Cineplex Employee Reviews

Found 336 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Clean Environment Theatre
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2017
Cineplex has very friendly and accepting workers. The job makes you feel comfortable and motivated to work. Managers and co-workers care for one another and guests.
Pros
Free Movies, 50% off food, Free drinks and popcorn
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job at Cineplex is good
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 April 2017
I enjoy working at cineplex because i focus on teamwork and get to meet many lovely guests. i have been working for over a year and i am ready to see what i want to do with my life
Pros
flexible availability
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Cast member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 April 2017
faced paced on mostly Fridays, Saturdays and holidays, other weekdays are slow days. You are expected to multitask various duties. Management was questionable at times at how you were treated, but nonetheless they did their best to make your work experience the best it could be. Plus you get free movies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON4 April 2017
The management team at Cineplex is unorganized and can be very rude. The panic and stress that they provide to their workers is not only unprofessional but very rude.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible but not for the long term
Part-time employee (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 March 2017
a typical day at my job at cineplex is working at the box office. i usually sell tickets and process refunds. the guests are probably the worst part of the job because they get mad over every little things. management is ok. they give us short hours and barely any shifts in the summer which sucks.
Pros
free popcorn, free movies
Cons
short hours, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 March 2017
Cineplex is a great part time job that allows you to grow within the company. They have a great atmosphere and it is an awesome first job. It allows you to gain experience and the management is friendly and willing to work with you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON30 March 2017
It is great when you are in school, not so much afterward. There is not much room for advancement. The pay is not great as well. But that is good for the investors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 March 2017
Great place for part time work! Fun, exciting people to spend hours with. Out Takes is a fast paced section of cineplex, handling food and dealing with customers is first priority. Closing is time consuming making for late nights; all dishes must be washed, food taken out, garbage's emptied, surfaces cleaned and everything locked up. There is a great team in place, so every staff member becomes a good friend.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Very wasteful; all food is thrown away at night.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible general manager
Bar/Floor staff (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS28 March 2017
Staff there are great, along with most of the managment but the general manager does not treat people right. The work was usually fast paced which is good to make time go by.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better first than permanant
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB28 March 2017
It can be busy but it can also be slow. Most managers are kind, understanding and will understand your concerns. I do enjoy working here but there are the off days. Benefits are hit and miss and rules regarding them are a little askew. You may get some information regarding discounted food that may contradict other information.The trainer we have is fantastic and very friendly but our team leaders are kind of just there and don't really offer much guidance. You can get some pretty steady hours and can always pick up shifts if needed. Hours can go late which is bad for high school students who have to wake up early for school the next day. Cash incentive has actually been taken away and replaced with a point system which can be redeemed for prizes. It is a good first job but probably better to go with retail experience first in case this job doesn't work out. Always good to have a second job as well because only people who have been promoted get raises. I have been there for a long time and still only make minimum wage.
Pros
Discounted food, free movies, flexible hours, Tuition assistance
Cons
Discount when you work, Tuition assistance if you maintain 2.5 average, minimum wage unless you are promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cast Member
Cineplex Employee (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON27 March 2017
Had a mixed experience. Work was fun but at this location it is very drama based, managers would get involved with the drama going on with their coworkers. Not professional at all.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not many Hours, fun Team
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON27 March 2017
Only 1-2 shifts a week, Cast Trainers were rude and acted like they owned the theatre, Some mangers were alright but would put them selves in your personal life and started gossip. Very high school.
Pros
Free Movies
Cons
little hours, shift cutts, Cast Trainers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co workers are the only thing that make it bearable
Cast member (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON26 March 2017
they dont care about their workers at all! they do the bare minimum they have to for everyone. rude managment. always understaffed and half the things in the building dont even work! Hopefully the other theatres are better..
Pros
half off food (only while working)
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Stock/ Cashier (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB11 March 2017
I work every section and much of the time get extra tasks while the rest of the cast sit around including management. Money is money in my eyes though and I'm fine working for it but I would like some appreciation and to know everyone is trying as hard as I am
Pros
Money
Cons
Changing hours 5 shifts one week 2 the next, underappreciated, not high enough pay for 3 years of loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace,enjoyable experience
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON8 March 2017
Cineplex has ups and downs, depending on the movies playing depends on how busy the work day is, the work is easy and not strenuous. Occasionally there are some difficult customers, but usually the people are friendly and courteous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON8 March 2017
I love it and it's great to work here since everyone is so friendly. It's a great starting job as it teaches you the basics of the work environment and how to stay focused.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You come home smelling of popcorn.
Concession Attendant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC5 March 2017
I worked in concession, so a normal day consists of cash handling, working a point of sale terminal (filling food orders), offering promotions on combos, lots of up-selling the normal orders to combos to earn incentives. It a high pressure, fast paced environment, must do well under pressure to work at this job.
Pros
free movies
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students
Cast member (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON1 March 2017
The job itself is not hard if you enjoy fast paced customer service like in fast food, You are trained well and it is not hard to learn the job. It gives you a great work/social balance with its flexible scheduling and shifts can easily be traded or given out. I'd recommend this job to whoever is currently in school wether that be secondary or post secondary.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Not many shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Film Settlements Associate, AP Assoicate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2017
Cineplex is a good company. I want to focus on the Accounts Payable and work closer to home.

I spend a lot of time on traffic everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 February 2017
Really enjoyed working with the people their. It was a nice work environment. Having free movies drinks and popcorn was pretty nice too. I would recommend that you would go work here for a first job
Pros
free movies
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cineplex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 356 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6