Find companies:
Chartwells
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
148 reviews

Chartwells Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay.
Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 21, 2013
It is okay place to work and gain experience. Serving student residence. Always busy during school year and dead at summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work work work dont get payed
incharge of catering (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONAugust 7, 2013
i know this is a big company but the part i worked for i put in a lot of hours and never got payed for them all. I worked constantly and barely got to a take my breaks. I worked long sifts sometimes 14 hours and they would still complane that i was not working hard enough
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, interesting and friendky place in where we can exploring knowledge from different cultures.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Universty of CalgaryMarch 22, 2013
I did coffee maker, sandwiches maker and cashier in the store.
I improved conmmunication , time orgnization skills. And also i team worked with members effeiciently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great people and values
Catering Associate (Current Employee), Halifax, NSDecember 1, 2012
I truly enjoy working at Chartwells at Mount Saint Vincent University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chartwells Review
Food Preparation Associate (Current Employee), Fitchburg, MAApril 21, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no raises
I worked at Chartwells for about 3 years, I would work nights after attending my classes during the day to finish up my degree in Business Management. The working environment was overall great, each Manager and Supervisor really made an effort to create a connection with all of the employees. The hardest part of the job was the expectancy to become – more... a dynamic employee with skills in various food operating areas. For example, I would work at a Chartwell's owed Subway one day, then work at a burger spot (BYOB), then the next day I would be making pizza's. You really have to develop a skill at various food stations. Something that was hard at first but I am thankfully I was challenged in order to master multiple operations. Only issue with Chartwells, they do not provide any raises in hourly wages for part time employees. I was getting paid the same amount as the person I was training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexability
School Cafeteria Associate (Former Employee), Chapel Hill, NCApril 5, 2014
Pros: flexibility and variety of responsibilities
Cons: chaotic
Great manager. Extremely faced paced environment many times chaotic. Need to think on your feet and do with what you have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Service, Institutional
Cafeteria Manager (Former Employee), South Kingstown, RIMarch 31, 2014
Pros: summers, vacations, nights, weekends off
Cons: not enough $
A fun place to learn and work. Pleasant atmosphere and co workers, Strong leadership. A thoroughly enjoyable job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Catering Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 26, 2014
I have enjoyed working at Chartwells and learning many jobs here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work place full of high enegy
sales associate (Current Employee), boca raton flMarch 25, 2014
Pros: fast paced environment
Cons: needs more top performers
I learned to have a since of urgency and give the best customer service I could this also could boost sales and to have a good eye for small details
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized company
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 24, 2014
I drove to different schools helping each manager get what they needed for serving times during the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding work for long hours with low payment
Food Service Worker and Cashier (Current Employee), WorcesterMarch 22, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: short break, low payment
Good co-workers, Long hours of work with limited breaks and low payment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Food Service Worker (Current Employee), Willingboro, NJMarch 13, 2014
You have a set routine. Its a pretty easy job and very flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and always somthing to do.
Cashier (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: great coworkers and managers.
Cons: not enough hours
I think over all this was a great place to work great co workers and managers always can go to work and enjoy it very fast pace and always busy. i think the hardest part about this job was the end of the shift, because it would be so busy in the day we really never get around to cleaning the store to the poin we got to take a breath it was closeing – more... time so that was work on top of work. but i feel it was also a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dishes
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 24, 2014
cleaned pots and pans took out trash mopped floors took apart the dishwasher to sanitize it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for!!
Director of Operations (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great pay and outstanding people
Excellent Company!!

Great Benefits

Great Compensation Package

Great People
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Family Oriented, Event Setting Up, Serving Food, Cleanin Up
North Florida-Server (Current Employee), Jacksonville,FLFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: free dinner.
Cons: short breaks
a typical day at work is we arrive about two hours before a event to set up rooms, get the food prep and ready to serve, we set up the room top to bottom, serve food, and clean at the end of the event.

what I learn is how to set up rooms, how to serve people, making sure the customer is happy

managment is the best they are always there for you and – more... they are very flexible and understanding

coworkers are more like family then cowokers

hardest part of my job is when a event get out of control

the most enjoyable part of my job is the end of a event – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Aurora, ILFebruary 6, 2014
chartwells is a great company to work for, everyone is hard working, responsible, stays on top of there guidelines and safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with fantastic co-workers
Guest Services (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLFebruary 5, 2014
Every day I would interact with college students about their classes, their lives, and interest. It was enjoyable and educational. I learned a lot about different cultures. The managers at Chartwells were awesome as were my coworkers. Although this was a dining hall that could get very busy and frantic you would always see a smile on the mangers, coworkers, – more... and patrons face. I don't think anything about this job was hard. The overall most enjoyable part of this job was the interactions I had with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team but unfortuantely not the best management
Office Assistant and Catering Manager (Current Employee), Gresham, ORFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no breaks, terrible healthcare and due to it being at a college, i only work 9-10 months out of the year
My co-workers are outstanding and a great team. Unfortunately, our Director is plagued with medical issues and is rarely there. I love what I do and its always busy and its never monotonous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice experience
Caterer (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch, meeting new people
Cons: short breaks
I loved working at Chartwells because of the interaction with people. A typical day at work includes setting up a dining room with the proper colors and utensils for eating and then await the guest to arrive and then serve them there food and drinks. I learned excellent customer service skills while working at Chartwells. I learned how to talk to customers – more... and make them feel comfortable. The hardest part of the job was actually being on your feet for more than 8 hours at a time non-stop. The most enjoyable part was being able to meet new people from different backgrounds. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Chartwells

Keeping employees fed and clothed is one mark of this company. ARAMARK is the world's #3 contract foodservice provider (behind – Read more

Chartwells Photos