CIBC Employee Reviews

Found 1,401 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun and great environment
Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2017
I worked here with one of the Financial advisors, my dad to day would be to make sure deals were closing on time ie. mortgages, Loans and so on. this was a great workplace everyone was friendly and helpful, prior to this position i was a bank teller with CIBC and then got promoted on the Imperial Service side.
Pros
great work was recognized
Cons
too far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bureaucratic and process driven
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 March 2017
Great people to work with and have made several long lasting friends. Culture is in a state of flux and we're trying to figure out where we want to go and how to get there.
Pros
Part of a large community
Cons
Can be lost in a large community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities and great collegues
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC10 March 2017
A day as a financial advisor for CIBC is filled with about 3-5 appointments with clients and about 1-2h of calling clients from our list. We also spend time working on pending client files, greeting clients in the lobby and filling out various paper work. The hardest part of my job is the sales part. I'm always close to the weekly sales objective, but never surpass it. The things I like the most is helping out clients in need of advise with their finances. I also enjoy working with my co-workers.
Pros
Benefits, salary, client contact, great co-workers
Cons
No overtime, sales objectives, call and talk to 35 clients a week to try and book appointments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on branch and management, could be a decent place to work
Financial Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON, Kekowna BC9 March 2017
I worked in various locations and jobs in my almost 10 years at CIBC. In the end the fit just wasn't right fort me Had a lot of great managers and great staff to work with, but again depending on who your immediate manager is, you could feel lack of support.
Pros
free lunches at times
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work and very friendly
Financial Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 March 2017
I enjoy working at CIBC. Just like every job there are pros and cons. One of the pros is that the management team is very easy going and is extremely understanding and helpful.

Cons include a lot of rules. For example my office can't print anymore papers? I can't save documents to my computer, I'm forced to email them to myself everyday. Everything is calculated by the minute, wether you are on the phone, off the phone, in the bathroom, getting water, its all calculated in percentages.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
Quality Assurance Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2017
Good Culture, help in work life balance, considering on contract with man power very less pay. Very enjoyable and light culture. likes to work and enjou
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job out of high school
Branch manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 March 2017
Wanted to work for Cibc as a first job out of high school. Found it fulfilling and made it a career. Different positions included collections, repossessions and foreclosures, customer service manager and finally branch manager of a brand new branch in Mississauga Ontario
Pros
People
Cons
Development
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Team!
Credit Counselor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 March 2017
incoming and outbound phone calls in a call center environment
set up payment repayment plans, answered questions about clients' accounts
very helpful and supportive managers
meeting targets was challenging
most enjoyable part was to help educate people about obtaining good credit and managing their money
Pros
great benefits
Cons
bit stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Banking Centre Leader General Manager (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON6 March 2017
Strong products and services
Poor on boarding
No assistance for those new to company for integration into culture
Great staff
Good sales support
Huge potential to grow customer base
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly workplace
IT Project Manager, L2 Capacity and Operations (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 March 2017
Great corporate culture. An amazing place to learn new technology if you have the drive to excel. Great Colleagues and mentors who are willing to share their knowledge and provide assistance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intensive working load
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 March 2017
fast learning, high client orientation, targets , organised, high workload, rotation; need absolutely team work, people change positions fast
Pros
hours fixed
Cons
salary low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT4 March 2017
There was a high turn over rate. The management team was not very good. The manager had her favorites, and if she didn't like you she made things very difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
others
Retail Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 March 2017
good place to work, needs more customer service training. needs sense of urgency. patient should come first. Building needs improvement and patient care should be prioritized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with equal encouragement and guidance.
Software Tester (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2017
In my opinion work is all about acquiring knowledge by sharing it.
Its about enjoying the work what you do. There is always something new to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program Coordinator
Sr. Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2017
Great work environment, especially a lot of support from upper management makes the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce a great place to grow, learn, live.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing People
Director, Capital Markets CFO Group (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2017
Amazing place to work with a great team of people.
Teamwork is paramount.
Competitive salaries.
Career advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of good experience
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 March 2017
working as CIBC I have gained lot of experience in QA role, very well organized and well managed. Good flow of work load, great management great team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 February 2017
good people.good environment, good people, fun place to work. Learn alot. Good workplace culture. Management is good. You learn as you go. Good work/home balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funny
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 February 2017
working from 8am to 4pm
you learn a lot about mechanic maintenance of the
HVAC Systems
the most enjoyable part of the job the team
Pros
fre e
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working culture
Sr. Business Analyst / Scrum Master (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2017
It's fine to work. Lots of learning opportunity. Not to mush fun loving working place. Lots of reorg happening all the time. So, it created lots of work in each of the resource.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CIBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,469 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8