Chop Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice team
Kitchen Helper (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 November 2017
Indeed is a great place to work:
- exciting use of technology
- fun work environment with great people
- diverse projects to work on
- casual work environment
- unlimited PTO
Pros
unlimited PTO, free lunches and snacks, great coworkers
Cons
salary a little bit under market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and hardworking workplace but very friendly and nice people
Kitchen Worker (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 November 2017
I use to work there from 8am to 12pm. In the morning, I was alone in the kitchen cutting an washing fruits and Vegetables ,so it was very relax. At 11 am, it started getting very busy but everyone came to do their job and everything was well handled, Overall, good experience!
Pros
Breaks when I wanted
Cons
Working after my shift was over
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 November 2017
Chop has a great culture. I would reccomend this company to anyone. They are great for accomadationg schedules. The management is also great and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace, different foods and a great time
Hostess/Office Manager (Current Employee) –  London, ON25 October 2017
Chop is the best place to go when you’re hungry! They have so much variety to choose from whether you’re a steak person or a vegetarian, they have something you can choose from! I love it there!!
Pros
free food, family atmosphere, fun greet fast seat!
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 June 2017
Long hours in which you work passed close sometimes for even two hours. However all the employees are friendly and caring. one can definitely have the family feel here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 June 2017
Very fun work area I learned how to prepare food, wash dishes in a face and professional manner in less than 3weeks due to a wonderful work team who's willing to teach you whatever you may need to know
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very inexperienced senior management
Employee (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON14 May 2017
Very inexperienced management and lots of favouritism from the Owners to the GM right down to the Supervisors. Culture is weak and management doesn't care about anybody but themselves and the financial statements. Lots of turnover due to this they would rather replace than invest in development of staff. This specific location is a franchise and is a terrible representation of the brand because it has great potential. Sad to see such a great company be ruined by incompetent management and poor decisions followed with more poor decisions topped with an arrogance that is disgusting to watch.

This company thrives to be a JOEY or an Earl's but is so far off its quite humorous. FYI this is the same company as Moxies..... Need I say more? They try to hide it at all costs LOL what a joke of a company.
Pros
Genuine good people. You're all getting screwed over together so everyone gets along.
Cons
Management, Hours, Money etc etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Serving Assistant (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON6 May 2017
Everyone that works there is very friendly, kind, fun, and the positive energy is contagious. The workload may have been a little hectic and tiring at the end of the day, but overall, a really good self-building experience.
Pros
People, atmosphere
Cons
tiring, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with excellent managers
Server (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 April 2017
I love working for chop steakhouse. I've done a variety of positions in the time that i've been there and have enjoyed it. It has taught me how to multitask and create prime hospitality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty standard for the industry
Operating Partner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 April 2017
Growth potential, relocation potential, the rest is pretty standard for the industry.

Regular restaurant shift work, standard restaurant environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON1 March 2017
this is a good place to work and has good people working there always positive. the good is really good and the environment for dishwashers is friendly never called a B
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers, poor management
Server (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK18 February 2017
The management needs a lot of work, it gets to the point where a manager can make you cry on shift and they act like everythings fine with the way they treat you.

the co-workers were great, the work load was a bit ridiculous staying two hours after your tables have left doing side duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Food, Fantastic Environment, Fantastic People
Host (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON18 January 2017
Always feel like everybody has your back, getting a shift covered is normally no problem because people actually want to be there, the management really cares about their employees, and do everything they can to work around your personal and social life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad working environment
prep/line cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON17 November 2016
Poor working condition ... they do not treat kitchen staff fairly ... there is good amount of work to be done but supervisors are on your neck to get done
Pros
No food
Cons
Poor chef and supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best and true advice for all.
Culinary supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chinook, AB30 September 2016
I was use to work culinary supervisor at chop Chinook but it's very bad experience in my life . Management staff thinking is so cheap . Chef and general manager playing game with staff who is working hard . No appreciation for staff . . Front office managers always right if you cooked perfect steak they will argue with you. I think they no need to hire good Chefs they need to hire f.o.m + Chefs . Because they never ever wrong in whole life . Please think about it before you join . I did big mistake so please I don't want to do someone is same .thanx guys
Pros
Some staff is very nice .
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy workplace with amazing co workers
Hostess (Current Employee) –  London On17 July 2016
Days at work consist being around fun and outgoing people, always starting and keeping conversations. Easy workplace and enjoyable workplace for people who are outgoing and like being in a classy area. As a hostess I stay busy always whether it is having conversations with guests, opening the door, seating, cleaning etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 May 2016
-Physically, mentally, emotionally draining
-Working mostly nights
-no benefits
-poor management
-Not fun
Overall, i love to cook just as a hobby not when it is demanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment with great people
Server (Former Employee) –  Dixon Road19 August 2014
Great workplace with amazing staff. I learned many skills that will help me in my future such as great communication skills and also teamwork skills. Management was great and always on top of the ball. The hardest part of the job was being friendly even though your day is not going so great, now that i have achieved that skill its not so hard anymore. The most enjoyable part was the various conversations with different customers on a daily basis.
Pros
50 percent off food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Prep cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta30 July 2014
It was a fun work environment. Had its management issues, but overall a great place to work. Staff was amazing!
Pros
Awesome staff
Cons
Pay was not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newer restaurant
Service Quality Leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2014
A newer restaurant with small lunch and dinner rushes. A sophisticated atmosphere with good quality food with not enough advertisement
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8