Find companies:
Chevron
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
498 reviews

Chevron Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An outstanding co. to work for. Fast paced invironment.
Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Montebello, CAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great benifits. 401k, health care, vacatoion and holiday policies.
Cons: some of the management was not people oriented.
In the 50+ years I worked for Chevron, I never regretted having to "go to work". I was given the opportunity to have four different careers with the company. I worked as a service station attendant, then manager for six years. Then became a tank truck driver for fifteen more. When I expressed the desire to get off of the road I was offered a refinery – more... job, which developed into the operations assistant position I had when I retired. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with dishonest employees. The most enjoyable part of the job was the family like atmosphere, especially at company holiday functions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Danville, GAJuly 8, 2014
it was a great environment. i had to cook, clean, and stock. majority of the time i didnt have co-worker working with me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Night Shift Assistance Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 4, 2014
Pros: real easy job
Cons: night shift
Stand all day in the same position and manage a cash register.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many tasks to be responsible for
USPS-CPU, Clerk; UHaul, Sales Representative (Former Employee), Davie, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: a lot of responsibility and interaction with people
Cons: lack of expressed appreciation for all that i took responsibility
Arrive at work, balance cash drawer, verify store is in order (inventory, equipment, etc.), and maintain store throughout shift
-New inventory and business systems
-Co-workers were a delight to work with and I enjoyed there company while at work
-Management was fine, I just felt that they could have taken a little more responsibility to relieve some – more... of the pressure from the business owner
-I for the most part found the job to be easy enough and overall enjoyable
-Most enjoyable part of the job was the constant interaction with customers; regular and new – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience with gas station procedures
TCBY Manager/Cashier Duties (Former Employee), Laurel, MSJune 30, 2014
I loved this job and the people I worked for/with. It was a great learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Travel Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 30, 2014
Work day went pretty fast. 9/80 schedule. Good environment. Still currently working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very large company, but with almost a family atmosphere in the local offices.
Senior Geologist (Former Employee), Houston (5 yrs) & Venezuela (3 yrs)June 28, 2014
Pros: friendly environment, many options for future career.
I have to say that my eight years working with Chevron was a very positive experience. The company has a practice of taking care of their employees, and making sure that they have the career opportunities that they desire. One my most enjoyable parts of my job has been to work with younger, less experienced geologists and to show them concepts and techniques – more... that they might not have learned before. I would say that the hardest part of my work in the last three years was being seconded to the Venezuelan government oi company (PDVSA), where there was an extremely intense political environment in their management, and a certain amount of animosity for the north Americans. However, on a personal basis, the people were much more friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Pipeline Controller (Former Employee), Bellaire, TXJune 19, 2014
Chevron Pipeline - Poor work/ life balance. Was lied to during interviews on comp time, to find out it didn't exist in my department. Couldn't find relief for vacation, sick time, etc... Unethicval management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn around work!
Contract Assistant (Former Employee), Rodeo, CAJune 18, 2014
Pros: lots of quiet time to work.
Cons: cannot leave the refinery for lunch, the restaurants were too far.
I like the job I was assigned to do at Chevron. I have to go thru several different entities, before I received an interview, but the job environment was clean and safe. I would do this work again if asked and fairly compensated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Lease Operator (Former Employee), Aztec, NMJune 16, 2014
Pros: good company, benefits and training
Cons: the management was a bit jumpy and would jump to comclusions
Love the company and benefits and the training program is good too. Every now and the the management would be a bit pushy but that happens with every company you work for so it's really no big deal. The pay was great too! No real complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chevron Review
Cost Engineering Analyst (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAJune 16, 2014
Great company to work for. Really enjoyed the employees. Hardest part of the job is most employees are contractors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace helping the environment
Environmental Cleaning, Planting Volunteer (Current Employee), El Segundo, CAJune 16, 2014
Pros: sense of worth, cleane the environment, beautified the city, enriched the land
Working for the Chevron Corporation is fun. I enriched the land, beautified the city of El Segundo, and I cleaned the environment. Every year I plant trees to help the city and beautify it. I cleaned the El Segundo Beach so it will look cleaner and help the environment an animals in the ocean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chevron is an excellent company to work for.
Associate Specialist (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIJune 13, 2014
Pros: i had the opportunity to work for chevron, great company and great co workers
Cons: all good things must come to an end. i had a good run.
I would be in the office at 5:00 am. Gather my paper work and sort them out. Check the inventory of products in the Terminal and put them into a spreadsheet and send it over to the refinery to discuss the pipeline schedule for the Terminal. Go over the workers permits and put them into a spreadsheet. Check the bunker jobs and Barge or Ships movement – more... of products and keep track of this data. Check various operators tickets to ensure various procedures were being completed. Checking the board for any changes which may have occurred and what impact it may have on the work for the next day of work. I provided the tools and supplies for the operators so they could do their work in a safe and efficient manner I finished work at 4:30 pm.
I learned to be detail oriented, Looking ahead anticipating any problems which may pop up and take steps to avoid them.
I enjoyed working with the operators great bunch of guys. I am a team player and never forgot my roots as am operator.
The hardest part of my job was keeping track of all the deadlines of things which need to be attended to and adjusting to all the changes which affect our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an outstanding place to work.
Administrative/Clerical-Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Midland, TXJune 12, 2014
Pros: amazing work environment
Cons: the position i held while working with them was a contract position.
The people were extremely supportive, the company really do care about the well being of their employees, and there was never a negative experience working for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, organized, efficient, and fun workplace.
Policy, Government and Public Affairs (CSR) Intern (Former Employee), Brazil, RJJune 11, 2014
PGPA was a great team to work with to make a difference.
Great learning experience with CHPDP and Lean Six Sigma training.
Travel experience to visit the Social Investment projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good culture
Field Engineering Manager Assistant (Current Employee), Chongqing, ChinaJune 10, 2014
The company respects every employee no matter your title is high or low. Company culture is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-promoters. Non-team players.
Environmental Engineer (Former Employee), Orange, TXJune 9, 2014
Pros: good pay and bonuses
Cons: misrepresentations of their environmental complaince and work load, poor team work, sophomoric regulation/rule interpertations
In my opinion, based on 20 years of experience and two degress in the environmental field, their understanding of environmental compliance is severely lacking. I felt very uncomfortable working there because of their "different" method of rules and regualtion interpertation. And this is the only company I worked for that I felt that way. It's my opinion – more... that they were more interested in making themselves look enviornmentally compliant than really being environmentally compliant. The recent TCEQ audits of the Orange, Texas facility will support me on my "opinions". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grew up at Chevron
Project Team Leader (Former Employee), San Ramon, CAJune 9, 2014
Pros: good people, advancement opportunity, built character
Cons: the way chevron is structured decisions had to go up to be approve
Working at Chevron from 1977-2010. Filing, CAD Design Drafting, IT help desk analyst, IT Team Leader for help desk and desktop support. Account Manager, Project manager. back to IT team leader for Chevron Oronite. Business Solutions Consultant working with various teams to complete a large SAP rewnal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ALL about Safety
Senior Communications Analyst (Current Employee), San Ramon, CAJune 8, 2014
Pros: work life balance, ergo safety, good management
Cons: lack of remote access options
I love working for Chevron. The safety culture there is the epicenter of the company. I truly feel that they care about ME. They care about my physical safety, my ergo safety, my health, my sanity and my family. Safety literally revolves around everything that we do at Chevron and I wouldn't have it any other way. Furthermore, the management cares about – more... you and career, and good work is rewarded. Chevron is absolutely a GREAT place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relocating
Snr Planning Engineer / Project Planner (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 3, 2014
Currently based in the US, however i am looking for a position where i can return to Cork / surrounding area to live with my family. For reasons outside of my control, my current position will be cancelled before my family had chance to relocate. now looking to settle in the Cork area.

About Chevron

Chevron is one of the world's leading energy companies, with approximately 60,000 employees working in countries around the world. – Read more