Find companies:
Cineplex
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Cineplex Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away, no really stay away... It's horrible.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Silvercity BramptonFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: awful hours of operation, poor management, dirty, broken everything
Moral is low, this is the type of job that takes the life out of you. a job like this should be fun but is removed by a poor team of managers, and it's always been this way. There's no employee benefits which is expected for this type of work, however for having no benefits (Other then a laughable 100 dollars tuition reimbursement, seriously.. 100 dollars, – more... I could pay for school faster in a yard sale and a free movie that you rarely get to use) The management team treats you badly they play favorites, for example.. Person A doesn't have to tuck his shirt in but god forbid Person B does, then he gets written up. The management team hand write ups out like it's candy, you could get forced to work a position you where never trained for and be written up without warning despite the fact you have no training. It's dirty, there's grease and dirt everywhere rodents in the cupboards that they make you clean, Supervisors are rude.. They take their personal problems out on you, management is no better they constantly violate ontario ESA, actually... Our whole health and safety committee is comprised of Managers, meaning any safety concerns get brushed off, this is the perfect example of a company that cares for their "Guests" as they call them but not their employees

Been talking to a friend who got a job there a while back, nothing has changed.

This place will treat you like dirt, I remember a manager threatened to
replace me if I refused to work Christmas morning.

It's funny because we're told a few things like
'The guest comes first'
'The Guest is why I'm here' that one is even on the back of our nametag

However if they ever need anything like an extra cup or bag, you're not allowed to give them it since the real thing we should memorize is "The Inventory comes first" Seriously, I remember being yelled at for giving a lady an extra bag to share with her kids.

They also put you in harms way dealing with Irate customers and angry people, It's not a fun job, after 3 hours on concession you'll be pulling your hair out, it's so hard to tell somebody they can't have a bag when there's a stack right behind you. they go "Well give me one of those" stuff like this has gotten me spat on, stuff thrown at me.. It's stupid we get cups thrown at us because we don't do refills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting work environment
Team Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: excellent, vibrant work environment with amazing opportunities
Cons: insubordination and at times unreasonably difficult clients
Responsibilities included supervising fellow associates and ensuring they feel comfortable enough to handle day to day tasks independently.

I learned the importance of teamwork as a Team Leader for we had to communicate with fellow team leaders from various positions (floor, concession, RBO, box office) to ensure human resources were appropriately – more... allocated to the busiest areas. Majority of the tasks and responsibilities would not have been possible without successful team work. I highly recommend new workers to focus on building trust in their fellow associates in developing a healthy and efficient work environment.

Fellow associates were highly helpful in assisting various positions beyond their required job descriptions. In more than one occasions the associates would willingly go above and beyond their duties to ensure the overall operations of the day are at optimal levels.

Hardest part of the job was dealing with insubordination. As this is a movie theater, majority of the associates are high school students with limited attention span and who some times disregarded authority. The appropriate response was leading by example, which the team leaders in Scotiabank Theatre demonstrated time and again. Still, several occasions resulted in consulting with the management team to determine the appropriate approach in an attempt to provide the said associates with the opportunity to become the team members they were expected to be.

The most enjoyable part of the job was taking an active part in ensuring the daily operations were accomplished as efficiently as possible. There are various grey area that were available to the Team Leaders to take responsibility and manipulate to demonstrate their ability to communicate, operate, lead, and train the associates to ensure the overall satisfaction of clients. I greatly appreciate becoming a part of such a great team and learned much about the practical functions of a successful business as Team Leader of Scotiabank Theatre. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Guest Services Team Member, Concessionist (Former Employee), Barrie, ONJanuary 13, 2014
Working at the Cineplex has been such an amazing experience! I love everyone I work with and the job. It gives me the opportunity to work in a fast pace environment and meet new guests, as well as see regulars!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for a full time student
Cast (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: free movie tickets.
This job works around my school schedule and is perfect for students who have early classes or just need something on the weekends, they are very flexible, offer free movies and promotions, and it's always a positive atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training, excellent customer service experience
Usher/Cashier (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drinks, work is easy
Cons: late hours to midnight, pay
Cineplex is a wonderful place to work in, with a lot of up beat personalities and flexible hours. Management is very well delivered in this workplace as well, they give out incentives to the workers, to motivate them to work harder, and they treat everyone fairly and appropriately. The job itself is good, there's always lots to do so you never get bored – more... and the time passes very quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chinook, ABSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: working with others in an environment that was energetic and fun
Cons: late hours to midnight on a school night.
This position taught me a lot about providing good customer service and working with the public as well as within a team of employees. I worked evenings and weekends and enjoyed this job. I learned cash handling and time management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cineplex odeon
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONJune 24, 2013
Working at Cineplex Odeon has been a great experience for me and still is. The environment is very chill but at the same time everyone works very hard and works together as a team to ensure that everything runs smoothly. The managers are very understandable and the coworkers are all very friendly. I enjoy everything about working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
In seat Service (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 15, 2013
its very fun job, specially I like this workplace about job security, customer interaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome student job!
floor, occasional concession (Current Employee), Waterloo Galaxy CinemasMay 13, 2013
Pros: so many! free movies, great staff, easy hours
Cons: you get your schedule on tuesday for one week
Pros of working at a movie theater that even on your busy nights you approximately have an 1-2 hours of a really big rush, and then an hour and a half of down time. The management is also awesome, whenever we'd have had a really stressful situation (understaffed, or a really huge rush we weren't expecting) they give us cast passes (free movie for you – more... and a guest you also get those every pay check) or they buy us all pizza, it isn't much but it shows that they care about their workers. Their system for workers is really well thought out too, they have 3 different departments - floor - RBO - and concession - each department has a team leader and we also have a minimum of 3 managers on duty. I'm currently in high school and its a breeze balancing the two because most shifts i get are on weekends or late nights on weekdays. It's easy to book off shifts because cineplex actually has a website for you and your coworkers, where your schedule is, contacts for everyone you work with, and you can post shifts up for grabs. It's awesome, I wouldn't wanna work anywhere else! (as a student) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this particular cinema
Cast Member (Current Employee), Cineplex Odeon Forum MontrealApril 17, 2013
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drink (when allowed--on duty only), nice coworkers
Cons: poor management, value of employee is less than zero, not enough pay for tasks required, etc.
This theater is actually not all its cracked up to be. My particular concerns are with the management team. Since the beginning of the year, countless employees have been fired or quit because management refused to intervene in critical situations, and this includes the management team itself. Don't bother. Good luck to whoever gets this job, I hope – more... they're able to deal with the disturbing reality here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tumbs down
cineplex (Current Employee), Cineplex OdeonMarch 12, 2013
Pros: co-wokers are nice.
Cons: get hardly any shifts
Hardly get any hours, Management team sucks, no flexible hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for enhancing your problem-solving skills
Cast Employee (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 1, 2013
Pros: free movies, great learning experience
Cons: short hours
Every day brings new challenges and problems that have to be swiftly and effectively resolved. Cineplex provides an environment where I can enhance my skills in problem solving, team work, and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment and you get free movies!
Floor Hand (Current Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: always asking you to do more than one persons job because they don't schedule enough people.
I love working here, the management care and are knowledgeable. I just cant see my self working here forever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work place and a great starting job.
Cast member (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaDecember 27, 2012
Pros: discounts on food, make new friends, free movies, screenings
Cons: management is give or take, guests can be rude, some disgusting jobs, bad pay
Working at Cineplex was my first job and only job (for now) and I do have some good experiences and bad ones.

I personally thought my management team was great (except for some individuals) but I have some friends who work at other Cineplex establishments say their management team is horrible. All I can say from this is that the management varies depending – more... on your location. You will make lots of friends there especially if you're in high school (age range varies from 15-20 being the average). I personally know almost all my co workers and have no complaints. Most of the rotten co workers quit right off the bat anyways so it never appeared as much of a problem for me. Overall, the atmosphere on the inside of the company (that being your co workers) is generally great and a factor that keeps me from quitting the job.

There are two main positions you get trained in when you start: Floor and concession. Both have pros and cons. Floor is essentially ripping tickets, cleaning spills, cleaning theaters, cleaning washrooms etc. In essence, it is all the grunt work and time can pass very slowly, but you do get the odd time to talk with some co workers or managers if your team is lenient about communication with the team. In concession you will primarily serve guests, make popcorn etc. It goes by very fast when there is a rush and all you're doing is serving people for about an hour straight. When things are slow in concession all you do is make popcorn and get things ready for the next rush, although, there is generally time to talk with people. The people you serve can be very fun and welcoming although I guarantee you will get rude insufferable guests that will surely irritate you. There is opportunities to get trained in other spots like box office, or the other food distributing services such as outtakes, pizza 73 or yogen fruz (varies depending on your theater).

The pay is horrible and it is not easy to get a raise. Even when you do it only goes up a few cents so it's barley worth it. Although, moving up in position can be easy if you are determined. For example, someone in my orientation group went from being a cast member (lowest rank, or what everyone starts out as) to a Team leader (next rank) then to an assistant manager in just four months.

To conclude, the job is very easy and is great for a starter job. I personally learned a lot about myself and I can guarantee you will make many friends there. The people you work with are fun and sometimes the management team throws little parties. In the even that you have a hard time making friends, I would recommend staying clear from this job because it isn't very fun when you have no one to socialize with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply here.
Cast Member (Former Employee), Mission, BCOctober 28, 2012
Pros: free movies
Cons: everything else
The salary is minimum wage, very difficult/rare to get raises.
The company values the guests but not their employees.
The job security is great as they don't fire any employees, they simply tell their other employees to be mean and make them do more work than they should until they get worn out and quit.
The management is awful. There's not one good – more... thing I can say about it.
It was easy to balance my school work with my job as I only received 9 hours MAX per week.

I don't recommend anyone applies to this company. Working there was the worst 6 months of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get Free Movies, However Terrible Pay for Leadership, Negative Enviroment and Terrible Management
Teller (Former Employee), BellevilleOctober 9, 2012
Pros: free movies, cast members
Cons: pay, late nights, management, negativity, head office
I worked for Cineplex for 5 yrs and got all the way up to Teller(controlled the revenue for the theatre). The position was 10.50, never got raises besides the poor one you got with your new position. The management is very poor at most locations and very negative. My GM harassed me and was verbally abusive and HR was told with proof yet did nothing. – more... I recommend to go to another employeer unless you have no other options – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, terrible management
concession stand/box office (Former Employee), Clarington PlaceOctober 4, 2012
Pros: movie screenings after hours, free movie passes with every pay check, amazing people, extremely fun
Cons: not a lot of hours, terrible general manager, stressful at times
I worked at Cineplex for a few years and my co-workers were amazing, I made some of the best friends I've ever had there but the management wasn't that great. The managers were very nice and friendly, very professional and everyone had a great sense of humour but it was the general manager that wasn't very good. He would play favourites a lot and would – more... give the people he liked better that week all the shifts. And his preferences would change a lot, often without reason. So one day you would get a lot of shifts and the next he would give you barely any. The job itself is good, there's always lots to do so you never get bored and the time passes very quickly. Although there are rare occasions where you have to clean up puke, or worse. The job also gives you a pass for you and a friend with every pay check so you don't often have to pay for a movie, and you also get discounted food and drinks while working or right after your shift. Overall I learned a lot from Cineplex and I would still love to work at one in the future, just not the Clarington location because the general manager is not the best guy. I highly recommend finding another place of employment if possible or at least a different Cineplex. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people not hard to do at all
Cast member (Former Employee), Thundrr bay, ONSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: free movies, free popcorn and drinks, work is easy
Cons: cleaning up, but it's necessary, i mean you would want to sit in people's popcorn
I worked at there for I think like 6 months and the time I spent there was amazing haha fun co workers free movies, popcorn, and
Drinks. Overall a great experience, tere were bad times lol such as the puke cleaning or the never being able to go upstairs to the projectin room haha not all that bad but just by good haha but yeah if your readig this before – more... applying you definitely should! I had barely any experience before and I was heed the managers were so nice haha, but I will remind you I quit, there was nothing wrong with the actual work being done just my way of doing stuff was different than theirs haha good luck!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Part Time Cast Member (Former Employee), TorontoAugust 8, 2012
Work there is great
Friendly co workers
Hours are long some days
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you get free movies
Cast memeber (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCJuly 24, 2012
Pros: free movies
Cons: late nights, no benefits
A typical day, your busy always doing something
People love movies just like me
Knowledgeable and helpful
Good people, hard working and under paid
Late nights
free movies

About Cineplex

Cineplex Inc. is one of Canada’s largest entertainment companies and operates numerous businesses including movie theatres, – Read more