Find companies:
Chartwells
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
176 reviews

Chartwells Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Culinary Work Study (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 10, 2014
Pros: free lunches, scheduled breaks, and flexible hours.
Cons: being a work study worker you couldn't go over 10 hours a week. would have loved to work more hours.
I would help the employees and Interns prepare food for the students at Johnson & Wales University at Charlotte, NC. I would be moved around from the gluten free, menu-tainment, pizza, and hot stations. I learned a lot from fellow peers and class mates. I learned several techniques that can be used in the kitchen. I also gained more experience with – more... handling time more wisely. The management team were very professional and friendly. They cared about their employees and made sure they knew that they cared everyday. My co-workers were also very friendly but professional. A lot of the employees I worked with were fellow peers and class mates. The hardest thing about my job was having to be prepared to cook for 600+ students. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be the hardest part of this job. I enjoy cooking for large crowds. It may be a challenge but just knowing the students were satisfied is an explainable feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work
Grill Cook (Current Employee), Pocatello, IDJune 7, 2014
Pros: great socializing experience. awesome people to be around
Cons: off when students are off (christmas, summerbreak)
Its a really fun place to work. Love my co workers, though some are quite lost but still awesome people. Love the management love my boss, such a great person.

The hardest part of the job is not knowing how many people will be at your station. But its not completely overwhelming.
The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be the socializing experience – more... of it all. you get to socialize and get to know students while cooking for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to learn how to become a manager
MANAGER (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIJune 5, 2014
• Train new employees in food safety practices
• Responsible for opening and closing the dining hall
• Reconcile funds daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Structured and Driven company
Chef Manager (Current Employee), Panama City, FLJune 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches, training opportunities
Cons: upward mobility takes longer than most companies
This company allows flexibility and advancement within your field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Line Cook (Former Employee), York, PAMay 27, 2014
Good work environment, coworkers fun to work with, leanred everything theres to know about cooking/preaparing food
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with plenty of radicals day to day.
Food Service Manager (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMay 27, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no life
Great company but advancement opportunities aren't what you may think. Every job has pros and cons and this company has more pros than cons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Chef/Retail Supervisor (Current Employee), Belmont, NCMay 22, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: benefits leave a lot to be desired
My job was is great. The nature of what I do is a problem. I work at a college that shuts down 2-3 times a year because of school breaks That's the hardest aspect of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmoshere
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 20, 2014
Cool Job and fun working on campus of IUPUI. It is relaxed and cool and many opportunities to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Great Experience
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee), Malone, NYMay 20, 2014
Pros: great work environment. great pay.
Cons: early mornings, 40 minute commute
A typical day consisted of preparing the salad bar for a high school cafeteria. I also served lunch, broke down the salad bar. Did daily inventory and record keeping. Cleaning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A+ for single parents
Cashier/Cook/Server (Current Employee), Royal Oak, MIMay 15, 2014
Pros: times offered
The job is ideal for parents with children. it comes easy for me because I have done this line of work for quite a long time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My worst job.
Barista (Former Employee), Rochester, MIMay 4, 2014
Pros: employees start at a decent rate for their past experience
Cons: literally everything else about the company
Out of all the food service jobs I've had this is by far the absolute worst. I worked as a barista at one of the coffee shops on my college campus and I was not happy at all. I thought it would be great since they offered me a lot more money (per hour) than I'm used to. The hours were awful and upper management did not care AT ALL that I was a full-time – more... student trying to finish college in 4 years. Work came first in their minds, not education. You also do not "call off" or "go home sick" at Chartwells. My co-worker got a really bad acid burn while cleaning one of the espresso machines one morning, and management told him to finish his shift THEN go to the hospital... He had 6 hours left to work. And if you try to call them and say "I'm really sick." they tell you "Thanks for letting us know, we'll have some Halls cough drops ready and we'll see you at 3 for your shift!" And unless you are being ordered to appear in court, you do not get ANY of the days off that you request. They don't start with a basic base pay, when they review your resume they give you whatever number they think of, so no one (even at entry-level) makes a certain amount, and though they say you are eligible for a raise, doesn't mean you'll get one. In fact, don't even count on it. The same coworker who experienced the acid burn worked with Chartwells for 6 years, and in January 2014 got a raise that FINALLY put them over $8.50, when I was hired in at $8.29 in August 2013. Pay and promotions are not fair, or not given at all. They also don't quality check any of their food, the back rooms of stock are disorganized and half the time they waste product because they don't rotate or stick to any "first in, first out" policy, or a customer ends up getting expired cream cheese on their bagel. I wouldn't wish this type of employment on my worst enemy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying customer service
Lead Cashier (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: not full-time
Enjoyed going to work, food handling procedures, management team need improvement, team player co-worker, items not deliver on time, communication with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student.
Cashier (Current Employee), Pomona, NYApril 24, 2014
Very understanding with students and their schedules. Will work with you at any expenses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chartwells Review
Food Preparation Associate (Current Employee), Fitchburg, MAApril 21, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no raises
I worked at Chartwells for about 3 years, I would work nights after attending my classes during the day to finish up my degree in Business Management. The working environment was overall great, each Manager and Supervisor really made an effort to create a connection with all of the employees. The hardest part of the job was the expectancy to become – more... a dynamic employee with skills in various food operating areas. For example, I would work at a Chartwell's owed Subway one day, then work at a burger spot (BYOB), then the next day I would be making pizza's. You really have to develop a skill at various food stations. Something that was hard at first but I am thankfully I was challenged in order to master multiple operations. Only issue with Chartwells, they do not provide any raises in hourly wages for part time employees. I was getting paid the same amount as the person I was training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexability
School Cafeteria Associate (Former Employee), Chapel Hill, NCApril 5, 2014
Pros: flexibility and variety of responsibilities
Cons: chaotic
Great manager. Extremely faced paced environment many times chaotic. Need to think on your feet and do with what you have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Service, Institutional
Cafeteria Manager (Former Employee), South Kingstown, RIMarch 31, 2014
Pros: summers, vacations, nights, weekends off
Cons: not enough $
A fun place to learn and work. Pleasant atmosphere and co workers, Strong leadership. A thoroughly enjoyable job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Catering Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 26, 2014
I have enjoyed working at Chartwells and learning many jobs here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work place full of high enegy
sales associate (Current Employee), boca raton flMarch 25, 2014
Pros: fast paced environment
Cons: needs more top performers
I learned to have a since of urgency and give the best customer service I could this also could boost sales and to have a good eye for small details
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized company
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 24, 2014
I drove to different schools helping each manager get what they needed for serving times during the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding work for long hours with low payment
Food Service Worker and Cashier (Current Employee), WorcesterMarch 22, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: short break, low payment
Good co-workers, Long hours of work with limited breaks and low payment

About Chartwells

Keeping employees fed and clothed is one mark of this company. ARAMARK is the world's #3 contract foodservice provider (behind – Read more

Chartwells Photos