Find companies:
Children's Aid Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

Children's Aid Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured agency with friendly and enthusiastic staff
Homework Club Tutor (Volunteer) (Current Employee), Windsor, ONFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: schedule works with my school schedule, positive work environment, helpful staff
Cons: only one shift a week
Every Wednesday night I volunteer at the Children's Aid Society. For about an hour I help the child that I tutor with her homework and write in her agenda about her progress. For the last thirty minutes, the children have a snack and then play a game either as a group or with their tutor. I have learned different teaching methods while tutoring the – more... child, and re-directing strategies to get the child focused and on track in order to get her work done. There is always at least one manager there, supervising while I am there to help with attendance, prizes for homework completion, and for any questions we may have. My co-workers are very helpful with any questions that I may have and in working together to get the children focused. The hardest part of this job is hearing the struggles that the children have went through with their family. The most enjoyable part of the job is making the child smile or laugh, and helping them to understand their homework. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sad place to work
Legal Assistant (Former Employee), Barrie, ONFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: real eye opener
Cons: i was so unhappy, that i went and sold appliances
I thought when I went there that children;s aid was about the children, I soon discovered it's about the parents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job in field
Child and Youth Counselor (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: meeting new challenges
Cons: hours
Learning about CAS
Caring for young Adults
Getting involved in the routines of the house
Working as part of a team
Logging daily reports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Data Control Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 17, 2013
It was an amazing opportunity and the atmosphere was good, the management team was brilliant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable environment to volunteer in
Tutor (Current Employee), Windsor, ONJanuary 14, 2013
I volunteer every Wednesday night, and tutor the same child each week. She typically brings in any homework she needs assistance with. If she does not provide the homework I have bought a math workbook for her to do while at the session. The hardest part is trying to get her to focus on tasks she considers boring. The most enjoyable part is seeing how – more... happy she gets when she understands something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Assistant Group Leader (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 15, 2014
Pros: there was a lot of peer mentoring.
Cons: temporary- summer
In this job, I was exposed to different types of supervisors, which enabled me to learn how to manage different styles of leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with but can become overwhelming in regards to hours
FFT Therapist (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 7, 2014
Pros: comp days, supervisor and co-workers
Cons: late hours, not very stable work schedule
The Children's Place is a great place to work at, the supervisors are flexible and allow space for supervision to be as beneficial as one needs it to be. A typical day at work during the school year is notes during the day and sessions at clients homes during the evenings. Sessions could be any where from 3 to 7pm. Hardest part of my job is knowing – more... to leave the work at home. It becomes difficult to not take work home but when work is not taken home feels like there isn't enough time in the day to finish it at work (more specifically notes). Most enjoyable part of the job is being able to use comp time instead of vacation and personal days and also co-workers and supervisor, who help makes strenuos days seem less tense and who are there to lend an ear when things get tough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good way to start
Assistant Facilitator (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 26, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
good working place for teens to start their own career and get into the job force
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
co worker (Former Employee), bronx new yorkJune 17, 2014
My typical would be that coming in at work at around 9 am wait for the children to have their breakfast.
After they had their breakfast we go upstairs to our classroom until it time for our activity.
Everyday we had different activity to do for the children
Example going to a museum ,amusement park etc.
The hardest part of the job for me was trying – more... to communicate with the children or get them to listen without being rude.
My coworkers were extremely friendly and cool to be around with , they were nice to the children and love the job.
The most enjoyable part of this job was traveling and visiting different places and learning with the children – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome learning experience for ppl interested in health care
JAM Peer Educator (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJune 13, 2014
Pros: awesome co-workers, flexible schedule and long breaks
Very fun and pleasant place to work. Great benefits and flexible schedule. Great internship opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
12th Resource Coordinator (Current Employee), Bronx NYMay 20, 2014
Pros: pay, students, work
Cons: gossiping teachers in the school, healthcare
The student environment assures that no day is the same as the last. With great opportunities to learn new information, meet new people and establish new connections, not to mention have a long lasting impact on the high school students served. Its a very supportive and inviting environment where conflict is minimized and supervisors are ready and able – more... to assist when needed. The most enjoyable part of the job are the students and seeing them grow and excel when provided and given the right opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace as well an environment that hepls young children excel in school
Afterschool Facilitator (Current Employee), P.S 5 Ellen Lurie SchoolMay 8, 2014
As a facilitator a typical day consists of working with the children to complete homework assignments. As well as preparing academic learning activities for the children. Working with children is something I am very passionate about. I also like to focus my attention on the children to seem to be struggling the most whether it be schoolwork or other – more... issues. No day is the same working with children which is the most enjoyable part to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool job
Junior Counselor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 7, 2014
Pros: free trips
fun every day
worked with cool kids
co workers was cool
pay wasn't bad when they decided to pay you
loved the staff
trips
retreats
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, intensive work
Social worker (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 3, 2014
a typical day involves long hours and you doing everything under the sun.
the children are the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no opportunity for advancement
Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 22, 2014
its hard helping children when everyone is miscommunicating. from management to staff to parents. alot of chaos, would be better with better managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Children's Aid Society clinic
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 13, 2014
Cons: pay
Smart knowledgeable coworkers with their patients' well-being truly in mind. Everything I know I learned at the Children's Aid Society. Working with foster families has its challenges, but the patients are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Peer Educator (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 10, 2014
this job prepared me for future jobs that will regard dealing with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun up lifting with room to grow
Stock clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: learning something new every day
Had a great time working with them. Even though I was only there for the summer I learned a lot of skills that are still being use today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very professional enviroment and supportive agency to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: i was very happy to work in a professional enviroment with a good team.
Updated database. Coordinated, collected and prepared operating reports, forms, logs and records.
Documented all HR actions by completing forms, reports, logs and records.
Assisted in creation of monthly reports to facilitate funding.
The work environment was very professional and healthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for children to learn social skills.
Academic Enrichment Facilitator (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 26, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of doing a lesson plan that I planned on teaching for the day and the following day. I learned about digging deeper and finding out where a certain problem stemmed from with each student nand working on that specifically. This allowed other areas to improve slowly. The hardest part of the job was the budget limitations – more... and lack of hours to do a lot of planning required.However the most enjoyable part is interacting with the kids and parents on a daily basis. I loved the job and due to reasons beyond my control I couldn't continue with the company. – less

1 2 3