Cineplex Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a fun place to work
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 October 2017
is a fun place to work for a first job lots of perks a typical day at would be cleaning theatres and helping guest the best part off the is the free moves and popcorn
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place to work
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 October 2017
Excellent management,
It was fun to work there
the challenging part was that we have to learn to manage multiple task at the same time with the deadline,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice atmosphere but a bit tiring
Concession Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 October 2017
Working at Cineplex was an amazing experience. The staff is very friendly and everyone gets along very well. The most difficult part was mainly dealing with the rude customers and the late night shifts but got easier over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work especially as a first job
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 October 2017
some days were very hard as we sometimes were left short staffed and over busy, though these were often avoided it can often ruin a week because its started so poorly.
i learned many things as the entire building has many areas and you are able to learn most easily, for example sales, stock, food and cleaning are all available to learn with ease. management had many downfalls and was often disorganized at my location but when they were up the time coasts and everyone's happy and shifts run extremely smooth. hardest part of the job is dealing with unpleasant people when the shift is already stressful, but since that can happen anywhere that makes the job simple. i found the most enjoyable part was the interaction, i was put in many roles where i was on the floor with customers, this is where i heard many stories, many laughs and praises and oh so many smiles.
Pros
free movies and discounted food on shift
Cons
min wage and no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine.
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Quebec, QC19 October 2017
A typical day involved completing the check list, greeting customers and cleaning the cinemas.

Management was always there to help and very friendly.
Pros
free movies
Cons
barely any raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work for one person
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NS16 October 2017
A typical day of work consists of food preparation, working on cash register serving customers, filling out count sheets, taking temperatures of fridges and freezers, changing letters on the sign outside (using a ladder, and if you're short it's very dangerous, expected to move up to higher steps on the ladder), 3 hours of cleaning, controlling movie setting like lights, sound, picture, and temperature, cleaning bathrooms, etc. All of this is expected of you to have finished by the end of your 5 1/2 hours shift, the work is extremely fast paced and you are not given any help. Most nights cast members work overtime because of this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are desperate, then it is okay.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK13 October 2017
More of the same from other reviews, they keep cutting hours, and as a result they are now understaffed in most areas, the pay is horrible, if they could legally pay you less, they would. What I learned, anyone outside of the building doesn't care about the staff. Upper management makes stupid decisions on how to improve workflow without consulting the theaters, it then crashes and burns. The district manager was a complete tool. Half the managers can't do their jobs. The people in the theatre weren't bad, but could be better if the company wasn't so cheap. The hardest part is working for a company that literally couldn't care less about you, and they make it known to you. Most enjoyable part is swiping off and knowing in 5-7 years this company will finished.
Pros
Free movies(kind of), very flexible scheduling
Cons
poor pay/ very little hours/ no raises/ poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and respectful enviorment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 October 2017
Never a dull moment at work and always work to be done. Fast pace workplace with fun and respectful co-workers and management. Always new stuff to learn and many chances to get new training.
Pros
Great Co-Workers and Mangement
Cons
Dis-Respectful Guests
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly enviroment
Usher/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS11 October 2017
Fun and friendly environment to work in. being an Usher is always fun because you get to sneak peaks at the shows playing. you get to learn how to make pretzels and popcorn!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's been pretty okay
Cast member (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 October 2017
A lot of gossip takes place in the workplace, all complaints and concerns about this has been ignored.
The work place has great benefits such as free movies which you can get once every other week, as well cast screenings, which take place when the building is closed around midnight and will go until the next morning.
It's an easy job to learn, and easy to ask peers for help. When making mistakes, everyone understands and even those working since the very beginning has made mistakes as well, so it's a very understanding environment.
Pros
Free movies, cast screenings
Cons
Late hours - can go until 3:00 in the morning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long nights with poorly managed staff
Cast member (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON11 October 2017
My time at cineplex was often focused on me fixing the mistakes of my co-workers constantly with no punishment towards the mistakes, Work if you want but be expected to be running around fixing the mistakes of your co workers
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 October 2017
Everyone you work with is really great, but the customers are customers, and can be rude at times. Some room for advancement but low wages as it's a very large company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work partime
Concession Worker (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB7 October 2017
Was able to learn how to run a cash register as well as able to make friends in an enjoyable environment. hours were acceptable and life there was overall solid.
Pros
Good People
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced environment with multiple objectives to meet
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bayers Lake, NS6 October 2017
Working at Cineplex was an opportunity to advance my skills in several areas of the business. Solid team environment. Job was challenging and exciting.
Pros
working in multiple areas of operations
Cons
short staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 October 2017
There were few things I enjoyed about this job. The people I worked with were great as were the managers. The free movies and popcorn were cool at first but it gets old. You don't get raises and if you do it's 5 cents. It gets very hot in some areas and there's no A.C. (at least when i worked there) customers are crazy rude and it gets so busy at times you just feel so drained at the end of your shift.
Pros
Free movies, free popcorn, nice managers/coworkers
Cons
Very busy, no raises, work very hard for hardly and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and part-time job
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 October 2017
taking days off is easier than other places i feel as we are required to put in requests and availability changes up to 1 week in advance (well, it's always before Sunday at midnight). most of that is done online, sometimes managers agree to help you in person and you can always call to see if you can pick up shifts.
Pros
Cast passes
Cons
if not short hours then it's not that many shifts for pt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome work environment
Cast member (Former Employee) –  Nova Scotia Dartmouth Crossing2 October 2017
I love working at Cineplex because as a kid I would always visit movie theaters and as soon as i walked in the door i went wow this is a beautiful and fun spot, the co workers were nice and helpful. It felt like it was a team that was unstoppable.
Pros
free movies and discount from food
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environnemnet with long breaks
Customer Serviceg (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 October 2017
It’s nice to communicate with the clients, ask how their day is going and trying the best deal for them when it comes to ordering popcorn and drinks. Everyday i try to be more happy by welcoming every guest.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Long dead periods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job place made for kids
Cast member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 October 2017
I almost worked at Cineplex for a year, couldn't handle my managers anymore. They are immature, untrustworthy and they don't know basic policies. They never had an answer because they did not know how to do anything I asked, for example, they did not know how to book off for a vacation when I asked them how and I still ended up getting into trouble when I went of vacation without booking it.
Pros
free soda pop
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for free movies, awful management and staff.
Cast Member [Concession] (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC1 October 2017
The only reason I worked at Cineplex for three years was for the free movies and flexible scheduling. I mean it was good for the benefits of seeing movies for free and free popcorn + drink before/after/during shift, but everything else was awful.

The managers don't make much more than the supervisors. The supervisors/"trainers" are teenagers who know how to suck up to the bosses. If you don't suck up to the bosses, don't expect to advance in anyway. That means they don't care as much as the actual lowest level employees.

Oh, let's not forget how they hate giving anyone breaks. They love to take advantage of their teenage employees by giving them three hour evening shifts and everyone else. In fact if you are an actual adult, I would not recommend working here. The hours are completely inconsistent. If it's your first job, you will learn about the real world for sure and I will recommend it for that reason.

All you get paid is minimum wage, if you become a supervisor, it's a 25 cent raise. Honestly unless you like working with drama filled teenagers and having management in their late 20's with the maturity level of a 15 year old, never work at Cineplex ever.
Pros
flexible scheduling, free movies
Cons
staying later than your shifts, terrible management, barely trained supervisors, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cineplex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 813 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7