Find companies:
Chartwells
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
183 reviews

Chartwells Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Workplace Attitude and Lazy Management
Grill Cook (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 14, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: poor management
Management relentlessly picks on employees when they have no other tasks they need to attend to. The atmosphere while fast paced, is negative with many employees constantly fighting, arguing, and swearing at each other. I would not recommend working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Assistant Cashier and Cook (Former Employee), Quincy, ILJuly 9, 2014
 Selected for the role of Student Supervisor
 Supervise up to 6 workers per shift
 Oversee cash register purchases, meal preparation, and restock of supplies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the interaction with co-workers and students
Morning Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Wayne, NEJuly 8, 2014
No two days are the same. My coworkers and I work very hard to make sure that everything is ready for the students at meal times. We are able to self manage ourselves with little imput from from manement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment very friendly people.
Dietary Aide (Current Employee), Anderson, INJuly 2, 2014
My day begans around 9 a.m when I begin to prepare my work area for the day. I start with seeing what items I will need to perform my job for that day. I then begin to prepare those items & get ready for open. During the day I keep all items stocked and ready for the next shift to come in. My favorite part of the day is in the morning when im preparing – more... for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catering and more
Cashier, Waiter, Utility Worker and Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch, stress free work environment
Working for Chartwells was very enjoyable, there was absolutely no dull moments. As a student, the managers were very understanding and worked with me in planning my work schedule. My coworkers were friendly and close. We worked as a unit to complete every task and maintain the high standards of Chartwells dining and catering. A typical day include – more... event set-up as well as break-down, food prepping and presentation, utility maintenance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was getting moved around alot from building to building
Lunch Aid and Kitchen Staff (Former Employee), Brownstown, MIJune 21, 2014
Pros: free lunch, working with the students
Cons: little money for work done
I like the people I worked with & liked the managers. I was getting moved around from building to building as the janitors were getting privatized and were bumping into kitchen positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun working there. Makes me change my environment from studies and helps me regain energy.
Food Service Staff (Part Time, Salaried) (Current Employee), Missouri, MoJune 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: just a thirty minute break when we work for more than 5 hours
Work there at Chartwells is good. Sometimes its hectic. But I still find it good. Working there has taught me how to balance things in life and taught how to sort things with priorty. The hardest part of the job is when there are lots of events during the same time. But the most enjoyable part is it is fun working around with so many people and learning – more... new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Culinary Work Study (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 10, 2014
Pros: free lunches, scheduled breaks, and flexible hours.
Cons: being a work study worker you couldn't go over 10 hours a week. would have loved to work more hours.
I would help the employees and Interns prepare food for the students at Johnson & Wales University at Charlotte, NC. I would be moved around from the gluten free, menu-tainment, pizza, and hot stations. I learned a lot from fellow peers and class mates. I learned several techniques that can be used in the kitchen. I also gained more experience with – more... handling time more wisely. The management team were very professional and friendly. They cared about their employees and made sure they knew that they cared everyday. My co-workers were also very friendly but professional. A lot of the employees I worked with were fellow peers and class mates. The hardest thing about my job was having to be prepared to cook for 600+ students. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be the hardest part of this job. I enjoy cooking for large crowds. It may be a challenge but just knowing the students were satisfied is an explainable feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work
Grill Cook (Current Employee), Pocatello, IDJune 7, 2014
Pros: great socializing experience. awesome people to be around
Cons: off when students are off (christmas, summerbreak)
Its a really fun place to work. Love my co workers, though some are quite lost but still awesome people. Love the management love my boss, such a great person.

The hardest part of the job is not knowing how many people will be at your station. But its not completely overwhelming.
The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be the socializing experience – more... of it all. you get to socialize and get to know students while cooking for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to learn how to become a manager
MANAGER (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIJune 5, 2014
• Train new employees in food safety practices
• Responsible for opening and closing the dining hall
• Reconcile funds daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Structured and Driven company
Chef Manager (Current Employee), Panama City, FLJune 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches, training opportunities
Cons: upward mobility takes longer than most companies
This company allows flexibility and advancement within your field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Line Cook (Former Employee), York, PAMay 27, 2014
Good work environment, coworkers fun to work with, leanred everything theres to know about cooking/preaparing food
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with plenty of radicals day to day.
Food Service Manager (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMay 27, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no life
Great company but advancement opportunities aren't what you may think. Every job has pros and cons and this company has more pros than cons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Chef/Retail Supervisor (Current Employee), Belmont, NCMay 22, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: benefits leave a lot to be desired
My job was is great. The nature of what I do is a problem. I work at a college that shuts down 2-3 times a year because of school breaks That's the hardest aspect of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmoshere
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 20, 2014
Cool Job and fun working on campus of IUPUI. It is relaxed and cool and many opportunities to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Great Experience
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee), Malone, NYMay 20, 2014
Pros: great work environment. great pay.
Cons: early mornings, 40 minute commute
A typical day consisted of preparing the salad bar for a high school cafeteria. I also served lunch, broke down the salad bar. Did daily inventory and record keeping. Cleaning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A+ for single parents
Cashier/Cook/Server (Current Employee), Royal Oak, MIMay 15, 2014
Pros: times offered
The job is ideal for parents with children. it comes easy for me because I have done this line of work for quite a long time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My worst job.
Barista (Former Employee), Rochester, MIMay 4, 2014
Pros: employees start at a decent rate for their past experience
Cons: literally everything else about the company
Out of all the food service jobs I've had this is by far the absolute worst. I worked as a barista at one of the coffee shops on my college campus and I was not happy at all. I thought it would be great since they offered me a lot more money (per hour) than I'm used to. The hours were awful and upper management did not care AT ALL that I was a full-time – more... student trying to finish college in 4 years. Work came first in their minds, not education. You also do not "call off" or "go home sick" at Chartwells. My co-worker got a really bad acid burn while cleaning one of the espresso machines one morning, and management told him to finish his shift THEN go to the hospital... He had 6 hours left to work. And if you try to call them and say "I'm really sick." they tell you "Thanks for letting us know, we'll have some Halls cough drops ready and we'll see you at 3 for your shift!" And unless you are being ordered to appear in court, you do not get ANY of the days off that you request. They don't start with a basic base pay, when they review your resume they give you whatever number they think of, so no one (even at entry-level) makes a certain amount, and though they say you are eligible for a raise, doesn't mean you'll get one. In fact, don't even count on it. The same coworker who experienced the acid burn worked with Chartwells for 6 years, and in January 2014 got a raise that FINALLY put them over $8.50, when I was hired in at $8.29 in August 2013. Pay and promotions are not fair, or not given at all. They also don't quality check any of their food, the back rooms of stock are disorganized and half the time they waste product because they don't rotate or stick to any "first in, first out" policy, or a customer ends up getting expired cream cheese on their bagel. I wouldn't wish this type of employment on my worst enemy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying customer service
Lead Cashier (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: not full-time
Enjoyed going to work, food handling procedures, management team need improvement, team player co-worker, items not deliver on time, communication with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student.
Cashier (Current Employee), Pomona, NYApril 24, 2014
Very understanding with students and their schedules. Will work with you at any expenses.

About Chartwells

Keeping employees fed and clothed is one mark of this company. ARAMARK is the world's #3 contract foodservice provider (behind – Read more

Chartwells Photos