Cineplex Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 173 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 2, 2016
i love this job but i always like to learn more new skills in new jobs
i learned a lot of new skills good for a first job also very enjoyable and
you get free movies its the best thing thats happened to me when working there
Cons
good hours for school
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Everyone gets along an feels like big family
Crew member (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NBFebruary 21, 2016
Everyone helps one another. an theres a very positive aroma around the workplace everyone gets along and enjoys the company of thier fellow co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good work live balance.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton AlbertaSeptember 18, 2015
Great scheduling leading to great work life balance, however tough to be able to afford much working there. It is a fun environment and offers the ability to move up within the company.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work if your in school
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 26, 2016
I personally enjoy working at Cineplex because it isn't a difficult job, and is very flexible with the hours when your in school or have another job.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for student employment
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMarch 24, 2016
I loved working at Cineplex they truly love their employees. Also the people that tend to work there are mostly outgoing positive people.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment, great for starting out
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 13, 2016
I think that working at Cineplex is a great introductory job that teaches you a lot of the basics, and the skills you'll need for future careers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Food Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONMay 12, 2016
could be fun and stressful at the same time. Overall based on the level of work salary was not good. Benefits were great and were on par with other companies
Pros
free movies
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun place to work at.
Concession Attendant (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONMay 7, 2016
my co-workers are really nice and work was never boring. the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting interesting people and learning great service.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent faced paced place of employment
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ONJanuary 14, 2016
A typical day at Cineplex entertainment starts off with setting out all necessary supplies for the evening rush prepping warm foods such as nachos, pop corn, and hot dogs. Following the evening rush comes the restock for the night rush. After the night rush comes closing duties such as cleaning the used equipment, counting inventory to ensure stock, and ensure all counter tops and floors are swept clean for the next day.

I learned key social skills and how to deal with complicated situation on the fly. I learned how to work fast and run through orders in the minimal amount of time. I learned how to work efficiently as part of a team. I learned how to distribute and manage responsibilities to properly prepare for coming situations and rushes.

Co-workers were very pleasant, friendly, and nice to be around. we all work together to achieve the same goal of delivering customers an exceptional entertainment experience.

The hardest part of the job is dealing with unhappy customers while in the middle of a busy rush. however difficult, no problem is unsolvable and always results in the customer achieving what they desire.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being a part of the concession stand team on a busy night whipping through the heat of things and getting the job done with accuracy
Pros
free movies for myself and a plus one
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
member (Former Employee) –  55 Bloor St WestMarch 18, 2016
It was decent, very good people. But the hours where too long, not clear on instruction just pretty much learning. Overall not bad
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Hours
CAST MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONApril 10, 2016
Most of my shifts were on calls and I very rarely had to go in to work. As a student it was hard for me to stay at a job that wasn't offering enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Friendly enviroment with a great crew!
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONJune 2, 2015
Silvercity Richmond Hill is a great place to work at! The first time you are hired, you instantly feel welcomed and the environment is very friendly. The hardest part I would say is at the very beginning, since movie theaters can instantly attract traffic and time management and having the right skills is everything. However, the staff and the cast members are there to help you out in every step!

The most enjoyable part of silver city would be the cast members and the staff and the satisfaction of being part of a family that really cares for one another!
Pros
Cast meal discount! Free movies (VIP, AVX etc)
Cons
Summer times, late closing hours
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 31, 2015
you work nights holidays and weekends. great place to start your career but not great when you have a family. You will enjoy working with first time employees and are able to help mold them into great workers. Everyday is a new challenge which make the job fun
Pros
free movies
Cons
Nights Holidays and weekends are the work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Part time cast member worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 1, 2016
Great experience, met lot's of new people and made some new friends. Lot's of interesting work positions for someone young.
Pros
Free Movies
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONFebruary 15, 2016
Cineplex is a active working place involving a lot of customer service. I have learned that having empathy is really important when dealing with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Few opportunities for advancement, unprofessional work environemnt
Cashier/Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Mission, BCJanuary 2, 2015
While it was easy for me to mold my schedule to fit my life, Cineplex offered little to no opportunity for advancement, and outright refuses recommendations to the workers for unexplained reasons. The management did not maintain professional relationships with the workers, and did not intervene when problems arose, allowing workplace dramatics to overtake business.The managers, in an effort to reduce holiday spending, cut worker's hours to prevent them from receiving stat holiday pay increases. Benefits were limited and the pay increases were hardly worth the effort ($0.25 pay increase after promotion to a position that required far more work). The worst part however, is that sanitation policies were inconsistent, changed regularly, and allowed for questionable practices such as using plain water to clean the nozzle part on pop towers, and surfaces that were used for food preparation. Unless you are in desperate need of work, I suggest looking elsewhere.
Pros
flexible schedules, free movies.
Cons
variable shifts (2-8 hours), poor management, poor sanitation, terrible pay, no opportunities for advancement or recommendations for other jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 2, 2016
Amazing first job, you can dip your feet in all kinds of different work areas in one place. Good hours for students and friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace with great people
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCMarch 10, 2016
learned about customer service, learned how to handle different situations with customers. overall great experience
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job.
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ONMarch 7, 2015
Management is a joke. Tons of highschoolers working with you; You'll have to work the crummier shifts. If you're a good worker you'll get taken advantage of with little reward. No raises. Free movies every week.
Pros
free movies. flexible.
Cons
bad management. poor training.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 26, 2015
-Pretty stressful on a busy day.
-Achieved some leadership and team work experiences.
-Management is not the best when it comes to planning ahead or recognizing workers.
-Co-workers are the fun part as they are very diverse.
-Hardest part is not being appreciated for your hard work.
-Free movie tickets.
Pros
Free movie tickets
Cons
no benefits, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 186 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture