Find companies:
Children's Aid Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Children's Aid Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sad place to work
Legal Assistant (Former Employee), Barrie, ONFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: real eye opener
Cons: i was so unhappy, that i went and sold appliances
I thought when I went there that children;s aid was about the children, I soon discovered it's about the parents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job in field
Child and Youth Counselor (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: meeting new challenges
Cons: hours
Learning about CAS
Caring for young Adults
Getting involved in the routines of the house
Working as part of a team
Logging daily reports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Data Control Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 17, 2013
It was an amazing opportunity and the atmosphere was good, the management team was brilliant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable environment to volunteer in
Tutor (Current Employee), Windsor, ONJanuary 14, 2013
I volunteer every Wednesday night, and tutor the same child each week. She typically brings in any homework she needs assistance with. If she does not provide the homework I have bought a math workbook for her to do while at the session. The hardest part is trying to get her to focus on tasks she considers boring. The most enjoyable part is seeing how – more... happy she gets when she understands something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool job
Junior Counselor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 7, 2014
Pros: free trips
fun every day
worked with cool kids
co workers was cool
pay wasn't bad when they decided to pay you
loved the staff
trips
retreats
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, intensive work
Social worker (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 3, 2014
a typical day involves long hours and you doing everything under the sun.
the children are the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no opportunity for advancement
Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 22, 2014
its hard helping children when everyone is miscommunicating. from management to staff to parents. alot of chaos, would be better with better managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Children's Aid Society clinic
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 13, 2014
Cons: pay
Smart knowledgeable coworkers with their patients' well-being truly in mind. Everything I know I learned at the Children's Aid Society. Working with foster families has its challenges, but the patients are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Peer Educator (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 10, 2014
this job prepared me for future jobs that will regard dealing with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun up lifting with room to grow
Stock clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: learning something new every day
Had a great time working with them. Even though I was only there for the summer I learned a lot of skills that are still being use today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very professional enviroment and supportive agency to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: i was very happy to work in a professional enviroment with a good team.
Updated database. Coordinated, collected and prepared operating reports, forms, logs and records.
Documented all HR actions by completing forms, reports, logs and records.
Assisted in creation of monthly reports to facilitate funding.
The work environment was very professional and healthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for children to learn social skills.
Academic Enrichment Facilitator (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 26, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of doing a lesson plan that I planned on teaching for the day and the following day. I learned about digging deeper and finding out where a certain problem stemmed from with each student nand working on that specifically. This allowed other areas to improve slowly. The hardest part of the job was the budget limitations – more... and lack of hours to do a lot of planning required.However the most enjoyable part is interacting with the kids and parents on a daily basis. I loved the job and due to reasons beyond my control I couldn't continue with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its just the not for me.
JAM Peer Co-facilitator (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: great pay and very flexible
Cons: teens are immature and work was unorganized.
The goal was to educate teens about sex education, although most of them were immature, it that was not the issue. The issue was that nothing was organized, I would get called up last minute when I was busy to go work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun atmosphere
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), bronx, nyJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: the help we offered the community
Cons: it was just a temp position
40-60 patients a day
very pleasant co workers
my superviser was hands on
every day i enjoyed being there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time management had to be priority.
Home Maker Department/ Fiscal Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 9, 2013
Pros: i learned how to work with deadline and how to manage my time effeciently
Cons: because i was always meeting payroll deadlines i did not have anytime to go to functions, our yearly company picnic and other events.
I had to submit payroll every Friday so all time sheets had to be submitted on time. We always had training every Wednesday which was very helpful to me. I learned time management and how to prioritize my work
.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Case-Aide (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 6, 2013
As a Case-aide at the Children's Aid Society, my job is to supervise family visits for children and families in the foster care system. I would supervise a 2 hour visit and observe the interactions and take notes so that I am able to report how the interactions between the families are. I am trained to help parents and redirect them if they are not – more... properly assessing their children, in order to build a case for family reunification. My co-workers and I work as a team to supervise visits during diferent times in the day. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the different mental health issues children or parents may have. The ost enjoyable part of the job is seeing growth between parent and children and seeing them finally get out of the foster care system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working At Childrens Aid Society Shelter
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 8, 2013
There is no typical day at work. Its fast paced, Anything can happen at anytime. I've learned to always be prepared for anything. Management takes good care of their employees and co-workers are dependable and fun to work with.the hardest part of the job is also the most enjoyable part of the job which is helping the clients in their everyday life so – more... that they can become productave members of society. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good diversity in workplace and positive team members
Lead Case Manager, Greater Logan (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 6, 2013
Pros: good team work, received promotionn and improved organizational skills
Cons: less pay, change in family size, work hours not flexible.
The job was rewarding and intesive. We worked under DHS guidlines and supervision so cases and paperwork were constant. We provided resources and support to children and families in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Maintenance (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: low pay
my typical day at work was cleaning everything possible. That was one of my favorite jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accounting clert
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 6, 2013
one of the niceness not for profit company to work for I preformed from secretarial duties to account payable, data entry. There were room for growth. Ones hard work were noticed.

1 2 3