CIBC Employee Reviews

Found 1,308 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going company, but too slow for intellects
Senior Director, Credit Risk, Internal Audit (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2017
Fun place to work if you want to be dictated by legacy systems and achieve virtually nothing during the year. That said, it was very stress free due to the slow pace of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2017
Overall great place to work
Pushing too much to do work on the same day
Mgmt seems to be too old school way too professional than other organization
using old school technologies
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Longs hours - push employees to sit longer for no apparent reason.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork Environment
Cash Operations Processor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2017
My position required standing for the majority of the workday within a teamwork setting. Attention to detail is very necessary for this position along with knowledge of Microsoft office (Word & Excel).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail sales environment.
Financial Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 February 2017
Ok compensation but unpaid overtime hours and unrealistic sales expectations are draining. Management is usually under pressure to pressure the sales staff to pressure clients to buy products they don't really need. This often results in frustrated and abusive managers. Software is painfully outdated with three to four programs needed just to open a chequing account for a client. Opening a mutual fund is unnecessarily complex and disclosures that should be part of the paperwork aren't included, though they are at competitors. The bank is also over-leveraged with its lending so giving a loan to someone is nearly impossible. Where it is possible, TD and RBC will be able to offer a more competitive rate and clients will let you know this.

Clients and colleagues generally make the role worthwhile but nothing else does.
Pros
Great Colleagues
Cons
Long Hours, Management culture varies from branch to branch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience , good to work , competitive timelines , always on toes
Sr. Developer and Front End Team Lead (Current Employee) –  20 dundas street13 February 2017
Great experience , good to work , competitive timelines , always on toes
We have internal trainings and good atmosphere
morning meetings and good work culture
Pros
Great experience, good to work, competitive timelines, always on toes
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 February 2017
Short term training not enough time to learn .They don't care worker. culture team by team can't ask anything not helping new workers.
they don't train new activities.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great job.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 February 2017
I enjoyed my time working at CIBC.
The hardest part of my job was sometimes not being able to leave customers satisfied.
Sometimes the senior staff members were unpleasant to the newer staff but overall the atmosphere was professional.
Pros
Nice environment
Cons
Standing for long periods of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Officer
Accounting Officer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 February 2017
ATM department accurately deposit bulk of cash in customer account and make balance sheet end of day and I used work on weekend as well as working days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity to enter banking industry
Mortgage Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 February 2017
Good opportunity for development in customer service/sales. Good training and support while developing skills in various departments in retail and personal banking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CIBC is an excellent place to work if you are self motivating.
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 February 2017
Their motto that they trust their employees is very true and they work hard to make you feel comfortable entering such a large corporation.

They find ways to make you comfortable and happy which is very unique in such a large corporation.
Pros
Fun work environment
Cons
Slightly isolating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start off banking career
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 February 2017
If you know how to do client experience on the phones, it is something you can definitely handle. You learn quite alot about the banking business in a short space of months. The help you receive is phenomenal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with fair pay
Personal Banking Representative (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB8 February 2017
Sales Executive with Experience in Insurance and Healthcare Management
Created and implemented sales strategies to achieve 35% revenue growth per year. Highly effective management skills; able to motivate sales force and design incentive programs to achieve short and long-term sales goals.
Pros
Great office culture, lots of events, fair pay, opportunities to advance
Cons
Call center work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cibc
Fraud Analyst (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 February 2017
CIBC is a great place to work at, it is a great place to learn new skills and about the financial world, I have worked there in the past 4 years and learned anything related to the fraud world and how to prevent it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good env
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 February 2017
to work in cibc, it is some funny, we had some out going in a year, we ha at least once a year for large department.
people are nice, and work time is flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy day with set of given targets
Verification Officer (Current Employee) –  Downtown, Toronto6 February 2017
Start my day By reviewing the number of task in the Que.
I get to see almost every day different type of documents and there is always something new to learn. Manager is always ready to help and gets any queries solved immediately by explaining it minutely.
Working environment is multi cultural with a team members who are always ready to help each other.
I don t believe there is any part which is difficult as everything comes with challenges and i personalty like challenges.
Dealing with the files with your judgement is very much enjoyable part as it shows that management believs in your work
Pros
Everyday Learning
Cons
Sometimes tasks are too complicated
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
QA Lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 February 2017
great work culture, would recommend to anyone
have spend my 8 years with the company, which itself explains that how much i am happy with my current job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
processing officer
Process Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lawrence Station, ON5 February 2017
Not qualified management. Everyone seems to be related. Salary is low. Not understanding of employees needs. No potential of growth unless know someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A diverse and dynamic working environment and friendly culture.
Senior Software Solution Designer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2017
A diverse working environment with very skilled workers. A team oriented and cooperative working culture. I had the opportunities to work in very large scale enterprise projects with very tight deadlines. I really like the business and technical challenges that I need to face and overcome to provide viable and strategic solutions.
Pros
Work flexibility that works best with my personal life schedules
Cons
None I can think of.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super job for with great atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fox Creek, AB4 February 2017
My day would start with balancing the ATM and enjoying the morning coffee with staff. Then move on to getting the till opened and enjoy the day talking with customers. absolutely loved this job
Pros
chance for advancement
Cons
cant think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial services representative.
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON4 February 2017
Responsible for meeting with clients and assessing their personal financial goals and areas of improvement. Very high demand and tight deadlines. Great administrative skills learnt with this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,373 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8