management program and Good Growing Neighbours public education campaign at various conferences
• Provided leadership in developing, implementing and coordinating annual work plans including recruiting required seasonal staff to implement annual work plans and capitol projects
• Demonstrated effective management of Integrated Pest Management and Vegetation Control budgets
• Successfully responded to all public & Councillor inquiries
• Instrumental in the development of the City’s Integrated Pest Management Policy C501 and Parks Enviso (ISO 14001). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collector II/III
collector/foreman (Current Employee), waste managementJune 7, 2013
Pros: 3day weekends
Cons: heavy volumes lack of respect
i work in the waste management dept the moral is pretty close to the worst I've ever seen. Your day to day job will destroy your body over time and when you are used up you are told it's time to find another job. Wage is good but take home pay is way to low for what you do. Needle pokes, wasp attacks rolled ankles 15,000 to 20,000 kg BY HAND a day in – more... the summer every day. Expected to pick up the slack for poor workers on top of your own work. This is one of the few cities left that still hand collects with no sign of it ever changing all the leaders and management only care about their own jobs and not their workers. The only way to get ahead is to kiss but and have no opinions to make changes they want everything to stay the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you are in retirement mode
Safety Codes Officer, Electrical Group (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 29, 2013
Pros: earned days off
Cons: 37.5 hour work week.
Municipal governments are a great place to work. You are provided a high level of job security, pension and benefits. However, the wages are just not comparable with the private sector. Couple that with the reduced working hours and the wage rate really starts to suffer. Lots of levels of management as well that one has to deal with which can be frustrating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have a very productive work place and great people to work with.
LICENSED COMMUNITY PEACE OFFICER #13548 (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 21, 2013
Pros: company b.b.q's, staff with good sense of humor.
Cons: there are none except maybe a better pay ;)
My typical day at work is getting prepared for the day with morning meetings ie; safety talks and concerns. I have gained a great knowledge of the city and the parking By-Laws and I have a great team of people to work with. The hardest part is dealing with the aggressive people and the threats of bodily harm to myself and other co-workers,but for the – more... most part dealing with the public has been very enjoyable. The most enjoyable part is helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Orientated
Operations Assistant (Former Employee), EdmontonMay 8, 2013
Learned to have a high level of accuracy and confidentiality
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
STRATEGIC ANALYST (Former Employee), Edmonton, ENGMarch 4, 2013
Pros: compressed week
Great place to work, a typical day at work comprises of meetings, work at your station, responding to requests and interacting with stakeholders
Learned new things for my work
Management knows what they are doing, have a vision of where they want to go
The hardest part of the job was getting to understand the organization-too big
Most enjoyable part – more... is the life work balance and the great colleagues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Operator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 20, 2013
Excellent workplace. Enjoy the people. Hardest part of the job is maintaining the equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organization of goverment
Drainage Engineer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 14, 2013
I work hard everyday and finish project on time. But I still can not get a permenent position in it. Realy upset!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About City of Edmonton

Edmonton is the capital of the Canadian province of Alberta and is the province's second-largest city. Edmonton is located on – Read more

City of Edmonton Photos