Find companies:
Cineplex
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
88 reviews

Cineplex Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cineplex odeon
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONJune 24, 2013
Working at Cineplex Odeon has been a great experience for me and still is. The environment is very chill but at the same time everyone works very hard and works together as a team to ensure that everything runs smoothly. The managers are very understandable and the coworkers are all very friendly. I enjoy everything about working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad pay, bad day
box office (Current Employee), scotiabank chinook calgaryJune 13, 2013
Cons: mundane
poor pay for what you have to put up with, stay away from concession
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 23, 2013
Pros: rewards, prices for our hard work
From start to finish a great experience. fun and everyone was helpful. management was amazing . wendy was the best manager ever. Co- workers were so diverse yet we were a big family. hardest part of the job dealing with unreasonable customers. Most enjoyable part was having the best time of my life at a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as much fun
Cast member (Current Employee), Forum montrealMay 16, 2013
Pros: free movies, friendly co-workers
Cons: management team
Employees are not valued at all! Management doesnt care of what you think, it's always ' because i said so, im the manager' type of attitude. Employees make it worth while and free movies. Hardly gets any shift if you're new and forced to take shifts if you've been there for awhile. Old management needs to go, then maybe this place will brighten up – more... a bit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
In seat Service (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 15, 2013
its very fun job, specially I like this workplace about job security, customer interaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome student job!
floor, occasional concession (Current Employee), Waterloo Galaxy CinemasMay 13, 2013
Pros: so many! free movies, great staff, easy hours
Cons: you get your schedule on tuesday for one week
Pros of working at a movie theater that even on your busy nights you approximately have an 1-2 hours of a really big rush, and then an hour and a half of down time. The management is also awesome, whenever we'd have had a really stressful situation (understaffed, or a really huge rush we weren't expecting) they give us cast passes (free movie for you – more... and a guest you also get those every pay check) or they buy us all pizza, it isn't much but it shows that they care about their workers. Their system for workers is really well thought out too, they have 3 different departments - floor - RBO - and concession - each department has a team leader and we also have a minimum of 3 managers on duty. I'm currently in high school and its a breeze balancing the two because most shifts i get are on weekends or late nights on weekdays. It's easy to book off shifts because cineplex actually has a website for you and your coworkers, where your schedule is, contacts for everyone you work with, and you can post shifts up for grabs. It's awesome, I wouldn't wanna work anywhere else! (as a student) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable job, a lot of chance to get to know your co workers.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABMay 11, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: long hours
The most enjoyable part is at the end of a long shift you can go to a cast show with your friends and other co workers and really bond over a new movie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to get in...but bad management.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Polo Park, Winnipeg, MBMay 7, 2013
Pros: free cast pass (movie pass), free popcorn during break
Cons: no break if you have 5hrs or less.
BAD MANAGEMENT. Easy to get in.
you don't get a break if you're working 5 hrs or less.
Unpaid break (30 mins)
depending on the day, closers may stay til 1am.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at the job.
Cast Member (Current Employee), Chatham, OnMay 4, 2013
Pros: having fun with your job.
Cons: dealing with rude/impatient guests.
I get to meet a whole bunch of new guest, especially kids going to the movies for their first time. I learned that it is easy when everyone contributes to daily duties. Management is awesome. Same with co-workers, everyone is fun to work with. Hardest part of my job would be dealing with very impatient guests. The most enjoyable part is working at a – more... place that i look at as one of my hobbies, which is watching movies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job all around!
Silvercity Yorkdale (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2013
Pros: great job- wonderful environment!
Cons: no hours.
Working with Cineplex I have learned many valuable skills, see a lot of great things and worked very hard to get places with in the company. With Silvercity Yorkdale the business flow was not as good as some of the other theaters but they made sure with the guests they had they did the very best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this particular cinema
Cast Member (Current Employee), Cineplex Odeon Forum MontrealApril 17, 2013
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drink (when allowed--on duty only), nice coworkers
Cons: poor management, value of employee is less than zero, not enough pay for tasks required, etc.
This theater is actually not all its cracked up to be. My particular concerns are with the management team. Since the beginning of the year, countless employees have been fired or quit because management refused to intervene in critical situations, and this includes the management team itself. Don't bother. Good luck to whoever gets this job, I hope – more... they're able to deal with the disturbing reality here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at for the first time and constant interaction with customers
Team Member (part-time) (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, ONApril 6, 2013
Pros: free movies once a week and discount on food.
Cons: limited advancement and growth.
- A good place to start working as a high-school student, most of the people working are the same age.
- Typical day at work is not stressful at all, however; you have to be able to work in a fast-paced environment in order to be efficient and productive.
- Customer interaction is extremely important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tumbs down
cineplex (Current Employee), Cineplex OdeonMarch 12, 2013
Pros: co-wokers are nice.
Cons: get hardly any shifts
Hardly get any hours, Management team sucks, no flexible hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment that ranges from relaxed to extremely busy
Cashier (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 5, 2013
Pros: for the most part there were amazing co-workers, accepting environment, always work to do
Cons: range from excellent to poor workmanship amongst co-workers
Overall I enjoyed working at the Cineplex in Oakville for a year and a half, the mangers were great and the hours really helped me save up for school. The new theatre I work at in Ottawa isn't bad, but I find it difficult to get enough hours to make good money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for enhancing your problem-solving skills
Cast Employee (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 1, 2013
Pros: free movies, great learning experience
Cons: short hours
Every day brings new challenges and problems that have to be swiftly and effectively resolved. Cineplex provides an environment where I can enhance my skills in problem solving, team work, and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment and you get free movies!
Floor Hand (Current Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: always asking you to do more than one persons job because they don't schedule enough people.
I love working here, the management care and are knowledgeable. I just cant see my self working here forever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: free movies
management is curteous

receive an education on movies

co-workers are young

hardest part it not to react when something goes wrong

to feel like a kid again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work place and a great starting job.
Cast member (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaDecember 27, 2012
Pros: discounts on food, make new friends, free movies, screenings
Cons: management is give or take, guests can be rude, some disgusting jobs, bad pay
Working at Cineplex was my first job and only job (for now) and I do have some good experiences and bad ones.

I personally thought my management team was great (except for some individuals) but I have some friends who work at other Cineplex establishments say their management team is horrible. All I can say from this is that the management varies depending – more... on your location. You will make lots of friends there especially if you're in high school (age range varies from 15-20 being the average). I personally know almost all my co workers and have no complaints. Most of the rotten co workers quit right off the bat anyways so it never appeared as much of a problem for me. Overall, the atmosphere on the inside of the company (that being your co workers) is generally great and a factor that keeps me from quitting the job.

There are two main positions you get trained in when you start: Floor and concession. Both have pros and cons. Floor is essentially ripping tickets, cleaning spills, cleaning theaters, cleaning washrooms etc. In essence, it is all the grunt work and time can pass very slowly, but you do get the odd time to talk with some co workers or managers if your team is lenient about communication with the team. In concession you will primarily serve guests, make popcorn etc. It goes by very fast when there is a rush and all you're doing is serving people for about an hour straight. When things are slow in concession all you do is make popcorn and get things ready for the next rush, although, there is generally time to talk with people. The people you serve can be very fun and welcoming although I guarantee you will get rude insufferable guests that will surely irritate you. There is opportunities to get trained in other spots like box office, or the other food distributing services such as outtakes, pizza 73 or yogen fruz (varies depending on your theater).

The pay is horrible and it is not easy to get a raise. Even when you do it only goes up a few cents so it's barley worth it. Although, moving up in position can be easy if you are determined. For example, someone in my orientation group went from being a cast member (lowest rank, or what everyone starts out as) to a Team leader (next rank) then to an assistant manager in just four months.

To conclude, the job is very easy and is great for a starter job. I personally learned a lot about myself and I can guarantee you will make many friends there. The people you work with are fun and sometimes the management team throws little parties. In the even that you have a hard time making friends, I would recommend staying clear from this job because it isn't very fun when you have no one to socialize with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply here.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Mission, BCOctober 28, 2012
Pros: free movies
Cons: everything else
The salary is minimum wage, very difficult/rare to get raises.
The company values the guests but not their employees.
The job security is great as they don't fire any employees, they simply tell their other employees to be mean and make them do more work than they should until they get worn out and quit.
The management is awful. There's not one good – more... thing I can say about it.
It was easy to balance my school work with my job as I only received 9 hours MAX per week.

I don't recommend anyone applies to this company. Working there was the worst 6 months of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, usually gets very busy serving 3000+ on a busy evening.
Team Leader/Birthday Coordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 26, 2012
Pros: half price food, free popcorn, free movies
Cons: long hours
Cineplex is a good place to work. I've learned to manage a bunch of priorities under pressure. Especially on a busy night. Usually I have to go from unit to unit to work depending on which area is busy. I'm use to working in a face pace environment, making sure every guest has a wonderful experience. The hardest part of my job is probably working long – more... shifts that run from 10 hours or more. I have been able to get use to it doing it almost every weekend. There is always interesting people coming into the theatre and that's what i love about it. I love being able to making someone have an amazing experience at my work place. – less

About Cineplex

Cineplex Inc. is one of Canada’s largest entertainment companies and operates numerous businesses including movie theatres, – Read more