Cineplex Employee Reviews

Found 284 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
CAST MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 April 2017
Management was never understanding and would not make accommodations. Management showed favoritism and gave special treatment to their favorites. Although it was very flexible when it came to hours, that is if they ever give you any good luck with that if you aren't a favorite.
Pros
Flexible hours.
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment to work, great first job.
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 April 2017
This was my first job and I absolutely loved it. Everyone - cast, team leaders and management - were all a close group. We would have tons of outings and even little games nights and stuff in the theatre. The job itself isn't a difficult one as a cast member, but be forewarned: a lot of team leaders will say that the amount of pressure put on you as a TL isn't worth the ten cent raise. Management is easy going, strict when they had to be but not unusually unfair. I was so sad when I had to leave, but we cast members still hang out all the time! Highly recommend this job, especially as a first job. The only complaint would be that theatres are open late and open on holidays like Easter and Christmas, which can be really hard to get off. Some nights you might not be out until midnight, so keep that in mind!
Pros
tight-knit group, easy job
Cons
late nights and working holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crew Member
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2017
I enjoyed being a crew member. They had good flexible hours and also pretty nice benefits like free cast passes. Also, I like how we rotate different positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make long time friends but the job is not worth it
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 April 2017
I had worked at cineplex for about 2 years and honestly the job is really repetitive. I like new challenges to spice up the work that i do and keep it fun, however it was never like that. The most challenges i would have would be a clogged toilet or a movie screen not working once in a while. The people there are great but the benefits suck and and you don't get to use them when you aren't working unless you are watching the movies which are free. Otherwise I would probably not stay there long. Find a job that lets you advance in positions.
Pros
Free Popcorn
Cons
EVERYTHING
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 April 2017
the work was fun and it was fast paced so you were never bored when actually working. also the schedule is ver flexible since most of the employees are students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Workplace with Amazing People
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 April 2017
A typical day at work would be going in, preparing food and popcorn merchandisers for customers to purchase. Serving guests with fast and efficient service making their visit at Cineplex enjoyable. I learned that team work is very essential in providing fast and efficient customer service. Management will always be there to guide you with any questions you have and if you're unsure about things. The workplace culture is diverse, with lots of young and fun people. The hardest part of the job is dealing with rude customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with people that you think as family.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome work flow, fun and rewarding!
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB17 April 2017
Fast pace with multiple tasks always learning and being able to become cross trained. Management is always fun and gives the team a back bone. The culture is very dynamic given the amount of customers everyday. The hardest part is keeping everyone and everything in time management. The job is just amazing!
Pros
Free movies.
Cons
Late nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with. Management is all business.
VIP In-Seat Runner (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2017
No union, no benefits (only the cast-pass when the managers feel like getting it)., being a runner in the longest hallway of all the VIPs just to get tipped out in peanuts while you work for in-seat servers that help run food/drink sometimes... But just push tablet buttons all day and clean theaters.

Sometimes they HAVE to play unpopular movies which will lead to less people and more dead days in this 3 theater hybrid restaurant-theater place. Before I left they started hosting events and photoshoots for people just to get revenue up.

Only apply for this job as an in-seat server near when a hype movie comes out otherwise you will waste your time, energy, and money.
Pros
Cast Passes / 1 bag of popcorn & 1 small fountain drink
Cons
4.5 hour shifts / Viewing awful movies that no one wants to watch / Nagging to get a cast pass /
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Clean Environment Theatre
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2017
Cineplex has very friendly and accepting workers. The job makes you feel comfortable and motivated to work. Managers and co-workers care for one another and guests.
Pros
Free Movies, 50% off food, Free drinks and popcorn
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job at Cineplex is good
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 April 2017
I enjoy working at cineplex because i focus on teamwork and get to meet many lovely guests. i have been working for over a year and i am ready to see what i want to do with my life
Pros
flexible availability
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Cast member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 April 2017
faced paced on mostly Fridays, Saturdays and holidays, other weekdays are slow days. You are expected to multitask various duties. Management was questionable at times at how you were treated, but nonetheless they did their best to make your work experience the best it could be. Plus you get free movies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON4 April 2017
The management team at Cineplex is unorganized and can be very rude. The panic and stress that they provide to their workers is not only unprofessional but very rude.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible but not for the long term
Part-time employee (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 March 2017
a typical day at my job at cineplex is working at the box office. i usually sell tickets and process refunds. the guests are probably the worst part of the job because they get mad over every little things. management is ok. they give us short hours and barely any shifts in the summer which sucks.
Pros
free popcorn, free movies
Cons
short hours, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 March 2017
Cineplex is a great part time job that allows you to grow within the company. They have a great atmosphere and it is an awesome first job. It allows you to gain experience and the management is friendly and willing to work with you!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON30 March 2017
It is great when you are in school, not so much afterward. There is not much room for advancement. The pay is not great as well. But that is good for the investors.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 March 2017
Great place for part time work! Fun, exciting people to spend hours with. Out Takes is a fast paced section of cineplex, handling food and dealing with customers is first priority. Closing is time consuming making for late nights; all dishes must be washed, food taken out, garbage's emptied, surfaces cleaned and everything locked up. There is a great team in place, so every staff member becomes a good friend.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Very wasteful; all food is thrown away at night.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible general manager
Bar/Floor staff (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS28 March 2017
Staff there are great, along with most of the managment but the general manager does not treat people right. The work was usually fast paced which is good to make time go by.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better first than permanant
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB28 March 2017
It can be busy but it can also be slow. Most managers are kind, understanding and will understand your concerns. I do enjoy working here but there are the off days. Benefits are hit and miss and rules regarding them are a little askew. You may get some information regarding discounted food that may contradict other information.The trainer we have is fantastic and very friendly but our team leaders are kind of just there and don't really offer much guidance. You can get some pretty steady hours and can always pick up shifts if needed. Hours can go late which is bad for high school students who have to wake up early for school the next day. Cash incentive has actually been taken away and replaced with a point system which can be redeemed for prizes. It is a good first job but probably better to go with retail experience first in case this job doesn't work out. Always good to have a second job as well because only people who have been promoted get raises. I have been there for a long time and still only make minimum wage.
Pros
Discounted food, free movies, flexible hours, Tuition assistance
Cons
Discount when you work, Tuition assistance if you maintain 2.5 average, minimum wage unless you are promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cast Member
Cineplex Employee (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON27 March 2017
Had a mixed experience. Work was fun but at this location it is very drama based, managers would get involved with the drama going on with their coworkers. Not professional at all.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Drama
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not many Hours, fun Team
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON27 March 2017
Only 1-2 shifts a week, Cast Trainers were rude and acted like they owned the theatre, Some mangers were alright but would put them selves in your personal life and started gossip. Very high school.
Pros
Free Movies
Cons
little hours, shift cutts, Cast Trainers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cineplex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 304 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6