Cianbro Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you love different types of construction
welder (Former Employee) –  Portland, ME7 September 2017
Cianbro works on just about everything. that is the most interesting part. The Family feel culture is great, never had or saw any issues on sites with coworkers. people really go out of the way to help each other. I went through the training with Cianbro was top notch, not just the trade side but they help you grow as a supervisor. If you show up, work hard, work safe, and get along with Team members you will not have an issues here. you will find a career not just a job.
Pros
culture and jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not want to rate Cianbro at this time
Industrial Painter (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, MA29 May 2017
Due to confidential matters I would prefer not to rate this company. I do not believe it is in my best interest for me to fill out any more information for a rating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment when they have work
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ME23 March 2017
Good place to work if you like traveling,work is always out of state.must have own tools and good reliable transportation.,and must pay for youre own motel stay,its not covered by cianbro.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its alot of hurry up and wait
Welder (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ME6 March 2017
almost every single day you are redoing someones screw up mainly coming from the engineers. 90% of the time if you think something is going together good its not and you have to wait hours maybe days to get the right print or right approval.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Level 1 Fitter/Welder (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD15 January 2017
very focus on keeping employees healthy. Really enjoyed every morning exercise. Cianbro gives his employees fruits every day, 2 breaks a day 1 hr lunch. Co workers and management are fair and enjoyable to work with.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
area were I worked closed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Changes (Former Employee) –  Virginia26 September 2016
I loved working for this company. Slow times lead to layoffs. I'd go back in a heartbeat. Job titles tend to change for each project depending on the needs for each site.
Pros
Compasation, benefits, 401k
Cons
Have to stay out of town frequently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SC20 September 2016
Great company, great people, awesome benefits. Busy days with a lot of meaningful challenges! If you're willing to grow as an employee they will invest in you!
Pros
wellness
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workers .
Lead man / foreman (Former Employee) –  Mannassas VA18 August 2016
Loved the workers there . The benefits were good but some of the management were a little conspicuous . The daily activity there were good days the stretching of a morning was really good for the workers as well !
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe construction company to work for with questionable management.
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Baileyville, ME14 August 2016
A typical day working for this company starts with stretches and going over how everyone is going to be safe for the day. i learned how to build and weld together box cranes. Management was not the greatest, but my co-workers were awesome. the hardest part of the job was where the job location was, there was no actual knowing where they would send you and how long you would stay there plus they didn't reserve any hotel for you to stay in. The most enjoyable part of the job was we could make up our own hours depending on the work load.
Pros
great benefits and good wages.
Cons
Management was terrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a good experience when i was there
Machine Operator and Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Curtis Bay, MD18 July 2016
They really care about the employees , and they made sure your safe while working . The on the job training was hands on and they where always glad to help you if needed .
Pros
pay rate was good
Cons
Job Security was not so good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Equipment Operator Foreman (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ME7 July 2016
Great Company to work for! Travel takes a toll on family life if you don't balance it correctly, but overall a great job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ME27 June 2016
Cianbro is a very good company fair with all team menbers . safety is number one on the job training is there for all team menbers
Pros
training
Cons
out of state work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Ironworker/opporater (Former Employee) –  New England27 March 2016
A great company to work for.As with any company jobs get more competitive over the years,And that makes it harder on everybody.
Pros
Great pay, Great benifits
Cons
Traveling, Being away from home all week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work place
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Brewer, ME13 March 2016
My responsibilities were to install pre fabricated piping systems into large refinery modules at exact location and tolerances. The work was mostly outside in the elements regardless of the weather. Working with so many different people made it so interesting.
Pros
fast paced workplace
Cons
working under so many different elements
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Find Something Better
Structural Steel Shop Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Maine4 January 2016
The only nice things about working here were meeting a few good co workers, and the Pittsfield location is in an area that needs jobs. However, I cannot stress enough that the negatives outweighed the positives by far. Seriously do yourself a favor and try to find something else.

Management is absolutely awful in the shop. No one ever seemed to know what was going on at any level, and asking questions about anything was not received well. If you need something with even a semi reliable schedule, think twice. It changed often- what I was told would be a fairly steady schedule with some overtime was completely false. It also changed without much notice, which can be tough if you have children or other things in your life. Even though my job was supposed to be a "fixed base location" position I was often sent to other locations to work for weeks at a time. Equipment is older and constantly breaking. Management is not receptive to suggestions that may improve workflow or really any ideas other than their own. Safety is stressed, but not really enforced. Health insurance is astronomically expensive and doesn't cover much.

I guess it would be fine if you're an easy going single person with not a whole lot else going on in your life, and you don't mind working a dead end job with almost no possibility of advancement- unless of course you get on the bosses favorites list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cianbro
Electrician/Grounding Professional (Current Employee) –  washington d.c20 August 2015
Cianbro is a great company tp work for if your willing to travel. lots of work in the mid atlantic. great company they take care of you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Painter and general Labor (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ME22 April 2015
Great team spirit. Have a chance to learn new skills. ready to start work again at this great company. great bosses. Great place to increase your skills.
Pros
free lunch great formans
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ME17 November 2014
Typical day of working would be outside, co-workers really nice, hardest part of the job would be staying awake working overnights and hot temps on certain jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice co-workers but long work hours
Commerical Master Electrician (Current Employee) –  Meshoppen, PA26 August 2014
Good company but job schedules are getting ridiculous. Work an average of 80 hours a week.
Pros
pay
Cons
hours, no clue when next job is
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ME12 February 2014
work 9 to 12 hours a day, I learned a lot from the guys I worked with. best part was working out doors and with all kinds of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cianbro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6