Find companies:
Cineplex
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

Cineplex Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Guest Services Team Member, Concessionist (Former Employee), Barrie, ONJanuary 13, 2014
Working at the Cineplex has been such an amazing experience! I love everyone I work with and the job. It gives me the opportunity to work in a fast pace environment and meet new guests, as well as see regulars!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cast member (Former Employee), Richmond, BCNovember 19, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: dealing with some bad guest
dealing with guest. sometimes it can be slow when the movies are playing.. management was okay, co workers were good,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Thunder Bay, ONOctober 29, 2013
Pros: staff discounts
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work consists of interacting with guests, dealing with cash sales, balancing money and cleaning and dealing with food product. The management team is awesome to work with. A negative about the job is that some of the team members slack off and don't do their job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for a full time student
Cast (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: free movie tickets.
This job works around my school schedule and is perfect for students who have early classes or just need something on the weekends, they are very flexible, offer free movies and promotions, and it's always a positive atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic, vibrant and productive place to work in
CAST MEMBER (CSR) (Current Employee), yonge and dundusSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: free movies, great team
Cons: base pay
-managing daily crowd
-proper launching of a new movie
-working at a box office, handling daily cash, serving guests with a polite and graceful manner.
-informing guest about new and ongoing promotions
-answering phone calls at guest service
- acting as an active leader, ensuring a safe and entertainment environment is maintained through out the whole – more... operating time.
- working with the entire team, to ensure each area is functioning properly.
- informing management about conflicting issues
-handling guest concern and issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 23, 2013
Learned a lot, great opportunity to try a number of different job types
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training, excellent customer service experience
Usher/Cashier (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drinks, work is easy
Cons: late hours to midnight, pay
Cineplex is a wonderful place to work in, with a lot of up beat personalities and flexible hours. Management is very well delivered in this workplace as well, they give out incentives to the workers, to motivate them to work harder, and they treat everyone fairly and appropriately. The job itself is good, there's always lots to do so you never get bored – more... and the time passes very quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chinook, ABSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: working with others in an environment that was energetic and fun
Cons: late hours to midnight on a school night.
This position taught me a lot about providing good customer service and working with the public as well as within a team of employees. I worked evenings and weekends and enjoyed this job. I learned cash handling and time management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cineplex odeon
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONJune 24, 2013
Working at Cineplex Odeon has been a great experience for me and still is. The environment is very chill but at the same time everyone works very hard and works together as a team to ensure that everything runs smoothly. The managers are very understandable and the coworkers are all very friendly. I enjoy everything about working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad pay, bad day
box office (Current Employee), scotiabank chinook calgaryJune 13, 2013
Cons: mundane
poor pay for what you have to put up with, stay away from concession
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 23, 2013
Pros: rewards, prices for our hard work
From start to finish a great experience. fun and everyone was helpful. management was amazing . wendy was the best manager ever. Co- workers were so diverse yet we were a big family. hardest part of the job dealing with unreasonable customers. Most enjoyable part was having the best time of my life at a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as much fun
Cast member (Current Employee), Forum montrealMay 16, 2013
Pros: free movies, friendly co-workers
Cons: management team
Employees are not valued at all! Management doesnt care of what you think, it's always ' because i said so, im the manager' type of attitude. Employees make it worth while and free movies. Hardly gets any shift if you're new and forced to take shifts if you've been there for awhile. Old management needs to go, then maybe this place will brighten up – more... a bit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
In seat Service (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 15, 2013
its very fun job, specially I like this workplace about job security, customer interaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome student job!
floor, occasional concession (Current Employee), Waterloo Galaxy CinemasMay 13, 2013
Pros: so many! free movies, great staff, easy hours
Cons: you get your schedule on tuesday for one week
Pros of working at a movie theater that even on your busy nights you approximately have an 1-2 hours of a really big rush, and then an hour and a half of down time. The management is also awesome, whenever we'd have had a really stressful situation (understaffed, or a really huge rush we weren't expecting) they give us cast passes (free movie for you – more... and a guest you also get those every pay check) or they buy us all pizza, it isn't much but it shows that they care about their workers. Their system for workers is really well thought out too, they have 3 different departments - floor - RBO - and concession - each department has a team leader and we also have a minimum of 3 managers on duty. I'm currently in high school and its a breeze balancing the two because most shifts i get are on weekends or late nights on weekdays. It's easy to book off shifts because cineplex actually has a website for you and your coworkers, where your schedule is, contacts for everyone you work with, and you can post shifts up for grabs. It's awesome, I wouldn't wanna work anywhere else! (as a student) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable job, a lot of chance to get to know your co workers.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABMay 11, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: long hours
The most enjoyable part is at the end of a long shift you can go to a cast show with your friends and other co workers and really bond over a new movie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to get in...but bad management.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Polo Park, Winnipeg, MBMay 7, 2013
Pros: free cast pass (movie pass), free popcorn during break
Cons: no break if you have 5hrs or less.
BAD MANAGEMENT. Easy to get in.
you don't get a break if you're working 5 hrs or less.
Unpaid break (30 mins)
depending on the day, closers may stay til 1am.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at the job.
Cast Member (Current Employee), Chatham, OnMay 4, 2013
Pros: having fun with your job.
Cons: dealing with rude/impatient guests.
I get to meet a whole bunch of new guest, especially kids going to the movies for their first time. I learned that it is easy when everyone contributes to daily duties. Management is awesome. Same with co-workers, everyone is fun to work with. Hardest part of my job would be dealing with very impatient guests. The most enjoyable part is working at a – more... place that i look at as one of my hobbies, which is watching movies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job all around!
Silvercity Yorkdale (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2013
Pros: great job- wonderful environment!
Cons: no hours.
Working with Cineplex I have learned many valuable skills, see a lot of great things and worked very hard to get places with in the company. With Silvercity Yorkdale the business flow was not as good as some of the other theaters but they made sure with the guests they had they did the very best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this particular cinema
Cast Member (Current Employee), Cineplex Odeon Forum MontrealApril 17, 2013
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drink (when allowed--on duty only), nice coworkers
Cons: poor management, value of employee is less than zero, not enough pay for tasks required, etc.
This theater is actually not all its cracked up to be. My particular concerns are with the management team. Since the beginning of the year, countless employees have been fired or quit because management refused to intervene in critical situations, and this includes the management team itself. Don't bother. Good luck to whoever gets this job, I hope – more... they're able to deal with the disturbing reality here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at for the first time and constant interaction with customers
Team Member (part-time) (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, ONApril 6, 2013
Pros: free movies once a week and discount on food.
Cons: limited advancement and growth.
- A good place to start working as a high-school student, most of the people working are the same age.
- Typical day at work is not stressful at all, however; you have to be able to work in a fast-paced environment in order to be efficient and productive.
- Customer interaction is extremely important.

About Cineplex

Cineplex Inc. is one of Canada’s largest entertainment companies and operates numerous businesses including movie theatres, – Read more