CIBC Employee Reviews

Found 1,564 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  North York, ON31 July 2017
the brach was clean and organized
the manager of the branch was fun and very encouraging
sales target were easily made
it had a very positive and friendly vibe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ruthless sales focus, client needs take a back seat
Senior Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 July 2017
Poor leadership skills displayed by mid management. Little career advancement opportunities. Extremely bureaucratic and rigid.
Sales takes precedence and nothing else matters, to the point of ruthless product pushing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cibc
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dryden, ON31 July 2017
It was a good place to work just have to re-locate due to my spouse and there was no room for me to transfer to the new location. I learned many different skills that will help me in any job.
Pros
hour lunches
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No secure work
Administration (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON27 July 2017
no team work
work like machine
deadline
I didn't enjoy at work
If you know someone in management you will get benefits....
same work everyday nothing to learn
Pros
no
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Client Technology Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 July 2017
Stress free
Great training.
Management is to work with
Very Diverse
Larger amount of volume of work.
People and the environment is very fun to be in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place environment
Divestiture fulfilment officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2017
there is a good work - life balance. Managers are resourceful and helpful. growth within the organisation is encouraged. its also promotes diversity and actively participate in events of the community they operates .
Pros
good place to work with opportunity for growth
Cons
too many temp positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to work
Costumer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON24 July 2017
I enjoy working at CIBC as a CSR so far. I try to be nice with each client, listen to them carefully and then solve their problem. there are so many things to learn.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Old fashion computerize system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON24 July 2017
Just about your average sales workplace, not too much to get excited over. Great personalities within the branches provided there's enough people to maintain it, otherwise people get stressed out and agitated easily.
Pros
mostly free banking, discounted lending rates, lots of locations where one could be close to home.
Cons
overworked, underpaid, typical sales atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but doesn't pay
Customer Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 July 2017
Good work atmosphere. Hours are arranged to balance around my family. Not enough hours and not enough pay. The targets are too high and no recognition for the work that you accomplish.
Pros
Benefits are good
Cons
Not enough hours/cut backs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people who steal.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC23 July 2017
I will not recommend this job to any innocent girl. They embrace you at the time of the interview; management do not provide you with advancement opportunities instead they send stalkers after you to get your stuff stolen so that you can be in debt forever.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Too many negative stalkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON22 July 2017
branches tend to be understaffed making it difficult to focus on the work at hand, very busy working to meet clients needs and promote new multichannels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to transfer anywhere in Canada
Financial Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Regina Sask. / Sherwood Park, Alta20 July 2017
Multiple opportunities for advancement. They strongly encourage further education. Most advanced technology. Excellent communication between staff. Great socializing.
Pros
Very personal staff
Cons
High expectations for sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to learn for junior IT guys
Client Technical System Analyst (co-op) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2017
I learned so much thing that I can't learn at school.
I learned how to work as team member, deal with heavy duties and social network. My team are very friendly and nice. They are always welcome to ask questions and answer the questions
Pros
flexible work hours, frendly co-workers, good learning enviornment
Cons
a bit strict work-process, takes some time to have a access
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job culture
Mortgage Processing Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2017
I've worked at CIBC for multiple summers and the best thing about the bank was the people I worked with. Everyone was very welcoming and always helped me feel at home from the first day.

The hardest part of the jobs that I worked with dealing with changing demands and coming in early/staying in late but it was very satisfying after the hard work pays off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Personal Banking Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2017
Great culture where the employees are very supportive of each other. It's call center work, and you don't get a full hour lunch, but great incentives and support to keep you motivated.
Pros
people
Cons
work schedule doesnt promote work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Qualified work teams
Senior Project Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2017
Onshore and offshore teams of high quality and level of expertise. Good cooperation from end user SMEs. Friendly work atmosphere. Very supportive team management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sr. Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2017
Productive workplace. Lot of opportunities to grow.
Diversity is also given importance. Everyone gets a chance to shine.
Good management team. Employees are motivated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relationship Manager
Coordinator, Risk Advisory (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2017
It was so long ago I think I forget. That was a long time ago. It was about 20 years ago. I used to work with the risk departments in CIBC to sell the banks risks practices to fortune 2000 companies.
Pros
Was fun, team dollars were great.
Cons
Bank went in the wrong direction after 1999.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banking sales job
Senior Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Alberta17 July 2017
9-5 job mostly focused on sales and generating revenue. Some people could feel the stress and lot is expected from you for minimal pay. Good benefits is a plus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic enviroment with interaction with people from all across the world.
Financial Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 July 2017
Good place to work if you are new to the Finance Sector.You get to work with a very diverse team from all across the world. The job mostly requires to do sales and see if you can get the client approved for a financial product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CIBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,640 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8