City of Edmonton

106 reviews

City of Edmonton Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work enviroment, aging buildings not maintained, no support from management concerning service manuals. Bullying by management.
Heavy duty mechanic (Current Employee), EdmontonFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: average pay, pension plan, three weeks holidays after eleven month temp, if a permanent position is posted
Cons: shiftwork, including having to cover shifts, due to not enough mechanics to cover shifts this is partially due to high turnover rate, little to no information on equipment, such as service manuals, as well as tooling they say they supply, poor management skills at foreman level, very disorganized, and have experienced and witnessed foreman using intimidation tactics on serviceman
I am currently employed as a hd mechanic on the fleet services side have worked there for more then five years. Have on many occasions experienced intimidation and been threatened by foreman. Management isnt concerned with this as it has been an ongoing problem for years. Supervisors are yes men for upper management and will smile and look into anything you suggest to your face but behind closed doors there is a different attitude.there are some good supervisors as well but they have little ability it seems to act on problems either due to a high level of work they need to accomplish or tired of dealing with the same problem and seeing no results. They do have some excellent mechanics working for them but do not give them the opportunity to advance unless they learn to do favors for there superiors in management. Your more valuable as a mechanic then in a leadership role if you are a knowledgeable mechanic. Almost all in management are there due to either belonging to a small group of people that know someone or are willing to become yes men and will do whatever they can to get a shot at belonging to this group including doing personal favors after hrs for there superiors. Or have been injured working on the shop floor and taken the city foremanship training. Your not promoted due to being a highly qualified mechanic. There is poor communication skills with mechanics and workers but excellent with management when referring to foreman. Shift work is required and the shift differential is $1.10/ hr as compared to more then $5 with other employers. Wages are average so no compliant – more... there. Pension is good and after five years the city matches your contribution. Benefits are average. The shops in fleet services have a fairly high turnover rate for mechanics and it is my belief that it is due to poor management skills. Many committees and surveys and pilot projects which management uses to gauge many inefficiencies in the organization.A high level of computer time reporting a step by step recollection of the work you performed. As well as a high level of administrative duties for mechanics,doing data entry, this is a point of contention for most mechanics Recently the new branch manager released statistics for there engaged employee survey. One result on the survey stated that 30 percent of fleet services employees had experienced intimidation and bullying and threats, not sure of how many employees in fleet services as a whole more then 2,000 which means more then 300 have experienced this problem. I am currently waiting to start with a new employer otherwise i would be afraid of the repercusions of this review by management. As i have new employment this is not a concern as i would never re-apply to work there again. And like most of the others that work for fleet services i would not reccomend them as an employer. It is not an environment conducive to a healthy work enviroment. I am only putting this review here in the hopes that it helps in the decision of your choice of employment and is only a very small inside view of what happens in fleet services and only reflect my personal experiences and opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Vegetation Management Supervisor & IPM Coordinator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 16, 2013
Pros: opportunities to advance
Cons: constant reorganizations, no continuity.
There were no typical days in my position, every day was different, unpredictable. What starts as a quiet day can easily erupt into a flurry of public complaints, inquiries from the Mayor or City Councillors. Working with 30+ union staff was also a challenge especially when things go sideways. Interesting work but stressful at times.

My duties as the Vegetation Management Supervisor and Integrated Pest Management Coordinator included the following:

• Provided leadership in developing, implementing and managing annual work plans including recruiting required seasonal staff to implement annual work plans and capital projects
• Built effective teams by providing coaching and counselling, organized staff orientation, safety training, attendance management, performance reviews and educational development.

The most enjoyable part of the job was my accomplishments,

• Led the Parks Vegetation Management Team in the continuous reduction of pesticide use from 1999 to 2012 leading to the Charles Labatiuk Award for Environmental Excellence
• Instrumental in the development and implementation of the City’s Good Growing Neighbours public education pesticide reduction program
• Forged partnerships with the County of Strathcona, City of St. Albert and City of Leduc in joining and contributing to the Good Growing Neighbours program
• Represented the Vegetation Management section and the Good Growing Neighbours public education campaign as media spokesperson conducting television, radio and print media interviews
• Worked with the Edmonton Naturalization Group (ENG), various Non Government – more... Organizations, city departments, government agencies and the public at large in developing vegetation management plans for natural areas
• Participated in numerous Pesticide Ban committees and public consultation forums
• Established rapport with the ENG and other NGOs in the preservation of natural areas
• Conducted numerous presentations promoting Integrated Pest Management program and Good Growing Neighbours public education campaign at various conferences
• Provided leadership in developing, implementing and coordinating annual work plans including recruiting required seasonal staff to implement annual work plans and capitol projects
• Demonstrated effective management of Integrated Pest Management and Vegetation Control budgets
• Successfully responded to all public & Councillor inquiries
• Instrumental in the development of the City’s Integrated Pest Management Policy C501 and Parks Enviso (ISO 14001). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Place is a Joke
labourer fleet services (Current Employee), EdmontonJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: vacation time
Cons: most thing's
I've worked for this company for many years its a deadend job the morale, is very low the company seems to think that they can ignor everyone's issues. but provideing us with gross lunch in's is a way to redeem themselves. unless your in good with management or have a friend or family member who is high up, the you will be promoted I was not intrested in taking certain training in the beging it was so

poorly run and had such of lack of support from the foremen I felt as though I would be at a loss to pursue it and from that moment on I was black listed from any promotions though I do get the interview but they always choose everyone else but me, the foremen are provided no training on how to treat there employes with respect, they can dog you or bully you all day everyday will no ill effects of

management stepping in to reslove the issue, and the supervisor will say you are at fault for being treated that way, you will get the worst of the worst jobs to do while the butt kissers get to do as they please, the foremen just want to send rude jokes to there friends go to mcdonalds and watch movies on youtube the union is under the arm of management not willing to stand up for your rights but very happy to take your $50 union duies every paycheck the benifits are ok but the due's are very high half

your paycheck will go towards it, leaving you with nothing the other employes are rude and strange most of them will try to get you in troubble by tateling to the boss about you not doing your work, when they are not doing there work, outside smoking very few employees will lend you – more... a helping hand when you need it saying "its not my job" or they will say yes but ditch you and never be found, the

place is a joke I have been injured nurmous times at the fault of careless journeymen only to have management assure me in writing that the issue would be resolved and it never is, they tell you want you want to hear to get you out of there office the whole company is a deshambled mess I would highly avoid working for this company at all cost you will be more depressed and miserable then you have ever felt in your life – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In town work good for families with small kids
Parks Edmonton (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 14, 2013
Pros: 4 day shift
Cons: extremely poor management and patronage postings for brown nosers common.
1st of all the pay is not great. So if you need to make a great deal of money, apply elsewhere.

The City is big on covering its butt legally so you'll be taking courses and going to safety meetings etc none of which has made much difference in the 30 years that I have worked there.

Summers are very busy at Parks. Winters get busier with snowfall. It is difficult to get good employees because so many are very young and don't really want to earn their pay.

The City is over managed. There are far more bosses than workers and many of the bosses have zero experience on the ground yet make all the decisions, usually without asking the people who know- the Crew leaders.

If you have a degree, even in Baking, you could be immediately bumped up the ladder. Actual work experience is not necessary.

You will rarely see a boss with a tool in their hands

If a well run organization is important to you-FLEE!

The answer to every problem in the City of Edmonton is more administration! Never more boots on the ground. Chaos rules.

The hardest part of the job is doing it in a fashion that I know is not efficient but orders from above require me to do it that way anyway.

The most enjoyable part of the job is camaraderie among staff and the 4 ten hour/day shifts. 3 day weekends and all stat holidays off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and busy all the time. Always deadlines to meet. Great people to work with.
Inside Information/Clerk III (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: wage is good
Cons: not being able to meet the customers expectations as fast as they wanted, but due to rules and regulations, things were out of my control.
A typical day at work is very busy and never dull. learn new things all the time. I learned how to work a lot of the City of Edmonton's in- house programs and expanded my knowledge of the Microsoft office suite program.

For the most management was great. Sometimes it was hard to meet with management when i had a question to ask and would have to wait for them quite awhile. I would ask as many of my co-workers the question that I had to ask my boss, and they were very helpful. I would only go to my boss if none of my co-workers knew the answer to my question about certain projects etc.

Sometimes clients/customers wanted certain things done immediately. Due to some procedures, sometimes we couldn't always do things as immediate as the customer would have liked, but i would always do my best to meet the customers expectations.

Most enjoyable part of the job for me was dealing with the customers, I thoroughly enjoy working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working labour intensive job with various skills required
Tunnel Labourer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 24, 2014
Pros: benefits medical and dental, and vaction pay
Cons: very labour intensive work, low opportunites for advancment in a career
A typical day at work would be digging underground by hand for the cities drainage system, with the use of a jackhammer and shovel. We learn how to deal with different ground conditions as well as how to manage time so we finish proper footage in a day. One of the main reason I am looking to further my career else where is because of management. This department in my opinion is poorly disorganized, does not value young driven employees and shows no interest or gives opportunities to advance a career within the department. My co-workers are usually great to work with, hard workers with drive for towards an honest days work. one of the hardest parts of my job would be operating a jackhammer for upwards to twelve hours a day 5-7 days a week, and the most enjoyable part of my job is working with a great crew and learning new ways to make the job and day go a little easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours with excellent in house training opportunities.
Lifeguard/Pool Service Person/ Aquatic Instructor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: excellent management and job security, a great feeling of belonging.
Cons: hours can some times be unreliable, some weeks i'll work 50 hours a week and other's 30 hours per week.
I have enjoyed working for the City of Edmonton for nearly 5 years.

Over this time I have moved from a swimming instructor, to a lifeguard and over the past 2 years I have now been working as a pool service person nearly half the time I am at work. I have always been mechanically inclined and my supervisors have seen this and used me to their advantage. I am often in charge of heading back washes as well as completing pump and filtration system maintenance. If my supervisors are not around. I am always the one that my fellow co workers call upon if there is a mechanical or water chemistry related issue.

I enjoy the problem solving aspect of it dealing with our complex filtration systems and find a sense of satisfaction when I can get things running smoothly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collector II/III
collector/foreman (Current Employee), waste managementJune 7, 2013
Pros: 3day weekends
Cons: heavy volumes lack of respect
i work in the waste management dept the moral is pretty close to the worst I've ever seen. Your day to day job will destroy your body over time and when you are used up you are told it's time to find another job. Wage is good but take home pay is way to low for what you do. Needle pokes, wasp attacks rolled ankles 15,000 to 20,000 kg BY HAND a day in the summer every day. Expected to pick up the slack for poor workers on top of your own work. This is one of the few cities left that still hand collects with no sign of it ever changing all the leaders and management only care about their own jobs and not their workers. The only way to get ahead is to kiss but and have no opinions to make changes they want everything to stay the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with excellent benefits.
Eco-Station Attendant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: barbeques, incentives
Cons: lay off every year for temporary positions.
A typical day at work involves a lot of interaction with customers and coworkers, which I particularly enjoy.
I've learned how to deal and serve all different types of customers in a respectful and enjoyable manner.
There is a lot of respect and diversity amongst my coworkers, which makes going to work the more enjoyable.
The hardest part of the job is having to deal with unreasonable customers from time to time.
On the other hand, the overall customer service component of the job is the most enjoyable part of the job for me. I enjoy the personal interaction and the knowledge that a customer is happy because of my expertise and know-how of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly, accepting, organized
Seasonal Labourer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: free lunches, rides homes, friendly co-workers and supervisors, accepting, and well organized
Cons: seasonal and inconvenient hours for non-vehicle owners
Worked nights and days for a variety of labour intensive tasks. I used a sub pump to pump city drainage and maintained manholes and road condition near manholes. Management was organized and friendly, a typical day was enjoyable. Co-workers were friendly and enjoyable to work with, offered rides home and occasionally bought lunches. Very Generous. The company offered BBQ's to co-workers and provided work and life balance. When the season ended and a full time/permanent position was offered, I didnt have the transportation at the time and had to turn the offer down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, productive and fun workplace.
Ticket Usher (Former Employee), Comonwelth stadium.February 3, 2014
Pros: a free hot dog and beverage
Cons: exposed to the elements
Ever football game I would arrive at the stadium, we would have an employee meeting then off to the designated gate. over the course of the game hundreds of people came through each gate. we were responsible to scanning tickets, if there were issues with the tickets we had to direct people to ticket booths. we were also responsible for directing to seats, consignment, transportation and other such places. we also had to make sure that no alcohol left the premises. the hardest part was being exposed to the elements, but the other employees were a joy to works with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the way this agency was set up at the time under community development, was not guided properly or evaluated for overall effetiveness
Consultant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: i learned the legislation, facilitated courses in the community
Cons: terrible work conditions, awful staff
horrible place to work at the time, staff had worked together for many years and were inflexible to any change or new person, staff coming to work intoxicated or not all, staff doing personal business on work time, poor management, another staff had a mental illness, interpersonal conflict, clients were nasty and mean. staff were supposed to be promoted to education position which never happened
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have a very productive work place and great people to work with.
LICENSED COMMUNITY PEACE OFFICER #13548 (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 21, 2013
Pros: company b.b.q's, staff with good sense of humor.
Cons: there are none except maybe a better pay ;)
My typical day at work is getting prepared for the day with morning meetings ie; safety talks and concerns. I have gained a great knowledge of the city and the parking By-Laws and I have a great team of people to work with. The hardest part is dealing with the aggressive people and the threats of bodily harm to myself and other co-workers,but for the most part dealing with the public has been very enjoyable. The most enjoyable part is helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work environment with some faults
Personal Trainer and Fitness Monitor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: free membership to city recreation facilities
Cons: sporadic hours, no job security, no benefits, medicore pay
I enjoy being a City Employee. However, the field in which I work has no job security, no benefits, no chance to advance or move up, and the pay is only good if you sacrafice your entire schedule to working insane and sporadic hours. The co workers and employers are amazing people that love what they do. They are driven and passionate about the health industry. However, this career path does not mesh well with my goals in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connectivity is key...
Project Manager (Current Employee), Edmonton ABAugust 31, 2014
Pros: working with all departments.
Cons: long hours and political influences
My days are long, but rewarding. Building strong relationship is the/my key to success. Accountability shouldn't be expected unless paired with authority. Daily goal is helping my co-workers succeed in their work/job/life. Managing scope creep is the hardest part of my job. The most enjoyable part of my job is the satisfaction I feel when a project plan has been adopted, because I know it is a solid plan due to my strong understanding of the connectivities and dependencies within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Municipal work, like a large corporation with lots of variety
LABOURER (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 14, 2013
Pros: good wages, i always felt taken care of, flexible
Cons: not a lot of opportunity for holidays
I only worked in a very small section of the City of Edmonton's expansive labour force. My experience was a good one, Unions meant I was always taken care of and well payed. Lots of hourly premiums for working holidays, weekends, and evenings. There was always plenty of opportunity for advancement. I worked a 6 to 2 shift but as I mentioned before the City runs its employment like a large company so there is tons of variety and different positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible workplace with great people to work with and for.
Transit Operator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 11, 2015
Pros: Pay and benefits were great.
Cons: Driving in poor weather and road conditions.
One of the finest places I've ever worked. My work day typically involved a split shift where I was responsible for the transportation of 1 to 80 persons at a time. I worked alone but was never alone. My co-workers were positive people and were VERY supportive. The hardest part of the job was the bouncing involved while driving. It's the reason I had to go on LTD.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the comradeship between all the drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive: Busy workplace, fun and team orientated
Animal Control Clerk I (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 26, 2013
Pros: getting positive feedback
Cons: on your feet for hours
- 8 hour day

- I learned to have good listening skills, be empathetic as well as to have a good relationship with customers.
- I was a front store supervisor as well as a postal manager
- I had great co-workers, we worked as a team and helped each other and had fun as well.
- The hardest part of the job was having to talk with a co-worker about a problem.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was talking with internal and external customers and helping them with there needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work :security, positive, progressive, respectful culture.
Social Worker, DVIT (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 9, 2014
Pros: independent work
Cons: the documentation system, long work day
Direct work with clients who need help to prevent being a victim of violence in the future, lots of phone calls, interviews, documentation etc. Good support from Branch Management, great co- workers.
Hardest part is clients going back to a violent relationship.
Most enjoyable is independent nature of the job and when a client is very responsive to my intervention and very appreciative, makes positive steps forward etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Result Oriented Workplace
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 23, 2014
We did the following work on a regular basis

Assist with creating and updating technical and project documents
Participate in training and provide support to internal clients migrated to Google Accounts, Groups or PST
Assist with testing of business application changes
Assist with providing technical support to internal customers
Prepare, submit and present reports and develop e-learning training documents using Uperform regarding - SAP(FICO, MM, PM), POSSE, SIRE and TACS.
Claimed Profile
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
City of Edmonton website

Facebook