Find companies:
Cineplex
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

Cineplex Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to get in...but bad management.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Polo Park, Winnipeg, MBMay 7, 2013
Pros: free cast pass (movie pass), free popcorn during break
Cons: no break if you have 5hrs or less.
BAD MANAGEMENT. Easy to get in.
you don't get a break if you're working 5 hrs or less.
Unpaid break (30 mins)
depending on the day, closers may stay til 1am.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at the job.
Cast Member (Current Employee), Chatham, OnMay 4, 2013
Pros: having fun with your job.
Cons: dealing with rude/impatient guests.
I get to meet a whole bunch of new guest, especially kids going to the movies for their first time. I learned that it is easy when everyone contributes to daily duties. Management is awesome. Same with co-workers, everyone is fun to work with. Hardest part of my job would be dealing with very impatient guests. The most enjoyable part is working at a – more... place that i look at as one of my hobbies, which is watching movies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job all around!
Silvercity Yorkdale (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2013
Pros: great job- wonderful environment!
Cons: no hours.
Working with Cineplex I have learned many valuable skills, see a lot of great things and worked very hard to get places with in the company. With Silvercity Yorkdale the business flow was not as good as some of the other theaters but they made sure with the guests they had they did the very best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this particular cinema
Cast Member (Current Employee), Cineplex Odeon Forum MontrealApril 17, 2013
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drink (when allowed--on duty only), nice coworkers
Cons: poor management, value of employee is less than zero, not enough pay for tasks required, etc.
This theater is actually not all its cracked up to be. My particular concerns are with the management team. Since the beginning of the year, countless employees have been fired or quit because management refused to intervene in critical situations, and this includes the management team itself. Don't bother. Good luck to whoever gets this job, I hope – more... they're able to deal with the disturbing reality here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at for the first time and constant interaction with customers
Team Member (part-time) (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, ONApril 6, 2013
Pros: free movies once a week and discount on food.
Cons: limited advancement and growth.
- A good place to start working as a high-school student, most of the people working are the same age.
- Typical day at work is not stressful at all, however; you have to be able to work in a fast-paced environment in order to be efficient and productive.
- Customer interaction is extremely important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tumbs down
cineplex (Current Employee), Cineplex OdeonMarch 12, 2013
Pros: co-wokers are nice.
Cons: get hardly any shifts
Hardly get any hours, Management team sucks, no flexible hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment that ranges from relaxed to extremely busy
Cashier (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 5, 2013
Pros: for the most part there were amazing co-workers, accepting environment, always work to do
Cons: range from excellent to poor workmanship amongst co-workers
Overall I enjoyed working at the Cineplex in Oakville for a year and a half, the mangers were great and the hours really helped me save up for school. The new theatre I work at in Ottawa isn't bad, but I find it difficult to get enough hours to make good money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for enhancing your problem-solving skills
Cast Employee (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 1, 2013
Pros: free movies, great learning experience
Cons: short hours
Every day brings new challenges and problems that have to be swiftly and effectively resolved. Cineplex provides an environment where I can enhance my skills in problem solving, team work, and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment and you get free movies!
Floor Hand (Current Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: always asking you to do more than one persons job because they don't schedule enough people.
I love working here, the management care and are knowledgeable. I just cant see my self working here forever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: free movies
management is curteous

receive an education on movies

co-workers are young

hardest part it not to react when something goes wrong

to feel like a kid again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work place and a great starting job.
Cast member (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaDecember 27, 2012
Pros: discounts on food, make new friends, free movies, screenings
Cons: management is give or take, guests can be rude, some disgusting jobs, bad pay
Working at Cineplex was my first job and only job (for now) and I do have some good experiences and bad ones.

I personally thought my management team was great (except for some individuals) but I have some friends who work at other Cineplex establishments say their management team is horrible. All I can say from this is that the management varies depending – more... on your location. You will make lots of friends there especially if you're in high school (age range varies from 15-20 being the average). I personally know almost all my co workers and have no complaints. Most of the rotten co workers quit right off the bat anyways so it never appeared as much of a problem for me. Overall, the atmosphere on the inside of the company (that being your co workers) is generally great and a factor that keeps me from quitting the job.

There are two main positions you get trained in when you start: Floor and concession. Both have pros and cons. Floor is essentially ripping tickets, cleaning spills, cleaning theaters, cleaning washrooms etc. In essence, it is all the grunt work and time can pass very slowly, but you do get the odd time to talk with some co workers or managers if your team is lenient about communication with the team. In concession you will primarily serve guests, make popcorn etc. It goes by very fast when there is a rush and all you're doing is serving people for about an hour straight. When things are slow in concession all you do is make popcorn and get things ready for the next rush, although, there is generally time to talk with people. The people you serve can be very fun and welcoming although I guarantee you will get rude insufferable guests that will surely irritate you. There is opportunities to get trained in other spots like box office, or the other food distributing services such as outtakes, pizza 73 or yogen fruz (varies depending on your theater).

The pay is horrible and it is not easy to get a raise. Even when you do it only goes up a few cents so it's barley worth it. Although, moving up in position can be easy if you are determined. For example, someone in my orientation group went from being a cast member (lowest rank, or what everyone starts out as) to a Team leader (next rank) then to an assistant manager in just four months.

To conclude, the job is very easy and is great for a starter job. I personally learned a lot about myself and I can guarantee you will make many friends there. The people you work with are fun and sometimes the management team throws little parties. In the even that you have a hard time making friends, I would recommend staying clear from this job because it isn't very fun when you have no one to socialize with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply here.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Mission, BCOctober 28, 2012
Pros: free movies
Cons: everything else
The salary is minimum wage, very difficult/rare to get raises.
The company values the guests but not their employees.
The job security is great as they don't fire any employees, they simply tell their other employees to be mean and make them do more work than they should until they get worn out and quit.
The management is awful. There's not one good – more... thing I can say about it.
It was easy to balance my school work with my job as I only received 9 hours MAX per week.

I don't recommend anyone applies to this company. Working there was the worst 6 months of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, usually gets very busy serving 3000+ on a busy evening.
Team Leader/Birthday Coordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 26, 2012
Pros: half price food, free popcorn, free movies
Cons: long hours
Cineplex is a good place to work. I've learned to manage a bunch of priorities under pressure. Especially on a busy night. Usually I have to go from unit to unit to work depending on which area is busy. I'm use to working in a face pace environment, making sure every guest has a wonderful experience. The hardest part of my job is probably working long – more... shifts that run from 10 hours or more. I have been able to get use to it doing it almost every weekend. There is always interesting people coming into the theatre and that's what i love about it. I love being able to making someone have an amazing experience at my work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get Free Movies, However Terrible Pay for Leadership, Negative Enviroment and Terrible Management
Teller (Former Employee), BellevilleOctober 9, 2012
Pros: free movies, cast members
Cons: pay, late nights, management, negativity, head office
I worked for Cineplex for 5 yrs and got all the way up to Teller(controlled the revenue for the theatre). The position was 10.50, never got raises besides the poor one you got with your new position. The management is very poor at most locations and very negative. My GM harassed me and was verbally abusive and HR was told with proof yet did nothing. – more... I recommend to go to another employeer unless you have no other options – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, terrible management
concession stand/box office (Former Employee), Clarington PlaceOctober 4, 2012
Pros: movie screenings after hours, free movie passes with every pay check, amazing people, extremely fun
Cons: not a lot of hours, terrible general manager, stressful at times
I worked at Cineplex for a few years and my co-workers were amazing, I made some of the best friends I've ever had there but the management wasn't that great. The managers were very nice and friendly, very professional and everyone had a great sense of humour but it was the general manager that wasn't very good. He would play favourites a lot and would – more... give the people he liked better that week all the shifts. And his preferences would change a lot, often without reason. So one day you would get a lot of shifts and the next he would give you barely any. The job itself is good, there's always lots to do so you never get bored and the time passes very quickly. Although there are rare occasions where you have to clean up puke, or worse. The job also gives you a pass for you and a friend with every pay check so you don't often have to pay for a movie, and you also get discounted food and drinks while working or right after your shift. Overall I learned a lot from Cineplex and I would still love to work at one in the future, just not the Clarington location because the general manager is not the best guy. I highly recommend finding another place of employment if possible or at least a different Cineplex. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was good
Cast Member (Former Employee), London, ONOctober 3, 2012
Pros: free movies
Cons: seasonal hours
Working for Two years at Silvercity had its benefits. My co-workers we often young students like myself and most managers were young and understanding as well. The seasonal upside of the movies in the fall and winter is rewarding but the summer hours bring slow days and lack of work. The hiring system is misplaced and management can be unorganized. – more... Over all the Cast Member, the Usher and Cashiers keep the place running with their excellent skills and good mood, making it one the of top grossing theaters in Canada. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Cast Member (Former Employee), Barrie, ONSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: great energy and environment
Cons: late nights
Great environment, great people, cleaned so much, management was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people not hard to do at all
Cast member (Former Employee), Thundrr bay, ONSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drinks, work is easy
Cons: cleaning up, but it's necessary, i mean you would want to sit in people's popcorn
I worked at there for I think like 6 months and the time I spent there was amazing haha fun co workers free movies, popcorn, and
Drinks. Overall a great experience, tere were bad times lol such as the puke cleaning or the never being able to go upstairs to the projectin room haha not all that bad but just by good haha but yeah if your readig this before – more... applying you definitely should! I had barely any experience before and I was heed the managers were so nice haha, but I will remind you I quit, there was nothing wrong with the actual work being done just my way of doing stuff was different than theirs haha good luck!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing an exceptional entertainment experience
Cast Member (Former Employee), Surrey, BCAugust 16, 2012
Pros: tuition for school
A typical day at Cineplex would include making sure the butter warmers are on, functioning and filled; making popcorn, changing empty syrups for the pop towers, making sure the ice bins are filled, and ensuring each station has cups, lids, and popcorn bags.

I learned to talk about movies and make recommendations based on reviews from guests and other – more... cast members.

Most of the people in management are young and have a bit to learn. They are good people but I found them to be inexperienced.

My co-workers were great. Everyone was super friendly and helpful.

The hardest part about the job was predicting how much popcorn would be needed for the night without over or under popping.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the guests. I met so many different and wonderful people with varying tastes in movies and needs. To be able to fulfil those needs was extremely gratifying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Part Time Cast Member (Former Employee), TorontoAugust 8, 2012
Work there is great
Friendly co workers
Hours are long some days

About Cineplex

Cineplex Inc. is one of Canada’s largest entertainment companies and operates numerous businesses including movie theatres, – Read more