Cineplex Employee Reviews

Found 305 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 May 2017
Cineplex is a great workplace for a student as there are flexible working hours. I have enjoyed working here for the past 3 years and would recommend this job to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic colleagues, managers need improvement
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON10 May 2017
The company should invest more money in training the managers and team leaders. People in leadership positions tended to opt for punitive measures rather than communicative or cooperative
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people, lack of productivity
Concession, Floor, Box Office (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 May 2017
Cineplex is a great company but the management really enjoys to sit back and just watch and talk rather then help when its needed. they would help when it got overly busy. other than that it was a great work environment and we always got everything that needed to be done, done. I worked in every part of Cineplex but towards the end I was put in the box office to I sold tickets and helped customers with their issues and did my best to fix them. I also did a lot of work on the till.
Pros
great employees, flexible hours
Cons
lazy management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Rothesay, NB9 May 2017
Cool entry level job with room to advance quickly if your performance is high. nice environment everyone is having a good time, going out to the movies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy but hours aren't great
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 May 2017
Very easy and simple job that anybody is capable of doing hoever getting adequate shifts to maintain good cash flow is very difficult. Good part time job for some extra spending money but no more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON7 May 2017
Great place to work , busy eniviorment friendly people . Pay is good always meeting new people. get to watch alot of movies and learn how to make popcorn
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job experience
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 May 2017
It was a good experience to have as a first job, it taught me team work, time management skills and negotiation skills. The hours were not favorable however it was possible to work around it. Would recommend this as a first job.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Uncompromising Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty bad not gonna lie
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON4 May 2017
it was super boring cleaning theatres for 5 hours a day but its aight i guess. you get free movies so thats kinda lit also.overall the manager named michelle is terrible so yeah
Pros
free movies
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not "magical" for the movies
Cast Team (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON3 May 2017
A typical day at work here is constantly having your superiors telling you to do things and then going back on it. They did not care for me as a worker and constantly booked outside of my availability while i was a college student and it was my problem that i couldnt get to work not theirs. There were some great things like the staff you worked with and the customers were always fantastic.
Pros
Free Movies
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 May 2017
food area sucks but if you get moved to other areas of the building its better, free movies are always nice as well. the flexibility of the arability is great
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 May 2017
Really easy to work at once you get the hang of things. Keeps you on your toes duebti the fact that we are always busy but the friendly faces always help you get though your shift :)
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Yorkdale, ON28 April 2017
everyone will like to work here there is fun people and the guest are nice too sometimes you will get rude guest but im sure in a few mins it will go away because of the people you are working with
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
VIP KItchen Chef (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 April 2017
Love working at Cineplex.
Great staff and management and just an overall good workplace environment. Good system for setting up shifts as well as trading and giving them away if need be. Also easy to pick up shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment and nice people
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 April 2017
Cineplex is a fun place to work at. Good for a first job for young people who are still in school. Has very flexible hours and it's easy work. Easy to make friends here as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free movies!
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 April 2017
Cineplex is a good place to work while your in school as you can set your availability and most shifts are at night after school. Plus Free Movies!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and Great place for advancement
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2017
This company is the first company I have ever worked for. At first I started as a Cast Member, then when I was of age, worked for VIP. Now I am their Customer Service Representative. They give you so much room to grow and it is an incredibly friendly atmosphere.
Pros
environment, opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend but not horrible
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 April 2017
The majority of employees are minors, young adults or elderly individuals who kinda gave up on higher education.
You start in concession which is, in some cases, stressful to adapt to.
Most employees and managers are friendly at first.
Fast paced work in all areas other than management who sit in the office most of the day.
The job allowed me to learn (on my own) great customer service, how to use a till...and that's pretty much it, everything else is pretty self explanatory if you're already a diligent worker.

Good for: entry-level, highschool student, part-time, living with parents

Bad for: experienced workers, university students, living independently, with a vehicle, phone plan bills, grocery bills, insurance bills, medication bills
Pros
Incentive programs, occasional late night movie screenings, free popcorn, drinks and 50% off outtakes during breaks and 30 minutes before or after shifts, free movie passes bi-weekly
Cons
Late hours, unproductive coworkers, snobby/rude guests, extremely busy weekends and holidays, bureaucratic/lazy management system
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its not good for family life .
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON25 April 2017
This job need to get payed more money also its a shift work ,not good for family life also no social life . work environment very poor need to work under pressure,
Pros
free movie
Cons
shift work -lots of managers got sick
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NS25 April 2017
Great first job! Never too demanding and very flexible hours. Has a great atmosphere and very easy going overall. Free passes to movies is always a plus!
Pros
Free passes, flexible hours
Cons
Some short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace for University study flexibility but lead by a terrible management team
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 April 2017
The management team at Cineplex are irresponsible, inappropriate with cast members, and show bias and favourtism to those looking to excel and move up in the company. They do not help cast improve as a person nor a worker.
The job itself provides a great way to improve socialization skills as we provide the best service to our guests in the VIP theatre and lounge.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cineplex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 325 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

74%
134 ratings
Add your rating