Cineplex Employee Reviews

Found 335 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 June 2017
Like achive targets, always willing to some or the other things, like mental and physical tasks. Love to meet new people, curious to know new things always.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Cashier, cook, guest services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 June 2017
the job was full of gossip from both management and cast members. even though we were promised a raise I never saw mine. the guests are easy but management is not understanding and often criticizes you for the smallest of issues that are not in your control.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
CAST MEMBER (Current Employee) –  South Keys, ON22 June 2017
Fun place to work, the management is friendly and helpful with any questions. Customers vary but are usually friendly. Very flexible hours that work around your schedule.
Pros
Free Movies, Flexible hours, Friendly Staff
Cons
Not a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 June 2017
This was my first part time job and it was easy to manage with school, and with outside sports. The workers and managers were great and it was a fun job to have.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Culture
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC13 June 2017
While the job could be frustrating at times, the culture in the workplace was amazing and kept me working for much longer than I expected. The people were great to work with.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Boring work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum Wage and little hours
CAST MEMBER/CINEPLEX SOUTH EDMONTON CINEMAS (Current Employee) –  South Edmonton common6 June 2017
they give you about 4 to 5 hours a week with minimum wage. This company is the most cheap company ever. Even when they give lots of shifts they cut the shift so u only receive 3 hours. U will NEVER GET A RAISE AFTER WORKING 3 YEARS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace with opportunities to be trained in multiple different units in the theatre.
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON5 June 2017
You will be expected to learn concession and floor units at the beginning of the position. You are expected to be a courteous, efficient, and helpful employee. I learned retail skills such as handling cash, cleaning responsibilities, and guest service skills. The hardest part of the job would be the lack of time to prepare for each week in your daily life, as you find out your weekly schedule three days before it begins. The most enjoyable aspect is the flexibility in hours and the option to trade shifts with coworkers. Overall, a good first part-time job.
Pros
Free movies, trade shifts option
Cons
Long hours, find out weekly schedule three days before
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty, no advancement, just expendable worker robots
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 May 2017
You're an expendable worker cog in the Cineplex machine, underpaid and far undervalued as an employee.

No loyalty whatsoever, and even management is full of the same high school clique mentality they strive to eliminate from their underlings.

Very untrustworthy people, very unappreciative. Just make them money for their overpriced concessions and movie tickets they raise to compensate (blame) for the minimum wage. High profits, dirt wage for the quantity of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 May 2017
pays minimum wage only got 5 cent raise every year (worked there for three years), people are extremely rude, and is an unprofessional workplace, even the management is very unprofessional
Pros
nothing
Cons
pays minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 May 2017
Cineplex is a great workplace for a student as there are flexible working hours. I have enjoyed working here for the past 3 years and would recommend this job to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work, but you barley get shifts and the management is bad.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, AB23 May 2017
Needs lots of improvement with the managers. Staff is super nice but the management has lots of work to do. They are pretty lazy and are not professional.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Management, hard to make anything than just above minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic colleagues, managers need improvement
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON10 May 2017
The company should invest more money in training the managers and team leaders. People in leadership positions tended to opt for punitive measures rather than communicative or cooperative
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, lack of productivity
Concession, Floor, Box Office (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 May 2017
Cineplex is a great company but the management really enjoys to sit back and just watch and talk rather then help when its needed. they would help when it got overly busy. other than that it was a great work environment and we always got everything that needed to be done, done. I worked in every part of Cineplex but towards the end I was put in the box office to I sold tickets and helped customers with their issues and did my best to fix them. I also did a lot of work on the till.
Pros
great employees, flexible hours
Cons
lazy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Rothesay, NB9 May 2017
Cool entry level job with room to advance quickly if your performance is high. nice environment everyone is having a good time, going out to the movies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy but hours aren't great
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 May 2017
Very easy and simple job that anybody is capable of doing hoever getting adequate shifts to maintain good cash flow is very difficult. Good part time job for some extra spending money but no more
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON7 May 2017
Great place to work , busy eniviorment friendly people . Pay is good always meeting new people. get to watch alot of movies and learn how to make popcorn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job experience
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 May 2017
It was a good experience to have as a first job, it taught me team work, time management skills and negotiation skills. The hours were not favorable however it was possible to work around it. Would recommend this as a first job.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Uncompromising Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty bad not gonna lie
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON4 May 2017
it was super boring cleaning theatres for 5 hours a day but its aight i guess. you get free movies so thats kinda lit also.overall the manager named michelle is terrible so yeah
Pros
free movies
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not "magical" for the movies
Cast Team (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON3 May 2017
A typical day at work here is constantly having your superiors telling you to do things and then going back on it. They did not care for me as a worker and constantly booked outside of my availability while i was a college student and it was my problem that i couldnt get to work not theirs. There were some great things like the staff you worked with and the customers were always fantastic.
Pros
Free Movies
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 May 2017
food area sucks but if you get moved to other areas of the building its better, free movies are always nice as well. the flexibility of the arability is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cineplex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 355 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6