Find companies:
Cineplex
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

Cineplex Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good For Students / Horrible for Adults
Management (Current Employee), Winnipeg, Mb.September 24, 2014
Pros: good cast members
Cons: long hours, horrible pay
Cineplex is a good place to get work experience but whatever you do get out before it is too late. I have been with the company over 15 years and it sucks the life out of you. As a member of the management team there is no work/life balance. You must work weekend nights without question. Pay for full time managers is horrible and any bonus payouts are – more... strictly by luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not consistent
A full Time Manager (Current Employee), OntarioSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: free movies experience increase skill level
Cons: no work life balance long hours expectations are a bit overwhelming
Overall the company not bad to work for there expectation are a bit out of reach sometimes .They pride themselves with wanting to achieve great guest service but don't want to pay for it when come to staffing . I'm a full time manager that's all I'm going to tell you there never a clear picture when comes to certain aspect of the position. The mystery – more... shop program is a joke it 's suppose to help you with seeing where you need to improve as theatre on the guest perspective however a lot of GM or theatre managers do is set up there friends or a guest who comes on a regular basis . To me to see proper results as in the retail industry you shouldn't know who the mystery shopper is .this is not the case for all theatre but it does happen.They don't train managers properly compare to other companies yes you can move up fast in the company but my advice is to take your time there really no support once your a manager in my opinion.younger cast are not stupid it hard to have them buy into certain procedures and I fine some of the tactics I have heard over the years to get some of them are terrible these kids work there butt of for the most part there are some are just lazy but good luck getting rid of them.The process is too long and time sucking. I fine there to many moving parts some days as a manager to be up in projection floor behind concession and see everything with limited staffing is not guest oriented . I also find you have to many people telling you to many different things work life balance is difficult in my opinion but a lot of manager won't say anything. Anyway if you decided to work for Cineplex take your time if your looking to advance your career ask a lot of questions and have respect for your managers they have a lot on their plate I know it may not seem like to all of you but there is a lot of pressure it is a fun place to work it can be hard at times but what job isn't . Team is everything when you work at theatre and people don't understand that yet well at least at my theatre. I simply do it for the guest that why I go to work everyday . Good luck thanks for reading . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent job for someone with a tight availability.
Cast Member (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, free movies, good work environment.
Cons: hard to find hours during dead seasons, no raises under management, sometimes work past 1 am.
Working at cineplex has its benefits but it also lacks in other areas
The pay is minimum for everyone under full-time management, with supervisors receiving 25 cents more and assistant managers about 75 cents more per hour. There's no real chance for a raise if you're just a part time employee and depending on the time of year and what movies happen – more... to be released that year, the amount of hours available fluctuates GREATLY. On slow days you can be sent home early because they need to save hours, good for those that want to just leave that day, but bad for those that are trying to make money. The job has its rewards like almost never having to pay for a movie, and getting discounts on food. If you're trying to make money during the summer this is a good job, but if you're trying to save throughout the year and earn a stable paycheque then you're better off somewhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Cash Administrator (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 4, 2014
Very busy,
lots of kids your own age!!
FREE MOVIES
FREE POPCORN
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free movies = perks
Cast Member (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCSeptember 2, 2014
Fun people to work with, it's customer service though and there can be bad days where you're the one with the angry person at your till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going.
Frontline Customer Service and Sales (Former Employee), Lasalle, QCAugust 20, 2014
Pros: free movies, 50% discount in concessions.
Cons: hourly pay, late nights.
Cineplex is a great place to work for Students. Very flexable hours, Communicating with the public, and discounts on movies.
Everyone there must work as a team, The hardest part is when a team is not willing to work together, The experience is not quite the same for the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Cast Member (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: they will cut you, send you home whenever they want
It's min wage... No raise etc, and team leaders get only 15 cents more. But really I'm just there just for the people, great people there, only reason why I am staying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs work - atmosphere is very unfriendly.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 25, 2014
Pros: very flexible
Cons: no recognition for hard work
Management is very sub-par. Not a very friendly working place - it basically breeds free loaders and perverts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fast paced but fun environment
Senior Operations Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 11, 2014
Pros: free movies, staff discounts on food
Cons: no advancement
Great start for students trying to find a first time job as it gives them customer service, cash handling and time management skills

As a manager it provides a good teaching environment to enhance those skills, but not much room for advancement beyond the management level
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WHAT I LEARN
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), burlingtonJune 2, 2014
Pros: free movies for friends and myself, good work enviorment
Cons: not enough pay at all for being a manager.
In the 7 years I have worked here I have learned how to manage staff up to 85 employees, I have done everything from scooping popcorn to creating the movies schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy productive work environment
Team Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 15, 2014
Pros: excellent work environment
Responsibilities include supervising associates to ensure members are properly trained and independent in their tasks. Ensuring customer satisfaction is of highest priority. Co-workers were young and ambitious, and with proper support were excellent associates during peak hours. Hardest part of the job was dealing with unreasonable clients. Most enjoyable – more... part of the job was working with co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, professional environment perfect for a first job.
CAST MEMBER (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONMay 3, 2014
Worked primarily in fast food concessions with a 2 person setup. 1 on cashier, 1 on food preperation. I excelled quickly in both situations. I learned hands on how to deal with unruly guests while still remaining professional and optimistic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job for STUDENTS and very flexible, with room for advancement
Cast Member (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MB.May 3, 2014
Pros: coworkers, discount on food, good training, room for advancement, tuition assistance, free movies, great student job
Cons: late closing shifts, busy movie premiere nights, hard time booking days off
Begin your shift in either Concession, Floor, Box Office, or whatever restaurant is placed there. In Concession, you would process restaurant and movie ticket orders during the time that those other two areas are closed (day shifts).

Grab a till. You would be welcoming guests to your theatre, promoting combos, asking if they'd like butter, and asking – more... them for their SCENE Card if they have one. Do cleaning and re-stocking as needed.

Excellent training (both online and in person) that ensures you know how to do your job. I have learned a great deal of guest-service skills and learned how to work well under pressure. You learn how to handle large groups of people efficiently and learn how to deal with difficult guests.It is important for you to have no variances on your till.

Management is good. Many usually stay for a long time. They know what to do in situations and are always around for questions. Coworkers are great. The description they ask for online when you apply is exactly what they are looking for. You should be energetic, outgoing, friendly, and have great people skills. Your coworkers are like that as well; it creates a wonderful family-like atmosphere! Team environment!

Hardest part: Late closing shifts, hard time booking off days (many employees so you need to book those off quickly!), counting a lot of money, long rush periods/long lines on big movie premiere nights

Enjoyable part: Coworkers, 50% discount on food, FREE MOVIES, discount on other brand products, tuition assistance, you'll never miss a break, easy to give shifts away if you have test days, easy to get more hours by taking someone's shift, good training, pretty straight-forward and easy job, lots of room for advancement, and although the place can be busy you'll have many others working so it's definitely a team environment. There are also Cast Events that you can go on and get to know the rest of your team.

I have already recommended working at Cineplex to others and some have been hired and love it there too. It's a great starting job for students. Great environment to be in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Food Service Manager (Former Employee), Brantford, ONApril 29, 2014
Cineplex was a great job and management helped work with employees to ensure school always came firdt
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with cast movie passes
Concession Staff (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 25, 2014
things are pretty good, busy during rush hours. however, people get cut from their shifts if it is not busy, and 3 hours are the shortest time for a shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needed improvement, coworkers generally the same age made it easy to bond
Movies 12 Cast Member (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 23, 2014
Pros: bonds with coworkers
Cons: work place drama, management
In a typical day at Cineplex, it involved me taking customers orders, not only for food but for movie tickets as well. Cleaning the concession area at the end of a closing shift making sure that everything is sanitized and hygenic. What I learned at Cineplex was how to use a till, how to quickly count till (at the end of my shift), how to quickly and – more... how to efficiently provide customers with their food and tickets in a timely manner. Management was not the best. I found them to be quite rude and unaware of their actions. The coworkers are good though. The majority of coworkers were around the same age as me, which made it easy to get along with them, but also made it easy for work place drama to get introduced. The hardest part of the job is making sure that everything is kept tidy at all times; popcorn on floors. The most enjoyable part of the job was the staff, being able to connect with them because they were my peers made working at Cineplex alot more enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious Job with Great Benefits
Employee at Cineplex Entertainment (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 23, 2014
Pros: free movie passes and free food during shifts
Cons: long hours, large crowds
This job was a very repetitive one, and required much social interaction. There are typically large crowds, and many available diverse jobs. Co-workers were typically in their twenties, and acted as such. They could be very immature, and would swear a lot. However, they did their work with no problems. Managers were a little intimidating, however, they – more... were reasonable and flexible regarding shifts and hours. The hardest part of the job were the large crowds. This job is not recommended for introverts or those with social anxiety. The best part of the job were the benefits, including free movie passes, and free food during shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff
Concession Staff (Former Employee), Belleville, ONApril 19, 2014
the managers there were wonderful, and made sure everyone had a great time while getting the work done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Operations Cast Member (Current Employee), VictoriaFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: a lack of meaningful advancement opportunities, negligible benefits to promotion
Typical day at work includes interacting with guests in order to provide a high quality of customer service. I also balance daily tills with speed and accuracy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, fun workplace
Cast member (Current Employee), Langley, BCFebruary 16, 2014
Working for Cineplex was my most enjoyable job so far. The management was professional but fun and team building as well. I learned many great skills working here that pertain to future jobs and life in general.

1 2 3 4

About Cineplex

Cineplex Inc. is one of Canada’s largest entertainment companies and operates numerous businesses including movie theatres, – Read more