Find companies:
Chartwells
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
172 reviews

Chartwells Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Aurora, ILFebruary 6, 2014
chartwells is a great company to work for, everyone is hard working, responsible, stays on top of there guidelines and safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with fantastic co-workers
Guest Services (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLFebruary 5, 2014
Every day I would interact with college students about their classes, their lives, and interest. It was enjoyable and educational. I learned a lot about different cultures. The managers at Chartwells were awesome as were my coworkers. Although this was a dining hall that could get very busy and frantic you would always see a smile on the mangers, coworkers, – more... and patrons face. I don't think anything about this job was hard. The overall most enjoyable part of this job was the interactions I had with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team but unfortuantely not the best management
Office Assistant and Catering Manager (Current Employee), Gresham, ORFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no breaks, terrible healthcare and due to it being at a college, i only work 9-10 months out of the year
My co-workers are outstanding and a great team. Unfortunately, our Director is plagued with medical issues and is rarely there. I love what I do and its always busy and its never monotonous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice experience
Caterer (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch, meeting new people
Cons: short breaks
I loved working at Chartwells because of the interaction with people. A typical day at work includes setting up a dining room with the proper colors and utensils for eating and then await the guest to arrive and then serve them there food and drinks. I learned excellent customer service skills while working at Chartwells. I learned how to talk to customers – more... and make them feel comfortable. The hardest part of the job was actually being on your feet for more than 8 hours at a time non-stop. The most enjoyable part was being able to meet new people from different backgrounds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun challenging and teamwork
Team leader - food prep, serving, bartending (Current Employee), Rolla, MOJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: good work environment, flexible for time off the perfect hours
Cons: not quite enough hours in the week
I was busy from clock-in to clock-out. i learned all kids of new ways to cook food. My co-workers were fun and we all worked well together to get the job done. Management was fair and kept things going got what we needed for the day. i loved my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice, professional place to work.
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: professionalism, employee benefits, advancement opportunities
Cons: pay was only a little more than minimum wage
As a prep cook being employed through Chartwells I was in charge of morning or nightly food and beverage preparation. I learned proper food procedures and received training with ServeSafe. I aided in customer and employee complaint resolutions. Management was great. They cared for my well-being and acknowledgements were made when my job was preformed – more... to the best of my ability. I worked well with my co-workers and we worked great as a team. The hardest part of the job was handling difficult customers. Every other aspect of the job was enjoyable. The best job I have ever withheld. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and co-workers
Chartwells Various Positions (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches, unlimited fountain drinks, enjoyable work environment
Cons: expensive benefits, lack of job security
Chartwells was a great place to work, besides being laid off. The management was helpful competent and friendly. My co-workers were hardworking and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here ... was fun but at times was serious
Breakfast chef/ supervisor (Former Employee), Poole, ENGJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch provided but only on certain items
Cons: low pay
Loved this job...loved working in a team or just on my own ... learnt a few basic computer skills too
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working there
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee), Neptune City, NJDecember 31, 2013
Pros: 2009-2011
Cons: 2012-2013
co-workers were great to work with,it was a good work enivorment until new management took over then the work place became tense and hostile and very unfriendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salad bar prep
Food service worker (Former Employee), Richardson, TXDecember 26, 2013
Pros: free lunches, get breaks
Cons: pay
gave a good work schedule.came to work at 6:00 am and got of at 2:30 and work M-F
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with a wide range of advancement.
Sous Chef/ Retail Manager (Former Employee), Belmont, NCDecember 6, 2013
Pros: great exposure in the food service arena
my day consist of leading a great group of people in providing a consistant standard of customer service our guest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times, being around the college students is great.
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Spring Arbor, MINovember 23, 2013
My coworkers make the days go by fast and fulfilling. Meeting and engaging new people everyday made my job very fun and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pro Window and house cleaning
Driver, Food preparations (Former Employee), Wyoming, MINovember 20, 2013
Profecional Cleaning of windows and House siding. Excellent people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Supervisor (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 18, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: stress
Alot of work. You have to keep a smile on your face at all time. Must make the customer happy. Customer is always right no matter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Charwells
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 29, 2013
Pros: free breakfest and lunch
Cons: working for a short amount of time because its a job i have at a university i go to, so 2 hours of work.
Some times work can be really busy a lot of dishes to do, its the rush hour, Some people can be real nasty at work, Taking out the trash can be real messy it can be a heavy load to take out in the trash machine., Some of the people at my job are really nice people to work with and the management is very good, The thing I enjoy most about this job is – more... getting free food and getting paid every 2 weeks, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing lunches for the Students and Staff at Ridgefield Schools
Food Service Specialist (Former Employee), Ridgefield, WAOctober 23, 2013
Enjoyed my co workers, the job itself was great I enjoyed serving the students and staff thru out the Ridgefield School District.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Server (Current Employee), holmdelOctober 21, 2013
taking care of the children and making sure each child receives a lunch
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not alot of support or proper training
Unit Manager (Former Employee), Heathfield, ENGOctober 17, 2013
Pros: free lunches and working with thw children
Cons: not alot of support
I loved getting to know the children and seeing them start in reception year until they left in year6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational
Grill Person (Former Employee), Rolla, MOOctober 16, 2013
You get to meet a lot of new people and learn about nutrition in the process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do with a diverse group of people
Supervisor of Dining Services (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 7, 2013
I have learned to work with many different types of people, this is the most enjoyable but challenging part of my job. We are a food service company but I have learned much more about managing a huge account. With over 100 employees that I may have to supervise I have learned to multi-task and prioritize the needs of the customers and employees.

About Chartwells

Keeping employees fed and clothed is one mark of this company. ARAMARK is the world's #3 contract foodservice provider (behind – Read more

Chartwells Photos