City of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 166 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying Lifeguard position
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2017
Working for the City of Calgary has the benefit of being part of a union which in turn leads to certain pros and cons. Good pay and benefits are both nice to have however overtime is hard to come by and the structure of the Aquatics hierarchy make advancement hard to come by. The majority of the job is closer to public relations and teaching rather than life guarding itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager Exempt
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2017
Poor upper management.
Poor opportunity for advancement.
Poor pay.
Poor conflict resolution.
Wasteful of taxpayers money.
Unable to change for the better.
Stuck in 50s management mentality.
Pros
Not a lot other than 3rd fridays off, but you work the hours anyway
Cons
see review
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government work environment
Seasonal Gardener (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2017
Some good, some bad. The presence of a union ensures that anyone with a poor attitude or a lackluster work ethic stays on for years, effectively poisoning positive spirits. Salary is way above industry average, and most people are great to work with.

On the plus side, I was blessed with an excellent boss who provided me with whatever I needed and even provided support on her days off!

Very difficult to get a full-time, permanent position here, and I'm not sure I'd want one. They can move you, change your position and you have no say over what they've decided.
Pros
Above average salary
Cons
Union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job.
Calgary Transit Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Victoria Park Bus depot.12 September 2017
I loved my years working for Calgary Transit. Felt respected and valued. A great opportunity to work with other professional drivers and provide customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On duty emergency team
City of Calgary FD Captain (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 September 2017
Early safety meetings followed by vehicle maintenance . Review of public safety notifications. Emergency responses as called upon. Training in theory and practical application.
Pros
team work
Cons
stressful situations of life and death
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the department
Business Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 August 2017
Got to work with good people on interesting projects. They are committed to developing staff, doing solid work and place high value on customer service.
Pros
development opportunities
Cons
some managers are toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can get in and tolerate it, you got it made the rest of the way
Technical Writer (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 August 2017
People are pleasant enough and there is a fair amount of collaboration. There are advancement opportunities but sometimes subject to union rules. There are opportunities to move to other positions and get trained on other skills. Pay is great. But manager tends to micromanage things.

The political / unionized environment means one has to be careful what one says around people so as not to raise any red flags.
Pros
use of kitchen, free parking
Cons
unionized environment, hard to get in
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very inclusive and diverse organization
Departmental team lead (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2017
Working for the City gives you many opportunities to learn and grow. It is a major employer in Calgary, there are personal and professional development opportunities.
Pros
flexible work options
Cons
long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun, very progressive
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 August 2017
Enjoy the dynamic everyone was productive and easy going as well as professional. Made some great friends in the time I was there, wish I could have accepted the positions permanently.
Pros
good team environment
Cons
they don't hire from external temp agencies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Concrete Finisher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 August 2017
very great place to work especially for construction
great pay and benefits. vacation time
awesome co workers and bosses
helped me learn about direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place you work
Labourer/custodian (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 August 2017
great place to work, WAY TOO MANY MANAGEMENT due to economy, budget cuts equals Group Layoffs aside from that, the city is a fair place to work, :)
Pros
great work and home life balance
Cons
forever critzied for being a lazy city employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good steady job where everyday is different
Weight Room Monitor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 August 2017
No day is the same with this type of job, as different types of people come in every day. A good place to meet new people. New challenges every day that requires time and patience.
Pros
city status
Cons
limited growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work staff are awesome
Beverage cart server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 July 2017
great place to work, management great. the pay is the only down fall,,,low money no benefits. best part is meeting lots of people. i drive golf cart and sell beer, wine coolers, chips sandwiches and choc bars. 8-9 hr days
Pros
clients and staff
Cons
low pay not allowed to accept tips
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 June 2017
I've been with the City for 10 years. It has been a good experience and I've been able to advance my Career very well.
My shift is good now. My life and time with my child is very good.
The job has been a rewarding experience.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Different shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a good place to work
Driver/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 June 2017
Very respectful for the most part , reasonable wages , good benefits , good balance of work/life . good relations ship between front line workers and management.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
limited salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job and able to meet and talk to people
Census Taker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2017
I worked as a census taker for 2017 and found this job is fun to have. I can work with and rearrange my own schedule in order to meet the deadline. Going door to door to collect information allowed me to meet and talk to different people. It also allows me to earn some income while doing my daily walk.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable, fun , always learning work place
Life guard (Current Employee) –  city of Calgary8 June 2017
Positive part about this job is being able to create a bond with new people. Learning new and old things. Being apart of someone's life, and making a difference or not and helping someone through a difficult time.
I would like to work part time with an opportunity to work more if needed.
Being honest .. it has been a long time since I have applied for a job. I would love the opportunity to see where I can go.
Thankyou
Gillian
Pros
positive, moving forward, educating
Cons
negative working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace-personal life balance
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary29 May 2017
I have enjoyed working with the City as it has afforded me a good balance between my work and personal life. However, the evangelized values of Character, Competence, Commitment and Collaboration are, sadly, inconsistently practiced across the departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people and enjoyable work
Landscaping (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 May 2017
typical day consists of morning meetings with the foreman for the current days scheduling and tasks, different groups perform different tasks, we were responsible for planting flowers in city parks while maintaining them.
Pros
great pay
Cons
work in unpredictable weather heat/rain
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great place
Seasonal Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
great place to work where the training never stops. Always room for advancement, and the benefits are pretty nice too. everyone there is friendly and will advise you on the do's an don'ts .
Pros
everything
Cons
seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Calgary. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 169 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

82%
46 ratings
Add your rating

City of Calgary Reviews by Location