Find companies:
Cineplex
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
88 reviews

Cineplex Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Food Service Manager (Former Employee), Brantford, ONApril 29, 2014
Cineplex was a great job and management helped work with employees to ensure school always came firdt
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with cast movie passes
Concession Staff (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 25, 2014
things are pretty good, busy during rush hours. however, people get cut from their shifts if it is not busy, and 3 hours are the shortest time for a shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needed improvement, coworkers generally the same age made it easy to bond
Movies 12 Cast Member (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 23, 2014
Pros: bonds with coworkers
Cons: work place drama, management
In a typical day at Cineplex, it involved me taking customers orders, not only for food but for movie tickets as well. Cleaning the concession area at the end of a closing shift making sure that everything is sanitized and hygenic. What I learned at Cineplex was how to use a till, how to quickly count till (at the end of my shift), how to quickly and – more... how to efficiently provide customers with their food and tickets in a timely manner. Management was not the best. I found them to be quite rude and unaware of their actions. The coworkers are good though. The majority of coworkers were around the same age as me, which made it easy to get along with them, but also made it easy for work place drama to get introduced. The hardest part of the job is making sure that everything is kept tidy at all times; popcorn on floors. The most enjoyable part of the job was the staff, being able to connect with them because they were my peers made working at Cineplex alot more enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious Job with Great Benefits
Employee at Cineplex Entertainment (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 23, 2014
Pros: free movie passes and free food during shifts
Cons: long hours, large crowds
This job was a very repetitive one, and required much social interaction. There are typically large crowds, and many available diverse jobs. Co-workers were typically in their twenties, and acted as such. They could be very immature, and would swear a lot. However, they did their work with no problems. Managers were a little intimidating, however, they – more... were reasonable and flexible regarding shifts and hours. The hardest part of the job were the large crowds. This job is not recommended for introverts or those with social anxiety. The best part of the job were the benefits, including free movie passes, and free food during shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff
Concession Staff (Former Employee), Belleville, ONApril 19, 2014
the managers there were wonderful, and made sure everyone had a great time while getting the work done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Operations Cast Member (Current Employee), VictoriaFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: a lack of meaningful advancement opportunities, negligible benefits to promotion
Typical day at work includes interacting with guests in order to provide a high quality of customer service. I also balance daily tills with speed and accuracy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, fun workplace
Cast member (Current Employee), Langley, BCFebruary 16, 2014
Working for Cineplex was my most enjoyable job so far. The management was professional but fun and team building as well. I learned many great skills working here that pertain to future jobs and life in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Entertaining Experience
Cast Member (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: cast passes, flexible shifts
Cons: favourtism, lack of communication with managers
Working with Cineplex has not taught me much that i did not already acquire from previous jobs. However, the work environment was very welcoming and being able to make and build on relationships with guests and co workers is what motivated me the most to go to work. Cineplex to me, is a place to meet new people and deliver exceptional experiences for – more... everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away, no really stay away... It's horrible.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Silvercity BramptonFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: awful hours of operation, poor management, dirty, broken everything
Moral is low, this is the type of job that takes the life out of you. a job like this should be fun but is removed by a poor team of managers, and it's always been this way. There's no employee benefits which is expected for this type of work, however for having no benefits (Other then a laughable 100 dollars tuition reimbursement, seriously.. 100 dollars, – more... I could pay for school faster in a yard sale and a free movie that you rarely get to use) The management team treats you badly they play favorites, for example.. Person A doesn't have to tuck his shirt in but god forbid Person B does, then he gets written up. The management team hand write ups out like it's candy, you could get forced to work a position you where never trained for and be written up without warning despite the fact you have no training. It's dirty, there's grease and dirt everywhere rodents in the cupboards that they make you clean, Supervisors are rude.. They take their personal problems out on you, management is no better they constantly violate ontario ESA, actually... Our whole health and safety committee is comprised of Managers, meaning any safety concerns get brushed off, this is the perfect example of a company that cares for their "Guests" as they call them but not their employees

Been talking to a friend who got a job there a while back, nothing has changed.

This place will treat you like dirt, I remember a manager threatened to
replace me if I refused to work Christmas morning.

It's funny because we're told a few things like
'The guest comes first'
'The Guest is why I'm here' that one is even on the back of our nametag

However if they ever need anything like an extra cup or bag, you're not allowed to give them it since the real thing we should memorize is "The Inventory comes first" Seriously, I remember being yelled at for giving a lady an extra bag to share with her kids.

They also put you in harms way dealing with Irate customers and angry people, It's not a fun job, after 3 hours on concession you'll be pulling your hair out, it's so hard to tell somebody they can't have a bag when there's a stack right behind you. they go "Well give me one of those" stuff like this has gotten me spat on, stuff thrown at me.. It's stupid we get cups thrown at us because we don't do refills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In Five
Ops (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: long hours
Long hours
Fun People
Committed People
Mgmt Show They Care
Its all about the Stock and market share
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing People in every Department
Cast Member (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: short shifts
I've been working at Cineplex since I started my first year of college. They have been extremely flexible with their schedule, making juggling school and work painless. All of the staff are extremely friendly and treat you like family, including management.
The hardest part can be time management but being there so long, I've become an expert in the – more... field.
The most enjoyable part is working with all the employees. They are encouraging and hard working, making the job much easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting work environment
Team Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: excellent, vibrant work environment with amazing opportunities
Cons: insubordination and at times unreasonably difficult clients
Responsibilities included supervising fellow associates and ensuring they feel comfortable enough to handle day to day tasks independently.

I learned the importance of teamwork as a Team Leader for we had to communicate with fellow team leaders from various positions (floor, concession, RBO, box office) to ensure human resources were appropriately – more... allocated to the busiest areas. Majority of the tasks and responsibilities would not have been possible without successful team work. I highly recommend new workers to focus on building trust in their fellow associates in developing a healthy and efficient work environment.

Fellow associates were highly helpful in assisting various positions beyond their required job descriptions. In more than one occasions the associates would willingly go above and beyond their duties to ensure the overall operations of the day are at optimal levels.

Hardest part of the job was dealing with insubordination. As this is a movie theater, majority of the associates are high school students with limited attention span and who some times disregarded authority. The appropriate response was leading by example, which the team leaders in Scotiabank Theatre demonstrated time and again. Still, several occasions resulted in consulting with the management team to determine the appropriate approach in an attempt to provide the said associates with the opportunity to become the team members they were expected to be.

The most enjoyable part of the job was taking an active part in ensuring the daily operations were accomplished as efficiently as possible. There are various grey area that were available to the Team Leaders to take responsibility and manipulate to demonstrate their ability to communicate, operate, lead, and train the associates to ensure the overall satisfaction of clients. I greatly appreciate becoming a part of such a great team and learned much about the practical functions of a successful business as Team Leader of Scotiabank Theatre. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Guest Services Team Member, Concessionist (Former Employee), Barrie, ONJanuary 13, 2014
Working at the Cineplex has been such an amazing experience! I love everyone I work with and the job. It gives me the opportunity to work in a fast pace environment and meet new guests, as well as see regulars!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cast member (Former Employee), Richmond, BCNovember 19, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: dealing with some bad guest
dealing with guest. sometimes it can be slow when the movies are playing.. management was okay, co workers were good,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Thunder Bay, ONOctober 29, 2013
Pros: staff discounts
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work consists of interacting with guests, dealing with cash sales, balancing money and cleaning and dealing with food product. The management team is awesome to work with. A negative about the job is that some of the team members slack off and don't do their job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for a full time student
Cast (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: free movie tickets.
This job works around my school schedule and is perfect for students who have early classes or just need something on the weekends, they are very flexible, offer free movies and promotions, and it's always a positive atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic, vibrant and productive place to work in
CAST MEMBER (CSR) (Current Employee), yonge and dundusSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: free movies, great team
Cons: base pay
-managing daily crowd
-proper launching of a new movie
-working at a box office, handling daily cash, serving guests with a polite and graceful manner.
-informing guest about new and ongoing promotions
-answering phone calls at guest service
- acting as an active leader, ensuring a safe and entertainment environment is maintained through out the whole – more... operating time.
- working with the entire team, to ensure each area is functioning properly.
- informing management about conflicting issues
-handling guest concern and issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 23, 2013
Learned a lot, great opportunity to try a number of different job types
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training, excellent customer service experience
Usher/Cashier (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drinks, work is easy
Cons: late hours to midnight, pay
Cineplex is a wonderful place to work in, with a lot of up beat personalities and flexible hours. Management is very well delivered in this workplace as well, they give out incentives to the workers, to motivate them to work harder, and they treat everyone fairly and appropriately. The job itself is good, there's always lots to do so you never get bored – more... and the time passes very quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chinook, ABSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: working with others in an environment that was energetic and fun
Cons: late hours to midnight on a school night.
This position taught me a lot about providing good customer service and working with the public as well as within a team of employees. I worked evenings and weekends and enjoyed this job. I learned cash handling and time management skills.

About Cineplex

Cineplex Inc. is one of Canada’s largest entertainment companies and operates numerous businesses including movie theatres, – Read more