Find companies:
City of Calgary
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

City of Calgary Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great palce to work
Accounts Payable Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: always very busy
Great place to work. Busy place, everyone is there to work.

the culture is great. Job security is great. Money is good, great benefits, the only this is its hard to become permanent with city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weight room
Police Officer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 10, 2014
Pros: no free lunch. good weight room
Cons: long hours without warnng and working nights then days in court.
Intense work with decisions that have to made within seconds to periods of being uneventful or idol.

Shift work is a way of life compounded by working nights and being required to be in a Court of Law in the morning or afternoon then back to night shift with usual high expectations not to be compromised.

Twenty six year's is difficult to paraphrase – more... in a review how ever decisions were a way of life.
From a citizen asking if they ay park in a certain spot to being first at Homicide scenes and doing emergency entries in high risk situation's.

As senior man I was constantly asked to do relief Supervisor work which embodied Supervising all Constables in downtown Calgary and being incident commander at major situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse place to work
Service Lane Attendant (Current Employee), CalgaryOctober 29, 2014
Overall, a good company to work for.

Lots of room for growth, many different departments to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.. Enjoyable environment.
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 30, 2014
People are very helpful and people are all very friendly.
Work wise it is a very good experience and you learn a lot in time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Landscaper (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: salary, hours, environment
Cons: union fees
It was an easy friendly and highly beneficial place to work a great summer job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible and Multitasking
Bylaw Prosecution Legal Assistant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 12, 2014
City of Calgary is a place where you can learn and explore.Being a Legal assistant I would call different departments of City to get the documents together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So amazing that I never got an interview
Traffic Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), CalgarySeptember 9, 2014
I applied this position (Traffic Maintenance Technician) every time I saw it, but I never got an interview. I wonder why it is like this forever and they are always hiring...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In most ways for most of the 32 years, avery rewarding job.
Transit Operator - City of Calgary (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: interacting with public. doing what i liked to do (drive)
Cons: for me there were no cons other than perhaps the odd problem passenger
Overall, a good 32 years with the City of Calgary. I love driving and interacting with the public brought me great satisfaction. Met many fabulous, interesting people from all over the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
variety opportunity to learn new skills many areas to learn
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Corporate PropertiesAugust 26, 2014
Pros: a great place to work providing great challenges to produce great work
each day brought opportunity to learn new skills, eg website updates, communications process internal and external, a unique opportunity to interact with Citizens, City Council,MLA's, creative services, working with co-workers on projects such as land, buildings. the great opportunity to learn new processes and skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing opportunity!
Records Technician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 29, 2014
I was hired on through a temp agency and it was a unique and amazing first experience in an office environment. I learned about privacy issues and professionalism. Not easy to get in to, a lot of hard work to become employed, but a rich experience and eye opener.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work
Special Events Crew (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 22, 2014
Pros: work expirience, hands on work
Cons: casual hours only
I enjoyed doing different events and mixing up the tasks for events. The hands on work reinforced my love of being busy and seeing a task completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Employer
Class 3 Truck Driver (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 16, 2014
I have nothing good to say about working for the City of Calgary. Benefits and Pension are a joke. The Union is neutered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work schedule and environment
Water Services Laborer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 26, 2014
Lots of opportunities with the city of calgary,
extensive paid for training so that you are comfortable at your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable, consistent Job, good work life balance.
Plant maintenance (Current Employee), waterservicesJune 21, 2014
Pros: pension and good benifits, good worklife balance
Cons: no ot, little room for advancement, old school managment and work ideas.
The job very steady, working a consistent shift. My co-workers are very friendly and helpful. The pace is a lot slower than I am used to, there is very much a union mentality, nothing gets done before start time. Hanging around waiting for direction and morning meetings really absorb most of the mornings time. If you are willing to put in 7 years< there – more... maybe a possibility of advancement, but that is if you are not superseded by a worker from another department or plant that has more seniority than you.

The work is fairly typical and routine, very hard to think out side the box as other co-workers shut you down due to the union scope of work and what they feel that they should do for the pay that they receive. The hourly wage is very good for working in Calgary, although there is a lot of deductions which bring your take home to an exist able level. Unfortunately Overtime is very scarce, your basic wage is really what have to consider normal, any OT is a bonus.

On the up side, your deductions go towards a very good health care program. A lot of you weekly money gets deducted for a pension which is match plus more by the city. Short and long term sick, standard 2 weeks holiday after a year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy/ ethical.
SANITATION ENG./DRIVER (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 10, 2014
Pros: pro’s are that everything i do has to be done just right.
Cons: con: are the same, if job is not done right i’m not satisfied.
Most of the best jobs IV had, there was good communication from management to staff.
My co-workers and I learned about good values each of us had that could benefit us all. Hard things would be having to tell someone that there is a better or faster way and if they would disagree we would proceed there way then as agreed we would try it my way, most – more... of the time this would work and work became more fun as we did things better and everyone was satisfied all around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome, best place I have ever worked, best managers
Law & Finance Civil Administrative Public Servant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 24, 2014
Pros: 1.5 hours lunch, every 3 weeks you get a paid "raww" day off, very flexible.
- I learned to use various software used by The City of Calgary in a short amount of time
- Very flexible environment
- Family first and they are able to allow time off when you have a family emergency
- Great balance of work and life
- Relaxing atmosphere, stress free
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and mix of people.
Secretary (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 23, 2014
Pros: challenge, variety and good learning opportunities.
Cons: no negative aspects to the job!
Thoroughly enjoyed working here. It was a contract position and I temporarily moved to Nanaimo after a 1 year term.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues, great kids
Youth Leader (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 17, 2014
Awesome place to work. The colleagues were amazing and always made the work day fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull day at work
311 Call Centre Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 7, 2014
Very entertaining line of work. Bit of a dull work environment though. Nonetheless, had a enjoyable time working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive fun workplace
Community Bus Operator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 6, 2014
Pros: good life style
Cons: split shift
working for the city of Calgary , was so much fun and exciting, it was always positive , meeting new people, and driving different communities every day, new challenges . The management was awesome and co-workers was very nice.

1 2 3 4

About City of Calgary

The City of Calgary manages the quality and delivery of our water supply - from the river, to our taps and back to the river. – Read more