Chartwells Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Shipper / Receiver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJuly 14, 2016
A typical day at work for me would be to give the stores like Tim Hortons their goods and then i would move on to the next store until i finish all the stores and then i would put away any orders that have come in.
I learned that no matter what goes wrong all you have to do is just forget about being upset and try to do your work and solve the problem.
The hardest part of my job is that i am by myself and i have to put away all the skids of food goods and paper goods for every store that comes in.
The enjoyable part of my job is when i finally finish and get my break and laugh and joke with my co-workers at my break, it makes me feel better when i go back to work.
The management is O.K i really can't say anything else about them.
Pros
free food
Cons
No help for me
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, quick learning environment.
COOK (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 10, 2016
A typical day at work involves preparing meals for 400+ students, preparing orders for catering events and serving students.
I have learned to work fast, effectively while keeping a close attentions to detail and presentation.
The hardest part about this job is the long hours and limited amount of staff.
The most enjoyable part of this job is seeing the students and watching them get excited over the food prepared.
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Jr Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Olds, ABJune 2, 2016
Work starts at 10 , start prep for lunch at 11, then after start prep for dinner at 5.
At this job I did not expand my knowledge at all.
Management is very visible to the workers and to the client.
My co-workers in my opinion are lacking the skills needed to make the work place a success.
The hardest part of my job is having to deal with the lack of fresh ingredients for our menu.
Most enjoyable part is having the conection with the client about the food that we are making that day and the deas that get passed back and forth.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ONAugust 12, 2016
Work was long but it's great. I learned how to do cash, clean up, make drinks and sandwiches. The management was great. I worked by myself so I didn't really talk that much to co-workers. The hardest part of the job was making it there on time after school and trying to catch the bus after work. The most enjoyable part of the job is lunch and the customers, they are nice to talk to.
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible work place
Cashier/customer Assistance (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKMay 16, 2016
I enjoyed Working at Chartwels because it was flexible between working and at the same time taking classes. During the winter period, it was really nice because I can be studying at the university while also waiting for my schedule while the staffs are also awesome people to work with.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Not much Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Cashier/Customer service (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 4, 2016
Management is lacking, and just an overall horrible experience. I've done 8 hour shifts without any breaks because the manager didn't want to come and help when four employees called in sick the same day, you get zero recognition.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elementary School
Cook (Former Employee) –  Clarenville, NLJune 27, 2016
Everyday preparing meals from menu for 700 kids. Time management played a big factor. I enjoyed cooking meals and making the kids happy.
Pros
My Daughters School
Cons
only part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People and Good Times
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Wolfville, NSApril 4, 2015
In the six years that I worked for Chartwells I made a lot of friendships with my fellow co-workers as well as with the management staff. I learned a lot about the production of food for great numbers and I also learned a lot about dealing with people.
Pros
Cheap Meals while working
Cons
No advancement or pay-raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
FOOD SERVICE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, OnJuly 24, 2015
I worked with Chartwells in various positions for four years and I enjoyed the customer service and the people I worked with above all else.I had great relatioships with all my managers as well but the pay and the chance of further advancement was an issue for me.
Pros
Staff, customers. flexible work hours
Cons
low pay, no advancement oppurtunities
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing a multi unit operation
Food Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Oakville, OntarioSeptember 25, 2014
A typical day for me would include the following:
- QA compliance in all of the operations.
- Prepare a pre service meeting for the associates that entails QA, Health and Safety and a review of sales vs last year.
- Check Merchandising in all of the operations to ensure we are fresh, well stocked and prepared for business.
- Prepare menus and pricing for the day and execution of any promotions.
- Prepare action plans for brand audits and execute them.
- Deal with any HR issues.
- Prepare schedules that meet our productivity targets.
- Process payroll.
- Ordering of product.
- Managing inventory controls and counts.

I love playing a significant role in the development and growth of associates.

I hate having to lay people off at the end of the school year.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
always having to recruit large number of staff after summer closure
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked well around school hours
General Staff (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJuly 16, 2015
this job worked well around school hours and made me want to pursue my schooling as well as find a new job. its a face paced environment which made the shifts go by fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging, Interactiving and Enlightening
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 5, 2014
Working as a employment counselor was an engaging, interactive and englightening experience. Providing coaching, mentoring and counseling skills to individuals for them to reach their full career potential was a privilege.
Pros
mentoring
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment and team work.
Banquet server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 1, 2015
- Fast pace enviroment, a lot of team work, and all this to provide a great service to customers.

- Organize my day depends of on the drops and event

- Manage my time

- Develope my comunication skills
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Work shift depends on demand
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work work work dont get payed
incharge of catering (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ONAugust 7, 2013
i know this is a big company but the part i worked for i put in a lot of hours and never got payed for them all. I worked constantly and barely got to a take my breaks. I worked long sifts sometimes 14 hours and they would still complane that i was not working hard enough
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work, and full benefits!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ONNovember 10, 2014
Great People. Great place to work. & the college students really add to the atmosphere in a positive way!
Loved working for chartwells.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
small work area
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, interesting and friendky place in where we can exploring knowledge from different cultures.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Universty of CalgaryMarch 22, 2013
I did coffee maker, sandwiches maker and cashier in the store.
I improved conmmunication , time orgnization skills. And also i team worked with members effeiciently.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSSeptember 10, 2014
I loved working at Chartwells. The people I worked with there were very nice & helpful if I ever did need help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 21, 2013
It is okay place to work and gain experience. Serving student residence. Always busy during school year and dead at summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced environment
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Welland, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Very busy and fast paced environment, great people to work with.
Pros
lunches are delicious
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great people and values
Catering Associate (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSDecember 1, 2012
I truly enjoy working at Chartwells at Mount Saint Vincent University.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

See more Chartwells reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 347 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4