Find companies:
CIBC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
357 reviews

CIBC Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivating and Energetic
Project Control Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 14, 2014
Love my workplace and co-workers. Always a good day on job but the work load sometimes quite heavy!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth within the company
Senior Fund Accountant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 12, 2014
Pros: easy repetitive work.
Cons: no growth within the company. very long hours on occasion.
Repetitive work. High chance of being pigeon-holed. Good starting job for new graduates. No growth within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with fabulous benefits
Financial Service Representative (Current Employee), Penticton, BCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great benefits and paid holidays
Cons: rate of pay could be higher
typical day would consist of preparing for appointments booked and making calls for renewals or followups and booking new client in for new products or services. Meeting clients on regular basis or meeting new clients for the first time as walkins. Continuation of credit application input on system and informing client if approved or not approved. I – more... help out in all areas of the Branch including helping fellow coworkers if they experience problems as they arise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 8, 2014
It offers a lot of opportunities to undergraduates, graduates and professionals alike, with a lot of options for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Test and Business Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 8, 2014
I had an excellent time working with my managers and colleagues. CIBC was one of my best experience during work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Quality Assurance Tester (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 8, 2014
The management was good.Nice place to work.
learned lot of thing which was useful for the next job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Financial Service Representative II (Former Employee), Belleville, OntarioJuly 30, 2014
Company closed down and no longer operating in Canada so do nto feel a review is necessary
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical bank employer
Financial Services Associate (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCJuly 30, 2014
Pros: nation wide -ageism not an issue
Cons: they don't have the same loyalty to employees as they do for the company.
was over all a good place to work . I did for many years.
I felt a sense of loyalty to them .
How ever they don't have the same sentiment for their employees as the person's making the decisions about positions do not know you or the environment you work in .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Place
Business Consultant (Former Employee), 55 yonge StreetJuly 29, 2014
Word during work time. Professional working environment and make opportunities to progress
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great open concept enviornment with friendly colleagues
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 24, 2014
Pros: sales incentives
Cons: a lot of learning in small amount of time
CIBC is a great company to work for because there is always an opportunity for employees to advance and grow within the company. They also do a great job of picking who they hire; even with all the diversity, everyone met on the common ground of "friendly". The only negative I can say was that there was a lot of pressure to make sales and stay on quota; – more... otherwise, going to work was a fulfilling experience daily. I would like to work for the company again (as to I was on a 6 month contract) but probably in a different department. I personally had a great manager who always went the extra mile to ensure you as a new employee are getting the tools and answers necessary to fulfill tasks. All-in-all, my time there was a good one and it taught me a lot about the "office environment" and even politics that have become a part of who I am outside of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), 750 Lawrence Ave WJuly 21, 2014
Typical day at work was great. I learnt how to deal better with co-workers as well as clients.Management could have been better. Hardest part of the job was saying goodbye to all the lovely people I met. Every single part of the job was enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and great co-workers
Financial Service Representative (Current Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCJuly 20, 2014
fun workplace and great co-workers.
Own time/task management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its oe of the best working enviroment
Deposit Processing Officer (Current Employee), Noh York, ONJuly 17, 2014
Nice supervisors, no pressure as long as you meet their expectations on every shifts. 30 min pad and 30 min non paid breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to be if you are a contract employee
Retail Accounts Processing Officer (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJuly 16, 2014
Cons: having to report every single detail to management ie. what question that person just asked me
The co-workers were great to work with, but that was as good as it got. Being a contract worker through Manpower, we were treated as disposable people who were paid to produce work and do nothing else. Management would prevent contractors from communicating with anybody and restricted flexibility with breaks and workloads. Contractors were used and – more... abused, then discarded when no longer needed. we would constantly be forced to work extra time and were not able to track the extra time, or if we did work overtime hours, we would be told to leave early the next day to balance out the difference. if you ran into commuting issues which caused lateness it would be a problem, even if just 2-3 minutes late, yet would try to force you to take on extra work at the end of your shift after you've already signed off and not get paid for any extra time (15-20 mins extra time). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Financial Service Representative (Current Employee), Langley, BCJuly 10, 2014
The management is very bad. Current manager comes in late, leaves early, does not provide coaching. There is a lot of pressure on sales, with no consideration on the best interests of the client. Financial services representatives fudge the #'s to make themselves look good. There is no training in place, you need to be self taught.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair working environment; great for someone early on in their career
Associate (Graduates Matter Rotational Program) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: work life balance, culture of giving back to the community, develops breadth of experience
Cons: few creative outlets, very process driven, does not allow enough time for associates to build expertise in any one area
People were friendly and rotational associates are generally given good opportunities to work on significant projects and to gain visibility from senior management. However, the rotations now span across several business units, which does not allow for much building of expertise in the short (i.e. 4 month) rotations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employee Culture
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 7, 2014
CIBC is constantly bettering their employee experience and the employees are greatly engaged in their respective work environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
Mobile QA Analyst (Current Employee), Oakville, ONJuly 2, 2014
Testing tools need to be updated.
Don't always outsource everything.
Management is awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent cultural diversity
Senior Financial Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 2, 2014
This company have excellent cultural diversity. Very micro managed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that tries hard to make employees feel like a team!
Supervisor II (Former Employee), VancouverJune 30, 2014
Pros: staff appreciation day, ice cream day, run for the cure and many more.
Cons: job security out west(never know when your position will relocate to toronto)
When working with CIBC, I enjoyed going to work everyday. My co-workers were friendly, my managers were very approachable and I liked my job! I was lucky to have a steady 9-5 M-F schedule and should something come up, it was flexible to change.
Hardest part of the job was to apply changes to procedures that would make sense within the line of business – more... and the most enjoyable part was the changes being applied & successfully utilized. – less

About CIBC

The Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce is one of Canada's chartered banks, fifth largest by deposits. The bank is headquartered – Read more