Find companies:
Chartwells
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
187 reviews

Chartwells Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing a multi unit operation
Food Services Manager (Current Employee), Oakville, OntarioSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: always having to recruit large number of staff after summer closure
A typical day for me would include the following:
- QA compliance in all of the operations.
- Prepare a pre service meeting for the associates that entails QA, Health and Safety and a review of sales vs last year.
- Check Merchandising in all of the operations to ensure we are fresh, well stocked and prepared for business.
- Prepare menus and pricing – more... for the day and execution of any promotions.
- Prepare action plans for brand audits and execute them.
- Deal with any HR issues.
- Prepare schedules that meet our productivity targets.
- Process payroll.
- Ordering of product.
- Managing inventory controls and counts.

I love playing a significant role in the development and growth of associates.

I hate having to lay people off at the end of the school year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Sydney, NSSeptember 10, 2014
I loved working at Chartwells. The people I worked with there were very nice & helpful if I ever did need help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging, Interactiving and Enlightening
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 5, 2014
Pros: mentoring
Cons: long hrs
Working as a employment counselor was an engaging, interactive and englightening experience. Providing coaching, mentoring and counseling skills to individuals for them to reach their full career potential was a privilege.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced environment
Office Manager (Current Employee), Welland, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: lunches are delicious
Very busy and fast paced environment, great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay.
Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 21, 2013
It is okay place to work and gain experience. Serving student residence. Always busy during school year and dead at summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work work work dont get payed
incharge of catering (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONAugust 7, 2013
i know this is a big company but the part i worked for i put in a lot of hours and never got payed for them all. I worked constantly and barely got to a take my breaks. I worked long sifts sometimes 14 hours and they would still complane that i was not working hard enough
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, interesting and friendky place in where we can exploring knowledge from different cultures.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Universty of CalgaryMarch 22, 2013
I did coffee maker, sandwiches maker and cashier in the store.
I improved conmmunication , time orgnization skills. And also i team worked with members effeiciently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great people and values
Catering Associate (Current Employee), Halifax, NSDecember 1, 2012
I truly enjoy working at Chartwells at Mount Saint Vincent University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee), College Station, TXNovember 5, 2014
fast paced, large university setting, holidays off
room for advancement
work with many different pp, enjoyed working with student worker

co-workers are the best part of the job
some management can be difficult
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK experience
stock (Former Employee), indianapolsNovember 4, 2014
Daniel Foy
3866 breen dr
indianapolis, IN 46235

______________________________
EXPERIENCE

3/2013 - 6/2013
marathon construction - indianapolis, IN
construction - Temp
fire caught and pull wiring throughout the campus

5/2010 - 11/2011
kfc - indianapolis, IN
cashier
take orders and help prep food count my drow and tally the the funds for the day

3/2008 – more... - 9/2010
amazon - indianapolis, IN
pick/packer
line worker picker packer and sort in rebend

______________________________
EDUCATION

cvca
chicago, IL
Degree: Other
Major: autobody
Enrollment Status: Graduated – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast Paced
Crew Leader (Current Employee), Clarion, PAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: work hours
Leading team of at least 15 employees.
Typical day at work included ensuring product quality, productivity, managing employee time, dealing with inventory and cash handling.
Productive team
Hardest part of job, conflict between employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food
Cook / Server (Current Employee), Baton rouge, LaOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great food
Cons: breaks, angry chef
cook lunch for lsu students, other people are real negative throughout the day, i stay busy in order to keep focus on the task at hand, chef walks out for a while to talk on the phone, other cooks and preps start acting up, chef comes in food isnt on time and chef starts slamming things and screaming and cursing at employees i get really stressed out – more... and finish my work and get started on the dinner run. most people leave early afternoon and the 3 cooks stay for work and everything gets calm for a while until someone does something to tick the chef off
Most of the time its to much for just 3 cooks. small kitchen and to much to do – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building a rapport with the students/customers
Cashier/Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 19, 2014
I love to prepare different meals for the students, interaction with the customers , and also working together with coworkers as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, interesting job
Customer service officer (Former Employee), Bournemouth UniversityOctober 15, 2014
I love making coffee, I felt as if I put all my efforts and enthusiasm in each cup of coffee. I was a good way to get away from my stressful dissertation writing stage as well.

My manager and supervisor are friendly and open. I remember I asked my manager why most employees were Asian. He replied that it's because he loves Asian smiles, which was something – more... unforgettable to me and inspired me to come back to Bournemouth and conduct my PhD research on hospitality employees and cultural effects on their emotional labour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instruction
Director of Dining Services (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 13, 2014
Pros: food competitions
Loved working with, and exposing, students to a healthier alternative, teaching waste & cost control, while exposing to new food items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the people that I work with.
Customer Ser. Rep, Cook, Pizza Maker (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 5, 2014
Pros: the kids
Cons: management, the company does not pay enough!!!
To prepare the food and serve the children. Management sucks, my co-workers are cool. the job is not hard. I enjoy the kids, that's the best part of my day, talking to them making them laugh or them making me laugh.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have kids.
Team Up Lead (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
The hours are fitting for someone with a family and children in school because you get out off of work they are out of school and the same with breaks such as spring break.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working atmosphere
Stand Lead (Former Employee), Highland Heights, KYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, friendly coworkers, mostly friendly consumers.
Cons: long hours standing in one space
I was able to interact with other coworkers and customers from all walks of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Campus Envriornment
Catering Coordinator (Former Employee), Boca Raton FlSeptember 10, 2014
Hours were flexible and varied. Fun place to work. Management was strong
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Striving for mediacrity
Catering Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIAugust 28, 2014
Pros: schedule
Cons: everything else
What can I say government contract food service operation.
Poor management.
Zero leadership.
Zero mobility.
Zero employee development.
Low wages attract unskilled and unengaged employees.
Management strangles labor to gain budget based bonus program.
Job is seasonal which means you do not work and are not paid for holidays and you are ineligible for – more... unemployment through summer layoff. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Chartwells

Keeping employees fed and clothed is one mark of this company. ARAMARK is the world's #3 contract foodservice provider (behind – Read more

Chartwells Photos