Find companies:
Cisco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
899 reviews

Cisco Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn abounds
IT Consultant (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 29, 2014
I have worked for this company twice and my relationship with them goes back to when they were 2 years old. Best company I have ever worked for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Engagement Manager (Current Employee), VirtualSeptember 29, 2014
Great place to work
Great place to work
Great place to work
Great place to work
Great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Culture
Lead Testing Specialist (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 29, 2014
Worked on writing Test Plans, Test Strategies, Test Data requirements, Business Assurance Strategy, Test Execution Strategy and Defect Management process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun company to work, job sercurity is good
Hardware Engineer (Current Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 27, 2014
Fun company to work with. Job security is good. Management is regimental.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Senior Manager, Product Marketing (Current Employee), San Jose, CaliforniaSeptember 26, 2014
Great culture; knowledgeable collogues and good work-life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Software Engineer (Current Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 26, 2014
Pros: medical benefits
Cons: too many
I've had a bad experience with my group and it might not speak for the whole of Cisco. There is too much bureaucracy and success is more based on how well you can suck up to your boss rather than performance and professional ethics.
My experience at this company has been extremely bad and I cant wait to leave. I have been bullied and borderline harassed – more... and working long hours was taken for granted with no appreciation whatsoever. People here have very little regard for anyone who reports to them. I wonder how most of them ended up in the management chain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job for someone who needs the experience
Telepresence Engineer (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: great envrionment to get started in the it world
Cons: bad benefits, bad management, poor employee utilization and performance.
I consider myself a mid to upper level IP Telephony / Unified Communications engineer and would work at Cisco if I were a tier 3 blue badge. I was put into the position because my previous job had to go through mass layoffs due to financial distress. No advancement unless a position opens and pay increases need to be practically begged for. I come from – more... a military background and the management for my team in the RMS NOC was pitiful at best. Employees would consistently show up late, work from home without permission, or just not show up at all. Management has done little to nothing to fix the issue.
The experience in a Cisco environment is good for those looking to get into this field but not good for someone already in the field looking to advance. No benefits if you are a red badge which means no time off, no holidays, medical coverage is extremely expensive, luckily I have the VA, and the 401K is a joke, assuming you work long enough to get that perk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned from the best.
Level III Network Security Engineer (Current Employee), Richardson, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: get to work with best engineers in the world.
Cons: yearly layoffs. stock is a dead fish.
Like drinking from a Fire hose. Insane work pace. Management is understanding when life comes up. Co-workers are definitely type A. Hardest part of the job is learning products while there are network outages.

Best part is knowing I can keep up with engineers that have 3 or 4 CCIE's and some with PHD's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: healthy working enviroment, work, learn and exercise to balance.
Cons: timelessly working gives me pressure.
- Work place I like was the quiet place. Morning time makes me feel productive. Innovation and thinking is more efficient in the morning rather than other time.

- Identify the strong area and weak area. Prepare more at the weak area to get fulfillment.

- the hardest part of the job is the design was failing the tests to meet the tight schedule.

- – more... the most enjoyable part of the job is work is done on time with the flawless proto samples. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Technical Marketing Manager (Engineer) (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: many benefits, good retirement
Cons: poor management communications
Was great to create a product and watch it become a core product for the companies future success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it's a good company to work for.
Sr. Software Engineer (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 24, 2014
As a software engineer, I've been involving learning new technologies and standards used on Cisco products, writing and reviewing technical documents such as software functional spec and design spec, implementing new features according to design with and without Agile methodologies, unit-test new feature implementations, debugging and fixing software/firmware – more... issues, using specialized tools for certification programs, reviewing other's code, mentoring junior engineers etc., working with remote teams in multiple regional areas including teams in SJC, India and China. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
IT Analyst (Former Employee), RTP, NCSeptember 24, 2014
Busy workplace..with calls coming in every second
Workplace was fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pricing Specialist
Sr. Oracle BRM Consultant (Former Employee), Bangalore, KASeptember 24, 2014
Design Pricing and rating
Develop and customize the opcodes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCSeptember 24, 2014
It was a great place to work.
Stress free environment, very helpful co-workers.
Had scope for self development goals.
Developed leadership skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company struggling to find a new way
Product manager (Current Employee), M√ľnchen, BYSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: great opportunity to meet bright minds
Cons: poor middle management
the work/life balance is poor - most people are working 12hrs/day, especially overseas. However great place to meet technical experts, benefits are ok. Your job security is solely depends on your relationship with the boss, no talent management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply the best in the old days
Tool Crib Buyer/Assembler/Tester (Former Employee), Menlo Park, CA/ San Jose, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: great people, benifits and advancements.
Cons: slightly mean to temp people. (i wasn't a temp)
Cisco grew up and became different later. The acquisitions were numerous and it was a little more difficult with all the personalities and diverse jobs. In the early days Cisco was the best place I have ever worked. I really enjoyed my rework job and the people I worked with and I enjoyed being x-trained with all the other systems, testing, solder wave – more... machine, qc, etc. Lots of stuff to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply Awesome
Intern - Forecast Practitioner (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 23, 2014
Very thriving environment, would've loved to work there longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, flexible, fun place
Technical Writer (Current Employee), Bangalore, KASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: stagnant growth
A great place to work with amazing, friendly co-workers. An opportunity to interact with people all over the globe, a lot of learning (tools and technology) in the process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Business Operations Manager (Former Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: management is out of touch with the employees
To many layoffs and is political hotbed. Management is out of touch with the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with solid reputation
Telepresence Engineer (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: free lunches, arcade room, good work hours
Cons: not network type of work, very hard to move up
A typical day for a TelePresence Engineer is handing tickets in the as they come in for for any issue from layers 2-7. I have learned about how Cisco implements voice and video to make TelePresence possible. Management is relaxed and it a stress free environment in a NOC center work area. Coworkers are for the most part friendly and willing to help – more... fellow engineers out if they get stuck on a particular issue. The hardest part would be learning how each ticket is to be handled and documented with the assistance of a flow chart, each situation can be unique. The most enjoyable part is my co workers who are helpful and we have built a close bond. – less

About Cisco

Are you changing the world? We are. Cisco, a worldwide leader in IT, is changing the way the world works, lives, plays and – Read more