Cineplex Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright place to work
Customer Service / Floor Player (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC26 September 2017
I have been with Cineplex for 10 years now and for the most part it is enjoyable but like any job, there are moments where it seems to be unbearable to work and the managers always seem to tell, you 20 different things and there seems to be a lack of communication between them, when you are doing something that they tell you to do
Pros
Free movies for you and one person at any Cineplex in Canada, free pop and popcorn during shift
Cons
Lack of hours, no breaks if you work 5 hours or less, to many personal agendas going on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2017
good work hours. flexible with hours. great team to work with. Workplace is clean, social environment where its easy to collaborate with employees. Manager always listens to your issues.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They keep cutting hours and increasing responsibility
cast member (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC26 September 2017
It's a good first job but this is an industry in decline. Hours get cut and management is stressed, not a place I'd want to work long-term, plus some are unionized and there's politicking.
Pros
wage is good
Cons
toilet duty
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 September 2017
Cineplex was a great workplace as a first job, it is very helpful on learning how to work in a fast paced environment and is flexible with your school/personal schedules. Overall, a nice place to work.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 September 2017
very inviting place the managers are awesome and the staff are well trained, very supportive and easy place to work id say. Good place to build skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2017
fun workplace with great staff, clean environment and very organized. the staff was very nice. the best part about working here is the jokes with your coworkers and getting free movies
Pros
free popcorn
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good entry level position has downsides
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Pitt Meadows, BC15 September 2017
Alright job overall. Management can be iffy depending on who you get as they move management around quite a bit. Hard to get any raises what so ever as it is a normal minimum wage job. Great co workers though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has it's moments
Cast Leader (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 September 2017
The management is horrible they talk behind your back and treat you horribly. They talk inappropriately and they don't give enough hours. The free movies are okay and the 50% off on some of the food isn't band it would be better however if it was evey time we went even if we weren't working
Pros
Discount half an hour before and after your shift. And break. Free movies
Cons
Underpaid, rude managers, not have the 50% off food anytime we go
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't know
Cast member, box office (Former Employee) –  Windermere10 September 2017
I barely get any shift there, practically I don't know anybody there.
Other than that it is a good job, suits my needs.
xxxx b now it's 150 characters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment but easy to get used to.
Cast member (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 September 2017
A typical day being a cast member usually starts of slow and quiet depending on which day of the week it is, but speeds up in the evenings. Working in concession gets easier and easier over time which makes working enjoyable.
Cons
Tuesday (movie discount) rush
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse yet fun
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Midland, ON9 September 2017
A fun environment with many career options if willing to travel.
Locations and offices in every major Canadian city.
Free movies, advance screenings & great support.
Pros
Flexible shifts.
Cons
Working when others are having fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and up beat workplace
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 September 2017
Gets very busy on Tuesdays, weekends, holidays and evenings
Good management, employees are treated well
Must be available for at least 3 closing shifts
Pros
free movies
Cons
closing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Supervisor/Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC8 September 2017
Very poor management
were there to support us
the people i worked with were very friendly but it is a bad job overall and i would not recommend
dont like the smell
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere
Server (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON7 September 2017
The most enjoyable part of this job are the interesting guests i get to interact with. you run into such interesting people while working at the movie theatre. I love my cast members, we are all like family and we appreciate each and every cast member.
Pros
50% off lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Flexible job in terms of hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC6 September 2017
-Environment was always lively
-Dealing with customers in a different way showing that hand gestures and certain phrases were always and advantage into making certain sales
-Management was flexible when it came too their staffs needs and hours
-Wasn't really that hard working there
-Leaving after a successful and enjoyable day with the staff
Pros
Free Popcorn and Wifi
Cons
Seniority always gets best available hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Positive Besides Management
cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton Mountain6 September 2017
This place was amazing to work at free movie tickets, great employees the whole deal was awesome. The only thing that made this job suck was the management. Some were good, others however were peaty and rude. Many times throughout working there my amount of shifts would strictly depend on who did the schedule. One manager always found a way to cut my shifts or to give me as few as possible because he did not like that I had fun at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Replaceable
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 September 2017
Depending on the location you have, you will barely receive as many shifts asked for. A lot of the time you will get cut in the middle of your shift. Work-load is high at times, too much for minimum wage. Favoritism to who gets better shifts/hours is high. No chance to move up.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
No hours, cut hours during shifts, favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent team
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 September 2017
Working well with my colleagues made this experience one of a kind. With various ethnicities in the workplace I was able to explore my understanding of different cultures and languages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter
CAST MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 September 2017
The job was difficult at first. However, the company had provided so many opportunities that can help you get a nice kick start into the working world. They were the ones who originally taught me about customer service, food service, management, and treasurer. It provided me with a lot of experience, more than I ever could've imagined. The people there were great and made it very easy. The management kept everything in line and even when I became the supervisor of the areas, everyone was compliant and everything got done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 August 2017
Cineplex is a great place if youre balancing work life a well as school. The majority of the employees are either in high school or university so everyone can relate to each other, and everyone becomes friends. The job itself is simple, yet requires patience to work with others and a constant fast environment. There are plenty of opportunities for advancement within the company. The only issue I have is that the pay is ridiculous, no one is paid properly for the amount of work which is actually being done in the theatre. The most enjoyable part of the job is definitely spending time with the people you get to work with and the free movies!
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Tiring hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cineplex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 811 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7