Chartwells Employee Reviews

Found 32 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People and Good Times
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Wolfville, NS4 April 2015
In the six years that I worked for Chartwells I made a lot of friendships with my fellow co-workers as well as with the management staff. I learned a lot about the production of food for great numbers and I also learned a lot about dealing with people.
Pros
Cheap Meals while working
Cons
No advancement or pay-raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment and team work.
Banquet server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 April 2015
- Fast pace enviroment, a lot of team work, and all this to provide a great service to customers.

- Organize my day depends of on the drops and event

- Manage my time

- Develope my comunication skills
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Work shift depends on demand
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work, and full benefits!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 November 2014
Great People. Great place to work. & the college students really add to the atmosphere in a positive way!
Loved working for chartwells.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
small work area
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing a multi unit operation
Food Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Oakville, Ontario25 September 2014
A typical day for me would include the following:
- QA compliance in all of the operations.
- Prepare a pre service meeting for the associates that entails QA, Health and Safety and a review of sales vs last year.
- Check Merchandising in all of the operations to ensure we are fresh, well stocked and prepared for business.
- Prepare menus and pricing for the day and execution of any promotions.
- Prepare action plans for brand audits and execute them.
- Deal with any HR issues.
- Prepare schedules that meet our productivity targets.
- Process payroll.
- Ordering of product.
- Managing inventory controls and counts.


I love playing a significant role in the development and growth of associates.

I hate having to lay people off at the end of the school year.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Always having to recruit large number of staff after summer closure
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS10 September 2014
I loved working at Chartwells. The people I worked with there were very nice & helpful if I ever did need help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging, Interactiving and Enlightening
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2014
Working as a employment counselor was an engaging, interactive and englightening experience. Providing coaching, mentoring and counseling skills to individuals for them to reach their full career potential was a privilege.
Pros
Mentoring
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced environment
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON27 February 2014
Very busy and fast paced environment, great people to work with.
Pros
lunches are delicious
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 November 2013
It is okay place to work and gain experience. Serving student residence. Always busy during school year and dead at summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work work work dont get payed
incharge of catering (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON7 August 2013
i know this is a big company but the part i worked for i put in a lot of hours and never got payed for them all. I worked constantly and barely got to a take my breaks. I worked long sifts sometimes 14 hours and they would still complane that i was not working hard enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, interesting and friendky place in where we can exploring knowledge from different cultures.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Universty of Calgary22 March 2013
I did coffee maker, sandwiches maker and cashier in the store.
I improved conmmunication , time orgnization skills. And also i team worked with members effeiciently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great people and values
Catering Associate (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS1 December 2012
I truly enjoy working at Chartwells at Mount Saint Vincent University.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

See more Chartwells reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chartwells. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 482 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4