CIBC Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 1,125 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers and clients are the best part of the job.
Financial Advisor Small Business (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 29, 2016
Lack of support led to advisors dealing with day to day transactions
instead of being an advisor. Culture of mid management was one of bullying, get the numbers or else and if a problem, answer was figure it out yourself.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Mortgage Advisor (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BCApril 27, 2016
Start my work at 6 AM as EST factor, start communication with Underwriters. Respond emails. Talk to co workers . It is really fun to work from home office having all the corporate benefits.
Pros
benifits
Cons
comensation
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CIBC is a very good company to work for.
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 27, 2016
I had more than 27 years of experience at CIBC. This company is like a family to me, the people I worked with is like a member of my family.
I will always treasure my experience with the bank.
Pros
good benefits; profit sharing entitlements; 5 weeks vacation with pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working environment, flexible
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 27, 2016
Nice working environment, give employees flexibility to work from home 2 days a week, a lot of work during month end period, overtime is a must during month end
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Build a Career
Manager, Commercial Banking (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ONApril 26, 2016
CIBC provides a challenging work environment, recent changes in Commercial Banking have revived a once neglected sector of the bank. However, systems and processes need updating to enable better efficiencies.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Tedious work flow.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Freelance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 26, 2016
Very much enjoyed it here. Great work-life balance. Strong management. I enjoyed working with my team and my managers. Very friendly atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Financial Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 25, 2016
Opportunity for advancement . On going training support . Too much pressure . unrealistic expectations towards achieving sales targets
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with perfect atmosphere to work and learn
Technical Systems Analyst - Co-op (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 25, 2016
I worked at CIBC for a year and it was a great journey.
Being an intern I wasn't ever treated as one, had support of all team members and everyone helped in making me learn something new.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of chances
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Regina, SKApril 24, 2016
you know a lot of people and have chances to improve your interpersonal communication skill. And learn to put your feet in clinets' shoes.
Pros
stable
Cons
no change
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary and hard work
BI Administrator for Cognos/SAS/SSRS/SSAS/Tableau (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 22, 2016
Good salary
hard work and long work hours
security is not good
management is ok
multi-culture
more training opportunities for employees
most co-workers are excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Analyst, Business Intelligence Group (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 22, 2016
I liked the work and work life balance. The pay was decent but didnt get too much help from HR. Overall, enjoyable experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Targeted Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSApril 21, 2016
CIBC can be a good employer, however, not too much room for advancement, management is inexperienced and the environment is very stressful. The things they do well: Pay well, Great benefits, Stock purchase plan and training is one of the best i've been through at any company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and friendly work environment.
Business Systems Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2016
• Ensured all Windows PCs were deployed and rebuilt properly using SCCM tool
• Performed user data backup and restore, and resolved all related issues
• Setup Computer systems and ensured all applications were installed and configured
• Assisted users with post Windows 7 issues i.e. connectivity, login and/or application issues
• Worked with hardware and software vendors to verify timely product delivery and ensured new equipment was installed and ready to operate on schedule
• Responded to situations where standard procedures have failed in isolating or fixing software/hardware problem, moves and configuration changes by providing timely and creative solutions to end-user computer issues of a moderate to complex nature to ensure end-user productivity
• Performed restorative and maintenance actions either remotely or at user’s location to resolve escalated problems
• Coordinated configuration/installation and general troubleshooting of PC and end user hardware, software and peripherals
• Worked with other IT support team to ensure the transition and migration completed successfully and resolved all related issues
Pros
n/a
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment
Information Security Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 19, 2016
CIBC offers a challenging environment that allows for continuous skill development. The major advantage of working at CIBC is the benefits packages they offer to employees.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Formal Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Consultant, Enterprise Project Management Office (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 19, 2016
the best when it comes to diversity, good management and work environment. Hard to stick to guidelines and everything is done last minute
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced organisation with lots of growth opportunity
FINANCIAL ADVISOR (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCApril 19, 2016
Great place to work...growth opportunity but lots of annoying micro-management, too much pressure to sell which does not make it fun for people who truly love sales and want to build a career out of it.

The focus on sales is a little too much and perhaps management can shift focus on advice and doing what is best for the clients as against focusing on shoving products on them...

Emails are good for communication but i receive more emails in a month than i receive in a year for other top banks i have worked. Most of the emails from management are completely unnecessary but it is the Management and leadership style of increasing the pressure in addition to the excessive conference calls.

The pay is descent and though there is high turnover it also creates growth opportunity. But on the other hand, the fact you have lots of people resigning tells you something about the company. I have had more colleagues resign in CIBC than most places i have worked.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Pressure of work..late hours, lots of unnecessarry emails and conference calls
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Financial Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSApril 18, 2016
There are a lot of opportunities to learn and advance your career. The company cares about their employees and there is a lot of potential for earning extra income. The hardest part is the routine of answering incoming calls daily when working in the telephone banking industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enterprise wide architecture with knowledge
Senior Network Engineer-Telecom Engineer (Current Employee) –  483 Bay streetApril 18, 2016
Network and security infrastructure with all advanced technologies and standards, expand and experience knowledge and career developments.
Pros
process oriented organization with results
Cons
20 projects in deployments at any given time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and work culture
Foreign Exchange Program - Sr. QA Tester (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 17, 2016
Working in CIBC was itself a great opportunity to explore new challenging project. co-workers were very friendly and helpful. we always celebrated our co-workers birthdays or any other occation
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Chargeback Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 15, 2016
Supportive co workers and reporting manager. Good work atmosphere and good learning. Proper allocation of job, work clarity. System updation is some time concern
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,187 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8