Christie Digital Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Product Developer, Mechanical (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON28 July 2016
You can definitely learn a lot of new things, especially with regards to manufacturing methods and optical systems. A select few managers are difficult to work with due to their lack of people skills, but other than that most are pretty average. Company is going through major changes so job security is medium.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
job security, some management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician // Assembler - Sub Assemblies
Technician - Sub Assemblies (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON1 March 2015
This took place between April 2009 and September 2009, your mileage may vary.

Production was ramping up for the theatrical release of Avatar, one of the first major 3D pictures. Chrisie was racing to market with it's 3D capable projectors.

This lead to very long days with a lot of pressure.
The majority of my time was spent in sub assemblies, assembling parts to be used on the line. It was very repetitive and mind numbingly boring.

I was hired as a temporary employee, I was not part of the union, although I did pay union dues. There was little room for advancement, since at the time all I had was a college diploma. The wage cap prevented me from pursuing a career there.

For the most part there was good comradery with co-workers, although if you held up the line you would be punished. The bonuses were set up in such a way that management didn't need to punish the slow workers, since everyone on the line would do it for them. I didn't like this aspect of working at Christie Digital.

That said, when things went well, life was good. We had several events, such as screenings of 3D movies, BBQs and so on.

Also we had fairly unhindered access to information at work about the projectors. I learned a fair bit about optics while working at Christie Digital.

There was a lot of overtime, which was essentially mandatory, but I appreciated it to be honest.
Pros
High Tech Company, great co-workers (so long as you don't hold up the line)
Cons
Pay cap depending on education level, not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing enviroment
Technician (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON5 August 2014
A typical day at work would include assembly of different parts used in a projector. The hardest part of the job was the travel to Kitchener from GTA. The co-workers were good and being unionized was great. The salary and benefits were very good. The best part of the job was 4 days of work and 3 days off. :)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work and managment is friendly
Software QA Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON25 May 2014
Things are fine here but promotion criteria is quiet suspicious,
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of nonsense
Quality Assurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON24 April 2014
Depending where you work you might be OK. I worked 30 weekends of OT in my last year there because management wouldn't hire any extra staff. Got let go because of burn out and backstabbing environment that I reacted to.
Pros
good cafeteria, good pay
Cons
suggestions fall on deaf ears, they claim they listen but really don't
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment.
Application Developer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 April 2014
Manager was never friendly. Lacks discipline. Very condescending. Overall "goal" was to work you down.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work.
Product Developer (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, Ontario8 January 2013
An excellent place to work. The leadership quality of the management team was exceptional.
Pros
leadership desired employees to be independent workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environmen is exellent a Christie
Electronics Technician/Technologis (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON26 December 2012
1) Assembly, Quality check, Reporting, Failure Analysis
2) DLP projection Technology, Machine Vision Application,
3) Each Management level is different
4) Coworkers are co operative and excellent team work
Pros
interacions with different people, culture and skills
Cons
advanement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with no Culture
Electrical Tech (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON14 June 2012
-testing and assembling projectors
-new assembly procedures
-no culture in management
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long work hours and no culture
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment
Engineering Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON25 March 2012
The company's projection technology was really intriguing to begin with. It was a fun technology to keep up with. I worked with really friendly team members and the management was really caring as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No17Report

See more Christie Digital reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9

Christie Digital Reviews by Location