Chartwell Retirement Residences Employee Reviews

Found 95 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with and to work for
Cooperative Education Student (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON20 July 2017
The residents were great, they thought me a lot of things. Was very hard not to get attached to them because they were great people but you don't really want too because they can get sick and you wouldn't see them again. Management in some departments really cared about the residence but I wish I can say all of them did.
Pros
The residence made your day so much better
Cons
Some of them are very lonely and sad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and very focused on caring for the clients
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON20 July 2017
I love my work at Chartwell Retirement Residences where employees are treated like family and we are encouraged every day to ensure the safety, well-being and care of our clients, the seniors who live in the homes where we work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Server (Former Employee) –  LaSalle, ON10 July 2017
Worked here for over 2 years and let me tell you... Management is a joke. Harassment is a constant matter and even after going to the General Manager, nothing is fixed. The most hard working employees are treated like dirt and the laziest ones who kiss a** are the ones who get praised. Bullying between coworkers is ridiculous and management does nothing to help. Residents are amazing but the workers and management make you hate the job. No clue how this place is still running. No wonder they can not keep staff.
Pros
The residents
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chartwell
Cook (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON7 July 2017
A typical day at this place is stressful. Constantly under staffed. The residents here are not retirement living they are all long term care, the management doesn't know what they are doing and they need to be replaced. Honestly this place is going downhill cause no one knows what they are doing.
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Chartwell chateu georgian retirement home (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON6 July 2017
It was a great experience working in a retirement home . Great employees and very nice people. Have a great time with the residents. Management are very helpful if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for chartwell
FSS (Former Employee) –  Ontario4 July 2017
They have no idea what they're doing at any given time because their training programs are seriously flawed. Middle management is constantly blamed for Administrators and Head Office Consultants screwing up.

Head Office Consultants are the most inept people I've ever met. If people knew how out of date and behind tech and industry advancements these people are they would never trust their loved ones to a Chartwell home of any kind.

They practice hiding things from the Ministry of Health instead of just doing things the right way. They have no respect at all for the front line staff. They pay very poorly and then expect miracles.

This company should be shut down and overhauled.
Pros
None
Cons
No loyalty to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brutal
Sales (Former Employee) –  Ontario20 June 2017
What a terrible company, its remarkable that this is a publicly traded company, the way it is run you would swear it was a nickel and dime outfit...salary was miserable....overworked....micro managed..held accountable for evertyhing ...no training...antiquated sytems...and middle managers are all over you...do yorself a favor and go to another company this one is very bad
Pros
Residents
Cons
Almost everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
superbe equipe
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Saint-Eustache, QC18 June 2017
jai adore travailler avec mon equipe et aider a former lequipe de preposer avant mon depart. Si, un jour je reviens vivre au Québec cest sur que jessaie de ravoir mon poste
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for growth opportunities
First Cook (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON6 June 2017
Lots of room for growth opportunities, learning and personal development. Great compensation. Awesome training school programs. Opportunities for international travel and assignments.
Cons
Multiple MORs making transfer of knowledge, expertise very inefficient. Lots of politics and forming of cliques. Constant reorganization. Constantly creating new additional policies instead of fine tuning existing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs to work stuff out
Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 May 2017
Chartwell had the messiest management I have ever worked for. Their labour board sucks and doesn't listen to complaints, they loose staff so easily because they don't know how to treat them.
Pros
The people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Staff (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON25 May 2017
Terrible management, over worked, understaffed. Not enough pay for the work. Nursing protocols not adhered to. HR department not organized. No teamwork. Very little training.
Pros
Terrible
Cons
Terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working experience
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 April 2017
Chartwell residence is a beautiful and comfortable home for seniors. It serves and put their residents first and respect them. I have a beautiful experience with chartwell and i like working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
serveuse
Serveuse/Caissière (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC2 April 2017
on arrive au travail et on dois préparer les breuvage les tables de la salle a manger certains dessert offert en tout temps lors du service on doit servir la soupe le breuvage le repas ainsi que le dessert ensuite nous devons demonter et remonter les tables pour le service du soir puisque c'est un chiffre couper! jai moins aimer le fais que lorganisation dans la cuisine es mal organiser. le plus difficile es de servire tout le monde sans attente mais on y arrive et le plus agreable pour moi cest le contact avec le publics qui ici etait des personnes agées
Pros
repas a 2, 85$
Cons
chiffre coupe
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Endroit accueillant.
concierge et sécurité de nuit (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC1 April 2017
J'ai été bien reçu par la direction et j'entretien une bonne relation avec mes collègues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mauvaise place
Préposé (Former Employee) –  Orleans, ON6 March 2017
La directrice n'est pas respectueuse envers ses employés et les clients.
Beaucoup d'intimidation et des employés qui ont peurs.
Fuyez cette place.
Dommage c'était un bel endroit mais une directrice qui a détruit une équipe de travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive busy work place good people to work with.
Business & Systems Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 March 2017
Its a good place to work. people are friendly, the techs are supportive. The environment is nice easy going, not too dressy its very casual. managers are nice
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
No cons i liked it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Cannington, ON18 February 2017
Great company to work for. Fair and kind to their seniors abd staff Love the shifts and hours. Nice facility and regional hr people listen
Pros
Great shift hours
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 January 2017
A typical day for me would be biking to work, saying hi to the residence's and then go to the change room so i can get into my uniform. make my way to the kitchen where i start to set up my dish pit. 10 minutes too set it up so as the dishes start coming i'm ready for them. Couple hours go by staying on pace with the dishes and i finally get my lunch and start to clean up the dish pit. Clean everything the floors walls and sinks so its ready for the next guy and then i make my way home.

I learned how to wash dishes and work in a fast pace kitchen environment. Co workers were lovely too, really wish i didn't have to move away. Loved going to work everyday.
Pros
Free lunches were a big pro
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 January 2017
Not a good place to work. Lot of bullshit
No consideration for employees. Not enough employees for the expectations of the company. It's only a business to make money
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON5 January 2017
good place to work, large turn over in staff tho, long hours. you would be scheduled 7-3 then when 3 pm came they would beg you to stay till 8 because someone did not show up for their shift.
Cons
you have to pay for your food, changing staff a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 11Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chartwell Retirement Residences. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 96 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.4
Salary/Benefits
2.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.2
Management
2.2
Culture
2.4

Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews by Job Title

Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews by Location