Find companies:
City of Edmonton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

City of Edmonton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connectivity is key...
Project Manager (Current Employee), Edmonton ABAugust 31, 2014
Pros: working with all departments.
Cons: long hours and political influences
My days are long, but rewarding. Building strong relationship is the/my key to success. Accountability shouldn't be expected unless paired with authority. Daily goal is helping my co-workers succeed in their work/job/life. Managing scope creep is the hardest part of my job. The most enjoyable part of my job is the satisfaction I feel when a project – more... plan has been adopted, because I know it is a solid plan due to my strong understanding of the connectivities and dependencies within the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Work/Life Balance
Project Manager in Financial Process Management (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 19, 2014
Pros: extra day offs
Cons: limited job advancement
It's a good place to balance you work and life, especially for staff need to take care of little kids or other family members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were great.
Industrial Wastewater Investigator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 18, 2014
Worked with some great people who I am still friends with today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work environment
Desktop Support Analyst (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 17, 2014
People are so friendly and helpful. Lots of resources to learn new things and Opportunity to show you skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, excellent managment, multicultural team.
Accounts Receivable (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 14, 2014
Great work environment, excellent managment, multicultural team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive staff, great work environment
Temporary Assignment (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 6, 2014
Pros: wealth of shared knowledge
Cons: hard to get your foot in the door.
Amazing team spirit, uncapped potential for career and personal growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good thing the pay is deccent
RFA 1 (Current Employee), EdmontonJuly 30, 2014
Pros: some very awesome customers, easy job, air conditioning.
Cons: management has no idea what's going on, no communication or trust, no benefits, being taken advantage of
If they did not pay as well as they do I'm sure they'd have a hard time finding employees. Upper management makes you jump through so many hoops. Definitely would not make it a career. Hours are terrible, and they don't provide any benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT TEAM, GREAT BOSSES, GREAT WORK PLACE
DEPLOYMENT TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 28, 2014
Worked with fantastic people, learned lots from great bosses and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Heavy equipment mechanic (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 6, 2014
Pros: paid after noon lunch
Cons: shift work
busy in morning with running repairs
co workers are awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My two-month stint was very enjoyable.
Event Planning Consultant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 1, 2014
Was only consulting on a short-term basis so unable to provide an in-depth review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun with great team members
Recreation Facility Attendant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 26, 2014
A pleasant place to work serving the community in a Recreational setting. Co-workers quickly become friends and making the front desk a friendly approachable atmosphere. Registering patrons in community programs and camps as well as collecting daily and monthly admissions for facility access. Most enjoyable part of my job is the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Result Oriented Workplace
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 23, 2014
We did the following work on a regular basis

Assist with creating and updating technical and project documents
Participate in training and provide support to internal clients migrated to Google Accounts, Groups or PST
Assist with testing of business application changes
Assist with providing technical support to internal customers
Prepare, submit and – more... present reports and develop e-learning training documents using Uperform regarding - SAP(FICO, MM, PM), POSSE, SIRE and TACS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Labour II (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 15, 2014
Pros: pay check won't bounce
Cons: nepotism
If you are from hr look into the director that was in the position in 2012
And the manager. Also look into supervisors in coronation yard same time. Do a audit you will be surprised what you find
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work :security, positive, progressive, respectful culture.
Social Worker, DVIT (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 9, 2014
Pros: independent work
Cons: the documentation system, long work day
Direct work with clients who need help to prevent being a victim of violence in the future, lots of phone calls, interviews, documentation etc. Good support from Branch Management, great co- workers.
Hardest part is clients going back to a violent relationship.
Most enjoyable is independent nature of the job and when a client is very responsive to my – more... intervention and very appreciative, makes positive steps forward etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time work.
Laborer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 1, 2014
Poorly managed. Things often done twice because they weren't done right the first time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working labour intensive job with various skills required
Tunnel Labourer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 24, 2014
Pros: benefits medical and dental, and vaction pay
Cons: very labour intensive work, low opportunites for advancment in a career
A typical day at work would be digging underground by hand for the cities drainage system, with the use of a jackhammer and shovel. We learn how to deal with different ground conditions as well as how to manage time so we finish proper footage in a day. One of the main reason I am looking to further my career else where is because of management. This – more... department in my opinion is poorly disorganized, does not value young driven employees and shows no interest or gives opportunities to advance a career within the department. My co-workers are usually great to work with, hard workers with drive for towards an honest days work. one of the hardest parts of my job would be operating a jackhammer for upwards to twelve hours a day 5-7 days a week, and the most enjoyable part of my job is working with a great crew and learning new ways to make the job and day go a little easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn and great people
swamper (Former Employee), edmonton albertaMarch 4, 2014
Pros: bbqs
Cons: pay kinda sucks
overall a pretty good place to work the money isn't that great for the job you do but the people make it a much better environment to work so that's the bounus cool things to work on and get to use .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering for city-wide sustainable lifestyle projects
Sustainable Lifestyle Volunteer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 23, 2014
An excellent employer focused on improving urban biodiversity and engaging members of the public for long-term environmental improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dingy and dark workplace.
Transit Information Operator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 19, 2014
Over all employees were great but at the time management wasn't so great. Enjoyed working with the City
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 10, 2014
if you can get a city of edmonton job then take it! it was a great place to work and the p[ay is also really great: )

1 2 3 4

About City of Edmonton

Edmonton is the capital of the Canadian province of Alberta and is the province's second-largest city. Edmonton is located on – Read more

City of Edmonton Photos