Find companies:
City of Edmonton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

City of Edmonton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT TEAM, GREAT BOSSES, GREAT WORK PLACE
DEPLOYMENT TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 28, 2014
Worked with fantastic people, learned lots from great bosses and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Heavy equipment mechanic (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 6, 2014
Pros: paid after noon lunch
Cons: shift work
busy in morning with running repairs
co workers are awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My two-month stint was very enjoyable.
Event Planning Consultant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 1, 2014
Was only consulting on a short-term basis so unable to provide an in-depth review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun with great team members
Recreation Facility Attendant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 26, 2014
A pleasant place to work serving the community in a Recreational setting. Co-workers quickly become friends and making the front desk a friendly approachable atmosphere. Registering patrons in community programs and camps as well as collecting daily and monthly admissions for facility access. Most enjoyable part of my job is the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Result Oriented Workplace
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 23, 2014
We did the following work on a regular basis

Assist with creating and updating technical and project documents
Participate in training and provide support to internal clients migrated to Google Accounts, Groups or PST
Assist with testing of business application changes
Assist with providing technical support to internal customers
Prepare, submit and – more... present reports and develop e-learning training documents using Uperform regarding - SAP(FICO, MM, PM), POSSE, SIRE and TACS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Millwoods Recreation Center
Clerk II (Former Employee), MillwoodsMay 6, 2014
Pros: time went buy fast, met new people
Cons: lots of standing
This Job was busy. Cash handling, admissions, single, Selling Monthly and Annual passes, Registered patrons into various classes and lessons.
Public Swims admissions for over 500 people.
Cash handling, deposits, balancing my float.
Closing the cash area for the evening
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Labour II (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 15, 2014
Pros: pay check won't bounce
Cons: nepotism
If you are from hr look into the director that was in the position in 2012
And the manager. Also look into supervisors in coronation yard same time. Do a audit you will be surprised what you find
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work :security, positive, progressive, respectful culture.
Social Worker, DVIT (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 9, 2014
Pros: independent work
Cons: the documentation system, long work day
Direct work with clients who need help to prevent being a victim of violence in the future, lots of phone calls, interviews, documentation etc. Good support from Branch Management, great co- workers.
Hardest part is clients going back to a violent relationship.
Most enjoyable is independent nature of the job and when a client is very responsive to my – more... intervention and very appreciative, makes positive steps forward etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time work.
Laborer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 1, 2014
Poorly managed. Things often done twice because they weren't done right the first time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working labour intensive job with various skills required
Tunnel Labourer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 24, 2014
Pros: benefits medical and dental, and vaction pay
Cons: very labour intensive work, low opportunites for advancment in a career
A typical day at work would be digging underground by hand for the cities drainage system, with the use of a jackhammer and shovel. We learn how to deal with different ground conditions as well as how to manage time so we finish proper footage in a day. One of the main reason I am looking to further my career else where is because of management. This – more... department in my opinion is poorly disorganized, does not value young driven employees and shows no interest or gives opportunities to advance a career within the department. My co-workers are usually great to work with, hard workers with drive for towards an honest days work. one of the hardest parts of my job would be operating a jackhammer for upwards to twelve hours a day 5-7 days a week, and the most enjoyable part of my job is working with a great crew and learning new ways to make the job and day go a little easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn and great people
swamper (Former Employee), edmonton albertaMarch 4, 2014
Pros: bbqs
Cons: pay kinda sucks
overall a pretty good place to work the money isn't that great for the job you do but the people make it a much better environment to work so that's the bounus cool things to work on and get to use .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dingy and dark workplace.
Transit Information Operator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 19, 2014
Over all employees were great but at the time management wasn't so great. Enjoyed working with the City
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 10, 2014
if you can get a city of edmonton job then take it! it was a great place to work and the p[ay is also really great: )
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, productive and fun workplace.
Ticket Usher (Former Employee), Comonwelth stadium.February 3, 2014
Pros: a free hot dog and beverage
Cons: exposed to the elements
Ever football game I would arrive at the stadium, we would have an employee meeting then off to the designated gate. over the course of the game hundreds of people came through each gate. we were responsible to scanning tickets, if there were issues with the tickets we had to direct people to ticket booths. we were also responsible for directing to – more... seats, consignment, transportation and other such places. we also had to make sure that no alcohol left the premises. the hardest part was being exposed to the elements, but the other employees were a joy to works with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours with excellent in house training opportunities.
Lifeguard/Pool Service Person/ Aquatic Instructor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: excellent management and job security, a great feeling of belonging.
Cons: hours can some times be unreliable, some weeks i'll work 50 hours a week and other's 30 hours per week.
I have enjoyed working for the City of Edmonton for nearly 5 years.

Over this time I have moved from a swimming instructor, to a lifeguard and over the past 2 years I have now been working as a pool service person nearly half the time I am at work. I have always been mechanically inclined and my supervisors have seen this and used me to their advantage. – more... I am often in charge of heading back washes as well as completing pump and filtration system maintenance. If my supervisors are not around. I am always the one that my fellow co workers call upon if there is a mechanical or water chemistry related issue.

I enjoy the problem solving aspect of it dealing with our complex filtration systems and find a sense of satisfaction when I can get things running smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blan place to work
Labourer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 26, 2014
If a low skill level requirement, and little to achieve at work interest you, this is your place!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City of Edmonton is a great employer to work for
Conventional Transit Operator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
I am very happy with how the city treats its workers. Management is great. Great group of co-workers. The hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Physical, Great experience
Bridge Laborer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 3, 2014
Very physical but love it, keeps you in shape and gives you a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leaders in Training
Leaders in Training (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 31, 2013
Pros: i can work there if i wanted to
Cons: boiling hot days in a metal green shack
Trained for two days and volunteered for two weeks. It was very fun but tiring at the same time, starting from early morning hours to evening hours. Met a lot of new people and entertained many young children, volunteering at a playground green shack program is an awesome experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environmnet.
Service Advisor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 28, 2013
A wonderful place to work. Everyday is a new experience. Meeting new people everyday is an unique experience. Surrounded by a wonderful group of coworkers make the place our second home.

1 2 3

About City of Edmonton

Edmonton is the capital of the Canadian province of Alberta and is the province's second-largest city. Edmonton is located on – Read more

City of Edmonton Photos